Missing and Endangered

Missing and Endangered
Missing and Endangered by J.A. Jance

Dress Shop

Dress Shop
The Dress Shop on King Street

Sunday, May 9, 2021

Missing and Endangered by J.A. Jance- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Cochise County Sheriff Joanna Brady’s professional and personal lives collide when her college-age daughter is involved in a missing persons case in this evocative and atmospheric mystery in J. A. Jance’s New York Times bestselling suspense series, set in the beautiful desert country of the American Southwest.

When Jennifer Brady returns to Northern Arizona University for her sophomore year, she quickly becomes a big sister to her new roommate, Beth Rankin, a brilliant yet sheltered sixteen-year-old freshman. For a homeschooled Beth, college is her first taste of both freedom and unfettered access to the internet, and Jenny is concerned that she is too naive.

With Beth at war with her parents, Jenny asks to invite Beth home for Christmas, and Sheriff Joanna Brady says yes. After all, what could go wrong? Within hours, however, Joanna’s department is sucked into a complex officer-involved shooting that places two vulnerable young children in jeopardy. When Beth disappears while visiting over Christmas vacation, Joanna finds herself in a case fraught with landmines. With her own daughter’s well-being at stake, the seasoned sheriff knows there’s no room for the slightest mistake as hope ticks away for a fragile young girl who has gone missing and endangered.


 LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:

Missing and Endangered (Joanna Brady #19)Missing and Endangered by J.A. Jance
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Missing and Endangered by J.A. Jance is a 2021 William Morrow publication.

Sheriff Brady- dependable, as ever!

Jennifer Brady’s college roommate has gone missing. Quickly becoming proactive, Jennifer calls her mother for advice and help.

Meanwhile, one of Joanna’s officers was shot in the line of duty. The case becomes more complicated when two young children get caught in the crossfire.

This story allows Jennifer to share the spotlight with her mother. I enjoyed this thread because of the spotlight it shines on the continual exploitation of young people on the internet by sexual predators.

The main case, though, is the officer involved shooting. This case highlights child abuse and neglect, various criminal activities, and of course murder. Elements of this thread are heartbreaking. Joanna’s tenderness towards the young victims was especially poignant.

Overall, this is another solid addition to the series, and I really enjoyed it.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Judith Ann Jance is the top 10 New York Times bestselling author of the Joanna Brady series. Born in South Dakota and brought up in Bisbee, Arizona, Jance lives with her husband in Seattle, Washington and Tucson, Arizona. 





Friday, May 7, 2021

FLASHBACK FRIDAY: An American Marriage- by Tayari Jones- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined. Roy is arrested and sentenced to twelve years for a crime Celestial knows he didn’t commit. Though fiercely independent, Celestial finds herself bereft and unmoored, taking comfort in Andre, her childhood friend, and best man at their wedding. As Roy’s time in prison passes, she is unable to hold on to the love that has been her center. After five years, Roy’s conviction is suddenly overturned, and he returns to Atlanta ready to resume their life together.

LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:


 



MY REVIEW:




An American MarriageAn American Marriage by Tayari Jones
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones is a 2018 Algonquin Books publication.

Well drawn characterizations and a thought provoking and timely topic combines to make a potent blend, which kept me riveted to the pages of this book.


Roy had done everything right, is successful, married to a beautiful woman, living the American dream- until he is falsely accused of rape and sent to prison.

Celestial finds her comfortable life turned on its axis after Roy is incarcerated. She remains loyal to her husband, but as the years pass, her life continues to move forward, while Roy’s stagnates behind bars, and her feelings for him begin to wane, prompting her to seek comfort from another man.

Meanwhile, lawyers are working round the clock to get Roy’s conviction overturned- which miraculously, after serving five years, it is!!

But, Roy, soon learns that easing back into his former life and resuming his marriage with Celestial is easier said than done.

What stands out for me in this novel, are the little nuances. Roy, who opens the dialogue in the first chapter, drew me in with his honesty, and humor, which was occasionally sheepish and self- deprecating, even though I disapproved of some of his actions.

Celestial was, for some reason, a character I found difficult to warm up to at first, but upon reflection, I think her character may have gone through the most productive growth of all.

Celestial’s needs and expectations are different from Roy’s ideals, some of which can be attributed to male/female roles and expectations in a marriage, and others to their own individuality. But, throw in a HUGE live altering test of the marriage and it will either strengthen or fall apart. Which way did things go for Roy and Celestial?

The other timely topics explored have to do with racism and mass incarceration. Prison life is fraught with danger and loneliness, and of course Roy missed his former life, but it was simple things, things we so easily take for granted that makes the bleakness of his situation come alive.

Despite their flaws, and each party has their fair share of them, they were basically ordinary people thrown in an extraordinary circumstance and left to cope with those circumstances as best they could. They were both human, with real needs, desires, hopes, and dreams. Both made excuses, both played the blame game, but both have a bond together they find hard to break free of.

The epistolary parts of the novel were well done, which exposes both the closeness and the awkwardness of the marriage, but also the way time robbed them of the growth marriages need to survive.

The secondary characters were added depth and conflict and were also very well drawn, and equally affected by the outcome of Roy and Celetial's marriage.

While the book is not filled with action or suspense, or even, despite the heaviness of the situation, is it melodramatic, with one exception, that, to be honest, almost had to happen, to break the tension that boiled to the surface. There were a few tense moments that made me pretty uncomfortable, but mostly the author just allowed the characters to flow, to take charge, and dictate the pacing. This approach sounds understated and maybe even underwhelming, but this story was incredibly absorbing, and I have to say the conclusion was surprising- but at the same time- not. Despite some misgivings and mixed emotions about how the characters ended up, overall, I think they may be exactly where they need to be, both as individuals and as a couple. It may be tempting to take sides, but I can’t say I would do better or worse in that same situation, but I did struggle with passing judgments on occasion.

Either way, this is a well written examination of relationships and human foibles, and how otherwise normal, well intentioned, good people face adversity and come out on the other end of it changed, for better or worse.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/American-Marriage-Novel-Oprahs-Selection-ebook/dp/B01NCUXEFR/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/an-american-marriage-tayari-jones/1125369918




ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Tayari Jones is the author of the novels Leaving Atlanta, The Untelling, Silver Sparrow, and An American Marriage (Algonquin Books, February 2018). Her writing has appeared in Tin House, The Believer, The New York Times, and Callaloo. A member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers, she has also been a recipient of the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, Lifetime Achievement Award in Fine Arts from the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, United States Artist Fellowship, NEA Fellowship and Radcliffe Institute Bunting Fellowship. Silver Sparrow was named a #1 Indie Next Pick by booksellers in 2011, and the NEA added it to its Big Read Library of classics in 2016. Jones is a graduate of Spelman College, University of Iowa, and Arizona State University. An Associate Professor in the MFA program at Rutgers-Newark University, she is spending the 2017-18 academic year as the Shearing Fellow for Distinguished Writers at the Beverly Rogers, Carol C. Harter Black Mountain Institute at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Sunday, May 2, 2021

The Dress Shop on King Street by Ashley Clark- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

Harper Albright has pinned all her hopes on a future in fashion design. But when it comes crashing down around her, she returns home to Fairhope, Alabama, and to Millie, the woman who first taught her to sew. As she rethinks her own future, secrets long hidden about Millie's past are brought to light.

In 1946, Millie Middleton boarded a train and left Charleston to keep half of her heritage hidden. She carried with her two heirloom buttons and the dream of owning a dress store. She never expected to meet a charming train jumper who changed her life forever . . . and led her yet again to a heartbreaking choice about which heritage would define her future.

Now, together, Harper and Millie return to Charleston and the man who may hold the answers they seek . . . and a chance at the dress shop they've both dreamed of. But it's not until all appears lost that they see the unexpected ways to mend what frayed between the seams.
 


READ AN EXCERPT:











MY REVIEW:


The Dress Shop on King Street (Heirloom Secrets, #1)The Dress Shop on King Street by Ashley Clark
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Dress Shop on King Street by Ashley Clark is a Bethany House publication.

Such a wonderful uplifting story!!

In 1946 Millie, a young woman of mixed heritage is leaving Charleston by train, with a couple of heirloom buttons and the dream of owning her own dress shop, when she meets a train jumper who changes her life…

In present day, Harper Albright has returned to Alabama after her dreams of a career in fashion are dashed. Here she reconnects with Millie, the woman who first taught her to sew. Millie senses Harper needs some time to regroup and offers her a place to stay at her boarding house.

This string of events will merge the past with the present, as Millie’s story is finally revealed, possibly leading to an opportunity for both she and Harper to realize their true dreams.

I loved this story! It’s so sad and heartbreaking, but is also moving, inspirational and heartwarming. As is usually the case with multiple timelines, the historical side of the story was the most effective, in my opinion. Millie’s journey is riveting as she navigates through treacherous waters, finds true love, but faces the most heart wrenching choices along the way.

The characterizations are rich and vivid, and the story is teeming with tension, and joy, highs and lows and triumphs and failures. It’s about life and the unforeseen curveballs and trials, and a reminder that we don’t have to carry our burdens alone and, that maybe things work out best in God’s good time.

The author does an incredible job of handling sensitive topics, incorporating a gentle message, and creating such a beautiful story, it lingered in my heart and mind for long after I turned the final page.

Overall, this is such a refreshing story and an impressive debut!! Will read this author again!

GET A COPY HERE:




CURRENTLY AVAILABLE IN THE KINDLE UNLIMITED STORE
(Check pricing before purchase)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Ashley Clark writes romance with southern grace. She's dreamed of being a writer ever since the thumbprint-cookie-days of library story hour. Ashley has an M.A. in English and enjoys teaching literature courses as an adjunct. She's an active member of American Christian Fiction Writers. When she's not writing, Ashley's usually busy rescuing stray animals and finding charming new towns.


Friday, April 30, 2021

FLASHBACK FRIDAY -Verity by Colleen Hoover - Feature and Review




ABOUT THE BOOK:

Lowen Ashleigh is a struggling writer on the brink of financial ruin when she accepts the job offer of a lifetime. Jeremy Crawford, husband of bestselling author Verity Crawford, has hired Lowen to complete the remaining books in a successful series his injured wife is unable to finish.

Lowen arrives at the Crawford home, ready to sort through years of Verity's notes and outlines, hoping to find enough material to get her started. What Lowen doesn't expect to uncover in the chaotic office is an unfinished autobiography Verity never intended for anyone to read. Page after page of bone-chilling admissions, including Verity's recollection of what really happened the day her daughter died.

Lowen decides to keep the manuscript hidden from Jeremy, knowing its contents would devastate the already grieving father. But as Lowen's feelings for Jeremy begin to intensify, she recognizes all the ways she could benefit if he were to read his wife's words. After all, no matter how devoted Jeremy is to his injured wife, a truth this horrifying would make it impossible for him to continue to love her.

READ AN EXCERPT:





MY REVIEW:


VerityVerity by Colleen Hoover


Verity by Colleen Hoover is a 2018 publication.
Unlike so many rabid fans of this author, I have not read, to my knowledge, a single book by Colleen Hoover. (Although I did find one of her books languishing on my Kindle recently)

I see so many rave reviews for her novels, and some of them seem like books I would probably like, but for some reason I continue to associate her with YA books, which is not my favorite genre. But, when I saw this book on Kindle Unlimited and read the synopsis, I was instantly intrigued. If the book had been written by anyone else, I probably would have given it a pass, while congratulating myself on using my iron willpower to stick to my strict- no exceptions- psychological thriller diet.

But, because I knew this book was a departure for this wildly popular writer, my curiosity won out. So much for my iron willpower...

The setup is interesting-

Author, Lowen Ashleigh’s financial status is as dismal as her book sales. Her mother recently died after a lengthy illness and she’s fending off eviction notifications, when out of the blue she is given the incredible and lucrative opportunity of co- authoring a series with, or rather, for, the famous writer, Verity Crawford. Verity was in a horrible car crash and is no longer able to continue writing. Lowen doesn’t have to think too hard about accepting the job, especially when she sees the amount of money involved.

Verity’s devoted husband, Jeremy, allows Lowen to live in their home while she goes through Verity’s notes on the series and acclimates herself with the tasks she’s been hired to perform. But when she stumbles across a Verity’s autobiography amongst her other work materials. Lowen rationalizes the need to read the manuscript, convincing herself it will help her better understand Verity. What she learns about the esteemed author will blow your mind!!

Meanwhile, as Lowen immerses herself deeper and deeper into Verity’s memoir, a bond develops between Jeremy and Lowen. The attraction deepens as they spend more time together, until it becomes palpable and undeniable. However, Lowen has begun to irrationally fear Verity.

Are her fears overwrought? Is her imagination playing tricks on her?

For long time fans of this author, this book could be a little like culture shock. But, for the seasoned readers of psychological thrillers, all this twisty darkness, and diabolical characterizations are par for the course.

However, I must say that this one is more than just a departure for this author, it is a bit of a departure for the standard psychological thriller, as well. Many of you may not remember the surge in popularity of psychological thrillers back in the nineties, not just in books, but in movies, as well.

Back then, it was almost a requirement for a PT to be as sexually steamy, as it was edgy and suspenseful. I thought this book had that same feel, as it contained a lot more sexually explicit content than most standard PT’s written today. It should also be noted that many people have shelved this book in the romance category. However, in my opinion, this is not a romance, nor does it fall into the romantic suspense category, although there is a romantic element, if you wish to view it as such. It’s a pure psychological thriller, through and through. That’s just my take on it.


As far as PT’s go, this one is unique, very atmospheric and creepy, and even I, Miss jaded and burned out on PT’s, nearly jumped out of my skin on one occasion. The author thankfully keeps the story on an even keel, with no wild, unnecessary, or over the top twists. In fact, the twists are very well timed, and the suspense builds at a steady and effective pace.

Although the story is far from predictable, I did figure some things out in advance, and many seasoned PT readers will probably have a good inkling where everything is headed, as well. It’s an unavoidable ‘occupational hazard’ I think. Still, the final turn of the screw was very well done, and the book ended on a perfect note. I loved it!

I am impressed by Ms. Hoover’s courage to step outside her comfort zone, taking a risk by writing outside of her usual genre. That she pulled this off, shouldn’t really be a surprise, though. Reading her bio, I see that she is a number one New York Times bestselling author. Ms. Hoover is a seasoned, professional writer and has been for some time. Let’s give her a little credit here.

I hope her success with this book will widen her reading audience and I hope she will try her hand at this genre again someday. Meanwhile, I think it’s about time I checked out some of her romance and contemporary fiction novels.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Verity-Colleen-Hoover-ebook/dp/B07HJYTRMD/

ALSO AVAILABLE WITH YOUR KINDLE UNLIMITED SUBSCRIPTION

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:





International and #1 New York Times bestselling author of romance, YA and Women's Fiction.

Still doesn't know the difference between affect/effect, further/farther, or if the oxford comma is in or out. 

If you want to follow me, my username is @colleenhoover pretty much everywhere except my email, which is colleenhooverbooks@gmail.com

Founder of www.thebookwormbox.com charity. We've donated over one million dollars to various charities. Give us your money so we can donate even more. 

Sunday, April 25, 2021

Every Last Secret by A.R. Torre- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:


Welcome to the neighborhood. Watch your husband, watch your friends, and watch your back.

Cat Winthorpe has worked hard to get what she has: a gorgeous home; social standing; and William, her successful, handsome husband. Then a friendly new couple moves into the estate next door. While cautious, a good neighbor like Cat greets them with open arms and warm hospitality.

Neena Ryder isn’t a fellow lady of leisure. A life coach with off-the-rack dresses, personal issues, and a husband who hasn’t delivered, she’s anxious to move up in the world. This beautiful new town is a step in the right direction. It’s also making Neena aware of what she doesn’t have. Namely, William. When Neena’s infatuation escalates into obsession, it’s just a matter of eliminating a few obstacles to get the life she wants. The life next door.

As Neena’s secret fixation grows, so does her friendship with Cat. But beneath their cordial interactions is a wealth of temptations, secrets, and toxic jealousy. For both women, the desire for a perfect life can turn perfectly dangerous.
 



READ AN EXCERPT:
 




MY REVIEW:

Every Last SecretEvery Last Secret by A.R. Torre
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Every Last Secret by A.R. Torre is a 2020 Thomas & Mercer publication.

Criminally Good!!

Cat Winthorpe has everything Neena Ryder desires- a rich, successful, handsome husband, a place in society, and a beautiful home. But that’s okay- Neena has landed a job as a life coach, working for Cat’s husband, William. She may be living in a house Cat considers a neighborhood eyesore, her clothes may not be designer quality, and she may be currently locked out of the various committees and clubs required for social standings, but she knows how to seduce a man, and she’s made William Winthorpe her target. Before long, she’ll be the one living the charmed life Cat currently enjoys…

Cat Winthorpe welcomed Neena and her husband into the neighborhood, but her senses soon become hyper-aware when Neena seems to always be right where she and William are, always texting about non-work related subjects.

Something is off about Neena and Cat is starting to suspect she’s up to something- and she has pretty good idea what that might be. Neena may think her plans are foolproof- but she’s never matched wits with Cat Winthorpe!!

This book made its rounds on GRs garnering high praise from many of the reviewers, I trust. Finally, my curiosity got the best of me and I checked it out of the KU library.

What a fun cat and mouse game! No real likable characters in this one- but one might find themselves rooting for one or the other at times. The fun comes from watching the two women try to outdo one another as the competition heats up between them.

All the planning and scheming, the huge egos, and the insane lengths the women go through is appallingly entertaining. While it’s a small amount of consolation, when all is said and done, there is some character growth in the end.

Personally, what I thought the ladies really should have been going for, was their own success without needing a man to validate them. These women had the talent to plan, organize, and manipulate which would have carried them far if they had only used those skills to create their own wealth and social standings. In fact, they might have made a great business team. But that’s probably deeper than the book is intended to be.

Overall, this was fun, catty, and very, very suspenseful novel. I was all in- finding it hard to put the book down. It was a super fast read- as I also added audio- which was well-done, as well.

So, for all those who wrote great reviews for this book- thanks for putting it on my radar!!

GET YOUR COPY HERE:


https://www.amazon.com/Every-Last-Secret/dp/B08BMHBNPR/


*THIS BOOK IS ALSO PART OF THE KINDLE UNLIMITED PROGRAM


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



A.R. Torre is a pseudonym for New York Times Bestselling Author Alessandra Torre. You can view Alessandra's list of books through her Amazon Author page or by visiting AlessandraTorre.com.


Friday, April 23, 2021

FLASHBACK FRIDAY- The Dream Daughter by Diane Chamberlain - Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

From bestselling author Diane Chamberlain comes an irresistible new novel. 

When Caroline Sears receives the news that her unborn baby girl has a heart defect, she is devastated. It is 1970 and there seems to be little that can be done. But her brother-in-law, a physicist, tells her that perhaps there is. Hunter appeared in their lives just a few years before—and his appearance was as mysterious as his past. With no family, no friends, and a background shrouded in secrets, Hunter embraced the Sears family and never looked back. 

Now, Hunter is telling her that something can be done about her baby's heart. Something that will shatter every preconceived notion that Caroline has. Something that will require a kind of strength and courage that Caroline never knew existed. Something that will mean a mind-bending leap of faith on Caroline's part.

And all for the love of her unborn child.


A rich, genre-spanning, breathtaking novel about one mother's quest to save her child, unite her family, and believe in the unbelievable. Diane Chamberlain pushes the boundaries of faith and science to deliver a novel that you will never forget.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:


 


MY REVIEW:

The Dream DaughterThe Dream Daughter by Diane Chamberlain
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Dream Daughter by Diane Chamberlain is a 2018 St. Martin’s Press publication.

A frenetic, heart wrenching, but captivating story of strength, hope, and love-

It’s 1970-

Caroline ‘Carly’ Sears is newly widowed and expecting her first child. If this weren’t stressful enough, her doctors believe her unborn child may have a fatal heart defect. With her sister and brother-in-law by her side, Carly may need to accept the reality that her child will die soon after she is born.

Hunter, a physicist, has a tough decision to make. Upon hearing of his sister-in-law’s prognosis, he knows he can save her child. How? By traveling back to the future.

As it happens, Hunter is from 2018, but he traveled back in time after his wife dies, meets Carly, then her sister, whom he marries, and starts a family with. He’s carved out a nice life for himself and is content. But, he is willing to risk it all for Carly and her baby. Will she believe he is from the future? Is she brave enough to travel into the future? Will she be able to return to 1970? How will the truth effect Hunter’s marriage to Carly's sister?

I’ve been sitting on this book for a while. I knew it would be good because Diane Chamberlain has never disappointed me. The early reviews were amazing. But, I still procrastinated, waiting for the day the book called out to me.

After I finished the book, I just couldn’t find the words to write a review. So, I procrastinated some more. I hope I can do the book justice, especially after reading so many wonderful reviews of this amazing book!

As I have said many times, time travel is a hard sell for me. But, this may be the most realistic and believable depiction of time travel possibilities I have ever read. However, it is the mother’s love for her child that resonates, that makes the risks worth it.

The story is also one of the most suspenseful novels of its kind I’ve ever read. The emotions are raw, tangible, almost physical. I was riveted, held captive by this story, the suspense nearly intolerable, but I was simply unable to tear myself away from it.

The characters are eclectic, Carly is obviously the most sympathetic, while others are an enigma. The twists and turns are breathtaking, surreal, and pulse pounding, holding me on the edge of my seat, with my heart in my throat.

This novel is so well constructed, so thought provoking, poignant and soul- stirring!! I don’t think I’ve read anything quite like it before. Chamberlain’s novels always leave an impression on me, but this one captured my imagination, and left me reeling with emotions. I loved it! Loved it! This one is imprinted on my brain and in my heart and I promise it will not fade from my consciousness for a long time to come!!


GET YOUR COPY HERE:





ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Diane Chamberlain is the New York Times, USA Today and Sunday Times bestselling author of 26 novels published in more than twenty languages. Her most recent novel is the genre-spanning The Dream Daughter. Some of her most popular books include The Stolen Marriage, Necessary Lies, The Silent Sister, The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, and The Keeper of the Light Trilogy. Diane likes to write complex stories about relationships between men and women, parents and children, brothers and sisters, and friends. Although the thematic focus of her books often revolves around family, love, compassion and forgiveness, her stories usually feature a combination of drama, mystery, secrets and intrigue. Diane's background in psychology has given her a keen interest in understanding the way people tick, as well as the background necessary to create her realistic characters.

Diane was born and raised in Plainfield, New Jersey and spent her summers at the Jersey Shore. She also lived for many years in San Diego and northern Virginia before making North Carolina her home.

Diane received her bachelor's and master's degrees in clinical social work from San Diego State University. Prior to her writing career, Diane worked in hospitals in San Diego and Washington, D.C. before opening a private psychotherapy practice in Alexandria Virginia specializing in adolescents. All the while Diane was writing on the side. Her first book, Private Relations was published in 1989 and it earned the RITA award for Best Single Title Contemporary Novel. 
Diane lives with her partner, photographer John Pagliuca, and her sheltie, Cole. She has three stepdaughters, two sons-in-law, and four grandchildren. She's currently at work on her next novel.

Please visit Diane's website at www.dianechamberlain.com for more information on her newest novel, The Dream Daughter, and a complete list of her books.

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

A Cat's Tale by Dr. Paul Koudounaris and Baba the Cat- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

A Cat's Tale is a history of feline kind: its origins, the evolution of the relationship with their human companions, and the surprising ways in which feline history parallels that of humanity. From the prehistoric Felis (a large mammal from which all domestic cats have descended) to ancient Egyptian cat goddess, key cats of the Enlightenment to swashbuckling pirate felines and infamous American tabbies, the story of catkind is told here in its totality.




 LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:



MY REVIEW:


A Cat's Tale: A Journey Through Feline HistoryA Cat's Tale: A Journey Through Feline History by Paul Koudounaris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A Cat’s Tale: A Journey Through Feline History by Paul Koudounaris is a 2020 Henry Holt and Co. Publication.

Fun, descriptive, and educational!

This is a non-fictional book about the history of cats, as told by Baba the cat, who narrates the text with the kind of dry wit unique only to cats. The artwork is great, and Baba is very photogenic! A beautiful feline!

Once you’ve completed the book you will certainly understand a cat’s true place in history and in our lives.

Cat’s rule- they know it and you know it- and this book just provides more proof of that fact!

Overall, this is a clever way to explore the history of cats. Cat lovers will love reading about their feline’s ancestors and will enjoy hearing the information from the viewpoint a cat.

Photos of Baba in various costumes are adorable and hilarious and adds much to the charm of the book. The author also provides a list of research resources if you would like to take a deeper dive into the world of felines.



Naturally, as a huge cat lover, this book is right up my alley- and I’m sure all other cat lovers out there will enjoy this book too!

GET A COPY HERE:




ABOUT THE AUTHORS:




Hello friends! I'm Baba, a little tabby cat with a lot of big ideas. One of them was to tell you all about the history of felines! Because the thing is, and please don't be offended since I know how much you try to love us and understand us, there's so much you just don't realize. About our history, our role in creating society, the valorous things we've done, how much we've triumphed in this world--and how much we've suffered too. So being a very educated sort of cat, I figured, "well I'll just explain it all to them in a book." Heh well, that turns out to be a lot of work (like YEARS, you humans sure make things complicated), and involves some nuisance tasks which are unappealing to the feline temperament, things like typing. So I enlisted my human and dictated it all out to him, and in the end, despite his interference and sometimes bungling, we came up with A Cat's Tale, a book that I am proud of both as an author and as a cat. I hope you will like it too.



Paul Koudounaris is an author and photographer from Los Angeles. He has a PhD in Art History and his publications in the field of charnel house and ossuary research have made him a well-known figure in the field of macabre art and art history.