Little Fires Everywhere

Little Fires Everywhere
Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

The Western Star

The Western Star
The Western Star by Craig Johnson

Monday, June 5, 2017

Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK: 


From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasuresand the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:





MY REVIEW:


Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone, #1)Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis is a 2017 William Morrow Paperbacks publication.

Unforgettable characters, whimsical and enchanting!


Shalvis out did herself with this one. I’ve sampled several of Shalvis’ series, and I always enjoy any book she writes, but sometimes a book comes along that just hits the spot..

Quinn loves L.A., her job as a chef, has loving supportive parents, and a kind of -sort of – boyfriend. But, over the past couple of years, she has only been going through the motions of life, unable to feel anything but a numbed grief.

But, a stunning revelation sends her away from big city life, to settle down for a while in the small town of Wildstone. Here, she meets Mick, another temporary transplant, and Tilly, a teenager in need of love and guidance, who has also suffered a deep loss.

Could the tiny, offbeat, and slightly supernatural, Wildstone, holds the key to awakening Quinn's long dormant zeal for life?

“If it’s got tires or testicles, it’s gonna give you trouble. Wasn’t that the truth…

I loved this story right from the beginning. The tone is a little different in this book, which has a paranormal element, and a quirky, almost whimsical quality to it. The trademark humor Shalvis is known for, was at its peak in this book, especially the hilarious musings from Tilly’s journal that precedes each chapter.

But, how Shalvis manages to deal with the subject of death with such delicacy, I don’t know. The story could have easily turned maudlin- but Shalvis never let it get too heavy, keeping everything light, with just the right emotional grabs, at just the right moments, for optimal effect, and believe me, it is effective!!

The emotional connections between sisters, family, and friends, combined with a sizzling romance, was outstanding!! While JS has combined friendship and family situations into her novels, usually the main focus in on the romance. In this case, the range is broader, and boy does it really pack a punch!

Quinn is so depressed after losing her sister, that her pain is a living, breathing thing. It was an amazing and powerful thing to watch her regain her footing, slowly come to life again, with gusto!!

Quinn is funny, loyal, and so easy to like. Mick, is also going through things that has him waffling about his role in Wildstone, and the romance often has a question mark at the end, but it is a very fun, tender and sweet relationship.

Lena, Mick’s former girlfriend, was also a real pill, but despite everything I liked her and liked the way Quinn handled the situation. Maybe someday she’ll get her own story.

Tilly- well, she almost stole the show a few times and it was obvious, she and Quinn is cut from the same cloth.

There was another character present, whose loving spirit chimed in on occasion, which was very funny at times, but sweet and touching, as well. To add the icing on the cake, there are also a couple of adorable pets featured, making this story darned near perfect.

Jill Shalvis always writes lovely romantic stories, tinged with humor and heartfelt emotions, but this story really melted my troubled heart and reminded me of why these stories are so important, why we need them, and the positive way they influence, uplift and enrich our lives.


ONE SALE JUNE 20,2017

PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Lost-Found-Sisters-Jill-Shalvis-ebook/dp/B01M1JVTK1/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lost-and-found-sisters-jill-shalvis/1124694138

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill's bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit http://www.jillshalvis.com for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

CONNECT WITH JILL:

www.facebook.com/jillshalvis

www.twitter.com/jillshalvis

www.instagram.com/jillshalvis

http://jillshalvis.tumblr.com/

or email her at contact@jillshalvis.com

No comments:

Post a Comment