Man Overboard

Man Overboard
Man Overboard by J.A. Jance

The Somnanbulist's Dreams

The Somnanbulist's Dreams
The Somnambulist's Dreams

Monday, November 30, 2015

Tracks of Her Tears by Melinda Leigh and Dead in Her Tracks by Kendra Elliot- A Book Review

 
 
 
In the first thrilling Rogue Winter Novella, sleepy little Solitude, Oregon, wakes up to another deadly threat.

County investigator Seth Harding intends to spend the holidays with his newly reconciled family, but a few days before Christmas, a homicide thwarts his plan. Seth arrives at the scene and makes a painful discovery: the victim is his brother-in-law’s girlfriend. Her apartment has been ransacked and her toddler left motherless. To make matters worse, Seth’s brother-in-law, Bruce, is missing. With Solitude locked in a rare, deadly deep freeze and the temperature plummeting, the residents launch a desperate search.

Seth calls his wife, social worker Carly Taylor, to take the case so the little girl doesn’t get lost in the foster care system. With the holidays near, Carly brings the child home with them to celebrate Christmas. But when the Taylor farm is also trashed, Seth and Carly must race against time—and against a paralyzing winter storm—to find Bruce and catch a killer in the first pulse-pounding sequel to the Rogue River Novellas



MY REVIEW:




Tracks of Her Tears (Rogue Winter Novella Book 1)Tracks of Her Tears by Melinda Leigh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Tracks of her Tears by Melinda Leigh – A Rogue Winter Novella is a 2015 Montlake publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

It is the holiday season in Solitude, Oregon, but it's anything but merry and bright. When Carly's brother, Bruce goes missing and his girlfriend is found murdered, it's up to Seth, to solve the case and keep his family safe.

It seems like it's been a long time since I have touched base with this series, so I was happy to see a pair of novellas coming out this month- this one from Melinda Leigh and “Dead in Her Tracks” By Kendra Elliot.

This story reunites us with Seth and Carly, who are back together and making their marriage the top priority is their lives now. But, when Bruce's girlfriend is found murdered, they find it hard to find balance in their personal lives, especially when a young child is left without parents.

This is one action packed story, though, a little gritty, and pretty realistic as the author showcases just how dumb criminals can be and the horrible consequences of their actions.

I was happy to touch base with Seth and Carly, and am thankful that this couple are working things out, and that for once, Seth didn't get on my last nerve. He is really coming along, and showed that he can stick to his guns when it comes to trusting his wife and letting her do her job, just like he has to do his. The pair actually worked together on this one and make a pretty darned good team, if you ask me.

While the circumstances are sad for many concerned, there is a bright ray of light that we see shining through in the end and it looks like Carly, Seth and Brianna will have a very Merry Christmas!

GET YOUR COPY HERE:


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YG3S9W8/ref



Tracks of Her Tears (Rogue Winter Novella Book 1)



 
 
 
Melinda Leigh is a fully recovered banker. A life-long lover of books, she started writing as a way to preserve her sanity while raising her kids. Over the next few years, she learned a few things about writing a book and decided the process was way more fun than analyzing financial statements. Melinda's debut novel, SHE CAN RUN, was nominated for Best First Novel by the International Thriller Writers. Her bestselling books have twice been nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award.

Melinda holds a 2nd degree belt in Kenpo Karate. She's dabbled in Arnis stick fighting, studied Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, and taught women's self-defense. She lives in a messy house in the suburbs with her husband, two kids, a couple of shelter dogs and two rescue cats who clearly run the show. With such a pleasant life, she has no explanation for the sometimes dark and disturbing nature of her imagination. Find out more about Melinda by visiting melindaleighauthor.com
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This wasn’t how Police Chief Zane Duncan expected to spend his first Christmas with fellow officer and girlfriend Stevie Taylor. But when a local motel calls in the discovery of a dead body, the couple’s holiday takes a grim turn. This is the second murder in Solitude within the week, despite the fact that their primary suspect is already in custody. Together, Zane and Stevie must face a disturbing truth—their small town may be harboring two killers.
As their investigation digs deep into the backgrounds of newcomers and longtime residents alike, Zane and Stevie also struggle to adjust to life under the same roof. Even if the stress of homicides and cohabitation don’t bring an end to the couple, the murderer lying in wait just might.
 
 
 
MY REVIEW:
 
 
Dead in Her Tracks (Rogue Winter Novella #2)Dead in Her Tracks by Kendra Elliot
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Dead in her Tracks by Kendra Elliot is a 2015 Montlake Publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This is the second book in the Rogue Winter novella arc. The first book is “Track of Her Tears” by Melinda Leigh and I highly recommend reading it first, if possible, since the two stories tie in together. However, this one can be read a stand alone too.


Zane and Stevie have their hands full on Christmas day when the body of a young girl is found in a seedy motel room and the prime suspect is already sitting in jail. When a shocking and unexpected hitch in the case occurs, Zane and Stevie must start all over at square one to determine who is killing young women in Solitude.

On the personal side of things Zane is finally getting Stevie to consider taking the next step in their relationship, especially now that Stevie sees her mother's predictions seem to be accurate after all.

This is another well written, fast paced thriller by Kendra Elliot, and for such a short story, this one packs a solid punch. This is certainly not your typical holiday reading, that's for sure.


But, never fear, there are a few lighter moments and some really sweet romantic gestures too, which will put all the lurid crime elements into perspective in the end.

I really love this series and hope to see a lengthier novel- or two- in the near future.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YG3S9UU/ref=




Dead in Her Tracks (Rogue Winter Novella #2)




 
Kendra Elliot grew up in the lush Pacific Northwest and still lives there with her husband, three daughters, two cats, and a Pomeranian. She's fascinated with forensics, refuses to eat anything green, and loves a strong Mai Tai on the beach on Kauai.

The BONE SECRETS NOVELS: HIDDEN, CHILLED, BURIED, ALONE, and VEILED (a novella.) KNOWN coming JAN 2016.

The CALLAHAN & McLANE novels are a spin-off of the Bone Secrets books. VANISHED, BRIDGED, SPIRALED, and a fourth coming Summer 2016.

BURIED was a 2014 International Thriller Writers finalist, a 2014 Daphne Du Maurier winner, and a Romantic Times Reviewers Choice finalist.
 

Merry Blissmas- A Last Riders Holiday Novella by Jamie Begley- Cover Reveal + Giveaway

We Wish You A
Merry Blissmas...




MERRY BLISSMAS
A Last Riders Holiday Novella
Jamie Begley
Releasing Dec 11th, 2015
Young Ink Press

Naughty

What can I say? I’m not a nice person. When I walk by, people call me a slut, and I’m okay with that. I believe in calling a spade a spade. I am a slut.
With the holidays approaching, I miss belonging to The Last Riders. Drake’s keeping me warm, but he wants more than I can give. He wants me to trust him, to believe he can protect me. Doesn’t he know Santa put me on the Naughty List long ago?

Nice


What can I say? I’m a nice guy and have always done the responsible thing.
Bliss is everything I shouldn’t want, but it’s hard to resist a woman who stopped believing in miracles. She wants to be back with The Last Riders, whom she considers her true family. Doesn’t she know it’s Christmas, and miracles do happen?




a Rafflecopter giveaway

"I was born in a small town in Kentucky. My family began poor, but worked their way to owning a restaurant. My mother was one of the best cooks I have ever known, and she instilled in all her children the value of hard work, and education.
Taking after my mother, I've always love to cook, and became pretty good if I do say so myself. I love to experiment and my unfortunate family has suffered through many. They now have learned to steer clear of those dishes. I absolutely love the holidays and my family puts up with my zany decorations.
For now, my days are spent writing, writing, and writing. I have two children who both graduated this year from college. My daughter does my book covers, and my son just tries not to blush when someone asks him about my books.
Currently I am writing five series of books- The Last Riders, The VIP Room, Predators MC, Biker Bitches, and The Dark Souls.
All my books are written for one purpose- the enjoyment others find in them, and the expectations of my fans that inspire me to give it my best.”

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Happy Thanksgiving from The Book Review! + A Kick Off to the Holiday Season with Linda Lael Miller's Christmas in Mustang Creek

To all my readers and followers:






I would just like to take a moment to thank each one of you for sticking with me on this journey. Book Blogging can be very rewarding, but also challenging.  There are so many blogs to choose from and having a loyal group of readers is something I am very, very thankful for.

Here's hoping you all have a very safe and Happy Thanksgiving!




During the holiday season, The Book Review is planning to feature at least  one holiday themed novel each week.  Some new releases and some classics too. 

To kick of the holiday season, here is the first featured holiday novel you might consider escaping into this year.



 
 
 
Charlotte Morgan grew up in Mustang Creek, Wyoming, and couldn't wait to escape to the big city. But life in New York isn't as fabulous as she'd like to admit. she's lonely, doing a job she doesn't love and dating too many frogs she meets online.
 
MY REVIEW:  

Christmas in Mustang Creek (The Brides of Bliss County, #4)Christmas in Mustang Creek by Linda Lael Miller
My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Christmas at Mustang Creek by Linda Lael Miller is a 2015 HQN publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

This light and charming story is exactly what you want from a holiday read.


Charlotte- aka- Charlie is a city girl through and through. She has a career in advertising, lives in New York, and loves the hustle and bustle of city life. So when her boyfriend, Jaxon, makes the decision to leave the city, she can't see herself adapting to small town country living. So, sadly they go their separate ways….

But, as fate would have it, Charlie gets laid off from her job and discovers the aunt who raised her like a daughter, is having some health problems. So, Charlie heads back home to Mustang Creek to care for her aunt. But, wouldn't you know it… her 'young man' Jax is the new veterinarian in town.

Charlie moves back into her childhood home with her aunt's mysterious friend, Mrs. Klozz, positive her stay in Mustang Creek is only temporary. But, Charlie never stood a chance with Jax, her aunt, Mrs. Klozz and a few delightful and adorable pets,working double time to persuade Charlie she could have all she ever wanted in Mustang Creek.

As the holiday season approaches, warm and fuzzy, light and easy romances are always on the menu. This story should put you in the holiday spirit with snow, skiing, pets, wonderful homemade meals and cookies, with just a touch of magic thrown in.

I enjoy the big city versus the small town trope, but I also like a story that demonstrates making the best of what you have, sort of like making lemonade out of life's lemons. Charlie just needed to consider her options, and stop looking at her situation with blinders on. Compromise is always the key and this story proves it works, but might need a lot of patience and love to pull it off.

Any story that features pets will always rate high with me and this one has its fair share of cute fur babies to up the sweetness meter a few notches.

There is nothing too deep or overly dramatic, and it's pretty much standard holiday fare, but the dialogue stands out more with this story, written by a seasoned author, and I loved the touch of whimsy and magic, with Mrs. Klozz coming through for Charlie and Jax.

Cute story, recommended to fans of this author and to romance lovers looking to get a jump start on their holiday reading.


GET YOUR COPY HERE:


AMAZON:

http://www.amazon.com/Christmas-Mustang-Creek-Brides-County-ebook/dp/B00IWTYXC2/ref

BARNES & NOBLE:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/christmas-in-mustang-creek-linda-lael-miller/1118139870

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

As the daughter of a town marshal, Linda has come home to the western lifestyle that gave birth to one of today’s most successful authors. She left Washington years ago and pursued her wanderlust, living in Arizona and London and traveling the world. Now the author of more than 100 novels, the “First Lady of the West” is glad to be back home, writing contemporary and historical stories that have earned her awards and placements on all the national bestsellers lists.

Linda traces the birth of her writing career to the day when a Northport teacher told her that the stories she was writing were good, that she just might have a future in writing. Later, when she decided to write novels, she endured her share of rejection before she sold FLETCHER’S WOMAN in 1983 to Pocket Books. Since then, Linda has successfully published historicals, contemporaries, paranormals, and thrillers before coming home, in a literal sense, and concentrating on novels with a Western flavor. For her devotion to her craft, the Romance Writers of America awarded her their prestigious Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.
 
 
 
 

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Little House LIving: The Make Your Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient life by Merissa Alink- A Book Review

 
 
 
 
 
From the immensely popular blogger behind Little House Living comes a motivational homemaking book, inspired by Laura Ingalls Wilder;s Little House on the Prairie, featuring creative, fun ways to live your life simply and frugally.

Shortly after getting married, Merissa Alink and her husband found themselves with nothing in their pantry but a package of spaghetti and some breadcrumbs. Their life had hit rock bottom, and it was only after a touching act of charity that they were able to get on their feet again.

Inspired by this gesture of kindness as well as the beloved Little House on the Prairie books, Merissa found that a life of self-sufficiency and simplicity could be charming and blissful. She set out to live an entirely made-from-scratch life, the Little House way, and as a result, she slashed her household budget by nearly half saving thousands of dollars a year. She started to write about homesteading, homemaking, and cooking from scratch, and over the next few years developed the recipes and DIY projects that would one day become part of her now beloved website, LittleHouseLiving.com.

As whole foods became staples of the family diet, Merissa realized the dangers of putting overly processed ingredients not only into our bodies, but on or near them as well. In addition to countless delicious, home-cooked meals, she developed natural, easy-to-make recipes for everything from sunscreen to taco seasoning mix, lemon poppy hand scrub to furniture polish. With their simple ingredients, these recipes are allergen friendly and many are gluten-free.

With over 130 practical, simple DIY recipes, gorgeous full-color photographs, and Merissa's trademark charm in personal stories and tips, Little House Living is the epitome of heartland warmth and prairie inspiration
 
 






MY REVIEW:



Little House Living: The Make-Your-Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient LifeLittle House Living: The Make-Your-Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient Life by Merissa Alink

Little House Living: The Make Your Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, Self-Sufficient Life by Merissa Alink is a 2015 Gallery Books publication. I was provided a copy of this book as an XOXpert, the official street team of XOXO After Dark.


I admit I grew up in the era of quick and convenient. I bought pre- mixed cake mixes and scoffed at the idea of making anything from scratch. Instead of home remedies, I bought over the counter pain relievers and cold medicines, and never would have considered making my own soap, dish detergent, or other household products.

But, my daughter would tell me about making her own facial scrubs and using peppermint essential oils for various maladies, but I still never imagined myself doing any of these things myself.

First of all, you have to buy all the ingredients, and when I did the math, and figured in the amount of time it would take, I figured I was just as well off buying it from the store… until I got this book.


First of all, it should be noted that this is not just a recipe book for cooking or food. This book has a little bit of everything in it.

Body and Beauty 'do it yourself' recipes such as:

Bath Salts
Lip Balm
Hand Soap
Chest Rub

Household items such as:

Dish Soap
Floor Cleaner
Dusting Spray and furniture polish
Window Cleaner

Ideas for Children and Pets

Diaper Rash Cream
Play Doh
Pet treat mix
Pet Flea Wash

And of course food-

Make ahead mixes:
cake mix
Hamburger help mix
Onion soup
Hot chocolate
Bread
These are just a few examples of the items listed that you can make yourself at home.

Are you on a busy schedule and don't think you would have time to make your own products?


This book is packed with very easy recipes for those on a busy schedule, such as deodorizer disc made out of everyday baking soda and water with a drop or two of essential oils, placed in a muffin tin and left to dry for a day or two. The disc can be placed discretely in odor prone areas of your home. It took me all of five minutes to do this, and the essential oil is not necessary. Baking soda is a natural odor absorber.

The cost?

Well, for some of the projects, there would have to be some investment on your part, especially if you want to put the mixtures into cute containers and such. I made the chest rub, but I didn't have a glass jar to put it in, but I did have a very small Tupperware container that worked perfectly.
Most of the ingredients can be purchased at Amazon for less than buying them at a health food store, and I had no trouble finding the ingredients. A few items were a little pricey, but once I had everything I needed, I saw that I could make double, even triple, the amount of goods, which meant I saved money and time by making the items at home.


The Items I Made:

I made the chocolate cake mix and the cake turned out great, but it wasn't as moist I am accustomed to. But, the flavor was fantastic and there were some variants on the recipe that I may try in the future.


CAKE MIX MADE FROM SCRATCH:






Bath Salts:





I made bath salts for colds:

This is super easy-

One half cup Epsom Salts

One half cup Sea Salt ( I bought bulk, because it was cheaper)

5 drops peppermint essential oil
5 drops eucalyptus essential oil
5 drops lavender essential oil

Just mix together! That's it!






I also made the chest rub which was simply coconut oil and peppermint and eucalyptus essential oils. Just stir together, and store in a container. It took less than five minutes to make this and it smells like chest rub you buy at the store. I rubbed some on the soles of my feet one day when my allergies were bothering me, and it worked wonders.

As I noted earlier, I made the deodorizer disc, too. But, the disc dried out quickly and broke easily. I ended up putting some of the mix into small Dixie Cups instead.






I also made the dusting spray which consisted of white vinegar and oil ( I used EVOO) and a few drops of lemon essential oil.






Overall, this is a fun book and I loved how easy it was to make the products and the ingredients weren't some kind exotic stuff I could never find anywhere. I'm planning on making more of the food recipes and want to make up some of the body butter for Christmas gifts.

The only disclaimer I noticed was in regards to the use of essential oils, so be sure to read the directions carefully and do not allow children to use the oils unattended, or at all if they are very young.

This is a hardcover book with color pictures and illustrations on glossy paper. The sections are well organized and planned out, with step by step instructions and money saving tips.

Overall, I am a happy customer and will be referring to this book often for many household items and beauty aids.

BUY YOUR COPY HERE:

AMAZON:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1501104268/ref

BARNES & NOBLE

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/little-house-living-merissa-alink/1121369160?





Little House Living: The Make-Your-Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient Life



 
 
For more information on Merissa check out her 'About Me' page at :
 
 
 
 
 
 

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

My Lady Gloriana by Sylvia Halliday- Release Blast + Giveaway


 

Enter to Win a 
Print Copy of MY LADY GLORIANA


MY LADY GLORIANA
Sylvia Halliday 
Releasing Nov 24th, 2015
Diversion


In this twist on the Pygmalion story, a duke makes a wager that he can bed the uncouth Lady Gloriana. But the bet takes on a life of its own...

The year is 1725. Lady Gloriana Baniard is a beautiful fish out of water. Brought up on the mean streets of London, she is a brash, blunt, obscene force of nature. But thanks to a brief marriage to a disgraced aristocrat, she is forced to live with his noble family and endure the humiliating process of learning to be a lady. Rebelling, she runs away to Yorkshire, where she intends to be a blacksmith, a skill at which she excels. She knows she’ll need a manservant to front for her. When John Thorne appears, she hires him, stirred as much by his irresistible attraction as by his strength.


John Haviland, Duke of Thorneleigh, is an arrogant, indolent gambler and womanizer. Having seen Gloriana just once, he yearns to make her his own. When he learns she has run away from her family, he makes a wild bet with his wastrel companions―he will find the lady and bed her. Disguised as a humble servant, he becomes her assistant, learning the blacksmith trade. The clash of wills between these two proud people creates more sparks than a blacksmith’s anvil, as Gloriana learns to be a lady, Thorne learns humility―and desire deepens to love.

BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Award-winning author Sylvia Halliday’s first historical novel, written as Ena Halliday, was chosen by Pocket Books to launch their Tapestry line. She subsequently wrote for Popular Library/Warner and Harlequin Historicals under the pen name of Louisa Rawlings, the name of her maternal great-grandmother. She has written for Kensington/Zebra under the pseudonym of Sylvia Halliday. She has published 14 historical romances. Her FOREVER WILD earned 5 stars from RT Book Reviews and Affaire de Coeur, and was a RITA finalist for the Romance Writers of America. Her latest offerings, published by Diversion Books, are MARIELLE (The French Maiden Series, #1), LYSETTE (The French Maiden Series, #2), DELPHINE (The French Maiden Series, #3), DREAMS SO FLEETING, GOLD AS THE MORNING SUN, THE RING, and SUMMER DARKNESS, WINTER LIGHT. FOREVER WILD, STOLEN SPRING, and PROMISE OF SUMMER, written by her as Louisa Rawlings, are available from Samhain Publishing.


Immortals After Dark by Kresley Cole- Character Names and Glossary


Immortals After Dark Character Descriptions

Glossary of Beings


The Valkyrie

Myst the Coveted

Nicknamed Mysty the Vampire Layer. Considered the most beautiful Valkyrie, green-eyed Myst is part fierce warrior, part beguiling seductress who can “make you want her even as she’s killing you.” She has devoted her life to protecting an ancient, powerful talisman, and to fighting the Horde.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Daniela the Ice Maiden

Born of an Ice Fey mother, beautiful, elven Danii has freezing skin that can only be touched by one of her kind. Yet because her mother attempted to assassinate their king, Danii is hunted by them. She has been untouched for centuries.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Kaderin the Cold Hearted

A delicate, vulnerable, yet chilling assassin, Kaderin is the most prolific vampire killer the Valkyrie have ever known. Because of Kaderin’s mercy to a vampire a millennium ago, both of her full-blood sisters (born with her as triplets) were murdered. She begged for oblivion from the sorrow and guilt, and some mysterious entity deadened her sorrow—accidentally extinguishing all of her emotions. Once known as Kaderin the Kind Hearted, she now represents the Valkyrie and the Furies in the Talisman’s Hie.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Emmaline Troy

AKA: Emma the Lamb or Emma the Timid

Half-vampire, half-Valkyrie, she is exceedingly young at seventy years old and has been overprotected by her Valkyrie aunts and sheltered from the world. She fears developing blood lust like Horde vampires and has never drunk from another being.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night

Nïx the Ever-Knowing

AKA: Nucking Futs Nïx

The first born Valkyrie, or proto-Valkyrie as she deemed herself, raven-haired Nïx is rarely lucid and has a diabolical sense of humor. She is a soothsayer (she prefers predeterminationally-abled) who sees the future more clearly than the present, and is thought by many to be attempting to steer the outcome of the Accession.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Dark Desires After Dusk, Kiss of a Demon King, Deep Kiss of Winter,Pleasure of a Dark Prince, Demon from the Dark, Dreams of a Dark Warrior, Lothaire, MacRieve, Dark Skye.

Lucia the Huntress

Never far from her bow, Lucia is as mysterious as her background. Cursed to feel indescribable pain whenever she misses a shot, she has become the world’s most skilled archer. She is best friends with Regin the Radiant. Garreth, brother to the werewolf king, desires her from afar, trailing her and protecting her.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, and Pleasure of a Dark Prince

Regin the Radiant

Her mother’s people, The Radiant Ones, were exterminated by vampires, and Regin lives for retribution. Despite this, she has evolved into a wit and prankster, quick to laugh and striving to be the world’s most immature immortal. Her kisses are as drugging and addictive as the most powerful mystical narcotics. It’s rumored that centuries ago, she kissed Aidan the Fierce, a human berserker, and he’s since been reincarnated at least four times, unknowingly defying death to seek her again and again. Yet always when he unconsciously returns for her, history repeats itself, and just when Aidan remembers who he was and what Regin meant to him, he is killed trying to win her.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Dark Desires After Dusk, Pleasure of a Dark Prince, Dreams of a Dark Warrior.

Cara the Fair

Twin sister to Furie, who along with her is part Fury. Her purpose in life is to secretly protect a noble line of humans, watching over them as a guardian angel. One problem–the oldest son of the new generation is a thrill seeker and extreme sports enthusiast who runs Cara ragged as she races around the globe to keep him safe. She has begun to suspect he knows about her, and is trying to draw her out.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, and Dark Desires After Dusk

Furie

Fifty years ago, Furie, the violent Valkyrie queen, disappeared after seeking to kill the vampire Horde king. Now she is rumored to be trapped at the bottom of the ocean for the last fifty years. Her existence is to drown, only to have her immortality revive her. If the rumor is true, then she has died over four million times. If she rises, no vampire will be safe from her wrath.
Found in:Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Dark Skye.

Holly the Bright

AKA Holly Ashwin, PhD candidate in computational cryptography. A half-human daughter of a Valkyrie, she was struck by lightning to become a full-fledged Valkyrie. She suffers from obsessive compulsive tendencies and is the Vessel for this Accession.
Found in: Dark Desires After Dusk, and Kiss of a Demon King

The Lykae Clan

Lachlain MacRieve

The king and ruthless leader of the Lykae. He was imprisoned by the Horde for nearly two centuries in a pit of fire that could never quite kill him.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night

Bowen MacRieve

Cousin to Lachlain and Garreth, Bowe lost his fey mate over one hundred and eighty years ago and has done nothing since then but search for a way to bring her back to him. He enters the Talismans Hie seeking a prize that could allow him to prevent her death–he will do anything to win.
Found in: A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, and Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night

Garreth MacRieve

Loyal brother to Lachlain, Garreth is the prince of the Lykae, and held Lachlain’s throne for over a century. Desires Lucia, but can never tell her.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, and Pleasure of a Dark Prince

Uilleam and Munro

Twin Lykae warriors, AKA: Hot and Hotter. Ages ago, a clan seer predicted Munro’s mate would be a harridan. Loyal soldiers to King Lachlain.
Found in: A Hunger Like No Other, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, Kiss of a Demon King, MacRieve.

The Vampires

Nikolai Wroth

AKA: the Overlord

A brutal Estonian warlord who died three hundred years ago in the Great Northern War. He was turned into a vampire by King Kristoff to head his Forbearer army.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Sebastian Wroth

A master strategist and harsh commanding officer who fought alongside his three brothers in the Great Northern War. Sebastian was turned into a vampire against his will by Nikolai and Murdoch.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Murdoch Wroth

Second eldest of the Wroth brothers, Murdoch has been a merciless warrior since he was old enough to go to battle. As a human, he was also a renowned rake. His motto that he’d never met a woman he couldn’t seduce is about to be proved false.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, No Rest for the Wicked, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Conrad Wroth

Youngest of the four Wroth brothers, Conrad is a Fallen vampire and master assassin who clings to the last of his sanity.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, No Rest for the Wicked, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

King Kristoff

AKA: The Gravewalker

The leader of the Forbearer army and rightful king of vampires. After his crown was stolen, Kristoff stalked the battlefields of antiquity seeking the strongest, most valiant human warriors as they died, earning him the name of Gravewalker. He offered eternal life in exchange for eternal fealty to him and his growing army and plans to reclaim his kingdom.
Found in: Playing Easy to Get, A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Lothaire the Enemy of Old

A cunning and opportunistic Horde vampire, whose motives are as mysterious as his background.
Found in: A Hunger Like No Other, Kiss of a Demon King, Pleasure of a Dark Prince, Demon from the Dark, Dreams of a Dark Warrior, Lothaire.

The Demons

Rydstrom Woede

AKA: King Rydstrom III

Deposed ruler of Rothkalina, the kingdom of the rage demons. The rare rage demon who worships logic, and rarely loses his temper or his control.
Found in: Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, Dark Desires After Dusk, and Kiss of a Demon King

Cadeon Woede

AKA: Cadeon the Kingmaker

A brutal mercenary who specializes in usurping thrones, but can never reclaim his brother’s. Cade acts as a self-appointed guard for Rydstrom. The two brothers rarely separate and are collectively called The Woede.
Found in:Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, Dark Desires After Dusk, and Kiss of a Demon King

The House of Witches

Mariketa the Awaited

Daughter of a fey druidess and a warlock of questionable repute, she is a young mystical mercenary. Even before her birth, she was predicted to be the Awaited One, the most powerful born to the House of Witches in centuries—but four years ago, it was also predicted that a male from the Lore would recognize her as his own and claim her. He would lock her away, guarding her with a ferocity that no magicks could defeat, thus robbing the House of her powers.
Ever since the prediction, she’s been forced to cloak and disguise herself every time she sets foot outside of her home.
Found in: Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, No Rest for the Wicked, Dark Needs at Night’s Edge

Carrow

AKA: Carrow the Incarcerated

Best friend to Mariketa the Awaited, Carrow hails from the warrior class of witches and is skilled in love spells.
Found in: Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Kiss of a Demon King

Other Notables

Sabine the Queen of Illusions

Born of the Sorceri. Can cast illusions that are indistinguishable from reality, manipulating anything that can be seen, heard, or imagined.
Half sister to Omort the Deathless, a sadistic sorcerer who wrested control of Rothkalina from Rydstrom. Sabine is fated to wed Rydstrom and bear him an heir.
Found in: Kiss of a Demon King

Melanthe the potential Queen of Persuasions

Sister to Sabine. Born with the ability to push people to do her bidding, forcing them to obey any command she utters. But her power was depleted by keeping Sabine alive as her sister continually protected her from those who would destroy any member of the Sorceri.
Found in: Kiss of a Demon King

Néomi Laress

(b. approx. 1901—d. August 24, 1927) A prima ballerina–and former femme fatale and burlesque dancer–who was murdered and became a ghostly being, invisible to others. She haunts Elancourt, her empty estate.
Found in: Dark Needs at Night’s Edge and Deep Kiss of Winter.

Lucindeya the Siren

AKA: Cindey

A merciless competitor who represents the Sirenae in the Talisman’s Hie.
Found in: No Rest for the Wicked

Aidan the Fierce/Declan Chase

A berserker who died over a thousand years ago, trying to win Regin the Radiant. He reincarnates again and again, forever seeking to be with her.
Found in: Demon from the Dark, Dreams of a Dark Warrior













COMING SOON!


PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!

http://www.amazon.com/Sweet-Ruin-Immortals-After-Dark/dp/1451649975/ref=

 

I'll Be There- Montgomery Brother's #6- by Samantha Chase- Teaser Tuesday!



I'LL BE THERE
Montgomery Brother's #6
Samantha Chase
Releasing Dec 1st, 2015
Sourcebooks Casablanca



Book #6 in New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Samantha Chase's popular Montgomery series

This Montgomery Has a Head for Business

Working for Zach Montgomery is challenging on many levels-coming from a wealthy and powerful family, he lives by his own rules and doesn't answer to anyone. But Gabriella Martine has no intention of backing down. She's used to handling stubborn men, and it doesn't hurt that Zach is smart, charismatic...and gorgeous.

And a Heart for Adventure


Zach's perfect world is turned upside down when a climbing accident leaves him broken, angry, and maddeningly dependent. In his slow quest for recovery, Gabriella is always there to help...but as Zach comes to see his beautiful assistant in a new light, he is forced to re-evaluate what it really means to be a man worthy of Gabriella's love.

Pre-Order Today


Reaching across the table, Zach took one of Gabriella’s hands in his and just marveled at how soft it was. He always wondered what her skin felt like and now that he knew, he wanted to feel more. “Don’t leave me. Please.”

Her blue eyes filled with tears and she used her free hand to quickly wipe them away before they fell and then studied their hands on the table. “Zach,” she said softly, “we’ve been over this.”

“I know, I know,” he replied just as softly. “I need another chance, Gabriella. I need a chance to make things right.” He looked up, his gaze meeting hers. “I need you.”

Deciding to be bold, he turned her hand over and twined their fingers together and gently squeezed. He was surprised she didn’t pull away and thought maybe—just maybe—they were making progress. “I know I can’t erase the things I’ve said and done, but if you’ll give me one more chance, Gabs, I promise not to screw up. If I do anything to upset you, you can walk away. Hell, you can slap me in the face, kick me in the shin or throw something heavy at me and I’ll take it. I just…I can’t do this without you.”

Her eyes never left their joined hands.

“I don’t want to do this without you,” he said quietly.

“I’m afraid to…believe you.” He barely heard her words, they were uttered so softly.

Everything inside of him clenched with pain. His always confident, ever-efficient assistant was now distrusting and uncertain—because of him. “I don’t know what to say to make you believe me. Tell me. Tell me what I need to do. Anything. Anything you need from me to gain your confidence, and I’ll do it.”

She looked up at him. “It’s not that easy. Every day I walked into the office, I gave you another chance. Every time you berated me or made me feel like I screwed up and I came back, I gave you another chance. From my standpoint, you’ve had two years’ worth of second chances. I think I’ve been more than generous.”

His other hand reached out to cup her hand in both of his. “I know you have and you have no idea how much I appreciated it.” She looked at him with disbelief. “It’s true! I know I never said it but every morning you were there, I was thankful. Every time you walked into my office, I was thankful. Please. I’m begging here, Gabs.”





New York Times and USA Today Bestseller/contemporary romance writer Samantha Chase released her debut novel, Jordan's Return, in November 2011. Although she waited until she was in her 40's to publish for the first time, writing has been a lifelong passion. Her motivation to take that step was her students: teaching creative writing to elementary age students all the way up through high school and encouraging those students to follow their writing dreams gave Samantha the confidence to take that step as well.
When she's not working on a new story, she spends her time reading contemporary romances, playing way too many games of Scrabble or Solitaire on Facebook and spending time with her husband of 25 years and their two sons in North Carolina.

Haven't Started the Series?
WAIT FOR ME/TRUST IN ME 
are now available in a duo!