The Art of Invisibility

The Art of Invisibility
The Art of Invisibility by Kevin D. Mitnick

The Widow of Wall Street

The Widow of Wall Street
The Widow of Wall Street by Randy Susan Meyers

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Like Clockwork- A Clare Hart Mystery by Margie Orford- A Book Review

 
When a beautiful young woman is found murdered on Cape Town's Sea Point promenade, journalist and part-time police profiler Dr. Clare Hart is drawn into the web of a brutal serial killer. As more bodies are discovered, Clare is forced to revisit the brutal rape of her twin sister and the gang ties that bind Cape Town's dark crime rings. Is her investigation into human trafficking linked to the murders, or is the killer just playing a sick game with her?


MY REVIEW:


Like Clockwork is a dark and compelling crime story that will thrill fans of Deon Meyer and Tess Gerritsen.   Like Clockwork: A Clare Hart MysteryLike Clockwork: A Clare Hart Mystery by Margie Orford
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Like Clockwork by Margie Orford – A Clare Hart Mystery is a 2014 Witness Impulse publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

As Clare continues work on her documentary on human trafficking, a girl is found murdered right outside her own apartment building in Cape Town. Detective Reidwaan Faizal can think of no one better than Dr. Clare Hart to work up a profile on whoever is killing these girls. It soon becomes apparent there is a serial killer on the loose and that Cape Town has it's own dark underbelly -a human trafficking network, and Clare recognizes the pattern right away. But, can she and the detective discover the killer's identity before more girls are killed? Can they connect the murders to the trafficking ring?

This is a dark, creepy, atmospheric crime thriller with unique characters who each have their own set of person demons which, instead of hindering them, gives them an edge when dealing with crimes this heinous. Clare and Reidwaan have a relationship that goes beyond being partners in crime solving. This too is a complicated and I was never sure what was going on with those two.

The book starts off at a fast pace, but sometimes veared off course a bit, especially when dealing with some issues in Clare's personal life. Now, since this is a series and I have not followed along from the beginning, these passages were confusing to me. To those who have been reading in order, this may make sense to you.

The subject matter is gritty and there are interesting forensic details that kept me guessing and trying to work out who all was involved and in what way.
Human trafficking is a topic I feel does not get enough attention from the press or law enforcement. It is a chilling topic and I fear these crimes run rampant and what crimes are uncovered barely staunch the bleeding. So, I am always impressed when an author has the courage to broach such unpleasant subject matter.
So, this book may not be for folks who are uncomfortable with dark thrillers, graphic forensics, and chilling, lurid crimes because this one does not hold anything back.

Now that I have been introduced to the enigmatic Clare and detective Reidwaan I think I will make an effort to look up other books written by this author. - 4 stars

Buy it now"

http://www.amazon.com/Like-Clockwork-Clare-Hart-Mystery-ebook/dp/B00GLS4VRS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1419958657&sr=8-2&keywords=margie+orford





She was born in London and grew up in Namibia and South Africa, studying at UCT where she wrote her final exams in prison while detained during the State of Emergency. After travelling widely, she did an honours degree at UCT, then worked in publishing in the newly-independent Namibia, where she became involved in training through the African Publishers Network.

In 1999 she was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship and while in New York, worked on an archival retrieval project, Women Writing in Africa: The Southern Volume. She made her crime debut with Like Clockwork, which became a bestseller and was followed by a sequel, Blood Rose. Both crime novels will be published in Germany. A recent non-fiction project is Fabulously 40 and Beyond : Women coming into their own; her latest is Fifteen Men.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Game On! Never to Love AND Never to Part by Tara C. MacDonald Book Blast + Giveaway


This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Tara will be awarding a print of local art by artist Wendy Beaver of Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour (North American addresses only). Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.

Game On! Never to Part and Never to Love is an ebook with two short stories. Never to Part features Ryan almost getting run over by Sam at a bar one night. They see each other again as Ryan's hockey team is hiring her marketing firm in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. What can these two confused overachievers do when love strikes. Never to Love brings us to Halifax again where James and Sarah bump heads in a business deal to help out his motocross sponsorship prospects. Will they be able to put business aside and commit to their passions?

Enjoy an excerpt from Never to Part

As Sam left the bar and got into her Mini Cooper she looked at the snow gently falling down and wished, for the first time in her life, that she had been out of Nova Scotia. At least once. Then she sighed. I do love it here, and where else would I go? Gord could find his own way home. As the tears fell down her face she finally knew whatever they had had together was gone. Maybe she’d only seen what she had wanted to see.

Sam heard a thump and slammed on the brakes. She threw herself out of the car to see what she had hit. Oh, God, she thought, was it an animal?

“Why don’t you watch where you’re going?” came an American drawl. Her feet slid in some snow getting to the front of her car.

She looked up at a six-foot-four man wearing a ball cap that said Drakes and had the team logo on the side. He flexed his leg and glared at her.

“I’m so sorry! Are you hurt? Should we call nine-one-one? I can do that!” Sam grabbed her phone out of her pocket and waved it around.

“No! Lady, you weren’t even doing five miles an hour when you hit me. I’m okay. Call off the emergency first aid.”

She ran over to him and put her arm around him to give support.

“Lady, I’m fine. You don’t need to…”

“Just let me help,” she said and looked up into the warmest chocolate brown eyes she had ever seen. Her next thought died on her lips as she took in his deep forest scent. Her hand was grabbing nothing but hard muscle where she touched him. Her heart beat erratically as his lips curved into a smile.

About the Author:
Author Tara C. MacDonald holds a B.A. English Literature from Trent University and has been a member of Romance Writers of America since 2008. Other writing groups such as Scribe Wenches, Romance Writers of Nova Scotia and other RWA chapters have helped her learn her craft. She believes in the hope that romance can bring and reads avidly. Her first published work was as a Co-Author in a non-fiction book called "Succeeding Through Doubt, Fear & Crisis" August 2014 with the eWomenNetwork publishing program.

Website: http://www.taracmacdonaldwriter.com
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/taracmacdonald
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Tara-C-Macdonald/107706622770784?ref=hl

Buy the book at Kobo.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, December 29, 2014

The Faberge Secret by Stephanie Burkhart - A Book Review

Elise Goodwin operates a heritage museum in Brattleboro, Vermont. Needing to buy some items for her museum, she travels to Boston and acquires a delicious surprise that would excite any curator - a Faberge Egg.
Enter Russian businessman Dimitri Romanov, the true owner of the jewel. He's following a lead hoping to reacquire his stolen egg when he bumps into Elise. He can't hide his attraction to the petite brunette with doe-like eyes.
Dimitri's rival, Gustav Kelch, wants the rare Faberge jewel and will do anything to find it, including destroying Dimitri's life. Can Dimitri keep Elise and his Faberge heirloom safe or will his attraction place their lives in jeopardy?
The Faberge SecretThe Faberge Secret by Stephanie Burkhart
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Faberge Secret by Stephanie Burkhart is a 2013 Desert Breeze Publishing, Inc. publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This is a unique and interesting Christmas themed romantic suspense novella.

Elisa and Lisa out looking for items for the museum they run, decide to take a look at the wares being sold from a van and wind up making the find of their lives.

Everyone associates Faberge with Easter Eggs, but Elise has found a rare Christmas egg which could be worth a several million dollars. But, of course things couldn't be that simple, could they? It turns out the egg was stolen and Dimitri Romanov is desperately trying to find it, since he is the true owner. Running into Elise and Lisa has taken him right to the egg, and possibly to true love, but once more, things get complicated. Dimitri is not the only one on the hunt for the priceless artifact, a situation that puts all of them in danger and sets the stage for a wild adventure which will take them all the way to Russia.
This story is chock full of Russian history, religious traditions and practices, as well as being a fast paced adventure filled with intrigue. I love stories that feature art, or antique artifacts and this one is truly different since it centers around the holidays and includes a sensual love story along with it.
Overall this is a fun and very interesting book and I enjoyed reading a story full of imagination and not the usual holiday fare. 4 stars

Sunday, December 21, 2014

Unwrapping Her Perfect Match by Kat Latham on sale for 99 cents!! Hurry! For a Limited Time Only!! December 21- 28th


The sale is running from December 21 - December 28 and available through all eBook retailers.


’Twas a week before Christmas, and at the auction house…
At six foot one, Gwen Chambers has felt like a giant her whole life. She’s a calm, capable nurse saving lives in a busy London hospital, but healthy men give her heart palpitations. When larger-than-life rugby player “Little” John Sheldon convinces her to bid on him in his team’s fundraising auction, she discovers how pleasurable heart palpitations can be.
A rugby player was stirring, with desire no one could douse…
John has wanted Gwen since he first saw her, but when he’s injured in a match just before Christmas he suddenly needs her too. Not only can the sexy nurse help him recover, but she might be able to help him look after his daughter—a shy ten-year-old who speaks only French.
But will it be a Happy Christmas for all, and for all a good night?
From decorating the Christmas tree to ice skating at the Tower of London, Gwen helps father and daughter open up and bond with each other—and she bonds right along with them. But when John’s agent calls with a life-changing offer, Gwen has to decide how far she’s willing to go for her perfect match. Will their first Noël also be their last?
Amazon - http://amzn.to/1wc84tH
B&N - http://bit.ly/1vbakl5
Kobo - http://bit.ly/1wzsNen
iTunes - http://bit.ly/16GwdnI
Google - http://bit.ly/1xBLC3Q

A little bit about Kat Latham:

Kat Latham is a California girl who moved to Europe the day after graduating from UCLA, ditching her tank tops for raincoats. She taught English in Prague and worked as an editor in London before she and her British husband moved to the Netherlands. Kat’s other career involves writing and editing for charities, and she’s traveled to Kenya, Ethiopia and India to meet heroic people helping their communities survive disasters.

katlatham.com

 

Empire of Sin: Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans by Gary Krist- A Book Review

From bestselling author Gary Krist, a vibrant and immersive account of New Orleans’ other civil war, at a time when commercialized vice, jazz culture, and endemic crime defined the battlegrounds of the Crescent City
 

Empire of Sin re-creates the remarkable story of New Orleans’ thirty-years war against itself, pitting the city’s elite “better half” against its powerful and long-entrenched underworld of vice, perversity, and crime. This early-20th-century battle centers on one man: Tom Anderson, the undisputed czar of the city's Storyville vice district, who fights desperately to keep his empire intact as it faces onslaughts from all sides. Surrounding him are the stories of flamboyant prostitutes, crusading moral reformers, dissolute jazzmen, ruthless Mafiosi, venal politicians, and one extremely violent serial killer, all battling for primacy in a wild and wicked city unlike any other in the world.




MY REVIEW:

Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New OrleansEmpire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans by Gary Krist
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder and the Battle for Modern New Orleans by Gary Krist is a a 2014 Crown publishing release. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher, edelweiss, and blogging for books in exchange for an honest review.

New Orleans- What a city! We all know the reputation this city has for being steeped in rich history and of course wild and crazy parties every single night on Bourbon street. Gambling, prostitution, corruption, and crime are still as synonymous with the city as it was back in the late 1800's and early 1900's.
It seems New Orleans was simply destined to define the phrase “Sin City” , giving Vegas a run for it's money.
But, there was much more the city than it's vices. The age of jazz was also as much of a part of New Orleans as it's other aspects. The city was a mess of contradictions at times, was always on the brink of reform, but fought it tooth and nail until the 1920's.

“Who is the axman, and what is his motive? Is the fiend who committed the Gretna butchery the same man who executed the Maggio and Ramano murders and who made similar attempts on other families? If so, is he madman, robber, vendetta agent, or sadist? - New Orleans Daily States- March 11,1919-

But, the very serious tone New Orleans dealt with was the axman. A serial killer responsible for killing his victims with an ax and in an incredibly brutal, bloody fashion. The Italians and the mafia faction had been laying low for a time but it was speculated it was related to that faction, but the records were not kept up so you will have to decide if the suspect is indeed the real killer.

This book takes the period between 1890 and 1920 and leads the reader though New Orleans incredible history of sex, violence, jazz and all manner of vices. The Storyville years, Basin Street , famous madams, and politics, jazz musicians - The Buddy Bolden Band, Jelly Roll Morton, and of course Louis Armstrong- shootouts, mixed race relationships, lynchings, mob rule.. anything goes almost. The reign of vice and sin was a long one, open and unapologetic for the most part. The 1920's bringing reform which actually took hold for the first time.

Absolutely fascinating account of New Orleans! Spine tingling murders, and outrageous characters kept me glued to the pages, shaking my head at the antics of all the major players covered in the book.
The author did a great job of weaving the elements of the serial killer story through out the other more colorful events which took place in this period of time.

I love New Orleans and have visited there and would go back in a heartbeat!! But, I really didn't know anything about this period of time in the city's history. If you like true crime and history or just want to read about real people living unconventional lives in a time and place where people usually swept these issues under the rug, you simply must pick this book up.


Gary Michael Krist  is an American writer of fiction, nonfiction, travel journalism, and literary criticism. Before turning to narrative nonfiction with The White Cascade (2007), a book about the 1910 Wellington avalanche, City of Scoundrels (2012), about Chicago's tragic summer of 1919, and Empire of Sin (2014), about the reform wars in turn-of-the-century New Orleans, Krist wrote three novels--Bad Chemistry (1998), Chaos Theory (2000), and Extravagance (2002). He has also written two short story collections--The Garden State (1988) and Bone by Bone (1994).

He has been a frequent book reviewer for The New York Times Book Review, Salon, and The Washington Post Book World. His satire pieces have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post Outlook section, and Newsday, and his stories, articles, and travel pieces have been featured in National Geographic Traveler, The Wall Street Journal, GQ, Playboy, The New Republic, and Esquire, and on National Public Radio's Selected Shorts. His short stories have also been anthologized in such collections as Men Seeking Women, Writers' Harvest 2, and Best American Mystery Stories.

Sweet Cowboy Christmas by Candis Terry- A Book Review

Mistletoe, holly, and cowboys, oh my! Christmas in Texas has never been sweeter.

Years ago, Chase Morgan traded in his dusty cowboy boots for the shimmering lights of New York City and a fast track up the corporate ladder. But when his shiny life is turned on end just in time for Christmas, Chase knows he needs to re-evaluate even if that means going home to Texas to endure his least favourite holiday.

When Mr. Tall, Dark, and Smoking Hot walks through her door at the Magic Box Guest Ranch, Faith Walker sees just another handsome, rich exec looking to play cowboy for a week-at her expense. She’s sure the grumpy, but sexy as hell Scrooge will put a crimp in her holly jolly plans. Until a sizzling kiss has her seeing him in a new light.

Chase is haunted by secrets, and even though it goes entirely against her “hands off the guests” rule Faith is tempted to help him leave the past behind. As the magic of the season swirls around them, she is determined to succeed because now she is certain one sweet, cowboy Christmas will never be enough...



My Review:



Sweet Cowboy Christmas (Sweet, Texas, #3.5)Sweet Cowboy Christmas by Candis Terry
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sweet Cowboy Christmas by Candis Terry is a 2014 Avon Impulse publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

This a short, but sweet contemporary western romance centered around the magical small town holiday season.

It's Christmas at the Magic Box Guest Ranch and Faith has thrown herself into making the place festive for the season. When a tall, dark, and handsome man arrives , obviously another rich, entitled person, Faith is initially unimpressed.

Chase is from Texas but moved to the big apple to pursue life as a top corporate executive. But, the fast paced world he lives in begins to take a serious toll. It's time to slow down, so Chase takes a little vacay to Sweet, Texas which not too far from his hometown of Stephenville.

With Chase being the only guest, it's easy for Faith to get to know him a little better, which leads to the temptation of getting overly involved with a guest, which of course is a big no-no.

Chase is dealing with some really big issues in his life and it looks like now is the time to deal with them, and there is no better place on earth than Sweet, Texas and Magic Box Guest Ranch to start fresh, especially if Faith is there to believe in him.

It's not too often a person opens a book at random and finds their small town is featured prominently in the story. I happen to live in Stephenville, and yes, it is the cowboy capital of the world. So, I couldn't help finding this story especially charming.

Faith learned a long time ago where her priorities in life lay. She had the chance to mingle with highly talented successful people, who held a certain disdain for those who crave a simpler way of life. But, finding out how her colleagues and one man in particular viewed her small town roots, she decided it was not the life for her.

I think Chase's story is a fairly a common one. Sometimes folks from smaller communities think they need to leave to pursue life in the fast lane. It all seems great when the money, power and attention from super-models all starts flowing in. But, as Chase learns the hard way he can only continue on that path for so long before it starts to catch up with you.

Although Chase has some tough memories to face by returning home, he learns a valuable lesson about life and suddenly the glitz and glamor of New York no longer holds his interest. Instead, the little ranch in Sweet, TX and the wonderful owner and operator of the ranch just might give Chase a second lease on life, one that will bring him satisfaction, instead of a hallow, shallow existence.

I liked the message the author was sending out in this one. The conflicts were not over done and the obstacles the couple faced were easily remedied. Sometimes this is refreshing and the holiday backdrop seemed help create a pleasing comfort to this light and endearing romance.
This one is 4 stars.





Growing up in Southern California, I was too busy reading books, hanging out at the beach, or finding ways to have a good time that wouldn’t land me on restriction to even consider writing a book. Oddly enough, a college drama teacher (who politely discouraged my inept acting abilities) encouraged me to develop the A+ character bio I’d created into a complete story. Right. Years later, in the midst of a bleary-eyed all-nighter (rocking my newborn, that is), I picked up a romance novel and fell in love with more than just the infant in my arms.


Saturday, December 20, 2014

The Beatles : Here, There and Everywhere by Nancy Hajeski

 
 

One of the most recognizable, enduring, and best-selling bands of all time, The Beatles’ influence spans time, genre, and geography. Originally popular in Liverpool and Hamburg, their fame soon spread worldwide, and they enjoyed immense popularity in the United States.

Now The Beatles: Here, There, and Everywhere maps out the journey of this legendary rock sensation. Relive everything from the tentative debut of the Liverpool natives in Hamburg’s tawdry red light district to their innovative recordings at Abbey Road Studio. In this unique book readers learn about the Beatles’ famous audition at Decca studios, the flat at 57 Green Street, their American debut on The Ed Sullivan Show, plus many other stops along their road to stardom. With full spreads devoted to each British album, additional notes on instrumentation and solo careers, plus tons of Fab Facts, this book captivates fans of all ages.

A unique way to explore the history of this legendary group, The Beatles: Here There, and Everywhere provides you with a ticket to ride on their journey.
 
 

 photo giphy_zpshlzhyt7z.gif

Beatles: Here, There, and EverywhereBeatles: Here, There, and Everywhere by Nancy J. Hajeski
My rating: 5 of 5 stars





The Beatles: Here, There and Everywhere by Nancy J. Hajeski is a 2014 Thunder Bay Press publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I remember when I was around 12 or 13, our small town had a huge garage sale to benefit a local resident in need of costly medical treatment. Someone had donated a huge selection of albums and priced them for 25 cents each!! Well, they had a very nice collection of Beatles albums and I stocked up, even though I didn't really know that much about the group.
The albums I bought started me on my life long love of The Beatles. I am still a HUGE fan, so this book was a “do not miss” for me.

This is a beautiful coffee table book with spectacular color photographs and offers a history of the band from their humble background in Liverpool to the their solo careers and offers the up to the minute last known facts about the surviving members, the wives, and children. I have had so much fun sitting down with this book and looking through all the nostalgic photos, reminders of the turbulent sixties, the various trends and political climate that the Beatles seemed to personify at times, and my children have also found the book to be very interesting as well. I think this book sitting out on your coffee table could encourage a lot of discussion and is sure to impress friends and family.

Highlights:

The story is told more so with pictures and less with words, but wow! What a collection of photos. Album covers, clothing styles, all manner of memorabilia, from the famed Beatles lunch boxes to wigs, to coloring sets... you name it.
Who influenced the Beatles? Who did they influence? What were the many moods of the group? Who were the people they spent time with? Who worked behind the scenes with the group?


There was a section devoted to the movies the group made, which thankfully have pretty much stood the test of time and don't illicit the usual eye roll that Elvis movies do.

One of the most interesting sections in the book was the photographs of the instruments used toward the middle of the group's success. They were being influenced by groups like the Byrds at this point, but were also beginning to see a little more income. This provided them with the opportunity to experiment with various instruments and styles.

There is section devoted to the Apple label, a section about the private lives of the members, a section offering an individual profile of each member, updating us on everything from marriages, children, and of course the sad deaths of two of the group's members.

Although the world as moved into a whole new hemisphere, people are still discovering this group, still respect the world they opened us up to which influenced so many others, and had such an incredible impact on music as know it. No one could have predicted Beatlemania, the British invasion, the concept album, and many other events that shaped so many lives during the sixties. It's a testament to the talent of these men who turned the music world on it's ear and gave us all so much pleasure over the years, that they all managed to overcome the stereotypes and forge their own success individually. Every time I pick up a book about the Beatles I am once more reminded of how awesome they were and how far they came. I am impressed all over again.
This is a fascinating look through history, pop culture, and the band that started a whole new era in our lives. Even if you think you are not a big fan of this group, you may discover after looking through this book, that they influenced you ways you never realized.
John, Paul, George, and Ringo - forever!

This book is over three hundred pages long, but you will need to know that if you buy the hardcover copy, this book is massive in size and is simply breathtaking. If you love the Beatles, history, pop culture or if you know someone who does, this would be a perfect gift. I can't say enough nice things about this book.







Nancy J. Hajeski is the real name of author Nancy Butler.

Nancy Butler had been—more or less—living in the 19th century since the publication of her first Signet Regency romance in 1998. Twelve novels and three novellas later, she found herself rudely back in the 21st century when the Regency romance genre faded (yet not, oddly, Austen-mania). Fortunately, in 2009 Marvel offered her a chance to adapt Pride and Prejudice for their illustrated classics line, putting her firmly back in the era she adored. The hardcover compilation became a New York Times bestseller in the graphic novel category, and when it reached No. 2 on the list there was great rejoicing.

Butler also writes nonfiction for middle-schoolers under her real name, Nancy J. Hajeski, and is the author of The Hammond Book of Presidents and of three Hammond Undercover titles: Rocks & Minerals, Princesses, and Sharks.

She has won two RITAs from the Romance Writers of America, two Reviewers’ Choice Awards from Romantic Times magazine, and was retired to their Hall of Fame by the New Jersey Romance Writers. Butler lives in the Catskills with two mellow cats and a temperamental Jackabee






Friday, December 19, 2014

December Wedding by Emelle Gamble- Review Tour + Giveaway





December Wedding

by Emelle Gamble



~~~~~~~~~~~~~



BLURB:



Molly Harper is a movie star who fans think ‘has it all’. Cruz Morales is Molly’s true love, and he hates the media intrusions into their life. Molly and Cruz are going to have a baby. And throw a secret wedding for her brother Harry. What could go wrong? Read DECEMBER WEDDING, the sequel to DUETS and MOLLY HARPER, and find out if there really is a happy ever after for Molly and Cruz.





~~~~~~~~~~~~~



EXCERPT:





Hello, Dr. Morales,” a woman called out.



Cruz stopped and looked to his right. In the side yard, at a small teak table where the gardener did the potting, a dark haired woman sat smiling at him. She was glossy and pretty, wearing an acid yellow dress. He recognized her from the TV.



The reporter. Diane something.



Hi.” He walked over and extended his hand. “Call me Cruz.”



Nice to meet you, Cruz. I’m Diane Kinsey.” They shook hands.



I know. Have you finished with the interview?” He let his arms relax at his side, aware the woman was cataloguing everything about him. Dusty jeans. Old boots. Hair that needed cutting. Good thing she can’t see the titanium plate in my skull, he thought.



Just about. The crew is doing some lighting work, but I’m done grilling your lady, until tomorrow. I’m sure you’re relieved to hear that.”



Cruz’s neck tightened at the woman’s use of ‘your lady’. “Very relieved.”



I wanted to be the first to tell you that we made some news today. Molly acknowledged that you’re her baby daddy. She said she’ll confirm you are the father when we film the final interview,” Diane said. “I guess congratulations are in order.”



She did?” All his defenses went up. Molly warned himt she might give the news to the press, but he wondered if the woman was trying to trick him.



Scout’s honor.” Diane stood and crossed her heart quickly and then held-up her hand. “You already have a child, don’t you? Jesse, is it? Does he live with you and Molly?”



I’m not answering questions about my son,” Cruz said.



Oh, okay. Sorry.” She smiled brightly. “I just asked for background, to fill out the story in my mind. I know you never married Jesse’s mother…” she paused, “did you?”



No comment.”



Oh come on, it’s public record. I could check.”



Be my guest.” Cruz narrowed his eyes. “But keep my son out of your story.”



Oh, of course. I already promised Molly I would. I’m a mother myself, and I understand how you both feel.”



Cruz crossed his arms across his massive chest. He knew his size and the scar that ran along the left side of his face were intimidating to people. Sometimes it bothered him.



Today it didn’t.



He waited.



Diane took a deep breath. “I am a little bit upset, however, that Molly won’t admit that the wedding she’s having here next weekend is yours. That would be such fun news for her fans to share!”



Cruz cracked the knuckles on his left hand and stared at the journalist. “We’re not getting married next weekend.”



No?” Diane smiled provocatively. “Would you tell me if you were?”



No.”



Well then, can you tell me who is getting married here? Bake Glory bakery swears they’re delivering a wedding cake next Friday. And Lana Del Ray’s people say she’s singing at a private engagement in Montecito during Thanksgiving weekend. So someone important is getting married around here.”



No comment.”



Diane laughed. “You’ve got that down, Cruz. Care to wager how many times you’ve had to say that since Molly divorced Ben Delmonico?”



Too many.” His voice was harsh, too harsh, Molly would chide. The woman had flinched at his tone and volume.



Cruz cleared his throat, reminding himself that since he’d recovered from the accident, the anger he felt at the invasion of his privacy had to be controlled. He just had to slow his brain down, relax.



Molly could handle these jackals, but so could he. He just had to remember not to get emotional. “It was nice to meet you, Diane. Do a great job with your story. Molly worked very hard on her new movie, and she’s excited to be talking about it. I’d like you to remember, if you can, that she tires easily these days.”



Of course I will. You love her very much, don’t you?” Diane took two small steps closer and crossed her arms over her chest. “It’s written all over you. I’m happy to see that, too. Molly suffered so much these past couple of years, thanks to that snake she was married to. She deserves to finally have a man like you.”



Cruz didn’t believe the woman cared at all about Molly. She was baiting him. He wasn’t going to bite and give her a quote about his feelings for Molly that she would cheapen by sharing with the world.



Have a good day.” Cruz nodded and began to walk away.



Cruz, is it by any chance Molly’s brother who is getting married next Friday?” Diane asked suddenly.



Cruz turned slowly and stared at her. “What brother?” It was the wrong thing to say, he realized too late.



Molly said she was hosting a family event. But she doesn’t have much family, does she? So if it’s a wedding…”



Cruz blinked, but said nothing.



When she said that, it didn’t make any sense to me. Because her only brother, Jason, is already married, right? Does Molly have another brother we don’t know about?” Diane’s green eyes glowed.

MY REVIEW:
December WeddingDecember Wedding by Emelle Gamble
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

December Wedding by Emelle Gamble is a 2014 publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

As Molly's pregnancy advances, so does the pressure from Cruz to get married and from the media to give interviews and promote her movie. But, Molly knows Cruz, and she is terrified that he will not be able to handle the intense scrutiny he would have to live under being married to a movie star. As it is, Molly is having a very hard time keeping her biological family behind the scenes as one very persistent member of the press is trying every low, underhanded trick she can think of to gain access to Molly's personal life. Will Molly's career and the media prevent her and Cruz from having their happy ever after?

I have been impatiently waiting to see if Molly and Cruz would ever manage to get together for real and maintain a lasting relationship. It looks like they have some things in their favor but Molly is trying to protect Cruz from a life she is sure would smother him. In the meantime, Molly is working to forge a more solid relationship with her birth mother and her two brothers. But, once again the glare from the spotlight is threatening to ruin all Molly holds dear and she is powerless to prevent it.

First of all I would like to say what a pleasure and relief it is to read a contemporary romance by a seasoned author who made sure all the research was done, the i's were dotted and t's were crossed. This made the novel such a pleasure to read. Emelle has a real gift for writing mature, emotional stories that capture your mind and heart from start to finish and I have to say I have loved every minute of this series.

The portrayal of life in the public eye where there is nothing sacred, nothing private, nothing that can really be done to prevent it, and the powerlessness, the unfairness of being stripped of the basic human right of privacy is accurately depicted without being too in your face about it. This theme is a major pressure point for Cruz who is hot tempered and protective when it comes to Molly, leaning toward the alpha personality. (drool!) Being unable to respond to the baiting and below the belt tactics these people use, is a real test for Cruz. Molly's frustration is in the fact she wants to marry Cruz but he continuously reminds her of why that may never be possible.
But, finally, finally, finally!! Molly is able to release her fear and trust in Cruz and begin a new life with the proverbial “everything” we all wish and hope for... career, marriage, love, family, and children. What more can you ask for? Molly and Cruz deserve every ounce of their hard won happiness!!
5 stars!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


AUTHOR Bio and Links:



Emelle Gamble Bio : Emelle Gamble became a writer at an early age. As ‘M.L. Gamble,’ she published several romantic suspense novels with Harlequin Intrigue. She is now self-publishing and also working with Soul Mate Publishing who have released two romantic women’s fiction novels, Secret Sister, in July of 2013, and Dating Cary Grant, an April 2014 release.



Always intrigued by the words ‘what if’, Gamble’s books feature an ordinary woman confronted with an extraordinary situation. Emelle celebrates the adventurous spirit of readers, and hopes each will enjoy the exciting and surprising journeys her characters take.



Emelle welcomes any reader interested in emailing her at emellegamble@aol.com and hopes they will visit her website, www.EmelleGamble.com , her FaceBook page: https://www.facebook.com/Emelle.Gamble or follow her on Twitter @EmelleGamble.


Thursday, December 18, 2014

Keep by Karyn Lawrence Virtual Book Tour+ Giveaway

BLURB:



Billionaire CEO Shawn Dunn has plenty of sex, power, and money. A woman turning down his advances? Unfathomable. Yet that’s what she does, again and again.



Kara Hayward is supposed to be off limits. Her sister is hiding from the dangerous assassin she escaped from, and it’s best for everyone if Shawn keeps his distance. Certainly as far as Kara is concerned. Shawn’s only after one thing and then he’ll walk away, just like her ex-husband.



But Shawn has larger desires and he’s used to getting what he wants. He doesn’t care if being together is dangerous. He doesn’t believe that threat to him, or his empire, is real. Right up to the night he has everything taken away.


EXCERPT:


If she weren’t so emotionally and physically exhausted, she’d be immune to him. Maybe immune wasn't the right word. Resistant, perhaps.



They hadn't taken their clothes off. Shawn had barely touched her. And still, the encounter left her desperate and shaky. Filled with need for him. Wanting him. It had easily been the hottest twenty minutes of her life.



Good-looking, her sister had warned her once about Shawn. Not even close. Jason was good-looking in a rough and tough sort of way. Her sister had always liked the bad boys and while Jason, the head of security, looked more conventionally dangerous, Kara knew better. That the taller brother in the suit was cunning and manipulative, making him far, far more dangerous than the one that carried a gun.




MY REVIEW:

 
Keep (The Command, #2)Keep by Karyn Lawrence
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Keep by Karyn Lawrence is a 2014 Shady Creek publishing release. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I had no idea what to expect when I started this book other than it was listed as a romantic suspense novel. This is the second book in a series, but you can read it as a stand alone.

Well, I can tell you right up front, this is not the usual thing I think of when I think of RS. This one borders on the erotic side of contemporary romance for a good portion of the book then suddenly the story takes on a completely different tone as our protagonist is thrown into a nightmare of a situation.

Kara is divorced and putting her life back in order, although she is not all that contented with her job, she is finally gaining back some control over her life. Her sister Laurel is happily married, living in Germany, and expecting a child. This is wonderful news since the mad man who terrorized her is now behind bars and she can enjoy her life. But, when she learns Kara has narrowly escaped a dangerous situation she sends her brother-in-law, Shawn to check on her.

Shawn is delighted to check on his sister-in-law, Kara. He has a strong physical attraction to her and intends to act on that. After all he is a billionaire and always gets what he wants, and right now that would be Kara.
Well, when you hear the phrase, “Sparks fly”, this couple pretty much defined that. A power struggle of epic proportions ensues when the alpha personality of Shawn meets the independent, but often stifled, Kara. These two made a terrific couple since Shawn was exactly what Kara needed, especially when it came to her sexual needs. But, when Shawn's brother, Jason, finds out what he has been up to, he forbids him to pursue Kara because she is family and she deserves better than a one night stand.

But, before the couple have a chance to get their relationship woes in order, the man who terrorized them all in the past, breaks out of prison and now it seems Kara is the one in danger. Can Shawn save her?
I have to admit this story is a little steamier than what I normally read, but I could not put this book down. I also confess to wondering if I misunderstood the genre this book belonged in, since the suspense element didn't show up for awhile. However, once the action started it didn't slow down. I enjoyed the sharp dialogue and the honest depiction of how a victim might feel after going through a trauma, like Kara does, and watching the big strong alpha male, Shawn turn into a big old marshmallow when it comes to love and making Kara happy.

This was a very enjoyable and entertaining novel and is recommended to those who like their romantic suspense served on a super sexy hot plate. 4.5 rounded to 5








a Rafflecopter giveaway





~~~~~~~~~~~~~



AUTHOR Bio and Links:



Karyn Lawrence is an author, graphic designer, and screenwriter. She published a nonfiction book about color guard after an editor discovered her blog, way back in the infancy of the Internet and long before blogging was really a thing.



She has been a screenwriter for more than fifteen years, with rather mild success, and grew tired of her stories only reaching a handful of readers. The decision was made to try fiction in early 2013 and once she figured out how to write internal dialogue again, the prose came fast and furious. She most enjoys writing smexy (smart-sexy) books featuring a lovable SOB hero and a tough-as-nails heroine.



Karyn is a Chicago native who lives in Kentucky with her epic husband and two adorable sons.



Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/karynlawrenceauthor



Twitter: @karynsloan



Website: www.karynlawrence.com




Inviting Fire by Emily Kimelman Blurb Blitz + Giveaway





Inviting Fire
by Emily Kimelman

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Vigilante crime mystery with a dash of romance, early reader’s call INVITING FIRE “Excellent”

Emily Kimelman's best selling Sydney Rye series feature a strong female protagonist and her canine best friend, Blue. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a dash of sex. Not to mention an awesome mystery with tons of action that will keep you reading late into the night!

New to Sydney Rye? The first book in the series, UNLEASHED, is FREE.

Recovering from a near fatal attack that has left her with residual trauma, including haunting dreams and flashbacks, Sydney Rye is regaining her strength at the jungle training camp of Joyful Justice, the vigilante network inspired by her now legendary acts of vengeance. However, when a routine reconnaissance mission goes horribly wrong Sydney Rye looses the trust of the leadership of Joyful Justice.

Her good friend and trainer, Merl, warns that if she wants to be in the action she’ll have to follow orders like everyone else. Never good with authority, Sydney struggles to suppress her independent streak for the greater good.

When she runs up against an old adversary he blows apart everything she has gained. With her and Blue’s lives at stake, as well as the future of Joyful Justice, Sydney must push aside her fears and take a leadership role before it's to late.

The Sydney Rye Series

UNLEASHED (A Sydney Rye Novel, #1)

DEATH IN THE DARK (A Sydney Rye Novella, #2)

INSATIABLE (A Sydney Rye Novel, #3)

STRINGS OF GLASS (A Sydney Rye Novel, #4)

THE DEVIL'S BREATH (A Sydney Rye Novel, #5)


INVITING FIRE (A Sydney Rye Novel, #6)
Excerpt :

Grabbing onto the edge of the pool he began to haul himself up. I watched his shoulders bunch, forearms tighten, and finally his biceps and the muscles that wrapped around from the backs of his arms came into sharp relief as his chest rose out of the water. It streamed down, following the force of gravity, but seeming to take the most luxurious ride down his form, before returning to the big empty pool.

I backed up giving Lenox space as his leg came up and he hopped into a standing position, drops of water shaking off him. I felt them on my face and bare arms. He didn't reach for a towel, just stood in front of me, the soft drizzle joining with other lingering streams of water slipping down his body. "I'm looking forward to working with you," he said. His gold chain rested against his neck again, short enough that it barely brushed his collarbone, but long enough that when he was on top of me it could fall against his lips.

I cleared my throat. "Me too," I said. Lenox smiled at me and I realized what all his clients were really paying for: the acknowledgement and admiration he showered so generously on you. Beyond companionship and pleasure lies the deep need to be accepted.

"Do you mind if I get you wet?" he asked.

I laughed. "What a rude question."

"Yes, well," he said in that delicious voice of his, as he closed the distance between us. "I can be a very rude boy."



AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Emily Kimelman is the author of the best selling Sydney Rye Series including UNLEASHED, DEATH IN THE DARK, INSATIABLE, STRINGS OF GLASS, THE DEVIL'S BREATH and INVITING FIRE. This series feature a strong female protagonist and her canine best friend, Blue. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a dash of sex. Not to mention an awesome, rollicking good mystery!

Emily splits her time between the Hudson Valley and traveling the world with her husband and dog, Kinsey (named after Sue Grafton's Kinsey Milhone), researching exciting locations for the Sydney Rye Series. You can follow along on their adventures through Instagram, Facebook, and on Emily's blog.

The first book in the Sydney Rye series, UNLEASHED, is available as a free download on all major ebook retailers.

If you've read Emily's work, and enjoyed it, please let her know. You can reach Emily via email ejkimelman@gmail.com, on Twitter @ejkimelman, on Facebook and on her website www.emilykimelman.com

Social Media Links

Twitter

Facebook

Newsletter

website:

Links to Emily on major retailers.

B&N

Kobo

iTunes

Amazon





a Rafflecopter giveaway