Little Fires Everywhere

Little Fires Everywhere
Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Seven Husbands

Seven Husbands
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reidd

Thursday, May 25, 2017

I Found You by Lisa Jewell- Feature and Review




ABOUT THE BOOK:

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.


READ AN EXCERPT:





MY REVIEW:


I Found YouI Found You by Lisa Jewell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I Found You by Lisa Jewel is a 2017 Atria Books publication.

Tantalizing, Compelling, and very suspenseful.

Three seemingly unrelated people see their lives converge in the most horrific an unimaginable way.

Alice is a harried single mom in her forties trying to keep her head on straight after committing a few horrendous parenting mistakes.

When she sees a man out on the cold, damp, windy beach, she feels sorry for him and brings him an old coat to wear. In the process, she discovers the man has amnesia, and despite the possible dangers, she is determined to help him.

Lily has only been married a few weeks when her husband simply vanishes into thin air. Being in a new country, having never met her husband’s family face to face, having no friends to call, Lily’s search for the truth is daunting. Finally, able to enlist some help, Lily is baffled by what she discovers about her new husband.


‘I Found You’ is a tense psychological thriller, very cleverly plotted, beginning with a somewhat lighter tone that slowly develops into something truly dark and sinister.

This book played tricks with my head from the beginning and kept me guessing, tense, and on edge all the way to end.

I never knew who to trust, who to believe, who was in danger, or what to make of the situation, especially when ‘Frank’ begins to have a few memory jogs. The twists are deep, well timed, and surprising, the suspense is taut, but there is an emotional element at play, as well. At the end of the day, there is a sense of long overdue justice and I experienced palpable relief when I was finally able to exhale again.

Despite the darker tones and subject matter, the book has a deeply satisfying quality to it, which can be attributed to the characterizations, and the way the author adeptly, and realistically drew the book to a close.

Overall, this is another stellar effort by Lisa Jewell, who is now becoming one of my ‘go to’ authors.


GET YOUR COPY HERE:
https://www.amazon.com/Found-You-Novel-Lisa-Jewell-ebook/dp/B01HMXRVP4/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/i-found-you-lisa-jewell/1124015878

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Lisa Jewell (born 19 July 1968, Middlesex Hospital, London, England) is a British author of popular fiction. Her books include Ralph's Party, Thirtynothing, After The Party, a sequel to Ralph's Party, and most recently The House We Grew Up In and The Girls.

1 comment:

  1. This looks awesome...I love it when unrelated stuff all comes together. Going to put this on my TBR list for sure! Great review and thanks for sharing.

    Jo-Ann

    ReplyDelete