Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday
Flashback Friday

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman

Monday, December 31, 2018

MONDAY'S MUSICAL MOMENT: Tina Turner- My Love Story- by Tina Turner- Feature and Review




NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Tina Turner—the long-reigning queen of rock & roll and living legend—sets the record straight about her illustrious career and complicated personal life in this eye-opening and compelling memoir.

From her early years in Nutbush, Tennessee to her rise to fame alongside Ike Turner to her phenomenal success in the 1980s and beyond, Tina candidly examines her personal history, from her darkest hours to her happiest moments and everything in between.

My Love Story is an explosive and inspiring story of a woman who dared to break any barriers put in her way. Emphatically showcasing Tina’s signature blend of strength, energy, heart, and soul, this is a gorgeously wrought memoir as enthralling and moving as any of her greatest hits.

LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:





MY REVIEW:

My Love StoryMy Love Story by Tina Turner
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My Love Story by Tina Turner is a 2018 Atria Books publication.

Simply the best-

Tina Turner is another artist who has been around my entire life. I remember seeing her perform Proud Mary on television back when I was a little kid and found Tina’s stage presence to be electrifying.

Still, it wasn’t until she released her solo album, back in the eighties, that I became a huge fan. I loved her MTV videos, her music, her voice, and her style. I knew she’d long ago dumped Ike Turner, but I didn’t know all the particulars. I had heard rumors he abused her, but I remained ignorant of how harrowing her life was until the movie, "What’s Love Got to Do with It” came out.

I still haven’t read, ‘I, Tina’, but I got the gist of the situation from watching the movie. So, of course, by now, most of us know Tina escaped a brutal marriage, walked away with nothing but her name, reinvented herself, and became a huge star. In other words, she personifies the word ‘inspirational’.

But, what about the second half of her life? What has Tina’ life been like since her rise to superstardom and beyond?

This second memoir by Tina Turner, is a not only about her humble beginnings, which she does spend some time on, including the years she spent married to Ike. It’s not just about her rise up from the ashes to meteoric fame, or the many great relationships she has forged over the years, both in her professional life, and in her personal life. It’s about her finding peace and contentment in Switzerland, it’s about finding true love with her second husband, Edwin Bach. This is her real love story. However, Tina also reveals her myriad of health concerns, none of which I was aware of before reading this book.



Tina is so refreshing. Musical memoirs are risky business with me. I often come away wishing I hadn’t read one of these books because the featured artist is so self- absorbed or so out of touch with what is going on in the world, I lose respect. Tina’s story, even the parts we’re familiar with, is a fascinating testament and an inspiration to so many people. Her music stands the test of time and her attitude towards her audience and fans is one I wish more professionals would adopt.

I enjoyed being a part of her shared memories and her success, and hearing about the life she’s forged with Edwin. Her approach is often humorous, at times shy, and maybe even a little embarrassed or chagrined by some of her mistakes, or moments of uncertainty. As with any celebrity memoir, I couldn’t relate to everything Tina is involved with, nor do I agree with all her philosophies.

I also found myself cringing a time or two as she went into more details than I really needed her to when describing her health issues and the various symptoms she had to cope with. But, I did love her tenacity, and the way her husband protects her, helped to keep her spirits up, and went above and beyond for her. I also thought she faced her illnesses with optimistic bravery.

I was happy to hear she is still holding her own, still interested in decorating her home and I love that she’s involved in the musical production about her life which has been very well received. Sadly, though, Tina has endured still more tragedy and I do hope she finds a way to get through it, as she has vowed to do.

Once again, I am struck by how many layers there are to this amazing and talented performer. Watching her amazing metamorphosis over the years, is incredible. She’s earned her right to enjoy retirement and the lovely surroundings of her home and adopted country. I am happy she’s found real and true love and hope she has many more years left to enjoy her time with Edwin and that the musical will be a huge hit on Broadway when it comes to America.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:


https://www.amazon.com/My-Love-Story-Tina-Turner-ebook/dp/B07CMLQ5Z7/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/my-love-story-tina-turner/1127951496

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Tina Turner (born Anna Mae Bullock) is an American singer-songwriter, dancer, and actress. She has won eight Grammy Awards. Turner's consistent contributions to rock music have earned her the title "The Queen of Rock & Roll". Besides rock music, she has also performed R&B, soul, dance and pop music. She was listed on Rolling Stone's list The Immortals — The Greatest Artists of All.

Turner has been acknowledged as one of the world's most popular and biggest-selling music artists of all time and is the most successful female rock artist of all time with record sales exceeding 180 million. She has sold more concert tickets than any other solo performer in history. To date, Turner has 7 Billboard top 10 singles, 16 US top ten R&B singles, and over 20 Top 40 hits in the UK. All of her albums since Private Dancer have been Top 10 UK hits.



Turner's world tour Break Every Rule Tour had record breaking ticket sales, visited by over four million fans. Turner also beat out The Rolling Stones by touring Europe with 121 shows during her sold out Foreign Affair Tour in 1990. She ended up playing to four million people in just six months. Her 1996 Wildest Dreams Tour was performed to 3.5 million people over 250 dates through 2 years. Her most recent tour was 2000's Twenty Four Seven Tour. It was the highest grossing tour of the year and is the 5th biggest grossing tour in America ever.

The popular press has referred to Turner favorably as "the truest rock diva of all," "soul's first real diva," "the most dynamic female soul singer in the history of the music," and "one of soul music's most incendiary performers."



Friday, December 28, 2018

FLASHBACK FRIDAY- First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones- Feature and Review






ABOUT THE BOOK:

This whole grim reaper thing should have come with a manual.
Or a diagram of some kind.
A flow chart would have been nice.
Charley Davidson is a part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper. Meaning, she sees dead people. Really. And it's her job to convince them to "go into the light." But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (like murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she's been having about an entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely. But what does he want with Charley? And why can't she seem to resist him? And what does she have to lose by giving in?
With scorching-hot tension and high-octane humor, First Grave on the Right is your signpost to paranormal suspense of the highest order.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:









MY REVIEW:


First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson, #1)First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones is a 2011 St. Martin’s Press publication.

Uproariously funny and Unique!!

This is the first book in the Charley Davidson series. I’ve noticed a few of my GR friends have read books in this series and it seems to be popular, but I was not sure about diving into a paranormal/ urban fantasy series after burning out on the genre during the ‘Twilight’ craze. So, I initially passed on it.

But, I am craving something otherworldly right now, so when I noticed a new installment in this series was coming out soon, and picking up a little chatter, I decided to see if this one would be a good fit for me.

If this first book is any indication, then I’d say I could fall completely under the Charley Davidson’s scathing, testy, and snappy spell.

Charley is a private investigator and a grim reaper. By grim reaper I mean she is able to see dead people and her job is to lure them into the light. To convince them, she often has to help them find peace by discovering who murdered them or finally getting justice on their behalf.

With the help of her uncle, a deceased former gang member named, Angel, and her best friend, Cookie, Charley solves crimes, and helps the dead pass over. But, in her personal life, she’s coping with an unseen entity that visits her dreams in a super- hot sensual way. Finding who and what this entity is that has followed her around her entire life is her most fervent wish. But, as they say- Be careful what you wish for!

I’ve read urban fantasy stories that were light and funny, some that were serious and super dark, but I’ve never read one that mixed such sharp wit and gallows humor, with action, adventure, dark fantasy, and a genuine murder mystery before. But, that’s not all! Capping it all off is a dangerous forbidden romance.

I’m sold! I need to start another series like I need a hole in head, and I loathe the idea of binge reading, but I’m signing on for this one all the way.

Can’t wait to read the next book!!


GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/First-Grave-Right-Charley-Davidson-ebook/dp/B0044781TW/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/first-grave-on-the-right-darynda-jones/1100190486

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




NYTimes and USA Today Bestselling Author Darynda Jones has won numerous awards for her work, including a prestigious RITA, a Golden Heart, and a Daphne du Maurier, and her books have been translated into 18 languages. As a born storyteller, Darynda grew up spinning tales of dashing damsels and heroes in distress for any unfortunate soul who happened by, and she is ever so grateful for the opportunity to carry on that legacy. She currently has two series with St. Martin's Press: The Charley Davidson Series and the Darklight Trilogy. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband and two beautiful sons, the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys. 

Click here to read one of the more popular short stories by Darynda called Dust Devils:
http://www.daryndajones.com/dust-devils/

She can be found at http://www.daryndajones.com

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Book Love by Debbie Tung- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:


Bookworms rejoice! These charming comics capture exactly what it feels like to be head-over-heels for hardcovers. And paperbacks! And ebooks! And bookstores! And libraries!


Book Love is a gift book of comics tailor-made for tea-sipping, spine-sniffing, book-hoarding bibliophiles. Debbie Tung’s comics are humorous and instantly recognizable—making readers laugh while precisely conveying the thoughts and habits of book nerds. Book Love is the ideal gift to let a book lover know they’re understood and appreciated. 


MY REVIEW:

Book LoveBook Love by Debbie Tung
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book Love by Debbie Tung is a 2019 Andrews McMeel Publishing publication.

This adorable book is about me. This is me- well with a few slight exceptions. But, basically, if your life revolves around books- If you live them, breathe them, inhale them, hug them, collect them, share them, quote from them…. Etc, Etc. - This book is for you.


This book isn’t a story, it doesn’t have a plot, per se. It is basically a special gift for book lovers, a celebration and homage to books and book nerds. The comic drawings are not overly dramatic, but the expressiveness is what jumps out at you. The passion, the defensiveness and protectiveness towards books and our obsession with them, and the familiar frustration with people who just don't 'get it', resonated with me one hundred percent. I laughed so hard at the dialogue because I’ve said or done these things- often. I have had variations of these arguments and conversations and have had the exact same reactions, thoughts and feelings, at one time or another. The only difference for me is that I've been known to hug my Kindle in the same way I hug a print copy book. This happens more and more often now that I really have come to depend on that large font size- but, I understood the sentiment, all the same.





This book is short and sweet and so easy to relate to. You will see yourself in this book and appreciate the nod to book lovers, and may even experience a feeling of vindication, knowing that you are in good company. This book soothes my introverted soul in ways that may make my eyes leak just a little.



What I can say for sure, is that Debbie Tung is my kind of people. I may not know her personally, but I think she may know me.

5 Amazing Book Nerd Stars!!!


RELEASES JANUARY 1, 2019

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Book-Love-Debbie-Tung-ebook/dp/B07L3FYTPT/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/book-love-debbie-tung/1128170857




ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Deborah "Debbie" Tung is a cartoonist and illustrator based in Birmingham, England. She draws about everyday life and her love for books and tea at "Where's My Bubble?" wheresmybubble.tumblr.com. Debbie is also the author of QUIET GIRL IN A NOISY WORLD, which has been listed as a recommended read in O, The Oprah Magazine. Her comics have been shared widely by Huffington Post, 9Gag, Bored Panda, and Goodreads, among others.

Her upcoming book, BOOK LOVE, will be published in January 2019 by Andrews McMeel Publishing.

Follow Debbie on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Tumblr @WheresMyBubble. 

www.debbietung.com

Wednesday, December 26, 2018

You Don't Own Me by Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke- Feature and Review



“Queen of Suspense” Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke are back with their fifth book in the New York Times bestselling Under Suspicion series; when TV producer Laurie Moran investigates an unsolved murder, she becomes entangled in a web of long-buried secrets and begins to wonder if her own life is in grave danger as a mysterious stalker plots revenge.










When we last saw Laurie Moran, she had recently become engaged to her show’s former host, Alex Buckley. Since then, the two have been happily planning a summer wedding and honeymoon, preparing for Alex’s confirmation to a federal judicial appointment, and searching for the perfect New York City home for their new life together.

But then Laurie is approached by Robert and Cynthia Bell, parents of Dr. Martin Bell, a famously charming and talented physician who was shot dead as he pulled into the driveway of his Greenwich Village carriage house five years ago. The Bells are sure that Martin’s disgraced and erratic wife, Kendra, carried out the murder. Determined to prove Kendra’s guilt and win custody over their grandchildren, they plead with Laurie to feature their son’s case on “Under Suspicion,” ensuring her that Kendra is willing to cooperate. 

Kendra has lived under a blanket of suspicion since Martin’s death, with the tabloid media depicting her as a secretive, mentally unstable gold-digger. Laurie’s show is a chance for her to clear her name. But unbeknownst to the Bells, Kendra has already refused once before to go forward with a re-investigation of her husband’s murder, and her statements to the contrary only add to the appearance of guilt.

But once Laurie dives into the case, she learns that Martin wasn’t the picture-perfect husband, father, and doctor he appeared to be and was carrying secrets of his own. And what does the web of lies ensnaring the Bell family have to do with a dangerous stranger, who gazes at Laurie from afar and thinks, What a pretty girl, I’m sure she’s going to be missed…?

You Don’t Own Me is the perfect, exhilarating follow up to the bestselling Every Breath You Take. The “Queen of Suspense” Mary Higgins Clark and her dazzling partner-in-crime Alafair Burke have devised another riveting page-turner.



LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:








MY REVIEW:


You Don't Own Me (Under Suspicion, #6)You Don't Own Me by Mary Higgins Clark
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

You Don’t Own Me by Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke is a 2018 Simon & Schuster publication.

A multi-layered cold case mystery!

The latest cold case for Laurie Moran’s popular program, “Under Suspicion” involves the unsolved murder of Dr. Martin Bell, a prominent physician. Martin’s parents are convinced his troubled wife, Kendra, was behind his murder and they want Laurie to feature his case on her show. What they don’t know is that Kendra has already been approached about cooperating with them, but she refused to participate. But, after a second visit from Laurie and her partner, Ryan Nichols, Kendra is convinced it might be in her best interest to go along with it.

Meanwhile, Laurie and Alex are making wedding plans and looking for the perfect place to begin their new lives together, while also celebrating Alex’s appointment to a Federal Judgeship position.
But the reader knows something they don’t- Laurie is being followed and her stalker has murder on his mind…

I’ve followed this series from the beginning and I have loved every single installment. I will say the last chapter in the series was maybe the weakest one and I was just little concerned about the series running out of steam.

However, I needn’t have worried. This latest edition was one of the darkest and most layered cold cases so far. Most of you have heard me say that of all the various tropes in the mystery/thriller categories, cold cases are my favorite. Naturally, this series would appeal to me on that basis alone. Add in the fact that it is co-written by two of the best female mystery/suspense writers out there, and you have an unbeatable combination.

It seems every character in this story has an explosive secret, one that could cast suspicions on them. Even the murder victim has secrets, secrets that could give someone a nice motive for murder. This installment has some really nice and well-timed twists, which kept me on my toes and guessing all the way to the bitter end.

There was a lot going on in this story, with Alex, the stalker, and the murder case, but these clever and seasoned authors brought all the threads together for a rousing and suspenseful conclusion.

I can’t wait to see what these ladies will bring us next in this series!

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/You-Dont-Under-Suspicion-Novel-ebook/dp/B07CL94K1G/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/you-dont-own-me-mary-higgins-clark/

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:


Mary Higgins Clark, #1 international and New York Times bestselling author, is the author of 46 books and counting: she’s written thirty-three suspense novels; three collections of short stories; a historical novel, Mount Vernon Love Story; two children’s books, including The Magical Christmas Horse; and a memoir, Kitchen Privileges. She has also written five holiday suspense novels with Carol Higgins Clark and The Cinderella Murder, a new thriller in collaboration with bestselling novelist Alafair Burke.

Clark’s books have sold more than 100 million copies in the United States alone. Her books are beloved around the world and have made her an international bestseller many times over.




Alafair Burke is the New York Times bestselling author of "two power house series" (Sun-Sentinel) that have earned her a reputation for creating strong, believable, and eminently likable female characters, such as NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher and Portland Deputy District Attorney Samantha Kincaid. Alafair's novels grow out of her experience as a prosecutor in America's police precincts and criminal courtrooms, and have been featured by The Today Show, People Magazine, The New York Times, MSNBC, The Washington Post, USA Today, and The Chicago Sun-Times. According to Entertainment Weekly, Alafair "is a terrific web spinner" who "knows when and how to drop clues to keep readers at her mercy."

A graduate of Stanford Law School and a former Deputy District Attorney in Portland, Oregon, Alafair is now a Professor of Law at Hofstra Law School, where she teaches criminal law and procedure. Her books have been translated into 12 languages.

Alafair's work has been praised by some of the world's most respected crime writers, including Gillian Flynn, Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, Lisa Scottoline, Lisa Unger, and Nelson DeMille. 

Learn more about Alafair at www.alafairburke.com

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

MERRY CHRISTMAS From The Book Review!

The Book Review would like to wish everyone a safe and very Merry Christmas!

I will be taking this off to be with my family and friends. However, I'll be back tomorrow with more great features and book reviews.




Monday, December 24, 2018

The Army Doc's Christmas Angel by Annie O'Neil- Feature and Review






ABOUT THE BOOK:

Letting go of his past...

...to embrace their future!

In this Hope Children's Hospital story, pediatrician Dr. Finn Morgan keeps himself fiercely private--after losing his leg in Afghanistan, he pushed everyone away. So his unexpected attraction to his colleague, physiotherapist Naomi Collins, infuriates him! Something in her stunning eyes tells him she's a survivor, too. Christmas is a time for healing. Maybe they'll both find what they've been looking for--in each other's arms...


READ AN EXCERPT:







MY REVIEW:

The Army Doc's Christmas Angel (Hope Children's Hospital #3)The Army Doc's Christmas Angel by Annie O'Neil
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Army Doc’s Christmas Angel by Annie O’Neil is a Harlequin Medical publication.

After losing his leg in Afghanistan, Pediatrician, Dr. Finn Morgan garnered a gruff, anti-social reputation. But, when he’s partnered with Naomi Collins, a physiotherapist, to treat a young amputee, the sparks between them fly. Neither of them knows how to feel about that situation and walk around on eggshells when they are together. But, when Naomi spies Finn away from the hospital, she sees another side of him.

Naomi is an enigma for Finn. As he gets to know her better, he feels there is something behind her guarded exterior that is keeping her from admitting her feelings for him. Once Naomi trusts him enough to reveal her painful past, Finn realizes they both have deep emotional scars. But he also knows it is time for them to make peace with the past. Can Naomi forgive herself and accept the love Finn is offering her?

Harlequin romance has a line for almost every taste in romance, from angsty to super steamy, from heartwarming to edgy suspense. But my favorite line is the medical romance. These stories don’t seem to get the same attention as the other lines, but are by far the best stories. If you like medical dramas, like Grey’s, then there is no reason why you wouldn’t like these books.


This story has a lot of mature subject matter, dealing with some heavy tragedies. Both Finn and Naomi have survived harrowing ordeals, leaving them traumatized. The relationship develops at a realistic pace and in a way befitting their unique situation.

The downside to the story is that while this book is marketed as a Christmas novel, it only has a mild Christmas theme and is not light and festive, at all.

That said, this is a book one could read at any time of the year, however, and find the story compelling.

Overall, this a good story, very mature subject matter, low steam level, with a compelling medical case, and nice wrap up.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Army-Christmas-Angel-Childrens-Hospital-ebook/dp/B07CSTV6N9/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-army-docs-christmas-angel-annie-oneil/1128586302

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Annie spent most of her childhood with a leg draped over the family rocking chair and a book in her hand. Novels, baking and writing too much teenage angst poetry ate up most of her youth. Now, quite a few years on from those fevered daydreams of being a poet, Annie splits her time between more corralling her husband (and real life Scottish hero) into helping her with their cows or harvesting honey, blackberries, apples (and on and on) - but mostly? She spends an abundance of very happy hours at her computer writing.

Friday, December 21, 2018

FLASHBACK FRIDAY -Duck the Halls by Donna Andrews- Feature and Review

\

ABOUT THE BOOK:

A new side-splitting Meg Langslow mystery from award–winning, New York Times bestselling author of Six Geese A Slaying, just in time for the holidays

The brilliantly funny and talented Donna Andrews delivers another winner in the acclaimed avian-themed series that mystery readers have come to love. A few nights before Christmas, Meg is awakened when Michael is summoned to the New Life Baptist Church, where someone has rigged a cage full of skunks in the choir loft. The lengthy process of de-skunking the church requires its annual pre-Christmas concert to relocate to Trinity Episcopal, where Mother insists the show must go on, despite the budget-related protests of Mr. Otis, an elderly vestryman. Meanwhile, when Meg helps her grandfather take the skunks to the zoo, they discover that his boa has been stolen—only to turn up later during the concert slithering out from the ribbon-bedecked evergreens.

It’s clear that some serious holiday pranksters are on the loose, and Meg is determined to find them. But before she can, a fire breaks out at Trinity, and Mr. Otis is discovered dead. Could this be a bit of nasty revenge from the now deposed Pruitt family? Or harassment from the Evil Lender? As Meg searches for answers she also races to finish all of her Christmas shopping, wrapping, cooking, caroling, and decorating in time to make the season jolly for Michael and the twins.

Guaranteed to put the "ho ho hos" into the holidays of cozy lovers everywhere, Duck the Halls is a gut-bustingly funny mystery, the latest from the award-winning Donna Andrews.



READ AN EXCERPT:






MY REVIEW:


Duck the Halls (Meg Langslow, #16)Duck the Halls by Donna Andrews
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Duck the Halls by Donna Andrews is a 2013 Minotaur publication.

This holiday edition of the long running Meg Langslow series is centered around a string of criminal mischief incidents at several local churches. The damage done by these invasions has forced the churches, which are of differing denominations, to help each other out so their Christmas pageant show can go on.

Meg, who is helping Robyn, a new minister who happens to be both young and female, with her scheduling issues. In the process, Meg witnesses a few skirmishes between church members, all of whom seem to have forgotten the spirit of the holiday. Things go from bad to worse when one of them is murdered. Meg must prove which of the prime suspects is a murderous grinch, hopefully before the all important Christmas presentation.

This book, as with most of the books in the series, has some laugh out loud moments in it. The church politics and the stress of rehearsal for the Christmas pageant was humorous, because, while exaggerated for this story, was also a little too realistic.

The only small complaint I had was that Meg’s father and brother have very small and muted roles and I missed their presence. However, I did enjoy the prominence of the female characters in this one, with Meg’s mother working in concert with Meg, which was actually pretty funny.

This is the sixteenth installment in the series, and I inadvertently picked this one out thinking it was the sixth installment. I was shocked by some of the developments that took place since I’ve only read the first four or five books in the series, but sadly, I will not be able to read the series in order, because of a licensing issue with my library and the publisher So, it was just as well.

Despite missing out on the events that led up to this point, I found this story to be just as refreshingly funny as the previous installments, maybe even more so. The mystery is solid, and I enjoyed the festive atmosphere, and the touching, heartwarming conclusion.

Overall, this was a fun, highly entertaining holiday mystery anyone can enjoy.



GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Duck-Halls-Langslow-Mystery-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B00CQY9CPW/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/duck-the-halls-donna-andrews/1116354424

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Donna Andrews was born in Yorktown, Virginia, the setting of Murder with Peacocks and Revenge of the Wrought Iron Flamingos, and now lives and works in Reston, Virginia. When not writing fiction, Andrews is a self-confessed nerd, rarely found away from her computer, unless she's messing in the garden.


FLASHBACK FRIDAY: Envious Casca by Georgette Heyer- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

'Tis the season-to be dead...

Resigned to spending Christmas at Lexham Manor, Mathilda Clare wasn't sure what she dreaded most--the foul temper of Nat Herriard, the filthy-rich old Scrooge who owned the place, or the sweetness-and-light of his brother, Joseph. Joseph had concocted a guest list brilliantly headed for mayhem... acid-tongued young Stephen, his sly sister Paula, and Nat's sharp-dealing partner, with a finger in some strange pies. "There'll be murder before we're through," Mathilda laughed. And she was absolutely right. This it is no ordinary Christmas, when the holiday party takes on a sinister aspect when the colorful assortment of guests discovers there is a killer in their midst. The owner of the substantial estate, that old Scrooge Nathaniel Herriard, is found stabbed in the back, and the six holiday guests find themselves the suspects of a murder enquiry.

For Inspector Hemingway of Scotland Yard, 'tis the season to find whodunit. Whilst the delicate matter of inheritance could be the key to this crime, the real conundrum is how any of the suspects could have entered the locked room to commit this foul deed. The investigation is complicated by the fact that every guest is hiding something-throwing all of their testimony into question and casting suspicion far and wide. The clever and daring crime will mystify readers, yet the answer is in plain sight all along....

LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:




 MY REVIEW:




Envious Casca (Inspectors Hannasyde & Hemingway #6)Envious Casca by Georgette Heyer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Envious Casca by Georgette Heyer was written in 1941.

Joseph wants to be have a holiday party and has invited his niece and nephew, and their current significant others, as well as his brother Nathan's business partner. Apparently old uncle "Nat" was not the holiday cheer type and was up and down with a painful malady, making him grumpier than usual. Having all these people under one roof proved not to be such a grand idea when Uncle Nat was murdered in his bed.

This is a classic "locked door" mystery set during the holidays, making this a good mystery to pull out this time of year. Suspects and motives abound as Inspector Hemingway tries to sort through the evidence and alibi's.

This classic mystery might have you thinking twice about congregating your family under one roof for a little holiday gathering.

This book is a part of my personal book collection and one I've always wanted to read, but somehow never got around to. I'm glad I decided to sneak it in my holiday reading list this year.
This one would appeal to all mystery lovers, but especially to those that enjoy British mysteries and classic mysteries.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Envious-Casca-Inspector-Hemingway-Book-ebook/dp/B003D8V7E4/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/envious-casca-georgette-heyer/1100202376



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Georgette Heyer was a prolific historical romance and detective fiction novelist. Her writing career began in 1921, when she turned a story for her younger brother into the novel The Black Moth.

In 1925 she married George Ronald Rougier, a mining engineer, and he often provided basic plot outlines for her thrillers. Beginning in 1932, Heyer released one romance novel and one thriller each year.

Heyer was an intensely private person who remained a best selling author all her life without the aid of publicity. She made no appearances, never gave an interview and only answered fan letters herself if they made an interesting historical point. She wrote one novel using the pseudonym Stella Martin.

Her Georgian and Regencies romances were inspired by Jane Austen. While some critics thought her novels were too detailed, others considered the level of detail to be Heyer's greatest asset.

Heyer remains a popular and much-loved author, known for essentially establishing the historical romance genre and its subgenre Regency romance.