Edelweiss

Someone to Wed

Someone to Wed
Someone to Wed by Mary Balogh

Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday
Flashback Friday

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Corsica Gate by Robena Grant - Release Day Blitz + Giveaway


Enter to Win a
$20.00 Amazon or B&N eGift Card



A heroine who has stopped believing in fairy tales and happy endings, Dia Sophia Romani, jilted three days before her wedding, has lived with Mama in San Diego’s Little Italy for six months. She’s tired of everything Italian, and is ready to move on…

Enter an unlikely hero. Carlo Antonelli is of Italian descent. He adores Dia, but he’s willing to take his time and not rush her. When he learns she will be vacationing in Italy and Corsica, he must step up his game.

Will a wish made at a magical gate destroy, or strengthen, their newfound love?






“You mean…?” She looked back at the guy.

Nah, impossible. I’ve never been that lucky.


“Yeah, that’s Carlo Antonelli.”

“You don’t want to accept the date, just make up whatever excuse you want.” Tony beckoned.

A jolt of heat spread through her abdomen when Carlo grinned and waved. He ducked through the slow moving traffic and stopped in front of her smiling a crooked smile. Pushing his sunglasses onto his head, white teeth flashing, and mahogany eyes sparkling, he held out his right hand.

My wedding date? Her heartbeat pounded, and her mouth went dry.

“You must be Dia.” He tucked the book underneath one arm and held her hand gently with his other big warm hand. “Carlo Antonelli.”

“Yes.” The word came out on a soft breath. She swallowed hard. “Tony mentioned you wanted to speak to me about Marco’s wedding.” Something inside of her shifted, as if a huge iceberg started to melt in her chest and slide sideways, leaving a pool of cool, blue, bubbling water. She floundered for a minute wondering what to say next, because she couldn’t use the word date. Not while looking into his magnificent eyes. Then she remembered he was Italian, or at least part Italian.

Strike one.

Her shoulders stiffened. She had no interest in Italian men. She hitched up the purse onto her shoulder, and squinted from behind the dark sunglasses.



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Robena Grant writes contemporary romance about ordinary women in extraordinary circumstances. Travel and discovering new places brings Robena great pleasure, and she often includes these discoveries in her stories. She is Australian by birth, lives in Southern California, and has two grown children. Robena may be contacted at her website.

The Bannock Series by Jessica Wilde- Leverage, Conned, and Missing on Sale for a limited time only! Only 99 cents!!

 
 
`★.¸¸,. •°´★SALE FOR A LIMITED TIME ONLY 99¢ Each `★.¸¸,. •°´★

Leverage--> http://amzn.to/1Buy1KO
Watch the Trailer --> http://vimeo.com/115547414
Conned-->http://amzn.to/1H5Tfol
Watch the Trailer --> http://vimeo.com/115548507
Missing-->http://amzn.to/1z626zs
Watch the Trailer --> http://vimeo.com/115547889
 
 

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

No Perfect Secret and No Perfect Fate by Jackie Weger Free Today in the Amazon Kinde Store - Limited Time Only!

 
A single secret begets a layer of lies.
Anna Nesmith believes she has it all--a great marriage, a dream job and a home of her own. When a State Department investigator begins asking questions, Anna’s ordered world implodes. Frank Caburn is man to the bone and manufactures testosterone like Frito Lay does chips. Instantly attracted to Anna, he is determined to make her his own--if only she can pick through the emotional rubble to find her bruised heart can love once again. 

http://www.amazon.com/No-Perfect-Secret-Jackie-Weger-ebook/dp/B00N53VJTK/ref=sr_1_4?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1422458812&sr=1-4&keywords=jackie+weger


 
Cleo Anderson’s people skills are hesitant and her life broken, yet she is determined to leave her past behind. Alone is good and she is finding her way. On a whim, she parks her Play-mor in a fish camp in the wilds of the Okefenokee Swamp, where gators yawn, bears slumber, and snakes slither. The camp pace is slow, the owner kind, and the people friendly. Cleo encounters Fletcher Freemont Maitland and his goddaughter, eleven year-old Katie. Cleo didn’t know her life was about to unravel yet again, her heart would shatter, and that Fletcher Maitland would help her mend. But Cleo is about to find these things out the hard way. Both Fletcher and Katie will change her life and if Cleo does not learn to accept that life is bountiful and fate imperfect, she will lose both forever.
 
 
 
 
 
COMING SOON! HEARTS AND KISSES VALENTINE BOX SET! PRE-ORDER NOW! - ONLY 99 CENTS IN THE AMAZON KINDLE STORE!!  RELEASE DAY FEB. 10TH.
February 10, 2015
Hearts & Kisses –

Just in time for Valentine’s Day, twelve New York Times, USA Today, National bestselling and award-winning authors deliver a dozen contemporary romance novels and novellas packed with drama, suspense, love and laughter. From the Highlands of Scotland to the Hollywood hills, twelve strong heroines meet twelve hot heroes in tales that span the globe. Whether you crave big-city adventure or small-town romance, second chance stories, or sexy single dads...this outstanding collection holds something special for you. Come be our Valentine, and snuggle up with these sweet and steamy romances, perfect for reading on a chilly winter’s eve. Happy ever afters guaranteed.

Heart Tamer (Heartthrob Series Novella) by Sophia Knightly, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Fashion designer Kate Hayes must somehow convince her estranged ex-husband, Alec MacLeod, to agree to an unusual request. In this fiery second chance at love, whose heart will be tamed?

The Sometime Bride by Ginny Baird, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Carrie St. John is done with wedding disasters. Third time’s the charm? A jilted bride and a ditched bachelor cut a “fake fiancĂ©” deal.

The Surrogate’s Secret by Mimi Barbour, USA Today and National bestselling author. Confirmed bachelor, Miguel, forces his dead brother’s gorgeous, headstrong surrogate to marry him so he can take her and her twins to Chile to cheer his ailing mamita.

Breaking the Rules by Mel Curtis, USA Today and National bestselling, award-winning author. The Gordon’s marriage has been an emotional rollercoaster, but Jack has the solution–lock them inside a safe room for a cool-down, which turns out to be hot.

Take Me, I’m Yours by Donna Fasano, USA Today bestselling author. Sexy single dad Derek learned the hard way to never trust a beautiful woman. So although he is indebted to Lainey for thwarting a kidnapping attempt on his daughter, he isn’t about to offer her his heart on a silver platter!

Valentine Babies by Mona Risk, USA Today and National bestselling author. Getting involved with fearless reporter, Roxanne, involves more complications than Dr. Greg has ever faced in the OR.

The Army Doctor’s Valentine’s Baby by Helen Scott Taylor, USA Today and National bestselling author. An abandoned baby brings two lonely army doctors together.

The Rock Star’s Wedding by Ari Thatcher, USA Today and National bestselling author. Kenzie’s vacation in St. Thomas heats up when her high school sweetheart and rock star heartthrob Chaz appears. If only he wasn’t there for his wedding.
Love Struck by Patrice Wilton, USA Today bestselling author. With the “love bug myth” and discovery of gold, Serendipity Falls is no longer safe. Can Samantha and Kyle find a way to end this madness, or will they too be swept away by love?

Ambrosia by the Sea by Traci Hall, National bestselling and award-winning author. After a bitter betrayal by her late husband, self-taught chef Celia Langdon moves to the sea, where dive shop owner Dax Smith dares her to heal from the heart.

Reading Between the Lines by Anna J Stewart, National bestselling author. When Ethan Sutherland was in high school, he’d go to any lengths to hide his secret, including betraying the one girl who tried to help him. Now he’s back in town and hoping Cassidy Wells finds it in her heart to forgive him.

No Perfect Destiny by Jackie Weger, National bestselling and award-winning author. Leah Spencer lives in the present until one sun-drenched day, her troubled past imperils the future and threatens all she holds dear.
 
http://www.amazon.com/Hearts-Kisses-Contemporary-Valentine-Novellas-ebook/dp/B00SKEF9JK/ref=sr_1_5?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1422458812&sr=1-5&keywords=jackie+weger

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Sweet SURPRISE by Candis Terry - Release Blast-Review + Giveaway + Scavenger Hunt!!


Join the Hunt
(See Details Below)




Playing naughty or nice . . .

Fiona Wilder knows all about falling in lust. Love? That's another story. Determined not to repeat past mistakes, the single mom and cupcake shop owner is focused on walking the straight and narrow. But trouble has a way of finding her. And this time it comes in the form of a smoking hot firefighter who knows all the delicious ways to ignite her bad-girl fuse. Can lead to heartbreak . . .

Firefighter Mike Halsey learned long ago that playing with fire just gets you burned. He's put his demons behind him, and if there's one line he won't cross, it's getting involved with his best friend's ex. But when fate throws him in the path of the beautiful, strong, and off-limits Fiona, will he be able to fight their attraction? Or will he willingly go down in flames? Or a sweet surprise!


MY REVIEW:

Sweet Surprise (Sweet, Texas, #4)Sweet Surprise by Candis Terry
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sweet Surprise by Candis Terry is a 2015 Avon publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

I have read one of the Sweet, Texas books previously and I loved it, so I was more than ready to dive into this one. I was not disappointed. I sincerely enjoyed this modern contemporary with adult characters who have real life issues that many can relate to... and a hot fireman.

Fiona is putting her life back together after her amicable divorce from Jackson. She is about to open her own pastry shop and is a mom to four year old Izzy. Fiona is determined to put her little wild streak to bed once and for all and make a success of her new business on her own without any outside help. Men and romance are off the table, for the moment at least.

Mike is Jackson's best friend and a fireman. He has a very complicated family and is the one everyone turns to during a crisis to fix things again. He has a big time crush on Fiona, but since she is his best friend's ex-wife, he thinks that is a line guys don't cross when it comes to women. It's in the code book and everything.

But when Jackson's mother “wins” him at a charity auction, she cashes in by assigning him over to Fiona to help get her shop opened. Mike is not thrilled with this development, not because he doesn't want to help Fiona, but because it's going to be pure torture being that close to her and have to keep his hands to himself.
Sure enough it doesn't take long for the couple to realize fighting their attraction to one another is futile. But, there is a lot to consider. Telling Jackson for one, introducing Mike to Izzy , and all the personal baggage the pair carry around with them. But, don't these wonderful people deserve a little happiness of their own?

I thought this story was a down to earth realistic look at two people who have made mistakes in the past and are trying desperately not to repeat those mistakes. But, in their efforts to avoid screwing up again, and trying to be all things to all people, they are both paralyzed by fear, so much so they are missing the opportunity for happiness that is right under their noses.

Izzy is absolutely adorable! I was happy to see Fiona didn't all together lay “naughty Fiona” to rest. Mike has been pulling his family out of messes for so long it has come to define him. In a crisis, if they call, he drops everything and runs to the rescue. But, what about his own life? His own happiness? Can Mike finally let his family work out their own issues and focus on being the man Fiona has always dreamed was out there for her? The one she deserves?

I love when a contemporary novel these days employs more mature couples, adds realistic situations and conflicts, then shows the way to work out life's dilemmas without behaving like little whiny children ,with all that over dramatic angst. There is real depth, and emotion, a, few tissue grabbing moments, but the ending is absolutely the stuff fairy tales are made of. I think this book will appeal to everyone who loves reading within this genre.
Great Job! 4.5 rounded to 5


View all my reviews
BUY NOW
Amazon | Barnes | iTunes | Kobo | BAM




*SCAVENGER HUNT*




 
Each host will have a different letter placed within their post during the SWEET SURPRISE Release Blast! 

Readers, you will have to visit EACH tour stop to find the letters, and then enter the "Secret Word" into the Rafflecopter for more chances to win!   

You can enter ONE WORD per day, five words to find!



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Candis Terry was born and raised near the sunny beaches of Southern California and now makes her home on an Idaho farm. She’s experienced life in such diverse ways as working in a Hollywood recording studio to chasing down wayward steers. Only one thing has remained the same: her passion for writing stories about relationships, the push and pull in the search for love, and the security one finds in their own happily ever after.
Find Candis Here


SOMETHING SWEETER by Candis Terry is the 
Harlequin Junkie Book Club Read for January!

Mark your calendars for Jan 29th!
(6pm PST/9pm EST)


18 Thoughts by Jamie Ayres- Book Launch + Giveaway

18 Thoughts cover 18 Thoughts Launch & Giveaway!
Greetings, fellow book nerds! I’m YA author Jamie Ayres, and I’m sooo excited to announce that 18 Thoughts, the final book in the My So-Called Afterlife trilogy, is finally available from Curiosity Quills Press!
 Toss the virtual confetti, because it’s been three years in the making (and virtual confetti is a lot less messier). If you haven't heard of this series yet, here's the cliffnotes summary of each book: 18 Things: Olga Gay Worontzoff struggles to live again after a lightning strike kills the best friend she was secretly in love with. Her therapist suggests she write a life list of eighteen things to complete the year of her eighteenth birthday, sending her and her friends, including the new hottie in town, on an unexpected journey they’ll never forget. But there’s more to Olga’s quests than meets the eye and when her therapist reveals a terrifying secret, her world is shaken.
18 Truths: With the lessons the 18 Things life list taught her engraved on her heart, Olga spends her summer in the Underworld and embarks on a new adventure as a spirit guide, but nothing prepares her for the chilling truths she’s learning along the way.
18 Thoughts: Olga Gay Worontzoff left the Underworld anxious to return to normal, but fate had other plans; now she’s caught in a world that’s a mix of familiar and supernatural, torn between past and present.

Book Trailer:
  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYpVf1zxrE8

  What do others have to say about the series?

"A surprising paranormal tale that explores deep questions concerning love, faith, and friendship that will absolutely resonate with teens." ~Amy Christine Parker, Critically Acclaimed Author of Gated and Astray

"A haunting tale that had me smiling one moment and on the brink of tears the next." ~ Heather Burch, Critically Acclaimed Author of the Halflings Series and One Lavender Ribbon

"A touching story that will make you cherish each day and the ones you love." ~Jaime Rush, New York Times bestselling author of the Hidden series

"Warning: These characters will move right into your heart, rearrange all the furniture, and never, ever leave. 18 Thoughts will become a part of you--prepare to be changed." ~Teshelle Combs, Amazon Best-Selling Author of the Core Series

"A twisty conclusion to a spiritually charged trilogy that will grip you from book one." ~Eliza Tilton, YA Author of the Daath Chronicles

"An emotional journey readers won't soon forget--will have readers making their own bucket lists." ~Marisa Cleveland, Author of the South Beach Series, Pushed, and The Valentine Challenge

"An achingly beautiful story of life, loss and hope... a triumph." ~J. Keller Ford, Author of Dragon Flight and The Amulet of Ormisez

Purchase 18 Thoughts (Book 3) on Amazon
Purchase 18 Things (Book 1) on Amazon (Free from Jan. 25-27th!)
Purchase 18 Truths (Book 2) on Amazon (Special $2.99 price through Jan. 27th!)


To celebrate my book birthday, I’m offering one lucky winner a huge swag bag valued at $115!
 Just enter the Rafflecopter for your chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Yes, it's open to all people of the world, not just Americans :-) Best of luck, and happy reading! Jamie Author Pic Amazon bestselling author Jamie Ayres writes young adult love stories by night and teaches young adults as an English teacher by day. When not at home on her laptop or at school, she can often be found at a local book store grabbing random children and reading to them. So far, she has not been arrested for this. She has been praised for featuring strong, appealing heroines and plot twists readers never saw coming. Visit jamieayres.com for more information or to simply share your thoughts with her.

Barefoot in Pearls- A Barefoot Bay Brides Novel by Roxanne St. Claire- A Book Review

A brand new full length (365 pages) set in Barefoot Bay! New York Times bestselling author Roxanne St. Claire takes readers back to the beach with more of the “Barefoot Brides” -- destination wedding planners who are experts at dreamy “I do’s” but haven’t yet found their happily ever after.

As her two best friends settle into their happily ever afters, destination wedding designer Arielle Chandler is beginning to wonder if the promise of “The One” – one true love, meant only for her – is merely folklore passed down from her Native American grandmother. But when a mysterious man nearly mows her down on a hill overlooking Barefoot Bay, the legend of destined love suddenly feels very real. That is, until Ari learns of Luke McBain’s plans to demolish a piece of land she believes is sacred.

Luke isn’t proud of the fact that he spent ten years as a mercenary warrior, fighting battles for another country. With those dark days behind him, he’s focused on creating a new life instead of destroying others, so he’s moved to Barefoot Bay to launch a contracting business and build a house for an old friend. But when an enigmatic dark-eyed beauty steals his attention and stops his progress with her announcement that he is about to flatten a native burial ground, Luke has a new battle to fight.

While their immediate and potent attraction grows complicated, Luke and Ari discover the hills of Barefoot Bay could be hiding something far different – and even more valuable – than ancient art or graves. They are determined to discover the truth, but that will come at a cost. Will they risk their chance at once-in-a-lifetime love to uncover secrets that could change the landscape of Barefoot Bay forever?






Excerpt/BAREFOOT IN PEARLS

******
"I’m feeling like you might be wasting perfectly good Native American teachings on a sensible, unfaithful, hard-core must-see-it-to-believe-it kind of guy," Luke admitted.
"No teaching is wasted. Someone always learns something, even if they don’t want to." Arielle lifted her hand, this time to graze his jaw while studying his face. "And you don’t have to hold back on your skepticism or unbelief, although…"
"Although what?" he prodded.
She sighed slowly. "Although if the things I hold true and dear in my heart are meaningless to you, then…does that mean you are meaningless to me? I’m not sure I want to know that yet."
"Yet?" Like him being meaningless was inevitable? "Not sure I want to know that yet, either," he admitted as that possibility crushed his chest a little.
She closed her eyes and puffed out a breath. "I need something sweet," she sighed.
"Then close your eyes." He got up enough to reach into his pocket, making her brows lift in surprise.
"You have something sweet in your pants?" she teased.
"Of course I do." Laughing with her, he pulled out a cardboard package of wax bottles full of sugar juice.
"Nik-L-Nips!" She reached for them. "How did you get them? They’re impossible to find."
"Nothing’s impossible, Arielle."
Her shoulders softened as she looked at him. "’Bout time you figured that out, McBain." She nodded toward the candy. "I’ll share the blue one."
"You have to teach me how to open it."
She slipped the little wax bottle from the case and held it to her mouth. "Put it right here, between your teeth."
Everything, every cell in his body, tightened and squeezed.
"And"she bit down—"snap it off." She popped the wax top out of her mouth so it bounced on the blanket. "And spit it out."
"That was pretty sexy, Arielle. Except for the snapping-it-off part."
She gave him a slow, sly smile. "Don’t worry, I don’t bite."
His hormones went wild. Wilder. Wild enough that it took a moment for him to notice the playfulness disappearing from her expression. "What’s wrong, Arielle?"
"Look at you, getting all in tune with the feels again. You spend too much time with me, Luke, and you’ll be the one communing with nature. Would you like me to teach you how to listen to what the wind says?"
"I’d like you to teach me how to read your expression, which changed a second ago while you were looking at me."
She averted her eyes, as if she’d been caught and couldn’t deny it. "Okay," she agreed. "I was thinking, right then when you said wax-bottle biting was sexy, that…"
"That what?"
"That I wish sex with you hadn’t taken on all this magnitude because I really want to…" She laughed again, unable to find the word. "I really want to," she finally said.
Thank God, because he really wanted to, too.
"We could…" With a gentle nudge, he eased her to her back, leaning over her. "Let go of the magnitude."
"We could," she agreed on a shudder as his fingers found their way to the bare skin exposed between her T-shirt and jeans.
"What’s the worst that could happen?" he asked, stroking the satin of her stomach.
"It could change everything."
"Yeah, we could go from being the world’s two horniest people to the most satisfied." He gave a mocking eyeroll. "That would suck."
"Or we could go from being new friends with a strong attraction to each other to lovers with thoughts of ‘forever’ dancing in their heads. Would that suck, Luke?"
Every celleven the ones lining up for a party in his pantsstilled at the unanswered question.
She laughed softly. "And he panics."
"No, not panic." Yes, panic. "Is that what would happen? I mean, is that like a definite possibility if two people are…" He couldn’t even say it. But he had to. "Meant for each other?"
She lifted one shoulder. "I don’t know. I’ve never taken on the universe in a full-blown fight. Wouldn’t expect to win, though."
For a long time, neither of them spoke. They looked into each other’s eyes while Luke’s hand spread flat on her stomach to absorb some of her infallible "gut" instinct.
Barely breathing, he leaned closer, letting their mouths lightly brush, feeling her pulse thrum through her body.
There’s no going back. There’s no going back.
He closed his eyes, not sure if she said that or he heard it or…it was the wind. Either way, right then, he didn’t care about anything except how much he had to have Arielle Chandler’s body become one with his.
There’s no going back.
"I don’t care." He murmured the words into a kiss, completely lost under her spell.




My Review:

Barefoot in Pearls (Barefoot Bay Brides Trilogy, #3)Barefoot in Pearls by Roxanne St. Claire
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Barefoot in Pearls by Roxanne St. Claire is a 2015 South Street Publishing release. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This is the third in the Barefoot Bay Brides trilogy, but can be read as a stand alone.

Karma, Fate, Destiny, call it what you will, but Arielle and Luke were meant to be. The instant Luke ran right over Ari and their eyes met, she knew... Luke was “ the one”. Don't believe in love at first sight? This story just might change your mind.

Ari is one quarter American Indian. She had a very close relationship with grandmother- “Grandma Good Bear”. She promised her grandmother she would wait for the right guy, “the one”, and so for two years she has been celibate. But, both of her best friends are now either married or about to be, and she is really starting to wonder if that guy is ever going to show up.

Luke really knows how to make an entrance into a person's life. While Arielle thought their meeting was proof her intuitions were right, Luke looked at it as mere coincidence. While Ari was convinced he was the one she has been waiting for, Luke is hell bent on avoiding anything that resembles love. That's not all that is impeding their relationship though. Luke is about to begin work on a piece of land that Arielle believes could be sacred. Luke needs the work, putting Ari in a difficult spot. Determined to do the right thing, Luke stalls the project.
In the meantime, he and Ari have some investigating to do, as well as some hard core soul searching.

I really enjoyed this story. Arielle, named after “The Little Mermaid”, has “feelings” about things and people that are uncanny, and while she isn't always right, for the most part she has a real knack for reading people. She is kind of offbeat, but is principled and sticks by those beliefs even when they are not popular, which I really admired.

Luke.. well my goodness! This guy's back story is really something. It's no wonder he is a little shy about getting involved with anyone. So, he fights against Ari's feelings that they belong together. One part of him knows she is right, but the other part of him is too afraid to admit it. He winds up being his own worse enemy sometimes.

The Native American backdrop was a nice touch. I love cultural stories because they add a deeper level of interest.
I also enjoyed the level of suspense when it seems Ari's probing may have stirred up some trouble for herself and Luke. What was on that piece of land that someone didn't want discovered and to what lengths would they go to keep Ari from upsetting their plans?

So, this story has a little something for everyone. A sweet and sensual love story, danger and suspense, and a little bit of a paranormal element, as well as humor. Luke can be really funny especially when trying to keep names straight. I loved, loved, loved the deeply romantic ending, giving all the naysayers out there regarding soul mates and love at first sight something to think about. 5 stars!

GET YOUR COPY HERE:
http://www.amazon.com/Barefoot-Pearls-Bay-Brides-Book-ebook/dp/B00PDY4DD8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1422134217&sr=8-1&keywords=Barefoot+in+Pearls



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

I don’t know about you, but when I check out an author's bio, it’s usually because I’ve read a book I liked and wondered about the person behind it. Let's skip the formal bio and I'll give you the inside scoop on who Roxanne St. Claire really is.

First of all, call me Rocki. Everyone does. Evidently, when my mother brought me home from the hospital I seemed too scrawny and small to pull off “Roxanne” (she’d read Cyrano de Bergerac while pregnant or I would have been Judy) so they called me Rocki.

I grew up in Pittsburgh, PA, the youngest of five (overachievers, every one), and fell in love with words and stories the summer I read Gone With The Wind. That year, for my twelfth birthday, my parents gave me a typewriter (with italic font – it was the coolest thing) and from that day on, I’ve had my fingers on a keyboard, pounding out love stories for fun. My AP English teacher taught me the two most important lessons an aspiring author ever needs: 1) verbs are the key to life and 2) a writer should get a real job. After attending UCLA and graduating with a degree in communications, I tried acting and television broadcasting. Oh, they aren’t real jobs? I learned that the hard way. I changed my last name from Zink to St. Claire because a news producer told me Roxanne Zink had too many harsh consonants for a TV personality – apparently Katie Couric didn’t get the memo. I got some fun gigs, and even met Tom Hanks when I did a guest appearance on Bosom Buddies. I liked on camera work, but wasn’t too crazy about starvation, so I moved to Boston and got that “real” job. In fact, I placed my foot on the bottom rung of the corporate ladder and didn’t look down until I’d climbed all the way up to the level of Senior Vice President at the world’s largest public relations firm. On the way up, I met the man of my dreams in an elevator. Two years later – in the same elevator! – he asked me to marry him and I wisely said yes.

I stayed in PR, moved to Miami, had a few babies, lost my home in a hurricane, built another one a few hours north and all along, I kept writing my “stories” for fun. One night, I read a particularly fabulous romance novel that changed my life for good. That night, I decided I wanted to make someone else feel as whole and happy as that author made me feel. (Everyone asks! It was Nobody’s Baby But Mine by Susan Elizabeth Phillips.) With two small children and one big “real” job, writing my first novel wasn’t easy, but I did finish a manuscript that managed to get the attention of a literary agent. She told me to do one thing and one thing fast: write another book. (The first one is usually a “learner” book, honestly.) That second manuscript sold to Simon & Schuster’s Pocket Books and was released in 2003 as Tropical Getaway. Since then, I’ve written almost thirty more, in multiple genres, and long ago replaced the corporate ladder with the rollercoaster of publishing as a full-time novelist. Finally, writing is my real job.

Today, I live in a small beach community in Florida with my husband and our two teenagers, and one spectacular Australian Terrier named Pepper. When I have spare time, I spend it with my family, but also dig in the dirt with my plants, travel for business and fun, hang out with my many writer friends, and, of course, I love to read. I’m still crazy about words and stories and hope to write at least a hundred books in my lifetime. And, yes, verbs are the key to life. My favorites? Love. Work. Play.

In For The Kill by Shannon McKenna Book Blast + Giveaway



In for the Kill

by Shannon McKenna



~~~~~~~~~~~~~



BLURB:



Years ago, the McClouds and their friends rescued little Sveti Ardova from ruthless organ traffickers. Now she’s all grown up, and getting into some scorching trouble of her own . . .



NO SURRENDER



The risks ex-cop Sam Petrie has taken have turned his life into a train wreck. So he has nothing to lose by doubling down as the elusive Svetlana Ardova’s unwanted bodyguard on her ill-advised trip to Italy. Her crusade against modern slavery has blazoned a bullseye on her chest, but when one of the death threats against her almost hits the mark, Sam’s protective instincts go into overdrive. Every lethal obstacle and trap they encounter ups the stakes—and the undeniable heat between them.



Now they’re spiraling in on a deadly and explosive secret—one that could either redeem them or destroy them … and the closer they get, the shorter the fuse …



Praise for Shannon McKenna

"The McCloud series is an auto buy for me." --Maya Banks

"McKenna writes intense, sensual stories." --The B&N Review

"Shannon McKenna makes the pulse pound." –BookPage

~~~~~~~~~~~~~




Excerpt:



"Planning to?" he persisted. If this was going to be the definitive crotch-kick of reality, then bring it on.



Sveti's gaze dropped. He waited.



"You're not involved with him at all," he said.



"I told you," she said. "We're good friends."



"And it doesn't bug you that he was fondling the wait staff."



"No, not anymore," she said softly. "I've known for a long time that he doesn't have feelings for me that I'd, um. Hoped."



Hoped? Sveti had hoped, and the guy hadn't delivered the goods? God. Cattrall must be brain damaged, not to hit on that.



"He was touching you as if you were lovers," he said. "But you're not a ass-grab kind of girl. You asked him to do that for my benefit. He was a safe date, in case I came to smoke you out. Your human shield."



Her color rose. "Wow, Petrie. You may be surprised to learn this, but you are not, in fact, the center of all my thoughts."



"Tell me if I'm right," he persisted, though he was already sure.



"Get out of my way!" She tried to push past him, toward the door.



He grabbed her. He knew he shouldn't, but the part of him that knew had no say. The rest of him clamped onto her, nerves janging at the sweet shock of contact. Her heat and scent overwhelmed his senses, laced up into that tight cage of crimson satin. Straining away from him. Provoking a dangerous, animal urge to drag her close. Pin her down.



"Let me go, Petrie," she said. "Or I start to scream."



"You treat me like I'm a criminal lowlife, out to rape and pillage," he said. "I'm one of the good guys, Sveti."



"Hah," she muttered. "There are no good guys."



"We're all bad, then? You lump me in with Arbatov? Zhoglo?"



The mention of the two mafiya Vors energized her struggle. He clamped her tighter against his body. Her heartbeat was so frantic and birdlike. She felt so fragile. But she wasn't.



"I can't believe we're talking about my love life, when that monster is in the ballroom with my friends and their kids eating tempura dipped zucchini flowers! He's committed horrible crimes against innocents!"



"You're not the only one who tries to protect the innocent."



She sniffed. "Yes, of course. The police are so very noble."



He waited for a moment. "Not fair," he said quietly. "We try."



She looked down, abashed. "That is true, and I apologize," she said. "This is silly, Sam. I promise, I won't be rude to the criminals. I won't get myself or anyone else killed. Let go. Please. I'll be good."



Now she was trying sweet reason. Who cared. She may have gotten a handle on her self control, but he most definitely had not.



His grip did not slacken as he put words to the thought forming in his head. "You know what your problem is, Sveti?"She tilted a winged dark brow.

 "I imagine you're going to tell me?"

 



a Rafflecopter giveaway
 


AUTHOR Bio and Links:



Shannon McKenna is the NYT bestselling author of over ten action packed, turbocharged romantic thrillers, among which are the stories of the wildly popular McCloud series. She loves tough and heroic alpha males, heroines with the brains and guts to match them, villains who challenge them to their utmost, adventure, scorching sensuality, and most of all, the redemptive power of true love. Since she was small she has loved abandoning herself to the magic of a good book, and her fond childhood fantasy was that writing would be just like that, but with the added benefit of being able to take credit for the story at the end. Alas, the alchemy of writing turned out to be messier than she'd ever dreamed. But what the hell, she loves it anyway, and hopes that readers enjoy the results of her alchemical experiments. She loves to hear from her readers. Contact her at her website, http://shannonmckenna.com, or join the newsletter by signing up here: http://shannonmckenna.com/connect.php.



Connect with Shannon:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorShannonMckenna

Twitter: http://twitter.com/shannonmckenna4

Publisher: http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/author.aspx/24658


Additional info about the book:

Publisher: Kensington Books

Print Length: 416 pages

Publication Date: January 27, 2015

Buy Links:








Monday, January 26, 2015

Broken Trust by Thomas Maurin Book Tour+ Review + Giveaway

Book Synopsis:

This is a story about three smart, successful people who were once fast friends in college and have now been thrust together again in an unlikely, multi-layered investigation with far-reaching international implications and billions of dollars at stake. One is a forensic accountant for the SEC, one beta tests hardware and software for the US Department of Defense and the UK Ministry of Defense, and the third is a wildly successful entrepreneur, software developer and venture capitalist in Silicon Valley.

They get caught up in the hunt for a corrupt Swiss banker intent on finally unloading the last of the gold stolen by his father in World War II; a violent, narcissist leader of a Mexican drug cartel making his move to take over as the head of all cartels in Central America; and the daughter of a murdered Bulgarian arms dealer making the deal that will give her mother financial stability and get them both out of the increasingly unstable arms business.

The plot unfolds as financial crimes committed by insiders put common criminal activities to shame in a world where technology has increasingly insinuated itself into our lives to good and bad effects.

MY REVIEW:


Broken Trust (3 Musketeers, #1)Broken Trust by Thomas Maurin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Broken Trust is a 2014 publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

When a colleague is run down, Mary Catherine Fitzsimmons- “Fitz” to her friends, is determined to find out why. Her only clue is the allusion to a trust involving her father, who was once the Secretary of State to a prior presidential administration.
As a current employee for the SEC, Fitz finds herself in one whale of a predicament. She will also find herself partnered with her former husband and their mutual friend, from their college days...thus forming “The 3 Musketeers”.
The dark family secrets Fitz uncovers will lead the team to Switzerland, to London, to Washington D.C. To Grand Cayman as they follow the trail of money, stolen gold, a ruthless drug dealer, and the daughter of a former arms dealer looking for revenge and financial security. Along the way Fitz will discover the extent of her father's deceit and manipulation, which will out some Fitz's secrets as well.

This is a cleverly plotted crime novel, aptly titled .topped with lots action, adventure and interesting locales. Financial crimes are always interesting and not written about ad nauseam, so this was a refreshing change of pace for me. There were a few digs here and there on the evils of technology or perhaps just a bit of cautionary tale. The story moves forward at a fast pace, building the suspense steadily, but there is an emotional level to it as well, since Fitz will have to hear things about her father she never imagined, plus she must deal with the emotions just under the surface after coming face to face with her ex-husband, whom she hasn't seen in a great many years, and learning the shocking truth behind their break up years ago.

I enjoyed the introductions to the three main characters, Fitz, Charles, (Chas) and Jamie, we are sure to hear from again in the future. All three have well defined personalities, each bringing a unique niche to the table. There are a few personal loose ends that Fitz will have to deal with, especially with her father and former husband. It will be interesting to see what these three old friends will get up to next. I am looking forward to their future adventures because they have a wonderful chemistry together and make a great team. Over all an enjoyable read. 4 stars.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Author's Bio:

Thomas Maurin is the pen name of husband and wife writing team Bonnie B. Hartley, Ph.D., and Michael T. Hartley, CFP®. They both write non-fiction books and articles regarding financial and family business topics and have delivered talks on those subjects internationally over the last thirty years.

Connect with them:  Website  ~  Twitter


Where to buy the book:

Friday, January 23, 2015

Dangerous by Patricia Rosemoor- Spotlight + Giveaway



Dangerous
By: Patricia Rosemoor
Releasing January 6th, 2015
Loveswept


Blurb
Fans of Linda Howard will love Dangerous, the story of a driven female cop who teams up with an irresistible ex-con to bring a killer to justice—and discovers that breaking the rules is hotter on the wrong side of the law.
Chicago homicide detective Camille Martell will stop at nothing to track down “Angel,” a sexual predator who has already butchered two young victims—even after her off-the-books investigation leads to her suspension. But when her relentless attempts to contact Angel online puts her teenage neighbor in mortal danger, Camille’s worst fears are realized. Panicked and overwhelmed with guilt, Camille needs help—even if it comes from the one man she swore she’d do anything to forget.
After serving time for a trumped-up charge, private investigator Drago Nance doesn’t trust cops. Nothing will change that, not even the steamy weekend with Camille that burned itself into his memory. But with an innocent girl’s life at stake, Drago can’t ignore the need in Camille’s eyes, or the heated promise in her touch. He agrees to help—if she’s willing to play by his rules. He just never suspected that seducing his partner could be just as thrilling as chasing a madman.



Buy Links Amazon | Barnes | iTunes | Kobo


Author Info
With 90 novels and more than seven million books in print, Patricia Rosemoor is fascinated with "dangerous love" – combining romance with danger. She has written various forms of romantic and paranormal romantic thrillers, even romantic horror, bringing a different mix of thrills and chills to her stories.
Patricia has won a Golden Heart from Romance Writers of America and two Reviewers Choice and two Career Achievement Awards from RT BOOKreviews, and in her other life, she teaches Popular Fiction and Suspense-Thriller Writing, credit courses at Columbia College Chicago. Three of her Columbia grad students and two students from other venues are now published in novel-length fiction


Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads




a Rafflecopter giveaway