The Secret Wife

The Secret Wife
The Secret Wife by Gill Paul

You by Caroline Kepnes

You by Caroline Kepnes
You by Caroline Kepnes

Friday, April 29, 2016

Troublemaker by Linda Howard- Feature and Review

 
 
 
ABOUT THE BOOK:
 
 
 
A thrilling, fast-paced novel of romantic suspense from sensational New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Linda Howard.

For Morgan Yancy, an operative and team leader in a paramilitary group, nothing comes before his job. But when he’s ambushed and almost killed, his supervisor is determined to find out who’s after the members of his elite squad—and why. Due to worries that this unknown enemy will strike again, Morgan is sent to a remote location and told to lay low and stay vigilant. But between a tempting housemate he’s determined to protect and a deadly threat waiting in the shadows, keeping under the radar is proving to be his most dangerous mission yet.

The part-time police chief of a small West Virginian mountain town, Isabeau “Bo” Maran finally has her life figured out. She’s got friends, a dog, and a little money in the bank. Then Morgan Yancy shows up on her doorstep. Bo doesn’t need a mysterious man in her life—especially a troublemaker as enticing and secretive as Morgan.

The harder they fight the intense heat between them, the closer Morgan and Bo become, even though she knows he’s hiding from something. But discovering the truth could cost Bo more than she’s willing to give. And when Morgan’s cover is blown, it might just cost her life.
  






MY REVIEW:



TroublemakerTroublemaker by Linda Howard
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Troublemaker by Linda Howard

Troublemaker by Linda Howard is a 2016 William Morrow publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.



It is so nice to see a brand new romantic suspense novel by Linda Howard!

Morgan is a member of the exclusive GO-team, and an operative who has been shot, resulting in a heart attack, and is now in need of a place to lay low after his cover was compromised.

Bo is the chief of police in a small W. Virginia community, trying to pull herself out of a financial bind, and mostly living a quiet, peaceful life…until a man shows up at her home, obviously in pretty bad shape, claiming her former step-brother sent him. Initially, Bo was irate, but if she will simply allow the man to stay with her until he gets back in shape and the danger he is in has passed, she stands to earn enough money to pay off her debts.

This story is quintessential Linda Howard and I really enjoyed reading this romantic suspense novel written in the style I grew up with, but this story shows a new side of Ms. Howard, which is a little softer around the edges, shows more restraint by building the romantic tensity slowly, and allowing the mystery to float in the background for a while, then revving the suspense up to an action packed finale.
Also, on tap is the author’s trademark humor, but in this story she adds in a sweet small town romance element, and a loyal dog named Tricks, you will fall in love with.

I’m trying to remember if I have read a romantic suspense novel with this unique combination. It may seem like an odd pairing, but it works. Bo is a character I admired a lot because she has a high ranking position, and despite her sad background, she isn’t bitter, just cautious. I liked her attitude, the way she loves her job, her duties, and how she handled the situations she was faced with aplomb and a respect for the people she works for.

Morgan is a bit of an enigma for a long while, but what I loved about his story was seeing him settle into the small town life, his companionship with Tricks, and how he falls in love with Bo. The change in him is interesting and fun to watch.

The suspense and mystery lies in the uncertainly of who Morgan’s enemies might be. It’s a real puzzle and it takes a long time for information to develop in this area, but once it does, things get tense in a hurry.


Linda Howard is an author I have followed for many years, and I have always liked her style, and have read many of her books. This story is pretty much what I would expect from her, only better. If you are a long time fan, I think you will be happy with this one. If you have yet to discover this author, this will be a nice introduction. This story will obviously appeal to romantic suspense lovers, but contemporary romance fans will like this one too.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

http://www.amazon.com/Troublemaker-Novel-Linda-Howard-ebook/


http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/troublemaker-linda-howard/



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

 
 
Linda S. Howington is an American best-selling romance author writing under the pseudonym Linda Howard. After 21 years of penning stories for her own enjoyment, she submitted a novel for publication which was very successful. Her first work was published by Silhouette in 1982. She is a charter member of Romance Writers of America and in 2005 Howard was awarded their Career Achievement Award.

Linda Howard lives in Gadsden, Alabama with her husband, Gary F. Howington, and two golden retrievers. She has three grown stepchildren and three grandchildren.
 

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Fatal Honor by Misty Evans - Feature and Giveaway


About the Book



Title: Fatal Honor

Series: Shadow Force International, #2

Author: Misty Evans

Release Date: April 25, 2016

Genre: Romantic Suspense




Book Summary:



The second thrilling novel in the bodyguard romantic suspense series, Shadow Force International.



Miles is Charlotte’s one and only weakness. He’s also her only hope…



To stop a Romanian crime lord and clear her name, British Intelligence officer Charlotte Carstons has no choice. She must track down former Navy SEAL Miles Duncan and ask for his help. Miles holds the key to completing her undercover assignment and proving she’s no traitor…but he also holds a grudge. Getting him to forgive her may be the most challenging mission of her life.



Charlotte is his fantasy woman. She’s also the biggest mistake of his career…



He was supposed to hunt her down. Instead Miles ended up at the mercy of the sexy, mysterious MI6 agent who left him without so much as a goodbye after their six-week love affair in the Carpathian Mountains. Back in the States and working as an operative for Shadow Force International, Miles has been searching for Charlotte ever since—and so has everyone else. She’s a traitor to her country and she may be responsible for the deaths of his SEAL teammates a year ago.

 

Together, they can save the world. Or destroy each other…



When Charlotte shows up on his doorstep asking for help, Miles knows better than to get involved. She's determined to go back to Romania with or without him, however, and he knows she’s walking into a deadly trap. Can he keep her safe as they travel across continents and explore the depth of their feelings for each other? Or will misplaced honor and treasonous loyalties prove fatal for them both?






Excerpt from Fatal Honor by Misty Evans



You going to come out of the bathroom on your own, darlin’,” a lightly accented Southern voice said from the doorway, “or am I going to have to come in there and carry y’all out?”

That voice. A tiny thrill went through her, every cell in her body rejoicing at the sound of that deep, husky voice.

Charlotte remembered the first time she’d heard him speak. He’d been unconscious for days, barely clinging to life, in and out of consciousness. Exhausted from caring for him and keeping her location a secret, she’d fallen asleep next to him in bed, her head lying near his. He’d touched her face with the tips of his fingers, waking her, and said, “You must be my guardian angel.”

He’d fallen right back to sleep, but it had made her giddy that he’d woken up and spoken to her. Twenty-four hours later, he was fully awake and wanting to know what had happened.

She was no guardian angel. Angel of death was more like it. It was her fault the scientist’s plane had been shot down in those mountains. Her fault he’d needed rescuing by Miles and his Navy SEAL team.

If Miles had found out she was the cause of all of that—the trouble that killed his teammates—no wonder he hadn’t knocked on her motel room door and kissed her silly when she opened it.

Tucking herself closer to the wall, she tried to see through the slit in the doorframe. Her eyes had adjusted to the darkness but she couldn’t make out his whereabouts.

She could feel him, though. Every place that he had touched, every spot he had kissed in her cabin in the mountains, was suddenly alive again. Not scarred and bruised and broken, but tingling with anticipation.

Laying her brow against the cold metal of the gun barrel, she closed her eyes for a second. She’d been waiting for this moment, looking forward to a reunion with him. Never in all those fantasies had she envisioned herself sitting on a dirty bathroom floor, wrapped in nothing but a towel with no way out.

In her version of the reunion, she’d planned on retrieving the video from her hidden safe first, putting Nicolae behind bars where he could never hurt anyone again, and then showing up on Miles’ door with a clean slate and the tiniest hope for the future.

Best laid plans…

Without warning, the door banged fully open, smacking her body and nearly knocking the gun from her hands. A shadow moved, hands grabbing her and slamming the wrist of her gun hand into the edge of the sink. She grunted, trying to hold onto the Beretta as she kicked out at the same time with her right foot.

She landed a solid hit to her attacker’s shin. He grunted and knocked her wrist against the sink once more, the impact sending a shockwave up her arm and forcing her to let go.

No stranger to pain, she suppressed the cry that exploded in her throat, kicking out again with both legs and nailing him in the knees this round. The towel covering her backside slid on the tile floor from the effort, causing her to go down on her back as he released his grip on her wrist.

Damn. Now he had her gun.

A large hand wrapped around her ankle. One jerk and she was flipped over onto her belly, the towel coming completely undone, her chin bouncing on the floor.

Ow.

The tiles chafed against her naked skin. She fought, reaching for anything that would give her purchase, anything that could be used as a weapon.

Her fingernails scratched against something hard. The tiny garbage can under the sink. It was only plastic, but it would work if…she could…reach…it…

Miles plopped down on her butt, his heavy weight pining her to the floor. She heard him eject the Beretta’s magazine, clear the chamber of the round. He reached down and knocked her outstretched hand away from the direction of the garbage can; one of his did the job of restraining both of hers above her head.

Don’t fight me, Veronica,” he said, his lips close to her ear as he held her immobile. His breath was warm, sending a fresh wave of goose bumps over her skin. “Or should I call you Charlotte? Or my favorite, Sarah?”

Grinding her teeth, she ignored the pain in her wrist, the chafing of the tile against her breasts and hips bones, the weight of him. “Get off of me, you lughead.”

He chuckled. “That’s not what you said the last time I was on top of you.”

Even with the cold tiles under her, a hot flush wormed its way under her skin. The memory of him on top of her, of his body working its magic on her, was enough to make her stop fighting.

He’s not the enemy, she reminded herself.

If only she could breathe. “My first name is Charlotte. My friends call me Charlie.”

Ah, but we’re not friends, are we? Fuck buddies, lovers maybe. Not friends. Friends call one another, they don’t leave in the middle of the night with no goodbye and disappear for nine months.” He still pinned her down, his nose brushing against her head as he spoke in her hear. “What are you doing here?”

He’d kept track of their time apart. Charlotte took hope in that. “Let me up and I’ll explain.”

The light drawl evaporated. “You must think I’m naive or incredibly stupid.”

I don’t believe either. Why?”

You slipped away me from once before, Agent Charlotte Carstons. I’m not turning you loose so easily again. Start talking.”

So he did know her true identity. She closed her eyes for a moment, breathing in his familiar Miles scent of citrus and warm male skin, wishing she could tell him the one simple truth burning in her throat. I love you.

He wouldn’t believe her after all the lies she’d told, and saying the words out loud wouldn’t change the fact she would have to lie to him again. Leave him again. For his safety and for hers.

Struggling to breathe under his weight, she shoved thoughts of confessing her love aside and opened her eyes. “Nicolae Bourean, head of the Corsicani clan in Romania. I’m on the run from him. The reason I left you was to save your life. You and I survived that brutal winter in the mountains, and it’s one of my fondest memories, but when spring came, I had to ensure no one knew you and I had been together. It was too dangerous for you. I made contact with Emit Petit, told him where to find you and I left. I had work to do on my case, information I still needed before I could close it out, and I had to go to Nico to get it. Unbeknownst to me, he’d figured out I was MI6. He took me prisoner. I escaped a few weeks ago, but he’s after me. He wants me back. Badly.”

She forced herself not to shiver at the thought of what Nico would do to her if he ever did get hold of her again. Death would be a blessing. “You, Miles Duncan, literally hold the key to my survival.”


 


a Rafflecopter giveaway
 



   
 
 
  BUY LINKS


 
 
 
 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01EKPNQVK?ref_=pe_2427780_160035660

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fatal-Honor-Shadow-Force-International-ebook/dp/B01EKPNQVK?ie=UTF8&keywords=fatal%20honor&qid=1461246249&ref_=sr_1_1&s=books&sr=1-1

Amazon CA:
http://www.amazon.ca/Fatal-Honor-Shadow-Force-International-ebook/dp/B01EKPNQVK?ie=UTF8&keywords=fatal%20honor&qid=1461246434&ref_=sr_1_1&s=books&sr=1-1

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/fatal-honor

NOOK: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fatal-honor-misty-evans/1123680235?ean=2940158265808

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/mt/book/fatal-honor/id1077011849?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D8


 
 

 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 
   
 
 




 

About the Author



USA TODAY Bestselling Author Misty Evans has published over twenty novels and writes romantic suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal romance. As a writing coach, she helps other authors bring their books – and their dreams of being published – to life.



The books in her Super Agent series have won a CataNetwork Reviewers’ Choice Award, CAPA nominations, the New England Reader’s Choice Bean Pot Award for Best Romantic Suspense in 2010 and the ACRA Heart of Excellence Reader’s Choice Award for Best Romantic Suspense in 2011.



Her Witches Anonymous series was dubbed a Fallen Angel Reviews Recommended Read. The Super Agent Series, Witches Anonymous Series, and the Kali Sweet Series have been on multiple Amazon Kindle bestsellers lists. Her culinary romantic mystery, THE SECRET INGREDIENT, and the first book in her Deadly series, DEADLY PURSUIT, are both USA TODAY bestsellers.



Misty likes her coffee black, her conspiracy stories juicy, and her wicked characters dressed in couture. When not reading or writing, she enjoys music, movies, and hanging out with her husband, twin sons, and two spoiled puppies.



Connect with Misty: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads / Newsletter / Pinterest



 
 

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

A Lowcountry Wedding by Mary Alice Monroe- Feature and Review + Giveaway!

 
ABOUT THE BOOK:
 
Wedding season has arrived in New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe’s next novel in the “distinct, complex, and endearing” (Charleston Magazine) Lowcountry Summer series, set against the romantic, charming Charleston Lowcountry.

Nothing could be more enchanting than a summer wedding—or two!—in Charleston’s fabled lowcountry. A centuries-old plantation, an avenue of ancient oaks dripping moss, a storied ballroom, a sand dune at sunset…

Yet when a stranger arrives, a long held family secret could silence the bells ringing for the Muir sisters. Scandals surface, family bonds are questioned, and promises are broken and renewed. In A Lowcountry Wedding Monroe delves into the heart of marriage, commitment, and family ties. Huffington Post calls the Lowcountry Summer series “the perfect beach read and a whole lot more.”





MY REVIEW:

A Lowcountry WeddingA Lowcountry Wedding by Mary Alice Monroe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A Lowcountry Wedding by Mary Alice Monroe is a 2016 Gallery Books Publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher as an XOXpert, the official street team of XOXO After Dark. (Digital copy provided by Edelweiss)

I have been eagerly anticipating this return to Sea Breeze, and reconnecting with the Muir’s.



Two of the Muir sisters, Harper and Carson, are getting married!!
Or are they?? If Carson can make something complicated you bet your bottom dollar, she will, and she tries Blake’s patience, and mine, as it seems she still has some things to work through before she can totally commit to marriage. Sounds like classic Carson, right?

Harper allows Granny James to interfere which causes trouble with Taylor, and Dora continues to put Devlin off about their future.

Meanwhile, MawMaw has been bitten by the romance bug herself, and Granny James feels like she has no place to land, since MawMaw moved out to the cottage, a place she always thought would be hers, eventually.

With the ladies making wedding plans, and struggling with doubts, and upheavals, a surprise visit from a minister, which could set off a scandal of epic proportions, instead becomes a soothing balm for the girls by becoming a voice of reason by offering sane opinions and advice.


Emily Post was the supreme authority on etiquette and MawMaw still holds onto those protocols, and old fashioned southern traditions that she attempts to pass along to her granddaughters as they prepare to enter that all important institution of marriage. The most interesting advice given to brides to be, adds a charming factor to the story as old values blend with new ones. Sometimes they clash, but in the end, the ladies once more learn to give and take, to work together, to do what families do, and the results are amazing.

This last book in the series packs the same emotional punch as in the previous installments, but there were some genuine moments of mirth, a few ironical situations, and as all the pieces began to fit together, once and for all, I felt like popping the cork on a bottle of champagne and celebrating with the Muir’s.


As the finale arrives, a real sense of peace settled over me, but not without a few bittersweet and poignant moments, as remembrances, memories, and some permanent, but necessary goodbyes must take place.

This series has turned out to be one of my favorites of all time. I have enjoyed this journey with Carson, Harper, and Dora. I’ve shared their fears, doubts, frustrations, and struggles. I’ve watched them all fall in love, grow up, spread their wings, and land back where they all belonged from the start. I’ve been angry, frustrated, laughed and cried with all these intimately drawn characters, each with foibles, but all of them filled with inner strength and love.

But, the most rewarding part is finally seeing the sisterly bond which had all but disappeared, build over time until these fine women, with the help of one very special lady, found their way back to one another, learned to lean on each other, and support each other, and will no doubt share that bond with future generations.

I do recommend reading these books in order, because there is too much very important backstory you simply have to know in order to experience the full pleasure of this series. That being said, I can’t recommend this series highly enough.





ONE SALE EVERYWHERE MAY 3RD!!
 
PRE-ORDER  YOUR COPY HERE:
 
 
 
 
 
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
 


New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe found her true calling in environmental fiction when she moved to coastal South Carolina. Already a successful author, she was captivated by the beauty and fragility of her new home. Her experiences living in the midst of a habitat that was quickly changing gave her a strong and important focus for her books.

Mary Alice Monroe writes richly textured books that delve into the complexities of interpersonal relationships and the parallels between the land and life. Monroe’s novels are published worldwide. She has achieved many lists, including the New York Times, USA Today and SIBA. She has received numerous awards, including several Readers’ Choice Awards, RT Lifetime Achievement Award, the 2008 South Carolina Center for the Book Award for Writing and was featured at the National Festival of the Book. In 2011 THE BUTTERFLY'S DAUGHTER won the International Book Award for Green Fiction.

Mary Alice is an active conservationist and serves on the Board of the South Carolina Aquarium, The Leatherback Trust, and Charleston Literacy Volunteers. She is a frequent speaker at book festivals, conferences, and private events.

Monroe lives with her family on a barrier island outside Charleston, South Carolina. Her new novel, BEACH HOUSE MEMORIES (May 2012), is the prequel to her bestseller THE BEACH HOUSE and completes her first trilogy.

For more information, videos, contests and more, visit her official website: www.maryalicemonroe.com.



Forever With Your by Heatherly Bell - Release Blast + Giveaway


Enter to Win a $50.00 Amazon Gift Card


FOREVER WITH YOU
The Starlight Hill Series #5
Heatherly Bell
Releasing April 26th, 2016
Tydandon Publishing and Heatherly Bell Books


She forgot something on the way to the courthouse …

Sophia Abella has a good life, even if she is a little stuck.  Not quite single, not quite married, she keeps men at a safe distance. But when her ex-Marine husband returns to town and takes the job of chief of police, it might finally be time to get that paper work done once and for all. After all, most of her family already thinks she’s divorced.

They’re not actually, in the fullest sense of the word … divorced.

Years ago, Riley Jacobs chose the Marine Corp over his wife and has regretted his decision every day since. But once a Marine always a Marine, and he’ll use every tactical advantage he has to get Sophia to realize that she’s the only one for him.

Love and marriage … take two

 
 

 

 
 Author's Site:  http://www.heatherlybell.com/
 
 


When early onset stage fright dashed dreams of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame status, Heatherly tackled her first book in 2010, and now the people and voices that occupy her head refuse to leave. She no longer sings unless you count randomly bursting into song to annoy her children (and the dogs).

If she were not an author, Heatherly maintains she would be a detective and a criminal's worst nightmare. She watches Dateline every Friday night and takes notes.

She lives in northern California with her family, including two beagles, one who can say 'hello' and the other who can feel a pea through several pillows.
                                                                                                     



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

A Taste of Texas Spotlight on Author Lorraine Heath + Giveaway


A Taste of Texas is a new Meme here at The Book Review.  I’m from Texas, obviously, so I thought it would be appropriate to spotlight the incredible authors who are from Texas or have featured Texas in their books.   Once a month, I will spotlight one such author.

 

It is my privilege to introduce the first author to be spotlighted on “A Taste of Texas” -  LORRAINNE HEATH:

 


 
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
ABOUT LORRAINE HEATH:
 
 
 
Lorraine Heath has always had a soft spot for emotional love stories. No doubt because growing up, watching movies with her mom, she was taught that the best movies "won't half make you cry."

She is the daughter of a British beauty (her mom won second place in a beauty contest sponsored by Max Factor® during which she received a kiss from Caesar Romero--Joker on the original Batman TV series) and a Texan who was stationed at Bovingdon while serving in the air force. Lorraine was born in Watford, Hertfordshire, England, but soon after moved to Texas. Her "dual" nationality has given her a love for all things British and Texan, and she enjoys weaving both heritages through her stories.

When she received her BA degree in psychology from the University of Texas, she had no idea she had gained a foundation that would help her to create believable characters—characters that are often described as “real people.” She began her career writing 
training manuals and computer code for the IRS, but something was always missing. When she read a romance novel, she became not only hooked on the genre, but quickly realized what her writing lacked: rebels, scoundrels, and rogues. She's been writing about them ever since. Her work has been recognized with numerous industry awards including RWA's RITA®. Her novels have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today and the New York Times.    

The author of more than 60 novels, she writes historical and contemporary romance for adults and historical romance for teen readers. Under the names Rachel Hawthorne and Jade Parker, she writes popular contemporary, historical, and paranormal romance for teens readers. She also writes young adult with her son under the name J. A. London.




SPOTLIGHT ON A CLASSIC TEXAS BASED HISTORICAL ROMANCE BY LORRAINE HEATH:  ALWAYS TO REMEMBER:





ABOUT THE BOOK:

Branded a traitor and imprisoned for refusing to fight for the Confederacy, Clayton Holland returns home to Cedar Grove, only to be spurned by the townspeople, except for vengeful Meg Warner, who finds her hatred and grief transformed by love.


READ A SAMPLE:





MY REVIEW:





Always to RememberAlways to Remember by Lorraine Heath
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Always to Remember by Lorraine Heath is a 2010 Harper publication.

This retro-romance novel was originally published in 1997 by Jove.


Set in Texas, post-civil war, the story centers around a young widow, Meg Warner and Clay Holland, a man who refused to join sides in the war or fight in it.

Meg’s husband and brothers were killed in the war, and Clay was held prisoner for being a dissenter. He should have been executed for his beliefs, but his life was spared. Returning home to his younger twin brothers, Clay tries to put his life back together, but Meg is infuriated that her husband’s best friend, has returned home alive, a yellow coward, while her husband died.

Revenge is a dish best served cold, as they say, and Meg believes she has come up with the best way to punish Clay. Since he is so good at carving stone, he must make a memorial for those men who gave their lives for what they believed in.
He must carve each name into the granite and face his own cowardice and dishonor. Meg will supervise him and watch his suffering with righteous indignation.

But, something begins to happen between Meg and Clay as they spend more time together. Could Meg have been wrong about Clay? Will she discover Kirk’s true feelings about Clay and his stand against the war? Is there some way Clay can prove to Meg he is as honorable as those who fought, and show her he is not a coward?

Back in this era of time, standing up and refusing to join in the fight was unheard of. No one understood how brave Clay was for sticking to his own convictions. That is not the way people viewed things back then. But, for Meg this is personal. She hates, hates, hates Clay for being alive while her husband, who did the right thing, in her eyes, is dead.

It’s a bitterness that has settled into her bones, giving her something to hold on to, and she does so with a vengeance. But after a time, her repetitive mantra seemed like a way to remind herself, she was supposed to despise Clay, but he made it very difficult for her.

Clay is brave, of course, because he went against the grain, spoke out about his beliefs, by thinking the war was a big mistake. He paid dearly for this stance, and even though he managed to avoid the firing squad, his life is miserable because he is a pariah.

But as he regales Meg with stories of he and Kirk’s adventures before the war, and as Meg sees him care for his brothers, and work with his hands, her heart slowly begins to soften and the man she sees now, is not who she believed him to be. In fact, he may be one of the most courageous and honorable men she knows.

This is a very good story, with a strong message woven into it, one that speaks of adhering to one’s values and beliefs, no matter what the personal cost. It’s a powerful, thought provoking tale, but also one of those strong examples of love’s power to heal, bring forgiveness, break down walls, and melt hearts.

I really wish more stories were written like this one!

GET YOUR COPY HERE:


http://www.amazon.com/Always-Remember-Lorraine-Heath-ebook/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/always-to-remember-lorraine-heath/





                           SPOTLIGHT ON LORRAINE'S  LATEST RELEASE:

                                                         THE EARL TAKES ALL


ABOUT THE BOOK:



One summer night, Edward Alcott gives in to temptation and kisses Lady Julia Kenney in a dark garden. However, the passion she stirs within him is best left in the shadows as she weds his twin, the Earl of Greyling. But when tragedy strikes, to honor the vow he makes to his dying brother, Edward must pretend to be Greyling until the countess delivers her babe.

After her husband returns from a two-month sojourn, Julia finds him changed. Bolder, more daring, and more wicked—even if he does limit their encounters to kisses. With each passing day, she falls more deeply in love.

For Edward the embers of desire sparked on that long-ago night are quickly rekindled. He yearns to be her husband in truth. But if she discovers his ruse, she will despise him—and English law prevents him from marrying his brother’s widow. Yet he must dare to risk everything and reveal his secrets if he is to truly take all.



MY REVIEW:



The Earl Takes All (The Hellions of Havisham, #2)The Earl Takes All by Lorraine Heath
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Earl Takes All by Lorraine Heath is a 2016 Avon publication. I as provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Sometimes you know from the start things are going to end badly. Yet, despite everything, I had to look, had to listen, had to know, even if my heart was on the line, knowing full well I would need a super-size box of tissues to get through it.

The setup is wrong on so many levels, I don’t even know where to start. Perhaps at the beginning?

Julia and Edward share a kiss that rocks both their worlds and leaves a long lasting impression. But, Julia believed she was kissing Albert, Edward’s identical twin, and is furious at him for taking advantage of her.

Not a great way to start a relationship with your future sister-in-law. But, the die was cast, and the awkwardness remained until Edward was killed.

Only Edward didn’t die, it was Albert. Albert’s dying wish is for Edward to pretend to be him until Julia gives birth to their child. It would only be for a short time and then he would tell her the truth.

This set-up is obviously pretty tricky, but you must keep an open mind because the author did a spectacular job of walking across a tightrope without a net. You have to trust me on this one, and believe me when I say she never took one misstep or lost her balance from start to finish.

Forbidden love, a heartbreaking deception, cruel and downright strange British laws, all team up against the power of love and wins a few significant battles along the way, but of course true love will win the war… eventually.


Wow! This story is tense, daring, emotionally charged, and may be the most sensual story I’ve read in a long time.

Albert is most certainly an honorable and noble man who loved Julia with all his heart, and only wanted her to be happy. So, his demise is going to be hard to comprehend, and you may be tempted to close your minds and hearts right then and there. But, I beg you to reconsider, because in no way is the love shared between Julia and Albert diminished or dishonored.

Edward and Julia’s love story is nothing short of epic. The feelings they have for each other transcends boundaries and all obstacles, refusing to be contained for anyone. The characters are human and real, caught in a trap they have no way of escaping- a damned if you do, damned if you don’t situation. They can live a lie, cheat Albert’s memory, hide the truth from his daughter, allow Edward’s reputation to remain mired in scandal, or they tell the truth and lose any and all chance of happiness.

Love brings out the best in us, but also the worst. The consuming desire to finally be with the one person you have always loved, the only one you will ever love, or having a second chance at real happiness, could be a temptation impossible to deny. If you have ever been in love, you know what a powerful drug it is, which can have you rationalizing your decisions, even if you know deep down it's not the right thing to do.

I realize the plot may be hard for some to wrap their heads around, and there were some moments where I thought a line was blurred, but once all was said and done, it came together beautifully, with every character able to hold their heads up high, with their reputations intact, blazing new trails, and paying tribute to those who left us too soon, by making sure their memory was honored.

I rarely gush over a book, but this one is worth it. Kudos to the author for daring to challenge us, for keeping the genre fresh by adding in a dash of true scandal, and a bit of controversy, but mostly for writing a moving story, with depth and feeling, that really touched my heart and left tears standing in my eyes.

GET  YOUR COPY HERE:


http://www.amazon.com/Earl-Takes-All-Lorraine-Heath-ebook/



http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-earl-takes-all-lorraine-heath/

ENTER THE RAFFLECOPTER DRAWING FOR A CHANCE TO WIN A DIGITAL COPY OF ONE OF LORRAINE HEATH'S MOST POPULAR TEXAS BASED HISTORICAL ROMANCES:  A ROUGE IN TEXAS



a Rafflecopter giveaway



MORE BOOKS IN THE HELLIONS OF HAVISHAM SERIES:


 
In the first in a dazzling new series, New York Times bestselling author Lorraine Heath introduces the Hellions of Havisham—three charismatic rogues destined to lose their hearts...

After six unsuccessful Seasons, Miss Minerva Dodger chooses spinsterhood over fortune-hungry suitors. But thanks to the Nightingale Club, she can at least enjoy one night of pleasure. At that notorious establishment, ladies don masks before choosing a lover. The sinfully handsome Duke of Ashebury is more than willing to satisfy the secretive lady's desires—and draws Minerva into an exquisite, increasingly intimate affair.

A man of remarkable talents, Ashe soon deduces that his bedmate is the unconventional Miss Dodger. Intrigued by her wit and daring, he sets out to woo her in earnest. Yet Minerva refuses to trust him. How to court a woman he has already thoroughly seduced? And how to prove that the passion unleashed in darkness is only the beginning of a lifetime's pleasure?
 
 
 
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24805225-falling-into-bed-with-a-duke

http://www.amazon.com/Falling-Into-Duke-Hellions-Havisham/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/falling-into-bed-with-a-duke-lorraine-heath/