Spoonbenders

Spoonbenders
Spoonbenders by Daryl Gregory

Raven Rock

Raven Rock
Raven Rock by Garrett M. Graff

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

The Kill List- Book and The Kill Shot by Nichole Christoff Book Blast + Giveaway



Enter to Win a $25.00 eGift Card and 
Ebook Copies of THE KILL LIST & THE KILL SHOT



The Kill List: Jamie Sinclair # 1
Released: December 2, 2014

In this taut debut thriller, Nichole Christoff introduces a savvy private investigator with nerves of steel—and a shattered heart.

As a top private eye turned security specialist, Jamie Sinclair has worked hard to put her broken marriage behind her. But when her lying, cheating ex-husband, army colonel Tim Thorp, calls with the news that his three-year-old daughter has been kidnapped, he begs Jamie to come find her. For the sake of the child, Jamie knows she can’t refuse. Now, despite the past, she’ll do everything in her power to bring little Brooke Thorp home alive.

Soon Jamie is back at Fort Leeds—the army base in New Jersey’s Pine Barrens where she grew up, the only child of a two-star general—chasing down leads and forging an uneasy alliance with the stern military police commander and the exacting FBI agent working Brooke’s case. But because Jamie’s father is now a U.S. senator, her recent run-in with a disturbed stalker is all over the news, and when she starts receiving gruesome threats echoing the stalker’s last words, she can’t shake the feeling that her investigation may be about more than a missing girl—and that someone very powerful is hiding something very significant . . . and very sinister.


BUY NOW






The Kill Shot: Jamie Sinclair # 2
Released: March 17th, 2015

In an explosive thriller for readers of Lee Child, Alex Berenson, and Brad Taylor, P.I. and security specialist Jamie Sinclair finds herself caught in a dangerous game of international cat-and-mouse.

Jamie Sinclair’s father has never asked her for a favor in her life. The former two-star general turned senator is more in the habit of giving his only child orders. So when he requests Jamie’s expertise as a security specialist, she can’t refuse—even though it means slamming the brakes on her burgeoning relationship with military police officer Adam Barrett. Just like that, Jamie hops aboard a flight to London with a U.S. State Department courier carrying a diplomatic pouch in an iron grip.

Jamie doesn’t have to wait long to put her unique skills to good use. When she and the courier are jumped by goons outside the Heathrow terminal, Jamie fights them off—but the incident puts her on high alert. Someone’s willing to kill for the contents of the bag. Then a would-be assassin opens fire in crowded Covent Garden, and Jamie is stunned to spot a familiar face: Adam Barrett, who saves her life with a single shot and calmly slips away. Jamie’s head—and her heart—tell her that something is very wrong. But she’s come way too far to turn back now.




My Review:
The Kill Shot  (Jamie Sinclair,  #2)The Kill Shot by Nichole Christoff
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kill Shot by by Nichole Christoff is a 2015 Alibi publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I have not read the first book in the series, although I would like to someday, but this one reads as a stand alone just fine.

Jamie Sinclair is a security specialist who still wishes to garner her father's approval. So, when the powerful Senator asked Jamie for a favor you could have knocked her over with a feather. Naturally, despite her father's anemic displays of love or affection , she jumps at the chance to make him proud of her. So, she abandoned the one night she has with her boyfriend, Adam Barrett, a military police officer, in Washington for only a short time before he must leave on assignment, and heads off to catch a plane to London. Before it's all said and done Jamie will most likely regret ever accepting this assignment.

A nuclear physicist and her father are in grave danger and nearly everyone wants them and their secrets as they become pawns in a deadly cat and mouse game and politics begins to take control over their safety as one double cross follows another. Jamie finds herself torn between her old friend Phillip and Adam, who has miraculously appeared in London as well. Not only that, it looks as if her father has thrown her under the bus and left her to either sink or swim.

I understood what the author was going for here and it works pretty well much of the time, however, Jamie is in security and although she is working internationally, which could throw someone off their game, I still thought she was just too gullible. I could see it happening once, but on more than one occasion, Jamie took things at face value or trusted someone while I was screaming at her not to buy into it.

Having said that, I found myself unable to stop reading the book, and kept picking it back up because was worried about Adam or Jamie or wondered what was going to happen next. The pacing was just about right and the characters were deliberately vague or murky because they all had their own hidden agendas. At times though the plot was just a little bit too transparent and I think some people who read a lot of suspense or thriller novels might groan or roll their eyes in some places. But, I do like to give thrillers a little benefit of the doubt when it comes to plausibility. As long as I was invested in the characters and I am being entertained, I'm not all that hard to please.

I was not sure how to take the senator or Phillip though out the story. I was uneasy from the beginning and even less impressed by the end of the story. It does make for some interesting psychology between parent/ child and what we know deep down in our souls about someone, but are incapable of allowing that to penetrate our brains or hearts, or dwell on it for too long, because it is simply too painful. So, we continue to do whatever we think will get us that love and recognition we so desperately crave, no matter how old we are. I found this area of the book incredibly sad and Jamie's character is somewhat puzzling at times because she continues to allow some people in her life to have way too much control over her. I do hope Jamie will filter out the crap and stop allowing people to manipulate her like a puppet.

It does occur to me now that I don't recall a lot of unnecessary bad language or sexual content, it mostly stays on the innuendo side of things for those of you who take those things into consideration. I am glad I found this series and I liked this one well enough to try out any subsequent followups.


BUY NOW



Nichole Christoff is a writer, broadcaster, and military spouse who has worked on air and behind the scenes producing and promoting content for radio, television news, and the public relations industry across the United States and Canada. Christoff is a lifetime member of Sisters in Crime and the Jane Austen Society of North America. She also belongs to Private Eye Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, and three of RWA’s local chapters where she’s served as an officer and a member of the board. 

In Christoff’s first year as a member of RWA, her first manuscript won the Golden Heart for Best Novel with Strong Romantic Elements. Her second manuscript won a Helen McCloy Scholarship from Mystery Writers of America. Her last manuscript was a finalist for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. Her latest novel, The Kill Shot, is a 2014 Killer Nashville Claymore Dagger finalist.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for hosting today! Gaele (for Lisa)

    ReplyDelete