Beach House for Rent

Beach House for Rent
Beach House for Rent by Mary Alice Monroe

Saturday's Series Spotlight

Saturday's Series Spotlight
Saturday's Series Spotlight

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.

Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.

Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.

Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.

From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cideris a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

READ AN ECXCERPT:







 MY REVIEW:


The Simplicity of CiderThe Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert is a 2017 Gallery books publication.


‘Happiness is always worth remembering, even if it’s temporary”

Sanna Lund loves her quiet, simple life, working on her family’s apple orchard. It’s the only life she has ever known, and she has no desire to give it up to see what else might be out there, like her brother, Anders. But, her father is getting older and is unable to do as much, and the orchard is not making a profit. Not only that, someone wants to buy the land and use it to build a water park.

Anders is all for it, but Sanna simply can’t let it go.

Enter Isaac and his son, Bass. Isaac has simply walked away from his life, taking his young son along for a summer adventure before he must pass along some life altering information that will shatter Bass’s innocence forever, which is how they came to be in Wisconsin and how they landed a job working in the orchard.

Sanna is very slow to warm up to their new summer workers, but when her father has an accident, she is grateful for the extra hands.

What ensues from here is a funny, poignant, and heartwarming story about life, love, family, betrayals, and forgiveness, all of which sparks a time of awakening for Sanna and brings long overdue happiness back to her family.


‘Could a person have whiplash of the heart?’

I love Amy E. Reichert’s writing!!

I give you fair warning- Bass is going to melt and then steal your heart. I loved his banter with Sanna, who is not- I repeat- not- fond of kids.

The story has so much charm mixed with bittersweet emotions, I wanted to savor every moment. This story employs a mild bit of magical realism, which a new tact by Reichert, and I have to say that while I’ve become a bit of a hard sale on that front, in this context it added the cherry on the cake.


I enjoyed reading about the ‘Looms’, the cider, and the process of making it, and loved seeing Sanna come out of the fog she wasn’t even aware she was in. There are also some surprising twists and stunning developments along the way, and my emotions got a real workout in the process.

But, overall, I could not have asked for a better conclusion! Sometimes, especially when times are trying, I need a book like this one, that reminds me of the important things in life. But, it’s not enough to just prioritize, you must remember to enjoy living, to be willing to compromise, to forgive, and to let people in so you can live a fuller and happier life.

Whenever I close a book with a full heart and a smile on my face, then I know the author has not only done their job, but it was a job well done!!





GET YOUR COPY HERE:


https://www.amazon.com/Simplicity-Cider-Amy-E-Reichert-ebook/dp/B01HMXRVKO/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-simplicity-of-cider-amy-e-reichert/1124015875


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Amy Reichert earned her MA in Literature from Marquette University, and honed her writing and editing skills as a technical writer (which is exactly as exciting as it sounds). As a newly minted member of the local library board, she loves helping readers find new books to love. She’s a life-long Wisconsin resident with (allegedly) a very noticeable accent, a patient husband, and two too-smart-for-their-own-good kids. When time allows, she loves to read, collect more cookbooks than she could possibly use, and test the limits of her DVR.

No comments:

Post a Comment