Man Overboard

Man Overboard
Man Overboard by J.A. Jance

The Somnanbulist's Dreams

The Somnanbulist's Dreams
The Somnambulist's Dreams

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

The Bachelor Auction-by Rachel Van Dyken- Book Blitz + Review + Giveaway



ABOUT THE BOOK:

NOW IN PAPERBACK!

The first book in an all-new contemporary romance series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Rachel Van Dyken.          

Cinderella never had to deal with this crap.

Jane isn't entirely sure that Cinderella got such a raw deal. Sure, she had a rough start, but didn't she eventually land a prince and a happily-ever-after? Meanwhile, Jane is busy waiting on her demanding, entitled sisters, running her cleaning business, and . . . yep, not a prince in sight. Until a party and a broken shoe incident leave Jane wondering if princes---or at least, a certain deliciously hunky billionaire---maybe do exist.












Except Brock Wellington isn't anyone's dream guy. Hell, a prince would never agree to be auctioned off in marriage to the highest bidder. Or act like an arrogant jerk---even if it was just a fa├žade. Now, as Brock is waiting for the auction chopping block, he figures it's karmic retribution that he's tempted by a sexy, sassy woman he can't have. But while they can't have a fairy-tale ending, maybe they can indulge in a little bit of fantasy . . .


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:


The Bachelor Auction (The Bachelors of Arizona, #1)The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken is a 2017 Forever publication.


Sweet, Adorable, and super Romantic!

This is a fun, modern day spin on the classic Cinderella story.

Brock Wellington and his twin brothers are single, and are known to be quite ‘social’, especially the twins who don’t even bother hiding their promiscuous ways. So, it’s Brock, who much step up to the plate and care for his brothers and run the company.

But, when their grandfather informs Brock that the board may make changes once he is gone because none of the Wellington boys are married, which doesn’t exactly scream stability. So, with time being of the essence, the old man decides to hold an auction – A Bachelor Auction- putting Brock on the block and at the mercy of the highest bidder. So, who will be the lucky lady?


Jane runs a cleaning business and tries to meet the exhausting demands of her younger sisters. When she meets Brock by chance, he is simply dreamy, causing her to divulge in a few harmless fantasies about prince charming.

When Brock decides to spend a few weeks at the family ranch while the media hypes up the auction, he is stunned to find Jane there and even more surprised to learn his grandfather has hired her to keep the place clean while he’s staying there.

But, Jane soon learns the charming, sweet man she met before was a mirage, and the Brock Wellington she has been hired to take care of, is a royal pain in the butt!

But, as they spend more time together the initial chemistry between them is becoming harder and harder to deny. Still, once auction day rolls around, Brock will be lost to Jane forever- unless…

Romance novels inspired by beloved fairytales can be hit or miss with me. When we have such a familiar setup, the author really has to work hard to make the story unique and put their own personal stamp on it.


RVD did an amazing job with that and in the process created a delightful and charming love story anyone can enjoy.

There are some hilarious moments with farm animals, some quick and sharp dialogue and of course the special tender moments that make us all sigh.

One a personal note, I’ve been on a romance novel diet for a while, having become quite frustrated with the genre, which sent me in search of something more challenging, so it’s nice to have a book come along, like this one, that reminds me why I love to read romance and gives me hope that there are still authors out there that know what real romance is all about.

Buy the Book!
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2gMQMVY

a Rafflecopter giveaway


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:





About the Author
Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult, Regency, and contemporary romances. When she's not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor. She keeps her home in Idaho with her husband, son, and their snoring boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers!

Social Media Links
 http://rachelvandykenauthor.com
Add The Bachelor Auction to your shelf on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2gMQNsP




Somebody Like You by Donna Alward- Blog Tour + Giveaway



ABOUT THE BOOK
A kiss to last a lifetime

Aiden Gallagher was only five years old when he appeared in a photograph on the Kissing Bridge. The town of Darling, Vermont, has used Aiden’s image on the famed bridge—local legend has it that a kiss there results in everlasting love—as part of its tourism campaign. Now, twenty years later, Aiden is asked to recreate the moment with the woman he once kissed: Laurel Stone.


Recently divorced, there’s nothing Laurel wants less than to pretend happily-ever-after with Aiden. As teenagers, their romance was no fairy tale—and Laurel has never quite forgiven Aiden for breaking her heart. But now that she is back in her hometown, and keeps bumping into police officer Aiden, Laurel can’t deny that there’s still a strong flicker between her and her old flame. Could it be that the Kissing Bridge is working its magic on Laurel and Aiden—and that all true love ever needed was a second chance?


EXCERPT



By the time they were through, it was nine o’clock and time to open. Being a Saturday, business was brisk. Her dad dropped off the supplies and offered to stay to help cover the tagging, but with the heavy shopping traffic, Laurel decided to wait until things died down. For now the tarps covered the tags, and she’d focus on her customers. Otherwise her anger would get the best of her and that was bad for business. By six p.m., things had slowed considerably.
Laurel had been going flat out for ten hours, stopping for only fifteen minutes to run to The Purple Pig for a sandwich. Her stomach growled, her feet hurt, there was dirt beneath her nails and she really, really wanted a shower and a glass of wine—in that order. Laurel had just dragged out the hose to water the fruit trees when a half- ton truck drove into the lot and parked in an empty space.
The driver hopped out, and her heart slammed against her ribs as she immediately realized how she must look. Dirty jeans, mannish golf shirt that did nothing for her figure,
scrubby ponytail through a Ladybug Garden Center ball cap, and prob ably smudges of dirt on her face and arms. Not that she was trying to look nice for Aiden or anything, but it was him getting out of the truck, looking sexy as hell in faded jeans and a T- shirt that stretched across
his chest and shoulders.
She could pretend she hadn’t seen him. Resolutely she turned on the hose and started watering the apple trees.
“Hey, Laurel,” he called out, and that erased any hope of avoiding him.
She turned off the hose and faced him. “Aiden. What brings you by? Looking for a shrub or tree or something?”
Keep it businesslike, she reminded herself. The last thing she needed was for him to know that he had the ability to fluster her.
“I heard about what happened.”
Of course he had.
“Don’t even. I’m still pissed.”
“I know it’s not what you needed. Did Crystal tell you that you weren’t the only one hit?”
Crystal must be the offi cer from this morning. “She did.”
“Well, that must make you feel better.”
She stared at him. “Better? Seriously? Since I opened a month ago, I’ve had to have the driveway re- graded, I’ve had to replace shrubs that were stolen from out front, deal
with a break-in and vandalism, and now tagging. Trust me, Aiden, the only thing that would feel better is if you actually did your job and found out who was doing this.”
She turned the hose back on.
He waited. He waited a long time. Several seconds, maybe thirty. Which was really not that long at all but definitely felt that way. She was watering the third tree when he sighed. “ You’re upset.”
“No shit, Sherlock.”
He met her gaze, and his eyes were soft, even though she’d basically just accused him of not doing his job. The understanding she saw there made her stomach churn. She didn’t want to lash out, but that was what she did when she was hurt. Angry.
Stopping by was kind and thoughtful. She kept trying to make him out to be a bad guy, and he kept being nice. It definitely made it difficult for her to hate him. Particularly since her biochemistry betrayed her at every turn. Even now, when she was utterly preoccupied with the day’s events, she seemed to notice everything. His hair, his eyes, the breadth of his chest, the armband tattoo that looked like some sort of Celtic braid, peeking just below the hem of his T- shirt sleeve. The shape of his lips . . .
He muttered something that was as creative a curse as she’d ever heard, and sounded suspiciously Irish. She couldn’t help but laugh, and tried to clamp her lips shut again. But not before he saw and heard, and his eyes took on an impish gleam.
“ You’re not fine. You’re tired and upset and rightfully so. You’re also just as stubborn as you always were.” He put his hands on his hips. “I take it you’re not adverse to help, just help from me in particular.”
Her face heated. Dammit.
“Maybe this could be my penance,” he suggested, giving her a quick grin. And she wished she could take him seriously, but he always seemed to be teasing. It was one of the things she’d really liked about him and hated at the same time. Particularly now, when she wanted to be, if not mad, completely unaffected. And she wasn’t. He was trying to cajole her out of her mood and it was working.
“It’s Saturday night. Don’t you have a hot date or something?” She turned on the hose again. Focused on the large plastic pot holding a cherry tree.
“Nope. Free as a bird.”
Dammit again.
“Come on, Laurel. Peace offering. Manual labor for you to stop hating me.”
She glanced over at him. “Why do you care so much?”
He was quiet for a moment, and to her surprise the teasing expression left his face. After a while he answered, his voice a little lower. “I don’t know why I care what people think so much. I always have. I don’t like anyone to be mad at me. Maybe it has something with being one of the younger siblings in the family. I don’t know. I just know that I don’t like it that you’re still so angry.” His intense blue gaze locked with hers. “It’s starting to become a personal mission to win you over. To atone for past sins.”
“Good luck,” she said dryly, more touched than she wanted to admit.
His boyish grin was back. “Come on, Laurel. You know you can’t hold out forever. You think I’m hot.” He had the audacity to wink at her.
She rolled her eyes.
“You do. You have a thing for gingers. And you have to admit, I grew up kinda good.” His hands were still on his hips and he tensed his muscles so that his shoulders and chest tightened beneath the thin T- shirt.
“I think you’re a bit taken with yourself, to be honest,” she replied. And tried not to smile. She didn’t want to be charmed, but he was incorrigible.
“Laurel.”
Damn, his voice was all silky- smooth now. “Yes, Mr. Narcissist?”
“You know damn well you want to hate me and you can’t. Besides, I saw your face just now. Maybe if I took off my shirt . . .”
“Would you like to go somewhere private to be with yourself?” she asked, biting the inside of her lip. She shouldn’t be enjoying this so much. And she wouldn’t be, if she thought he was serious. But he was teasing her.
Like he used to do when they were friends. And today . . . she swallowed against a ball of emotion. Today she needed a friend, and all she’d had were well- meaning customers.
She looked over at him. “Jeez, Aiden. You’re looking a little flushed. I think you could stand to cool off.” And before he could reply, she flicked her wrist and aimed the spray of the hose right at the center of his chest.
The abrupt shock on his face was gratifi cation enough, but then he grinned and reached to take away the hose. She danced away, still spraying him, admiring how the shirt now clung to his skin and the little droplets lit up his face and hair. A laugh bubbled up through her chest and out her mouth as she darted around the trees, dragging the hose with her. But there were too many pots and not enough room to maneuver and within seconds he caught her, wrapped one strong arm around her and wrenched the hose away with the other, spraying her in the process.
Cold water dripped from her nose, down her neck, over her bare arms. Aiden held her close against his body, close enough she could feel the hardness of his muscles, and thrilled at it. Their breaths came fast, their chests rising and falling with both laughter and the exertion of the struggle over the hose. But it was the way he was looking down at her right now that made her feel as if the lack of air was strangling her lungs. All it would take was the tiniest move and he’d be kissing her. Her gaze dropped to his lips— he’d always had fine lips— and she swallowed, nervous and scared at her reaction and turned on as hell.
She looked up, which was a mistake. Because he was staring at her lips. And his arm tightened just a little bit at the hollow of her back. Oh God . . .
A car horn honked and Laurel jumped back. He let her go, but the gravity of the moment remained.

Copyright © 2017 by Donna Alward and reprinted by permission of St. Martin’s Paperbacks.






BUY LINKS:






CHECK OUT DONNA'S PLAYLIST FOR SOMEBODY LIKE YOU:






GIVEAWAY DETAILS:

LEAVE A MEANINGFUL COMMENT ABOUT THIS POST FOR A CHANCE TO WIN A MASS MARKET PAPERBACK COPY OF SOMEBODY LIKE YOU

CONTEST ENDS ON 2/14/17  US RESIDENTS ONLY

MORE IN THE DARLING,VT SERIES:













ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


DONNA ALWARD BIO: While bestselling author Donna Alward was busy studying Austen, Eliot and Shakespeare, she was also losing herself in the breathtaking stories created by romance novelists like LaVyrle Spencer, Judith McNaught, and Nora Roberts. Several years after completing her degree she decided to write a romance of her own and it was true love! Five years and ten manuscripts later she sold her first book and launched a new career. While her heartwarming stories of love, hope, and homecoming have been translated into several languages, hit bestseller lists and won awards, her very favorite thing is when she hears from happy readers!
Donna lives on Canada’s east coast with her family which includes a husband, a couple of kids, a senior dog and two crazy cats. When she’s not writing she enjoys reading (of course!), knitting, gardening, cookingand is a Masterpiece Theater addict.





SOCIAL LINKS
Twitter- @DonnaAlward
Facebook- @DonnaAlwardAuthor
Author Blog

Monday, January 30, 2017

Murder, Curlers & Cream by Arlene McFarlane- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

Valentine Beaumont is a beautician with a problem. Not only has she got a meddling mother, a wacky staff, and a dying business, but now she’s got a dead client who was strangled while awaiting her facial. 

With business the way it is, combing through this mystery may be the only way to save her salon. Until a second murder, an explosion, a kidnapping, death threats, and the hard-nosed Detective Romero complicate things. But Valentine will do anything to untangle the crime. That’s if she can keep her tools of the trade in her bag, keep herself alive, and avoid falling for the tough detective. 

In the end, how hard can that be?


READ AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:







Murder, Curlers, and Cream (Valentine Beaumont Mysteries #1)Murder, Curlers, and Cream by Arlene McFarlane
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Murder, Curlers, and Cream by Arlene McFarlane is a 2016 publication.

A cute, cozy mystery that set a positive tone for the beginning of a new series.

Valentine Beaumont’s struggling beauty salon takes an even darker turn when one of her clients is murdered while waiting for a facial. In order to keep her business afloat, Valerie decides to speed up the wheels of justice by doing a little sleuthing of her own, much to the chagrin of the sexy Detective Romero.

Meanwhile, Valentine must cope with her pushy mom and a terrible employee, she feels obligated to keep on staff, while gamely going on the many blind dates her friends arrange for her, and avoiding Detective Romero’s radar despite her attraction to him.

This is a very fast-paced mystery, with cute illustrations, and hilarious dialogue. The characters were well drawn and surprisingly developed for a ‘first in a series’ book. The mystery is well done, becoming a fun guessing game with a few surprise twists along the way.

Overall, I thought this opening installment was fresh and exciting and I hope to touch base with Valentine Beaumont again soon.

BUY YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Murder-Curlers-Cream-Valentine-Beaumont-ebook/dp/B01M3RMQMG/

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Arlene McFarlane is the author of the Murder, Curlers series. Previously an aesthetician, hairstylist, and owner of a full-service salon, Arlene now writes full time. When she’s not making up stories, or being a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, cat-mom, or makeover artist, you’ll find her making music on the piano.

Arlene is a member of Romance Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Toronto Romance Writers, SOWG, and the Golden Network. She’s won and placed in over 30 contests, including twice in the Golden Heart and twice in the Daphne du Maurier. 

Arlene lives with her family in Canada.

Friday, January 27, 2017

Different Class by Joanne Harris- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

After thirty years at St Oswald’s Grammar in North Yorkshire, Latin master Roy Straitley has seen all kinds of boys come and go. Each class has its clowns, its rebels, its underdogs, its ‘Brodie’ boys who, whilst of course he doesn’t have favourites, hold a special place in an old teacher’s heart. But every so often there’s a boy who doesn’t fit the mould. A troublemaker. A boy with hidden shadows inside.

With insolvency and academic failure looming, a new broom has arrived at the venerable school, bringing Powerpoint, sharp suits and even sixth form girls to the dusty corridors. But while Straitley does his sardonic best to resist this march to the future, a shadow from his past is stirring. A boy who even twenty years on haunts his teacher’s dreams. A boy capable of bad things.



LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:



MY REVIEW:

  Different ClassDifferent Class by Joanne Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Different Class by Joanne Harris is a 2017 Touchstone publication.

“Injustice is the tiny shard of something broken in the soul that can never be mended.”

I had a feeling I was going to like this book, and my intuitions didn’t disappoint me.

Roy Straitley has taught Latin at the prestigious St. Oswald’s Grammar boys school for thirty years. But, the school is standing on rocky ground after a scandal and financial problems. The old ways are being shoved to the side in favor of technology, by a new headmaster, who is a former student of Roy’s.

As the new headmaster brings about sweeping changes, including girls in the classroom, Roy struggles to adapt. But, that is not the only thing niggling at him. The past has come calling, dredging up a sordid scandal from twenty -years prior, one that is still unresolved in Roy’s mind, and one that involves the new headmaster, a man Roy is convinced is out to settle old scores.

Fans of classic British mysteries will appreciate the slow, but steady pace of this novel, which is more atmosphere than action for a good while, but it is utterly absorbing because of the dark tones and feeling of foreboding.

Roy Straitley is a bachelor, a man who has devoted his entire life to teaching and is proud of his loyalty to the school. He loves the old traditions, the way the teachers and administration closed ranks around one another, even if they weren’t exactly best friends. But, those traditions are at stake now, and he finds himself being pushed out, told to accept his retirement and enjoy the rest of his life in peace. But Roy is a stubborn fighter, and he intends to see his old friend honored, and the truth exposed, once and for all.

Straitley's narration, is very thoughtful and telling, perfectly characterized, to the point where I thought I may have recognized Roy in some people I know, personally, especially when it came to his obvious disdain for modern sensitivities, and political correctness. Trust me,his musings are often very sarcastic, and amusing.

Between the back and forth narratives from the past to the present, a series of letters, written from one student to another, informs the reader of a series of dark crimes and confessions, which will reveal a shocking truth that will leave you wondering just how well you know your friends.

This novel is chock full of ironies, and juxtapositions, that reveal much about the darker side of human nature. It’s a thinking person’s novel, one that is best enjoyed at a leisurely pace, so as not miss any of the nuances. This is also a lurid, complex tale of horror and suspense, a cat and mouse game, all told with a subtlety that gives the story an edginess, yet is filled with a mocking tone full of dark humor and wit, which delighted me to no end.

In all honestly, I have not read the other books by this author, and while I do believe some her books feature recurring characters, I don’t think they are categorized as a series and can be read as stand alones.

However, this author is now on my list of ‘must reads’, and I will definitely read more of her work.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Different-Class-Novel-Joanne-Harris-ebook/dp/B01H0IOZNM/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/different-class-joanne-harris/1123908572

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Joanne Harris is a British author, whose books include fourteen novels, two cookbooks and many short stories. Her work is extremely diverse, covering aspects of magic realism, suspense, historical fiction, mythology and fantasy. She has also written a DR WHO novella for the BBC, has scripted guest episodes for the game ZOMBIES, RUN!, and is currently engaged in a number of musical theatre projects as well as developing an original drama for television.
In 2000, her 1999 novel CHOCOLAT was adapted to the screen, starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. She is an honorary Fellow of St Catharine's College, Cambridge, and in 2013 was awarded an MBE by the Queen.
Her hobbies are listed in Who's Who as 'mooching, lounging, strutting, strumming, priest-baiting and quiet subversion'. She also spends too much time on Twitter; plays flute and bass guitar in a band first formed when she was 16; and works from a shed in her garden at her home in Yorkshire.

Thursday, January 26, 2017

The Girl Before- by J.P. Delaney- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

Emma
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.

Jane
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.





  LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:







MY REVIEW: 



The Girl BeforeThe Girl Before by J.P. Delaney
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney is a 2017 Ballantine publication.

I’m just loving these imaginative psychological thrillers coming out recently!!

While this appears to be a debut novel, this author apparently has some experience with crime writing, having written this book under a pseudonym. I wish I knew who the ‘crime writer’ is- but I suppose that’s a mystery for another day.

In the meantime, I hear this book might be the basis for a movie, and Ron Howard would be the director! So, if that isn’t enough to peak your interest, I don’t know what will.

While this is yet ANOTHER book for ‘fans of ‘Gone Girl’ and ‘The Girl on the Train’, and yes, it does have the requisite ‘Girl’ in the title, this book stands on its own merits and needs no other comparison.

Two very different women, both having suffered emotional traumas, move in, at different times, into a very affordable, unique, technologically advanced apartment that stresses a minimalist lifestyle. The apartment’s owner screens his tenants by having them fill out a lengthy questionnaire, and insists they sign a contract promising to adhere to a strict set of rules… around two hundred of them,(!!!) and if they are not obeyed there will be consequences.

The story alternates between the first person perspectives of Emma and Jane as they describe their time living in Edward Monkford’s apartment building. As the story progresses, we learn the two women bear a striking resemblance to one another, are both attracted to Edward, despite his OCD tendencies, but, Jane discovers that the previous tenant… Emma, died in the apartment, an apparent victim of suicide.

Jane becomes somewhat obsessed with Emma and her backstory, while her own personal relationship with Edward begins to deepen. But, her investigation into Emma’s death could come back to haunt her….

While it may seem obvious who ‘the girl before’ is, and some may guess correctly, I admit I didn’t see the twist coming and was completely surprised by the way the story developed.

The suspense is low key initially, with just a mild creepy feeling permeating the sterile environment the two women live in. But, as the story develops, a feeling of dread begins to grow, and before too long, I found myself immersed in these women’s lives, wanting to send out a warning signal, to advise caution, but didn't know who or what the main threat was.

The writing is superb, as the author drew me in, held my attention, managing to evoke feelings of concern for the tenants, on top of creating the feeling of foreboding and dread, that kept me turning those pages.

Of the two women, one is more controversial and the other is mildly bland, and were not necessarily people I related to or felt a kinship with, but I did feel sympathy for them and worried on their behalf, despite feeling frustrated with them at times.

I was slightly conflicted by the ending, which was somewhat anticlimactic, in my opinion. Other than that, I thought this was a pretty solid thriller, with a unique set up, and kept me interested from beginning to end.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:


https://www.amazon.com/Girl-Before-Novel-JP-Delaney-ebook/dp/B01EE0CRKW/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-girl-before-j-p-delaney/1123670928

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


The Girl Before is the first psychological thriller from JP Delaney, a pseudonym for a writer who has previously written best-selling fiction under other names. It is being published in the US in January 2017, with subsequent editions in over 30 countries. A film version is being brought to the screen by Academy Award-winning director Ron Howard.

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Accidentally on Purpose- by Jill Shalvis- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

There’s no such thing as a little in love…

Elle Wheaten’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .

There’s no such thing as a little in lust…

Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. But now that she’s earned happiness and success, Archer just wants Elle 24/7. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco Earthquake, and Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . .

There is such a thing as…

As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along…


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:


  Accidentally on Purpose (Heartbreaker Bay, #3)Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis is a 2017 Avon publication.

Elle and Archer…

I’ve been looking forward to this story for a while now, and I am happy to report, it is everything I hoped it would be.

Elle and Archer’s world collided in an explosive way that changed the course of their lives forevermore.

Now, Elle’s life is working out far better than she could have dreamed. She has a job she loves, and terrific friends, but her feelings for Archer are always simmering just beneath the surface.

Archer’s career path changed after he met Elle, but he has no regrets, except for the rift between him and his father. The only thing that constantly keeps him twisted up inside, is his feelings for Elle. But, he would never allow anyone to know how he feels… especially Elle.

Jill Shalvis seems to have a bottomless well of fun and emotional love stories in her brain to draw from. I always look forward to reading her novels, but I have one small complaint… the story's end always end too soon.

I particularly enjoyed the family dynamic that wound around Archer and Elle, as they cope with difficult and complicated relationships besides the developing romance between them.

Elle struggles with some of the same things many women face, needing to accomplish their goals by their own merit, but also needing to know it’s okay to lean on others for support at times.

Archer is so stoic, his emotions impossible to penetrate, but Elle always manages to get under his skin, breaking down his barriers, little by little.

This couple challenges one another, always dancing around their attraction to one another, which makes their romance a little on the edgy side sometimes, with their push/pull creating some really great banter and dialogue.

Overall, this is a wonderfully delightful story that all Jill Shalvis fans will want to read, as will anyone who appreciates a good quality story filled with depth, humor, and warmth.




GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Accidentally-Purpose-Heartbreaker-Bay-Novel-ebook/dp/B01FD9RWOO/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/accidentally-on-purpose-jill-shalvis/1125167123






ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras with her family and far too many assorted quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. 

Look for Jill's latest, SWEET LITTLE LIES on shelves and e-readers now, and get all her bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold. 

Visit Jill's website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

Connect with Jill on Facebook: http://facebook.com/JillShalvis
Connect with Jill on Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jillshalvis
Connect with Jill on Tumblr: http://jillshalvis.tumblr.com