Echoes

Echoes
Echoes

All Good People

All Good People
We are all good people here by Susan Rebecca White

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Girls Like Us by Cristina Alger- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

From the celebrated and bestselling author of The Banker's Wife, worlds collide when an FBI agent investigates a string of grisly murders on Long Island that raises the impossible question: What happens when the primary suspect is your father?

FBI Agent Nell Flynn hasn't been home in ten years. Nell and her father, Homicide Detective Martin Flynn, have never had much of a relationship. And Suffolk County will always be awash in memories of her mother, Marisol, who was brutally murdered when Nell was just seven.

When Martin Flynn dies in a motorcycle accident, Nell returns to the house she grew up in so that she can spread her father's ashes and close his estate. At the behest of her father's partner, Detective Lee Davis, Nell becomes involved in an investigation into the murders of two young women in Suffolk County. The further Nell digs, the more likely it seems to her that her father should be the prime suspect--and that his friends on the police force are covering his tracks. Plagued by doubts about her mother's murder--and her own role in exonerating her father in that case--Nell can't help but ask questions about who killed Ria Ruiz and Adriana Marques and why. But she may not like the answers she finds--not just about those she loves, but about herself.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:





MY REVIEW:

Girls Like UsGirls Like Us by Cristina Alger
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Girls Like Us by Cristina Alger is a G.P. Putnam's Sons publication.

Another winner for Christina Alger!!

FBI agent, Nell Flynn is having a hard go of it, lately. Her career is teetering on the edge because she is avoiding the necessary therapy required to return to work after killing a man and taking a bullet in the line of duty. Then her father, from whom she is estranged, dies in a motorcycle accident, forcing her to return home to plan his funeral and get his estate in order.

But, when an old friend, who happens to be a homicide detective, asks Nell to quietly advise him with the investigation of two murdered women, she agrees to help. However, the case takes a twisted, horrifying turn when the evidence points to her own father as the prime suspect.

Wow. This book is a real mind-bender. The atmosphere is thick enough to slice with a knife, creating a palpable sense of dread. The murder investigation delves into topics that feel like an eerie premonition of current headlines. The author did an amazing job bringing key issues to the forefront in a realistic, eye-opening manner. Nell’s character is extremely well-drawn and her first -person narrative is haunting and quite effective.

I was sucked into the story immediately and sat on pins and needles from beginning to end. Although one can see where the story is probably headed, there are some truly shocking twists and big reveals that took me completely by surprise. The suspense builds to a near fever pitch, then hits you with a gut-wrenching sucker punch to the emotions. I love it when a book holds me firmly in its grip the way this one did.

Overall, this is a solid page-turning thriller!!

GRAB A COPY HERE:
https://www.amazon.com/Girls-Like-Us-Cristina-Alger-ebook/dp/B07KDW3D4G/

https://www.amazon.com/Girls-Like-Us/dp/B07T996WSK/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/girls-like-us-cristina-alger/1129853079

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Cristina Alger is a lifelong New Yorker and bestselling author of  THE DARLINGS, THIS WAS NOT THE PLAN, THE BANKER'S WIFE and GIRLS LIKE US. A graduate of Harvard College and NYU Law School, she worked as a financial analyst and a corporate attorney before becoming a writer. She lives in New York with husband and children and is at work on her fifth novel. 



Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories- Edited by Ellen Datlow- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

The essential collection of beloved ghost stories, compiled by the editor who helped define the genre—including stories from award-winning, bestselling authors such as Joyce Carol Oates, Alice Hoffman, Seanan McGuire, and Paul Tremblay.

Everyone loves a good ghost story, especially Ellen Datlow—the most lauded editor in short works of supernatural suspense and dark fantasy. The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories is her definitive collection of ghost stories.

These thirty stories, including all new works from New York Times bestselling authors Joyce Carol Oates, Alice Hoffman, Seanan McGuire, and Paul Tremblay, span from the traditional to the eclectic, from the mainstream to the literary, from pure fantasy to the bizarrely supernatural. Whether you’re reading alone under the covers with a flashlight, or around a campfire with a circle of friends, there’s something here to please—and spook—everyone.

Contributors include: Joyce Carol Oates, Alice Hoffman, Vincent J. Masterson, A.C. Wise, M. Rickert, Seanan McGuire, Lee Thomas, Alison Littlewood, M.L. Siemienowicz, Richard Kadrey, Indrapramit Das, Richard Bowes, Nick Mamatas, Terry Dowling, Aliette de Bodard, Carole Johnstone, Dale Bailey, Stephen Graham Jones, Bracken MacLeod, Garth Nix, Brian Evenson, Jeffrey Ford, Gemma Files, Paul Tremblay, Nathan Ballingrud, Pat Cadigan, John Langan, Ford Madox Ford, F. Marion Crawford, Siobhan Carroll.



ENJOY A PREVIEW:



MY REVIEW:


Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost StoriesEchoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories by Ellen Datlow
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories by Ellen Datlow is a 2019 a Gallery / Saga Press publication.

Halloween is just around the corner and of course it’s this time of the year when I usually find myself in the mood for a good old- fashioned ghost story. Yet, a good ghost story is hard to find sometimes. So, when I found this anthology in my cloud library, I checked it out on the spot.

I was even more excited by the introduction, in which famed anthology editor, Ellen Datlow, commiserated with those of us who are often disappointed by ‘ghost story’ compilations, which later turn out to be a catchall for anything that might fall into the realm of horror or the paranormal, but aren't exactly what one would call an authentic ghost story.

So, I eagerly dived in, only to find that once again, a fair amount of these short stories, aren’t ghost stories, as I might define them. However, nearly all of them are weird tales or atmospheric mind-benders.

I am not familiar with all the participating authors, but regular readers of horror novels might be.

Paul Trembly gets the ball rolling, but other familiar names like Alice Hoffman and Joyce Carol Oates also contribute solid stories to this collection.

“Must be This Tall to Ride” by Seanan McGuire is one of the shortest stories included but is one of the best. Something about carnivals are always spooky!

The July Girls felt like more of a traditional ghost tale- which are my favorites, if I’m being honest. I also enjoyed “The Other Woman” by Alice Hoffman.

As with many anthologies, especially compilations as large as this one, there are a few stories that left me scratching my head in confusion, or seemed to end too abruptly. However, most are contemporary, imaginative, and several were truly eerie, providing the chills and thrills a good ghost story should.

If you are looking for a few supernatural flavored stories that you haven’t read or heard a thousand times before, this collection of original stories is one you’ll want to add to your Halloween reading list!!

GRAB A COPY HERE:
https://www.amazon.com/Echoes-Saga-Anthology-Ghost-Stories-ebook/dp/B07CLC12P2/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/echoes-ellen-datlow/1127922610


ABOUT THE EDITOR:


Ellen Datlow has been an award-winning editor of short science fiction, fantasy, and horror for over twentyfive years.

She is editor of the Best Horror of the Year and has edited or co-edited a large number of award-winning original anthologies. Her most recent are Supernatural Noir, Naked City, Blood and Other Cravings, The Beastly Bride, Teeth, Trolls Eye View, and After (the last three with Terri Windling).

She is the winner of multiple awards for her editing, including the World Fantasy Award, Locus Award, Hugo Award, International Horror Guild Award, the Shirley Jackson Award, and the Bram Stoker Award. She was named recipient of the 2007 Karl Edward Wagner Award, given at the British Fantasy Convention for "outstanding contribution to the genre." And has been given the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Horror Writers Association.

She co-hosts the popular Fantastic Fiction at KGB Bar series of readings in New York City where she lives.

Monday, October 14, 2019

We are all Good People Here- by Susan Rebecca White- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:


From the author of A Place at the Table and A Soft Place to Land, an “intense, complex, and wholly immersive” (Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author) multigenerational novel that explores the complex relationship between two very different women and the secrets they bequeath to their daughters.

Eve Whalen, privileged child of an old-money Atlanta family, meets Daniella Gold in the fall of 1962, on their first day at Belmont College. Paired as roommates, the two become fast friends. Daniella, raised in Georgetown by a Jewish father and a Methodist mother, has always felt caught between two worlds. But at Belmont, her bond with Eve allows her to finally experience a sense of belonging. That is, until the girls’ expanding awareness of the South’s systematic injustice forces them to question everything they thought they knew about the world and their places in it.

Eve veers toward radicalism—a choice pragmatic Daniella cannot fathom. After a tragedy, Eve returns to Daniella for help in beginning anew, hoping to shed her past. But the past isn’t so easily buried, as Daniella and Eve discover when their daughters are endangered by secrets meant to stay hidden.

Spanning more than thirty years of American history, from the twilight of Kennedy’s Camelot to the beginning of Bill Clinton’s presidency, We Are All Good People Here is “a captivatingmeaningful, resonant story” (Emily Giffin, author of All We Ever Wanted) about two flawed but well-meaning women clinging to a lifelong friendship that is tested by the rushing waters of history and their own good intentions.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:









MY REVIEW:


We Are All Good People HereWe Are All Good People Here by Susan Rebecca White
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

We Are All Good People Here by Susan Rebecca White is a 2019 Atria publication.

A familiar theme- but still a compelling thought- provoking story.

The story begins just at the onset of the turbulent sixties where two girls from differing backgrounds meet and bond- not over boys or clothes or parties, but over social injustices they’ve experienced first-hand or were a witness to.

Evelyn Elliot Whalen comes from a wealthy family, while Daniella Gold is from a middle -income family, and whose father happens to be Jewish. The two girls are college roommates and become fast friends. However, their responses to the social injustices they are awakening to are entirely different. While the work with CORE is commendable, there are lines drawn, and sometimes those lines are very blurred. Can change really occur if we color inside those lines? How does well-meaning activism morph into dangerous radicalization?

“We’re all good people here, all trying to muddle through this the best we can."

The ladies take two different paths, each critical of the other’s choices at times. However, their lives converge once again as they raise families of their own. But, when the past comes calling, the decisions they made will affect the next generation and shape them in ways that could solidify their unique familial patterns or break it.

The monumental changes over a thirty- year span of time is highlighted through the two main characters, who cope in different ways, giving the reader plenty of food for thought.

What makes the book even more complex is the southern setting, where certain values and ideals are so deeply embedded it is hard for even the most enlightened progressive thinker to cast them off.

While the author addresses racism and anti- Semitism, she also highlights the polarization of the Vietnam war, and drugs, as well. But we also see the many challenges women faced in the workforce. A woman having a career may be tolerated to a certain extent, but once she had children her career should stop- and forget about advancement or equal pay- just to name a few examples.

The only drawback for me was the disconnect with the characters. It often felt as though I was reading someone’s journal, rather than a fictional drama that plumbs the depths of one’s emotions. The only feelings I could summon were ones of frustration, brought on by some of the choices the characters made.

There is also a rather gruesome scene involving an animal, the imagery of which I could have done without.

This story is one that might not immediately grab you, but as the book progresses, I think the look back on the painful wounds in our country, and various ways people sought to heal those wounds, and bring about change, is what makes the story so compelling.

Certain factions or fringes always spring up in times of turmoil and can often lure in the gentle idealist who has become frustrated by the political climate and the constant cogs in the wheels of change. Because these are the groups that make the headlines, often times, activism of any kind is equated with extremism. This story is most definitely a cautionary tale and I must concur- non-violence and a proper prospective is a must.

But, in truth, the majority of activists, and I consider myself to be one for several important causes, work within the proper guidelines to progress and forge an atmosphere in which we can all play a part, work side by side, and make a difference. It isn’t always perfect, and there have been colossal blunders, but ultimately, great strides have been taken, although they were often very slow in coming. Activism is still important, still powerful and unfortunately, still very necessary.

While this book is primarily the study of the two women who chose different paths, made different choices, and then must cope with the consequences or results of their decisions, it is also a story about friendship, one that endures despite periods of dormancy, and their frustrations and differences.

Although this one failed to push my emotional buttons, and it is a bit slow and uneven at times, I still think that overall, the author reached the goal she set out to accomplish.

GRAB A COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Are-All-Good-People-Here-ebook/dp/B07MNJJ495/

https://www.amazon.com/Are-All-Good-People-Here/dp/B07NJ1YKG8/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/we-are-all-good-people-here-susan-rebecca-white/1129708490

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Susan Rebecca White is he author of the critically acclaimed novels Bound South, A Soft Place to Land, A Place at the Table, and We are All Good People Here. She lives in her hometown of Atlanta, Ga., with her husband and son. Visit her online at www.susanrebeccawhite.com.

Friday, October 11, 2019

FLASHBACK FRIDAY- Summer of Fear- by Lois Duncan- Feature and Review



From the moment Rachel's family takes in her orphaned cousin Julia, strange things start to happen. Rachel grows suspicious, but soon finds herself alienated from her own life. Julia seems to have enchanted everyone to turn against her, leaving Rachel on her own to try and prove that Julia is a witch. One thing about Julia is certain-she is not who she says she is, and Rachel's family is in grave danger.




READ AN EXCERPT:





MY REVIEW:





Summer of Fear by Lois Duncan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summer of fear by Lois Duncan is a 1977 publication.

This story is geared towards a young adult audience, but it still has some excellent chills and thrills, even now, reading it as an adult.

For fans of trivia or pop culture, there was a made for television movie based on this book starring Linda Blair, which aired in 1978. However, I think the original title of the movie was ‘A Stranger in the House’. (It now shares the same title as the book and can be found easily on YouTube. Check it out, if for no other reason than to see a very young Fran Drescher)

When Rachel’s aunt and uncle were killed in a fiery car crash, their orphaned daughter, Julia, comes to live with them. Soon, this shy, plain girl seems to have charmed every male in her general vicinity, included Rachel’s brother, her boyfriend, and even her father.

Rachel begins to suspect Julia may be involved in the occult, but when she tries to convince her family, her warnings fall on deaf ears. Meanwhile, one by one, anyone who threatens Julia will suffer the consequences.

A review for this book popped up on my Goodreads feed the other day and reminded me that I have a copy of this book stuffed somewhere on my own personal version of ‘the stacks’. Finding it felt like a chore I wasn’t sure I was ready to tackle, but I found it without having to dismantle my bookshelves entirely. It was fun to read this book again, even though the suspense doesn’t pack the same punch it did back in the seventies.

However, it is still effective, especially for fans of psychological thrillers. However, I understand this book was reissued at some point with updates and revisions adding current technology into the story. I have not read the newer version, but I'll provide buy links for it, since those are the only one's available. However, the popular opinion, leads me to think you might want to hop on over to Ebay, or check out your local used bookstore for a copy of the original version.

This is a short, nostalgic read, perfect for fans of YA with paranormal and psychological elements.

GRAB A  COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Summer-Fear-Lois-Duncan-ebook/dp/B00495ZDYA/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/summer-of-fear-lois-duncan/1100197066


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Lois was the author of over 50 books, ranging from children's picture books to poetry to adult non-fiction, but is best known for her young adult suspense novels, which have received Young Readers Awards in 16 states and three foreign countries. In 1992, Lois was awarded the Margaret A. Edwards Award, presented by the School Library Journal and the ALA Young Adult Library Services Association for "a distinguished body of adolescent literature." In 2009, she received the Katharine Drexel Award, awarded by the Catholic Library Association "to recognize an outstanding contribution by an individual to the growth of high school and young adult librarianship and literature." In 2015 she was named a Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America.

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Christmas in Winter Valley by Jodi Thomas- Feature and Review + Giveaway





CHRISTMAS 
IN WINTER VALLEY
Ransom Canyon, #8 
by
Jodi Thomas
Genre: Contemporary / Western / Holiday Romance Publisher: HQN Publication Date: September 24, 2019
Number of Pages: 288 pages Scroll down for the giveaway!





Ransom Canyon welcomes you back for a Christmas that has everything you’re looking for: romance, family, and a whole lot of Texas.
Cooper Holloway would take nature over people any day—especially visiting relatives. That’s why he’s headed for a rustic cabin in remote Winter Valley, where he’ll care for a herd of wild mustangs. But Cooper’s plans are quickly thwarted by the arrival of two unexpected guests: one, a stranger in desperate need of his help, and the other, a very attractive young veterinarian.
Elliott is busy trying to keep Maverick Ranch running smoothly with Cooper gone, which is no easy task with family visiting. And when a long-lost love suddenly reappears in his life, Elliott knows he’ll have more than just books to balance this season.
With a big, chaotic family Christmas around the corner and love blooming in surprising ways, the Holloway men will have to make big choices about the future—just in time for the holidays.
PRAISE FOR CHRISTMAS IN WINTER VALLEY: "This book has everything you would want. Laughter, drama. And tears both happy and sad. I highly recommend this book." -- Patty Champion (5 Stars, Goodreads Review) “I could not put this book down once I started it and longed for more once I was done.” -- Melanie (5 Stars, Goodreads Review) "I got lost in the world that she [Jodi Thomas] has created and enjoyed seeing her characters with their overlapping and interconnected stories find a happiness that none of them expected to ever find." -- B. (5 Stars, Goodreads Review)






Christmas in Winter Valley (Ransom Canyon, #8)Christmas in Winter Valley by Jodi Thomas
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Christmas in Winter Valley is a 2019 HQN Books publication.

It may be cold and snowy in Ransom Canyon, but the holiday spirit is warm, filled with second chances and new beginnings!

Griff Holloway has left his brothers, Elliott and Cooper, in charge of running the family ranch while he and his wife, Sunlan, are away from home. However, Elliott is left holding the bag, when Cooper hears that a group of Sunlan’s cousins are coming for a visit and hightails it out of there to spend some alone time at a remote cabin in Winter Valley.

However, Cooper finds his secluded cabin is occupied by an orphaned boy named, Tatum, while Elliott is unexpectedly forced to face his painful past.

Meanwhile, a new hire at the ranch and a former rodeo star, Tye, is looking to discover something about his heritage, but soon finds himself attracted to Dani, the ranch’s down to earth cook.

This book features a group of heartwarming stories, which bring people together just in time for the Christmas holidays. Each romance is touching and sweet, and of course, Tatum’s story certainly pulls on the old heartstrings.

While I enjoyed getting to know all the couples, I must confess I enjoyed Tye and Dani’s story the most. I really appreciate the mature characters who prove it’s never too late to find true love.

By using alternating chapters, instead of individual vignettes, the author allows the reader more time to connect with the characters and gives each story equal strength. Thankfully, the holiday theme is not overdone, but one can still feel the spirit of the season, which will make this book a nice addition to your holiday reading- or a nice gift for someone on your Christmas list.

Overall, this a lovely, clean holiday themed novel, with a little something for all contemporary romance lovers!


CLICK TO BUY:


HARLEQUIN  AMAZON BARNES&NOBLE   GOOGLE BOOKS    








With millions of books in print, Jodi Thomas is both a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over fifty novels and countless short story collections. Her stories travel through the past and present days of Texas and draw readers from around the world.
In July 2006, Jodi was the 11th writer to be inducted into the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame. With five RITA’s to her credit, along with National Readers’ Choice Awards and Booksellers’ Best Awards, Thomas has proven her skill as a master storyteller.
Thomas was honored in 2002 as a Distinguished Alumni by Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas and served sixteen years as the Writer in Residence at West Texas A&M University in Canyon, Texas.
When not working on a novel, or inspiring students to pursue writing careers, Thomas enjoys traveling with her family, renovating an historic home, and “checking up” on two grown sons and four grandchildren.



 ║ Website ║ Facebook ║ Twitter  
║ Instagram ║  Amazon  BookBub 
║ Pinterest  ║ Goodreads 
-------------------------------------


GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!
WIN A PAPERBACK COPY OF CHRISTMAS IN WINTER VALLEY
October 3-13, 2019
(US ONLY)







a Rafflecopter giveaway




VISIT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR:




10/3/19
Notable Quotable
10/4/19
Review
10/4/19
BONUS Post
10/5/19
Author Video
10/6/19
Review
10/7/19
Excerpt
10/8/19
Review
10/9/19
Scrapbook Page
10/10/19
Review
10/11/19
Review
10/12/19
Notable Quotable


   blog tour services provided by



  

Wednesday, October 9, 2019

The Au Pair by Emma Rous- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Seraphine Mayes and her twin brother Danny were born in the middle of summer at their family’s estate on the Norfolk coast. Within hours of their birth, their mother threw herself from the cliffs, the au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark cloaks, changelings, and the aloof couple who drew a young nanny into their inner circle.

Now an adult, Seraphine mourns the recent death of her father. While going through his belongings, she uncovers a family photograph that raises dangerous questions. It was taken on the day the twins were born, and in the photo, their mother, surrounded by her husband and her young son, is beautifully dressed, smiling serenely, and holding just one baby.

Who is the child and what really happened that day?

One person knows the truth, if only Seraphine can find her.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:



MY REVIEW:

The Au PairThe Au Pair by Emma Rous
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Au Pair by Emma Rous is a 2019 Berkley Books publication.

A wickedly dark, wildly entertaining, mesmerizing tale!

Seraphine Mayes is mourning the untimely death of her father, who died in a freak accident. Staying on at her family’s summer home, she is going through her father’s things, when she finds a photo of her mother taken on the day she committed suicide by throwing herself off a cliff. But, what strikes her as odd, is that her mother had just given birth to twins- Seraphine and her brother Danny- when the photo was snapped. However, her mother is only holding one baby.

At the edge of the photo is a woman, later identified as ‘Laura’, the au pair, who had been hired to care for Seraphine’s older brother, at the time.

Why is there only one baby in the photo? Which baby is in the picture? Is it Seraphine or Danny?

With no one willing, or able, to answer her questions, Seraphine goes in search of the only other adult present that day who can provide her with answers- the Au Pair.

This is a bizarre, twisted family saga filled to the brim with secrets, misconceptions, coverups, and deceptions. The atmosphere drew me it immediately, as did the stylish blend of noir mixed with contemporary Gothic. The dual timeline is the perfect format for this type of story, with Laura narrating events from the past, and Seraphine providing the present -day narrative. The past and present slowly converges with ripples of shockwaves building to a massive eruption, leaving every single character-and the reader- shaken to the core.

There’s plenty to chew on if one wishes to delve into the psychology of the story, which is deeper than it may appear. Seraphine, especially, has specific fears which drive her to obsessively seek proof of her heritage and identity. The folklore tales of “Sprites” and the rumor of a family curse only heightens Seraphine’s paranoia. The many revelations and mind-bending twists, however, are jaw-droppingly entertaining.

This book has been compared to the V.C. Andrews’ style of shocking Gothic family theatrics by some editorial reviewers, as well as to Kate Morton, who famously combines the past with the present, and adds a Gothic flavor to her stories, as well. Initially, I scoffed at such a notion, but strange as it sounds, the two styles do complement one another. So, I’m going to concur. However, I think this book can be enjoyed in a variety of ways. It is historical fiction, a domestic family drama, and a suspenseful mystery. Also, if you are a fan of Gothic novels, old or new, or if you like a story with a ‘noir-ish’ atmosphere, this book is one you might want to consider.

Overall, this is my kind of book! A gripping, spellbinding tale and a very impressive debut by Emma Rous!

View all my reviews




GRAB A COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Au-Pair-Emma-Rous-ebook/dp/B07C6HF9MG/

https://www.amazon.com/The-Au-Pair/dp/B07MGK1FR9/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-au-pair-emma-rous/1128509276



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Emma Rous grew up in England, Indonesia, Kuwait, Portugal and Fiji, and from a young age she had two ambitions: to write stories, and to look after animals. She studied veterinary medicine and zoology at the University of Cambridge, and worked as a veterinary surgeon for eighteen years before starting to write fiction. Emma lives in Cambridgeshire, England, with her husband and three sons.

The Au Pair is her first novel. It will be published in eleven countries, in ten languages. She is currently writing her second book.

She can be found on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/EmmaRousAuthor/
and on instagram as emmarousauthor.