Little Fires Everywhere

Little Fires Everywhere
Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

The Western Star

The Western Star
The Western Star by Craig Johnson

Tuesday, January 5, 2016

The Forgotten Ones- A Lucy Black Thriller- by Brian McGilloway- A Book Review





From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a brand-new thriller featuring Lucy Black—a twisting, gripping story of secrets and lies, perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Tana French.

The body of an elderly man is hauled out of the rushing water of the River Foyle, cold dead. Detective Lucy Black is called in to investigate when it becomes evident that this was not a suicide: the man's body was embalmed before it ever entered the water.

Confounded and exhausted, Lucy heads home to review the case in quiet; but there will be no rest for her tonight. She's barely in the front door when a neighbor knocks because his wife's sister has been attacked and they need her help.

As a string of strange crimes is unspooled throughout the city, Lucy is pulled in countless different directions… until she realizes there may be something dark and dangerous connecting everything.

Soulful and suspenseful, featuring one of the most appealing characters in suspense fiction, The Forgotten Ones is a novel to take your breath away.



MY REVIEW:

The Forgotten Ones (DS Lucy Black, #3)The Forgotten Ones by Brian McGilloway
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“The Forgotten Ones” by Brian McGilloway

Another solid installment in the Lucy Black series!
As the third Lucy Black chapter opens, we find Lucy dealing with her father’s deeper slide into the abyss of Alzheimer’s and his admittance into a home. Lucy’s lover is pressuring her to make a stronger commitment to their relationship and of course there is Lucy’s warm and fuzzy mother to contend with.
But, all the personal drama gets pushed into the background as a puzzling case or two, or three, all seemingly random and separate, keeps Lucy on her toes. As she gleans more information in each case, the threads slowly begin to weave together, unbelievably connecting these crimes to one another.
I will confess I loved the first two books in this series, set in Ireland, and I was stoked about diving into this new installment.
But, I struggled for a bit as the story seemed disjointed with too many threads going on at once. Lucy wasn’t using her skills to their fullest potential, in my opinion. But, I stuck with it and before long I realized there was a method to all the madness. Once again, there is a very clever plot afoot, but Lucy’s sharp detective skills are second to none.
Lucy exposes more of her softer side in this one, and the atmosphere, while ghoulish, didn’t feel quite as dark, as the first two books in the series. However, this is a very unique and twisty story that I highly recommend to fans of Lucy Black. For those who have not read the previous chapters in the series, you will greatly benefit from reading them before diving into this one. However, this book can work as a standalone. 4 stars.

Reviewed by Julie Whiteley for Suspense Magazine

BUY YOUR COPY HERE:

http://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Ones-Black-Thriller-Thrillers-ebook/dp/B00H1UMOZ6/ref


http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-forgotten-ones-brian-mcgilloway/1121861307



MORE BOOKS IN THE LUCY BLACK SERIES:




ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Brian McGilloway is an author hailing from Derry, Northern Ireland. He studied English at Queens University Belfast, where he was very active in student theatre, winning a prestigious national Irish Student Drama Association award for theatrical lighting design in 1996. He is currently Head of English at St. Columb's College, Derry. McGilloway's debut novel was a crime thriller called Borderlands. Borderlands was shortlisted for a Crime Writers' Association Dagger award for a debut novel.



No comments:

Post a Comment