Edelweiss

Someone to Wed

Someone to Wed
Someone to Wed by Mary Balogh

Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday
Flashback Friday

Monday, March 31, 2014

BLISS BY RENEE FIELD- A BOOK REVIEW

Bliss (Titan, #1)Bliss by Renee Field
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bliss (Titan Series #1) by Renee Field is a 2014 independent publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. ( Via the author and Storyfinds and Netgalley)
Kassandra frees Darius from the book he has been trapped inside of for the past decade. It's a mystery to Darius how this human managed that, but now that he is free, he must return to his kingdom to find a way to save his people from a terrible plague. His mother and twin brother are inflicted with the disease and he must find the cure soon. But, of course there are many obstacles blocking him from getting home and saving his kingdom. Kassandra, the sassy human that has him all tied up in knots, is a huge help to him with her ability to speak the old Greek language among other rather unusual gifts for a human to have. As attracted as they are to one another, Darius knows nothing could ever come of it because it is against the law in his world to become involved with humans.
Kassandra will find herself in a life or death situation -literally, when it finally dawns on her what Darius really is... a Titan. Kassandra was told stories about these mythical creatures by her father and she is quite knowledgeable about all the legends, knowledgeable enough to figure out Darius in not a human and that somehow she has mangaged to get herself involved in his personal dramas, and she has also managed to begin caring about him. This is what eventually leads her to that life and death situation. When Darius almost dies, it's Kassandra that gets him the help he needs, but she will pay a very heavy price for saving his life.
This book as a little of everything fantastical. Mermen, mythology, sirens, and tons of undersea dramas. It seems that women suffer the same from men no matter where they are from and Kassandra will be shocked to learn she will be bonded to Darius for centuries. She will become his life mate and will have to make the choice of being a mother of children or not when he fails to prevent her from becoming pregnant. It seems Kassandra didn't have much of a say in any of these events. These changes are more than Kassandra can manage to cope with on top of being in danger of aquiring a deadly disease and dealing with the controlling and demanding, and very possessive, Darius. ( He's really a sweetie, he just isn't too good with women when it comes to certain things)
I have not read many novels with this sort of paranormal theme. Mostly, I read the shifter/vampire type paranormal romance, so I have no idea what the norm is when it comes to Sirens and Mermen and under water kingdoms. I do know that I found myself engrossed in all the drama, the humor, and I loved the light hearted ending to the story. The author has a great imagination and adds so many little details that I could actually visualize everything in the lush underwater kingdom. All of the secondary characters were well developed and I hope to see them in future installments. This was a really fun read and I so enjoyed the escape from reality for awhile. I will want to read the next one in the series which will be Seth and Jamie's story.
Over this one gets an A (4 stars )

Renee Field

Biography

Vivacious by nature, I'm either baking or thinking up my next love scenes--talk about mixing ingredients. Trust me, the recipes are always delicious, especially if chocolate's involved. I love a good night out on the town where I can discard the mom profile and dance to my heart's content.

Writing has always been my passion. I strongly believe in soulmates and feel eternally lucky that I snatched up mine. The wilder side of me comes out in my erotic writings, where I fuse lustful fantasy with the paranormal edge. I thoroughly enjoy making up worlds, hunky men who cause me to go weak in the knees and intelligent women who can also let their hair down.

My erotic novels are published with Ellora's Cave, HQN Spice Briefs and I'm also and Indie author. My first Indie book, Rapture, received an EPPIE Award for Best Paranormal/Fantasy Romance for an e-book.

I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada and have the best view of the Atlantic Ocean. Halifax is my exotic! I am a member of Romance Writers of America, my local Romance Writers of Atlantic Canada, and the Nova Scotia Writer's Federation. I can be reached at renee@reneefield.com.

I'm also the founder of StoryFinds.com which promotes authors on-line. I love to support fellow authors. Writing is a creative process and we all need to rejoice and help each other.

Sunday, March 30, 2014

MRS.POE BY LYNN CULLEN- A REVIEW

Mrs. PoeMrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen is a 2013 Gallery Books publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
Everyone is aware of the tragic story of Virginia Poe who died at twenty-four of consumption. (TB) In our minds we feel nothing but complete sadness at the loss of life at such a young age. Most of us are also aware of Edgar Allen Poe's life story which was drenched in death and sorrow. Rumors did surface that "Eddie" was having an affair with the children's author and poet Frances Osgood. There is much debate today among historians as to whether or not there was really an affair. Chances are it was as Frances tried to explain- a publicity stunt, more or less. If the two were having an affair it would seem odd that Poe's ailing wife would strike up a friendship with the very woman her husband was infactuated with. Again ,over the years this has sparked much debate.
Frances was married herself, but her artist husband was seldom at home. He was a notorious philanderer and pretty much abandoned Frances and their two daughters. Frances was given hospitality by a married couple who let her live in their home with her children.
Poe and Virginia lived with Poe's aunt and Virginia's mother in moderate financial circumstances. Poe never achieved any great wealth and in the last years of his life he was quite poor. It is said he always treated his wife kindly and gave in to her readily.
This book paints a very different version of events that opposes what we would like to believe. Poe is painted as a man who runs from the reality of his wife's illness, lies to his alleged lover about the seriousness of Virginia' health, and quite bluntly tells Frances he has grown weary of Virginia. He leads Frances to believe he only married Virginia because he was young and lonely and it was merely conveinent at the time. Virginia , a girl still, despite the fact she has been married for ten years and is in her twenties, has always been a figure of great sympathy. The way Edgar mourned her after her death would hint at his having strong emotional ties to her, but this novel paints Virginia as a possible villian. A girl well aware that her husband has begun a rather public flirtation with Frances and is more jealous than people were lead to believe. In fact, little Virginia, who is weak, sickly, and frail couldn't possible be responsible for some of the things Frances has begun to suspect her of... or could she?
Frances is ridden with guilt over the affair. She doesn't love her husband, but for the sake of her daughters she keeps up appearances, or at least tries to. So, the only guilt she has over her feelings for Eddie , is for his wife. In this version of events, Virginia may appear obtuse and socially awkward, but in fact she is quite cunning. Dangerous, in fact. But, is Virginia really responsible for these events or is it Frances's guilty conscience? Is Edgar right- have they all gone mad?
No matter how you portray Virginia, it still seems that she adored Eddie. If indeed he was having an affair, and if Virginia did rise to the occasion and attempt to put an end to it, I still couldn't help but feel badly for her. I could also imagine Edgar finding a woman that had the same interest as himself and being a little more worldly appealing to his intelligence and being human, he may have had an attraction to Frances. But, then again, he may have only wished to help her career along. Frances could have had a little crush on Poe, after all she didn't have a love match with her husband and by all accounts Poe was fond of her. Either way, it is not beyond the realm of possiblities that the two found comfort from each other. No one really knows for sure and that is why these novels are so interesting. I liked the idea the author gave us that Virginia may have been less naive that people thought, that she had a backbone, and that she may have been as dark as her husband. This is what makes historical fiction so fun. Sometimes we were left with a bare amount of real fact about certain things and this gives us the chance to speculate on how things might have been. The author actually paints a believable and plausible story, especially when we finally get to the end of the book and see that all the participants were indeed a little mad. You know that the story is not going to end well. After Virginia's death, there were still many more tragedies. Poe, Frances and a child that could have been Eddie's all died quite young and in the prime of their lives. I was engrossed from start to finish. If you like historical fiction, this book will certainly give you plenty to speculate about. This would be a great Book Club read as well.
Over all this one is a 4.5 star rating - A


View all my reviews
Lynn Cullen grew up in Fort Wayne, Indiana, the fifth girl in a family of seven children. She learned to love history combined with traveling while visiting historic sites across the U.S. on annual family camping trips. She attended Indiana University in Bloomington and Fort Wayne, and took writing classes with Tom McHaney at Georgia State. She wrote children’s books as her three daughters were growing up, while working in a pediatric office and later, at Emory University on the editorial staff of a psychoanalytic journal. While her camping expeditions across the States have become fact-finding missions across Europe, she still loves digging into the past. She does not miss, however, sleeping in musty sleeping bags. Or eating canned fruit cocktail. She now lives in Atlanta with her husband, their dog, and two unscrupulous cats.
Lynn Cullen is the author of The Creation of Eve, named among the best fiction books of 2010 by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and as an April 2010 Indie Next selection. She is also the author of numerous award-winning books for children, including the young adult novel I Am Rembrandt’s Daughter, which was a 2007 Barnes & Noble “Discover Great New Writers” selection, and an ALA Best Book of 2008. Her novel, Reign of Madness, about Juana the Mad, daughter of the Spanish Monarchs Isabella and Ferdinand, was chosen as a 2011 Best of the South selection by the Atlanta Journal Constitution and was a 2012 Townsend Prize finalist. Her newest novel, MRS. POE, examines the fall of Edgar Allan Poe through the eyes of poet Francis Osgood.

Friday, March 28, 2014

MOLLY HARPER BY EMELLE GAMBLE REVIEW + GIVEAWAY






Molly Harper


by Emelle Gamble


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Movie star Molly Harper has it all, beauty, success in her field, and a loving family and marriage to actor Ben Delmonico. Norma Wintz, Molly’s mother, has it all, a lovely life style and two children who adore her, and a respite from the battle against cancer she’s been fighting. Anne Sullivan, at age fifty, is optimistic that her move to sunny Santa Barbara, California, will allow her to be closer to her youngest son and his family, and help her start her life anew after the death of her beloved husband.

But all three of these women, despite their considerable blessings, are plunged into turmoil when the most intimate of secrets that ties their lives together is revealed. At this same time, Molly Harper is confronted with the news that her marriage to actor Ben Delmonico is over. As she navigates this heartbreak and tries to keep the personal details of the drama off the front pages of the newspapers, Molly must also find a way to once and forever negotiate a way forward with her ex- lover and best friend, the volatile and compelling Cruz Morales.

How each of these characters handles the resulting upheaval in their own life, and in their relationships with one another, forms the compelling story of family, secrets and trust in the romantic women’s fiction novel, Molly Harper.

EXCERPT:

 
Anne Sullivan looked down at her watch.


One twenty-one p.m. Norma Wintz was twenty minutes late.


Anne leaned back against the banquette and avoided making eye contact with the hovering waitress. She folded her hands together and wondered if her face looked tight as cellophane stretched over a bowl of tuna salad. That’s how it felt.


I shouldn’t have come. She glanced around the unfamiliar restaurant. It was all glass and mirrors; chock full of shockingly glamorous Californians surely leading shockingly exciting lives. People who wouldn’t understand why a widow from Potomac, Maryland was breaking into sobs and intruding on their lunch experience.


Which is probably what I’m going to do once Norma arrives, she thought. She had tried to prepare herself for meeting the woman, face-to-face, who had adopted her baby thirty-five years ago, but Anne wasn’t sure she was going to be able to handle it as she hoped.

Calmly. Dispassionately. In control.

Anne’s chest suddenly ached, as if all the emotion she’d suppressed for decades gathered into a knot under her ribs.

I should call the number for Norma Wintz and tell her not to come. Which was a great idea, except she’d left her cell phone in the car. And if she went to her car to get it, she might not have the emotional courage to come back.

To say nothing of the fact that if she walked the two long blocks to where she was parked, there was a good chance she would miss Norma Wintz altogether, and the woman would probably think she was a crack pot.

Anne took another peek at her watch.

One twenty-two.

That’s impossible. It felt as if an hour had passed since she’d last looked at the time.

"Excuse me, are you Mrs. Sullivan?" A waiter, his eyes jade green against his tan skin, smiled at Anne. His name tag read ‘Taj’.

"Yes, I’m Anne Sullivan

"There’s a call for you." Taj held out a phone.

Anne pressed it against her head. "This is Anne Sullivan."

Taj clasped his hands behind his back and smiled at her as if she was a small child on the first day of school.

"Hello, this is Norma Wintz calling," a voice said in Anne’s ear. "I’m on my way but there was an accident and traffic is wretched. I got no answer on the number you gave me, but I wanted to let you know I wasn’t standing you up."

"Oh, that’s no problem." Anne nodded at Taj and repositioned the phone an inch higher on her ear. "I don’t have other plans for this afternoon."

"Fine. I’ll be there in about ten minutes." The phone went dead.

"Okay. Thank you!" Anne met the waiter’s eyes and wondered how Taj had known to bring it to her.

Norma Wintz must have described me to him. But what could she have said, since we’ve never met? Look for a woman who seems the sort to give up her first-born child for adoption?

 
 
 


AUTHOR Bio and Links:


Emelle Gamble was a writer at an early age, bursting with the requisite childhood stories of introspection. These evolved into bad teen poetry and worse short stories. She took her first stab at full length fiction in an adult education writing class when her kids were in bed. As M.L. Gamble, she published several romantic suspense novels with Harlequin. She has contracted with Soul Mate Publishing for Secret Sister, published in the summer of 2013, and Dating Cary Grant, a March 2014 release.


Once and Forever, an anthology which includes the novella Duets, came out on November 1st. Molly Harper, a full length novel starring the characters from Duets 3 years later was released by Posh Publishing in January.

Emelle lives in suburban Washington D.C. with her husband, ‘Phil-the-fist’, her hero of thirty years, and two orange cats, Lucy and Bella. These girls, like all good villains, have their reasons for misbehaving. Her daughter, Olivia, and son, Allen, are happily launched on their own and contributing great things to society, their mother’s fondest wish.

Review Quotes:

Praise for Secret Sister

"Along with being a very unique and captivating plot, SECRET SISTER offers a shocking turn of the paranormal kind. So if you are the type of person that wants ordinary romance in a book, you won't find that here. This is a story of friendship, family, and most of all, true love and what those things can mean. I cannot recommend SECRET SISTER strongly enough… " Fresh Fiction, Fresh Reviews

"If you're looking for a typical women's fiction/romance, don't look here... this story has a twist of the paranormal that will have you willingly stretching your belief in order to enjoy the plot. Emelle Gamble has created a story that will tear your heart out." Long and Short Reviews

Links:

Email: emellegamble@aol.com

Website: www.EmelleGamble.com

FaceBook: Author Emelle Gamble

Twitter: @EmelleGamble

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7123746.Emelle_Gamble

Secret Sister by Emelle Gamble is now available on Amazon! http://amzn.to/17J2Bn6

Once and Forever an anthology with Emelle Gamble’s novella, Duets, is now available on Amazon! http://amzn.to/1h9fZWv

Emelle will be awarding a $50 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter during this tour and the NBtM Book Tour. A digital copy of Molly Harper will be awarded to 3 randomly drawn commenters also during this tour and the NBtM Book Tour.
FOLLOW THE TOUR FOR MORE CHANCES TO WIN!!

 The tour dates can be found here: 
 
 
 

Molly HarperMolly Harper by Emelle Gamble
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Molly Harper by Emelle Gamble is a 2014 Posh Publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

When we last checked in, ( see the novella- Duets), with Molly Harper she was about to marry Ben, a handsome and popular movie star. Her best friend and former lover, Cruz, who is about to be a father, was on his way to the wedding when he was in a terrible motorcycle accident. We are also let in a secret. Molly was adopted at birth and her parents never told her. Her birth mother has found out that the Molly's biological father had MS and so did several other members of his family. Anne must gather up her nerve and find Molly so she can inform her of her family's health history.
Now the story picks up a few years later and Anne has gotten in touch with Norma, Molly's adoptive mother. Cruz has mostly recovered from his accident, is trying to be good father to his son, despite the demise of his relationship with Char, and Molly and Ben on are the verge of a divorce, due to Ben's constant cheating.
Norma is in very fragile health and when she and Anne meet, Norma has a spell and is taken to the hospital. Anne finally sees Molly face to face and Molly really likes Anne. She still has no idea who she really is, but Anne's experience as a nurse gives Molly an idea. Norma needs someone to help her out and Anne seems like the perfect choice. Anne agrees to stop by and help Norma with her medications for awhile, which gives Anne and Norma a chance to bond. The two women become friends. Each has harbored secrets from their family for many years and for many reasons. Anne's sons have no idea they have a half sister. So, both women have a lot of explaining to do.
Meanwhile, Molly is under terrific stress as she deals with the press and the end of her marriage on top of rumors that she could be pregnant. Molly and Cruz are still in a state of limbo as Cruz stubbornly insist on remaining just friends and Molly is still helplessly and hopelessly in love with him. On top of all that Molly is now experiencing some odd health issues and Norma is frantic believing Molly could have MS.
As the sins and secrets of the past begin to seep out, the adult children of Anne and Norma attempt to absorb the shock. But, Norma and Anne are not the only ones harboring secrets. Molly may have a few secrets she needs to get off her chest as well.
I rarely gush over a book these days. I read at least one, sometimes two books a day and so I can be hard to move. But, this one really got to me. Trust me, you do not want to miss this one. Molly Harper finally achieved the goal she set for herself, which was to become a successful actress. While many believe movie stars live a charmed life, nothing could be further from the truth. Molly deals with her dying mother, the revelation she is adopted, meeting her birth mother and two half brothers, the break up of her marriage, and the loss of the man who is her best friend and also the man she has been in love with since her teens, the possibility she could be pregnant or have a serious disease, all under the glaring spotlight of the media.
I loved the bond and friendship that Anne and Norma forged. Anne really liked Norma and vise versa. It as a shame they met so late in life. My heart did break for Molly on several counts, her mother's health and the relationship with Cruz were the two most heartbreaking situations. Cruz can be really frustrating. I understand, but I don't. I wanted to like him and I could relate to his feelings about Molly's career, but he seemed to have a hard time understanding that although Molly was an actress, she was capable of real human emotions. He seemed to thing that everything Molly did or said was some kind of performance. He didn't believe she ever really loved him. That was a little hard to take. Cruz hurt Molly over and over and over, much more than Ben ever could. All the same the limbo we feel Molly and Cruz are in is painful to read about. But, Molly does have time to prioritize and thankfully she decides to examine the possibility of a relationship with Anne, although she isn't too keen on the idea at first.
When all is said and done, I felt like maybe Molly was on the right track with her life. I don't know how her career will go , but her relationships are on a healthy path which should help remedy a lot of Molly's health problems. You will need a big box of tissues nearby when you read this one. Emelle really outdid herself with this novel. I loved every single page and lived every single moment right along with the characters. This is good stuff!!!
P.S. - there were some "Easter eggs" hidden in the book too! If you have read "Secret Sister", you will know what I mean- I loved that!
A++ (5 stars)

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

DOG EAT DOG BY JENNA MATTISON- REVIEW & SPOTLIGHT + GIVEAWAY




Dog Eat Dog (Book 2 The Chronicles Of Liza Radley Housewife Detective)

by Jenna Mattison

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Book Two of the Eye Spy, Chronicles Of Liza Radley Housewife Detective, series brings back the antics of Liza & Jack in Dog Eat Dog. The two are knee deep in dognappers and heiresses at their newly opened Crimes Of The Heart Detective Agency. In between their investigations the will they or won't they drama of their complicated relationship is still front and center…and in the middle.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:


A wise man once said, "Sometimes you're the windshield. Sometimes you're the bug." Today, I'm the bug. I’m Liza Radley, an ex-housewife turned private eye whose first unofficial case was investigating my cheating husband Bernie, the balding podiatrist. Not the way I would’ve chosen as an introduction to the profession, but here I am running Crimes of the Heart Detective Agency out of a storage room with Jack Parella, an ex-cop who had a ball shot off in the line of duty. He’s my sometime partner and sometime almost lover but so far everything’s stayed PG rated. I’d like to keep it that way. I think.

This morning started like any other with Jack bringing me down a cup of java from his loft apartment above Eye Spy, the spy shop he owns that’s attached to our detective agency by a cramped hallway. That is until a guy named Lenny Malone barged in waving a bunch of hundred dollar bills in the air, frantic that his miniature Australian shepherd had been dognapped by his future ex-wife.

We don’t normally take dognapping cases. Usually our "dogs" are the human kind. Usually male and usually humping barely legal secretaries and leaving their "scent" all over town. But that was an awfully big wad of cash Lenny was waving. Plus he argued that Jameson was his only family now so we made an exception.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~


AUTHOR Bio and Links:



Mattison started her career in Chicago appearing on television and radio. She

founded Cheshire Smile Productions, bringing to life and penning her first

feature film FISH WITHOUT A BICYCLE, a festival winning coming of age

comedy, which was directed by Brian Austin Green. "Fish" is now available on

Netflix and garnered a limited theatrical release.

Mattison also wrote Cheshire’s second release THE THIRD WISH now available

at Blockbuster and distributed by the Hallmark Channel. Lionsgate’s FOR THE

LOVE OF MONEY, based on a true story of Jewish gangsters set in the 1970’s

starring James Caan, Paul Sorvino, Edward Furlong and Jeffrey Tambor was also

produced and written by Mattison and was released theatrically in the US &

Israel. In 2012 The Academy Of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences honored

Mattison by displaying her screenplay of For The Love Of Money in the

permanent collection of their library. Most recently Jenna wrote COMMITTED, a

TV movie which wrapped production this spring to premiere on television under

the title Deadly Revenge. In development is GHOST STATION which she will pen

and co-produce with Michelle Weisler (The Ring, The Trouble With The Curve) to

be shot in Canada summer 2014.

Her bestselling debut novel The Tree Of Jesse, a paranormal romantic thriller,

was released this spring to critical acclaim and is available worldwide. Mattison’s

most recent novel Eye Spy, the first in a comedic romantic suspense series, was

released in July and hit bestseller status within the first week. Book two of the

series, Dog Eat Dog, will be released this fall.

Links:

HYPERLINK "http://www.amazon.com/Book-Radley-Housewife-Detective-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00HAQMFOG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1386991578&sr=8-2&keywords=dog+eat+dog+jenna+mattison" http://www.amazon.com/Book-Radley-Housewife-Detective-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00HAQMFOG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1386991578&sr=8-2&keywords=dog+eat+dog+jenna+mattison

HYPERLINK "http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DUMWK4E" http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DUMWK4E

HYPERLINK "https://www.facebook.com/jennamattisonauthor" https://www.facebook.com/jennamattisonauthor
 


Dog Eat Dog (Book 2 The Chronicles Of Liza Radley Housewife Detective)Dog Eat Dog by J.R. Mattison
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Dog Eat Dog by J.R. Mattison ( Jen Mattison) is a 2013 Rochester publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Liza Radley, Housewife Detective is back for another case, this time involving a dognapper. Well, at least that how things got started. With her trusty partner, Jack, Liza opened the Crimes of the Heart Detective Agency. They need money in a bad way because rent is due and they don't have it. Before long Liza and Jack are trying to stop an illegal dog fighting ring among other things. If that weren't enough to stress anyone out, Liza's mother is laying on the guilt trips, and the tension between Liza and Jack is palpable. Frustrations sets in when Liza's sixth sense is telling her something is off and they need to investigate further and Jack thinks it might be time to throw in the towel... in more ways than one.
Dogs, romantic tension, family drama, and of course Liza's investigations all make for a hilarious romp of fast paced adventure mixed in with a feel good story. Who doesn't love dogs? Adopting an adorable dog, and saving dogs from being abused is a great story line, but there were more dangerous plots at hand too, and Liza of course is in the big middle of it. I did not have the chance to read the first book in the series, but I think I will go look it up. You don't have to read the first one to enjoy this one, but I always like to know the whole story from the beginning. In this case, Liza has sworn off men after catching her husband cheating on her, but Jack is trying to soften Liza's stance on dating. Liza and Jack have a wonderful snappy dialogue with each other, and If Liza doesn't wake up soon, I just might like Jack for myself. He's absolutely dreamy. This is a really light hearted cozy mystery, easy to read, and laugh out loud funny in some places. I enjoyed reading it and would recommend it to cozy mystery lovers, but also to chick lit or contemporary romance lovers too. Of course, as with most books that fall into the cozy genre there is no explicit sex, graphic violence, or harsh language. Adult content is PG. This one gets an A.

GIVEAWAY DETAILS:

Jenna will be awarding a digital copy of Dog Eat Dog to a randomly drawn commenter at every stop during the tour.
FOLLOW THE TOUR FOR MORE CHANCES TO WIN!
 

Monday, March 24, 2014

SECRETS AND LIES BY CHRISTINE AMSDEN SPOTLIGHT AND GUEST BLOG + GIVEAWAY


 Secrets and Lies

Cassie Scot

Book 2

Christine Amsden

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Twilight Times Books

ISBN: 978-1606192771

ASIN: B00FX4C0YM

Number of pages: 274

Word Count: 85k

Cover Artist: Ural Akyutz

HYPERLINK "http://www.amazon.com/Cassie-Scot-ParaNormal-Christine-Amsden/dp/1606192752/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1368971523&sr=8-1&keywords=Cassie+Scot" Amazon HYPERLINK "http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cassie-scot-christine-amsden/1115049717?ean=9781606192757" Barnes and Noble HYPERLINK "https://www.omnilit.com/product-cassiescotparanormaldetective-1152602-344.html" OmniLit HYPERLINK "http://www.audible.com/pd/Mysteries-Thrillers/Cassie-Scot-Audiobook/B00FA89FZ8/ref=sr_1_1?qid=1379697202&sr=1-1" Audible

Book Description:

Cassie Scot, still stinging from her parents' betrayal, wants out of the magical world. But it isn't letting her go. Her family is falling apart and despite everything, it looks like she may be the only one who can save them.

To complicate matters, Cassie owes Evan her life, making it difficult for her to deny him anything he really wants. And he wants her. Sparks fly when they team up to find two teenagers missing from a summer camp, but long-buried secrets may ruin their hopes for happiness. Book 2 in the Cassie Scot series.


About the Author:


Christine Amsden has been writing fantasy and science fiction for as long as she can remember. She loves to write and it is her dream that others will be inspired by this love and by her stories. Speculative fiction is fun, magical, and imaginative but great speculative fiction is about real people defining themselves through extraordinary situations. Christine writes primarily about people and relationships, and it is in this way that she strives to make science fiction and fantasy meaningful for everyone.


At the age of 16, Christine was diagnosed with Stargardt’s Disease, a condition that effects the retina and causes a loss of central vision. She is now legally blind, but has not let this slow her down or get in the way of her dreams.


In addition to writing, Christine teaches workshops on writing at Savvy Authors. She also does some freelance editing work.


Christine currently lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, Austin, who has been her biggest fan and the key to her success. They have two beautiful children.

Website: HYPERLINK "http://christineamsden.com/wordpress /" http://christineamsden.com/wordpress /

Blog: HYPERLINK "http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/?page_id=200" http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/?page_id=200

Twitter: HYPERLINK "https://twitter.com/ChristineAmsden" https://twitter.com/ChristineAmsden

Facebook: HYPERLINK "https://www.facebook.com/pages/Christine-Amsden-Author-Page/127673027288664" https://www.facebook.com/pages/Christine-Amsden-Author-Page/127673027288664

Goodreads: HYPERLINK "http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1030664.Christine_Amsden" http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1030664.Christine_Amsden

Google+ HYPERLINK "https://plus.google.com/u/0/117845642477854934607/posts" https://plus.google.com/u/0/117845642477854934607/posts

GUEST BLOG BY CHRISTINE AMSDEN:



Cassie Scot: Looking Forward

In January, The Book Review noted that Cassie was going to have her work cut out for her to heal the rift between herself and her family, and between her family and Evan's. So true! Luckily, I gave her two more books to do it.

The end of Secrets and Lies marks a turning point for the series, which is about the only non-magical member of a magical family. She's an outsider, or feels like one. Her parents haven't helped her feel like she belongs, though they love her in their way. But now it's time for Cassie to become her own person, separate from their desires and expectations. This sort of shifting relationship with one's parents and siblings is something we all go through in our teens and twenties, though Cassie has more difficulties than most.

Mind Games (book 3) is a big turning point for Cassie. She learns something about herself that the reader already knows and she doesn't react well to this information.

Mind Games is a book I'm particularly proud of. It was a challenge to write because it is told from the first-person point of view of someone (Cassie) who is having her mind messed with by magic. Not overt mind magic, either. I decided early on that such heavy-handedness would be easy to recognize and thus easy to counter. No, the real power of a mind mage is in his ability to be subtle. To shift your thoughts slightly, so that it's hard to know if it's really you thinking something or not. It's a devious game, one that could drive a person mad with wondering whether or not they're even being controlled and how they would know if they were.

Mind Games also builds more of the larger world than the first two volumes, introducing sorcerers from other parts of the country who have agendas of their own.

We learn more about Eagle Rock itself in this book too. When a preacher's wife is murdered and it looks like magic is involved, the ordinary residents of a town mired in magic (both fact and rumor) go crazy. They want blood – magical blood. Cassie once again finds herself straddling two worlds when she is asked to go interview every sorcerer (or suspected sorcerer) in town.

Mind Games sets the stage for the final conflict in Stolen Dreams, the last book in the series. In Stolen Dreams, the conflict between the Scots and the Blackwoods finally ignites. I don't want to say too much about the end of the series yet, but I will say that people are going to die and Cassie is going to have to find peace with herself before she can hope to find peace between their families.

Stolen Dreams brings Cassie's story arc to a close. Two of her friends, Madison and Kaitlin, will have spin-offs to complete their stories. They just got too big for a footnote in Cassie's story. Madison's Song is complete. Kaitlin's Tale is on the drawing board.
 
THANKS FOR TAKING OVER TODAY CHRISTINE!

Secrets and Lies (Cassie Scot, #2)Secrets and Lies by Christine Amsden
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Secrets and Lies ( Cassie Scot #2) by Christine Amsden is a 2013 Twilight Times Publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

This second in the Cassie Scot Paranormal Detective series picks up where the first one left off. Cassie has moved in with her friend and is out of a job, estranged from her parents, broken up with her boyfriend and struggling with her feelings for Evan. When two girls disappear from camp, Cassie looks into the case, although her boss still hasn't hired her back.
Meanwhile, Cassie's pregnant mother is not doing so well. When all else fails, she is hospitalized. Cassie is guilted into visiting her. The result is the revelation of a shocking secret from her mother's past that goes a long way in explaining why Cassie finds herself in the situation she has lived with her whole life.. her lack of magical abilities.
The issues with Evan's family and Cassie's family that have caused them to become bitter enemies is still a mystery to Cassie and Evan. But, Evan will be given a hint of why Cassie's family have such strong feelings against his father. The truth will knock him to his knees.

This chapter in the series is more powerful than the first one was. Things really begin heat up as Cassie learns more about her mother's past, admits her feelings for Evan, still kicks butt as a detective, and tries to help a friend going through a really hard time. The secrets are stunning and I think that Cassie will have a chance to heal the rift between herself and her family in time. It won't be easy, but it's obvious they do love her. As for Evan, only time will tell. There is still a great many questions that will have to be answered and once the chips fall the results are sure to be mind blowing.

Cassie is a person that despite being from a magical family is someone people can relate to. She is different and suffers prejudice as a result. But, she doesn't let it get to her. She moves forward no matter what life throws at her. She isn't superwoman, she doesn't have a natural ability like her siblings, she is as normal as her life will allow. She is a good friend, a good daughter, a good sister and a good example. She is someone you can imagine being friends with in real life.
The only thing I get angry about is that so often is seems Cassie ends up going it alone. Having to keep her family secrets and being different from them, and with her friends all being involved in their own problems, Evan is in constant conflict, Cassie sort of slips through the cracks. But, if it makes any difference, I'm in her corner cheering her on.
I can not recommend this series highly enough. If you like paranormal mystery and romance, YA or New Adult you will love this series. This one is an A+

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, March 23, 2014

GOD OF MY ART BY SARAH LANE- BOOK REVIEW


The God of My ArtThe God of My Art by Sarah Lane
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The God of my Art by Sarah Lane is a 2013 Purpleferns Press Publication.
Helene is an artist in her early twenties trying to find her way in the world. Her goals are fairly simple when seen on paper but trying to accomplish what she wants as an artist, a lover, and a woman is not that easy to actually accomplish.
The story is told in first person as Helene experiences a relationship with Matt, her muse, then finds herself alone as he travels to another country to live for awhile. In the meantime, Helene gets a call from her mother whom she refers to as Katie. Katie is having marital issues and has started drinking and smoking again which upsets Helene. However, Helene knows Katie is only thinking of herself and her own little corner of the universe. Helene is just a sounding board. She shows zero interest in her daughter's art or life, she seldom ask her any questions about how things are for her, she only laments about her own failures and problems. Once a line of communication is reopened with Katie, Helene begins to reflect upon her poor upbringing and life with her mother and step father.
As the story progresses, Matt steps out of Helene's life as a lover, for good, but she still thinks of him as her muse. Helene makes new friends who encourage her to pursue her art by attending art school. Before she can really see herself committing to something like that she needs closure about her father, who died when she was two- who was he? were there any relatives she could connect with?- and so on. She is surprised by her mother's revelations. I think in the end, Helene will immerse herself into her art by letting her past, present, and the promise of a better life for herself flow within her talent. Helene will emerge on the other side a more stable, complete, content and successful woman despite her less than supportive background and heartbreaks.
It's hard to believe this is a debut novel. The author has a literary prose that rivals more experienced and seasoned authors. I was given a copy of this book by an author friend after she read it, so I knew this was going to be a special read. Now I will have to confess that I had no idea what kind of book this was when I started reading it and while I enjoyed the writers style, I thought perhaps this was one of those literary novels that went over my head. I still may not have understood all that the author was hoping the reader would take away from the book, but I think I got the gist of the story. I was just mesmerized by the prose and that is what really had me invested in the book until I began to really care about Helene and traveled along with her as she made a sort of peace with her past and her family, but as she also realized she had it within herself to be better than her upbringing would indicate. She was smart, talented, and driven to succeed. She did not need to lean on anyone else to achieve what she wanted in life. Ultimately, I was proud of Helene. I know she intends to see where her artistic nature will lead her and I know she will be recognized for her efforts.
I also predict this author will be recognized for her efforts if this novel is any indication of her future efforts as a writer. Over all this one is an A+
About this author:

Sarah Lane was born in California and grew up in British Columbia. She has lived abroad in France and traveled extensively in Cameroon, Mexico, and Europe.

Mom to two, speaker of accented French, and all around xenophile, she did her B.A. in international relations and her M.A. in comparative literature at the University of British Columbia. Previous to the publication of her debut novel The God of My Art, her short fiction and poetry appeared in a number of literary journals, including The Antigonish Review, Roar Magazine , and Quills: Canadian Poetry Magazine.

What reviewers are saying about The God of My Art, shortlisted for the 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award:

"Really takes off during a high and naked moment in a self-made steam hut in the woods." -Publisher's Weekly

"Be warned: Lane's prose has a tendency to gently lure you into reading the book in one sitting." -The Ubyssey

"This is a wonderfully written story, has a strong cast of lifelike characters and a gripping, quick-moving plot line. . . . This is a book that once you start it would be hard to put down." -ABNA Expert Reviewer


Friday, March 21, 2014

A CRUSTY MURDER BY J.M. GRIFFIN: SPOTLIGHT & REVIEW + GIVEAWAY!

INNOVATIVE BOOK TOURS PRESENTS A CRUSTY MURDER BY J.M. GRIFFIN.  THIS STOP WILL FEATURE A SPOTLIGHT AND MY BOOK REVIEW.  ALSO ENTER TO WIN A GIFTCARD IN THE RAFFLECOPTER DRAWING!!


BLURB:


Who said life was simple, complacent, and boring?





After the man of her dreams, Scotsman Aidan Sinclair, walks into her bread shop, Melina Cameron immediately realizes her life has taken a sharp left turn.


Finding her ill-tempered landlady murdered, only complicates matters.

Melina's seventy year old grandmother has chosen to take a walk on the wild side of life, and Detective Graham, lead investigator from the Providence Police Department, has taken a fancy to Melina. Too many issues and too little time to adjust to the implications of them all, leaves Melina floundering to keep her business, The Hole in the Wall Bakery, open and running smoothly.

Excitement and danger ramp up when a fellow tenant, in the string of shops in

Melina's building, is found murdered in the same fashion as the landlady. Who

would be cruel enough to incriminate Melina, along with her BFF and neighbor,

BettyJo Seever, in the crimes? Who's next on the killers list, and why?

The answers are beyond her reach. Melina finds she's out of her depth and drowning ever so slowly in the deaths that surround her. Can she and BettyJo prove their innocence before Detective Graham charges them both with conspiracy to commit, murder resulting?

Will they reveal the culprit and find the proof needed to put these deaths to rest?

It's only after Aidan joins the hunt, that Melina comes face to face with the person responsible for the killings. Fearful that she's about to become victim number three, Melina takes the killer head on.




Chapter One:



Chapter 1






Crusty bread protruded for her mouth, a dreadful halo of dark red blood pooled around her head. But, it wasn’t a halo. It was a nightmare scene before me. I peered closer touching the bit of bread. My fingers brushed her skin. I gasped and jumped back. Mrs. Peterson was dead.

I stumbled back, tripping over my own feet in haste to escape the gruesome sight of my landlady. Somebody had dealt her a blow, more than one, judging by the amount of blood on the floor. I scanned the shadowy room for the instrument of death and wondered how to handle this disaster.

"Are you coming back soon? BettyJo has a problem with her bread dough," a student called from the door of BettyJo’s shop. I’d gone to fetch her cell phone while she prepared her sour dough for baking.

Lost in thought, the words slowly penetrated my brain. "Uh, I’ll be right there," I called. My voice sounded as wobbly as my knees felt. I grabbed BettyJo’s cell phone off the table and hurried out the door.

When I’d rejoined the class, five people stared at me. No one uttered a sound, at first. Then all hell broke loose.

Madeline, a realtor who needed something less stressful to deal with than real estate in a poor economy, appeared startled. "Are you all right? You’re very pale, Melina," she remarked.

Aidan, the man of my dreams, stepped forward. He laid a flour covered hand on my arm and said with his Scottish accent, "Lass, you’d best sit down."

BettyJo, not one to be easily excited, asked, "Was there a problem finding the phone?"

"N-no, it’s Mrs. Peterson. She’s over there," I thumbed in the direction of her store. "And she’s dead." That’s when I passed out cold.

Sometime later, I awoke on the floor, a cold, soggy cloth draped across my forehead. Students huddled, gaping, and a worried BettyJo was on the phone.

When I began to rise, Aidan grasped my arms and lifted me to my feet. He motioned to a chair. I gladly slumped into it.

"Lass," Aidan said with a worried look. "Are ya fine, now?" He handed me a glass of water.

I nodded and tossed the wet cloth onto the table. I sucked in a deep breath and stared at the concerned faces around me.

"I’m fine, really. Just shocked at finding Mrs. Peterson dead." I murmured, "Who could have done such a ghastly thing to her?"

Heads shook, shoulders shrugged, they hadn’t a clue who Mrs. Peterson was. After all, other than BettyJo, she wasn’t their landlady, was she?

Though shaken by my find, BettyJo insisted that she and I go to her shop. As reluctant as I was, I refused to allow her to go alone. The students hung about, waiting to see what would happen next. I asked that they return to working their dough and said we’d be right back.

As BettyJo and I reached the door, I found Aidan was hot on our heels.

I glanced at him. His concerned face told me he didn’t intend for us to go alone.

"I’ll be going with you on this," he said.

The three of us strode toward BettyJo’s back door.


A Crusty Murder (Book 1 Deadly Bakery Series)A Crusty Murder by J.M. Griffin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A Crusty Murder by J.M. Griffin is a 2013 Lachcisis Publication.
Melina runs The Hole in the Wall bakery with her grandmother in Rhode Island. When the very unpopular landlord turns up dead, Melina is implicated. Melina's best friend BettyJo is also a suspect. Melina is trying to keep her business afloat, keep an eye on her seventy year old grandmother who still thinks she is in her twenties, and stave off the ambitious detective Graham who likes Melina and her baked goods, but also wouldn't mind putting her in prison for murder. The other huge thing going in Melina's life is her attraction to Scotsman Aidan Sinclair, a man in the states for a brief time on business who decided to take bread making classes at The Hole in the Wall. When another murder occurs, and once more Melina is implicated it looks as if someone is trying to frame her. Will detective Graham believe in her innocence? What about Aidan and the other tenants? Could one of them be responsible?

This very short cozy style mystery was a cute whodunit centered around the aromas of the bakery. Eccentric characters, several suspects with clear motives, and a touch of romance round out the mystery. Melina is a sincere and honest girl trying to stay afloat in a terrible economy. She wants to be a good granddaughter and friend and business woman. She would also like a little romance with a certain Scotsman, but she is plagued by doubts about him.
While there was bit of a guessing game involved, the mystery was just a little predictable and the motive was a little dicey. The charming atmosphere and the characters made up for the holes in the mystery part of the story. If you like cozy style mysteries, I think you will enjoy this one. If nothing else you will have a craving for a fresh baked muffin. Overall this one is a B-/C+


BIO:


J.M. Griffin/Dana Stone grew up in rural Maine. She relocated to Rhode Island and lives in the north western part of the state with her husband and two cats. J.M.'s first published novel For Love of Livvy, began a series of humorous mysteries featuring Lavinia "Vinnie" Esposito. J.M. has also written a romance under the pseudonym Dana Stone.

ONLINE LINKS:

Blog http://mycozymysteries.blogspot.com
Facebook danastone.5815
Twitter mycozymystery




BUY NOW LINK:


Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Crusty-Murder-Deadly-Bakery-Series-ebook/dp/B00EH3R7WK/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

B & N http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-crusty-murder-jm-griffin/1116948183?ean=9781927555248



a Rafflecopter giveaway

A COLD DAY IN HELL BY JERRIE ALEXANDER



COLD DAY IN HELL


by Jerrie Alexander


~~~~~~~~~~~~~


BLURB:





Ex-Army Ranger Tyrell Castillo's first mission for Lost and Found, Inc. goes awry when his contact is kidnapped, and he's left scrambling for weapons and explosives. He'll have to blow up a drug cartel's compound, rescue the woman, and keep her safe while they cross the sweltering hot Colombian jungle.


Driven by the need for revenge, Ana Maria Vega Cisneros doesn't want to be rescued. She wants revenge. She'll risk her life to ensure the drug lord who killed her family suffers the same fate.

The cartel leaves a trail of blood on their hunt for Ty and Ana. When Ty receives the order to kill the drug lord with extreme prejudice, he and Ana will face the enemy head on. Can Ty protect the woman who's hell bent on vengeance? The woman he's grown to love?

EXCERPT:

 
He didn't have time to reason with her. And from what he'd seen so far, sweet-talking her was out. "I'm going to remove my hand. If you fight me, I'll tie and gag you. Got it?"

This time he got a full nod. The expression behind her eyes made him doubt her honesty.

"I don't have time to argue, so you'll have to trust that I'm the contact you were supposed to meet in Bogota." Cautiously, he lifted two fingers from her lips and waited to see if she complied.

"I know who you are," she hissed. "And you've ruined everything."

"Me? I think you've cornered the market on screw-ups." He quickly assessed her condition. Other than the bruise, she appeared to be unharmed. Long dark hair fell around her shoulders. She wore jeans and a T-shirt. All she needed was shoes, preferably a good pair of boots.

Damn, she was a little thing. Beautiful, bruised, and pissed. Protecting her as they crossed the sweltering jungle wasn't going to be easy. This woman was going to make the next few days a living hell.






AUTHOR Bio and Links:


A student of creative writing in her youth, Jerrie set aside her passion when life presented her with a John Wayne husband, and two wonderful children. A career in logistics offered her the opportunity to travel to many beautiful locations in America, and she revisits them in her romantic suspense novels.


But the characters went with her, talked to her, and insisted she share their dark, sexy stories with others. She writes alpha males and kick-ass women who weave their way through death and fear to emerge stronger because of, and on occasion in spite of, their love for each other. She likes to torture people, make them suffer, and if they’re strong enough, they live happily ever after.


The author of THE GREEN-EYED DOLL, THE LAST EXECUTION, SOMONE TO WATCH OVER ME, and HELL OR HIGH WATER, book 1 in the Lost and Found, Inc. Jerrie lives in Texas, loves sunshine, children’s laughter, sugar (human and granulated), and researching for her heroes and heroines.


Buy links:


http://www.amazon.com/Cold-Hell-Lost-Found-Inc-ebook/dp/B00FJ3JVW6/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1392325756&sr=8-1&keywords=cold+day+in+hell+jerrie+alexander

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cold-day-in-hell-jerrie-alexander/1117032032?ean=9781492811527

Social media links:

http://www.jerriealexander.com - website

http://www.jerriealexander.com/category/blog/

http://www.twitter.com/jerriealexander

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jerrie-Alexander /121521571355959?ref=hl

http://www.goodreads.com/jerriealexander

http://pinterest.com/jerriealexander/



Cold Day in Hell (Lost and Found, Inc., #2)Cold Day in Hell by Jerrie Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cold Day in Hell by Jerrie Alexander is 2013 publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Ana's life is about justice- the vigilante type. She has lived her life vowing to take down the ruthless Manuel Ortega, the man responsible for killing her parents and leaving her disfigured. Just when Ana has infiltrated the Ortega camp, she is taken captive.
Enter Tyrell- "Ty" Castillo. Ana is his contact in Columbia and he must now rescue her and get them safely out of the country. When he finally gets Ana free, he finds she is not ready to leave. She wants revenge and won't take no for an answer. When Ty gets the order to take out Ortega, Ana is not in on the assignment, but she invites herself along anyway. Meanwhile, Oretega is hunting for Ana and the inevitable bloodbath erupts, but when Ana's adoptive parents are dragged into the furor the mission takes on a different dimension. To cap off all that tension, Ana and Ty are having a hard time keeping their relationship in the professional realm. Both are aware that once this mission is over, Ty will go back to the states and Ana will stay in Columbia fighting the good fight for her country. So, will these two remain star crossed lovers or will they realize they must be together no matter what the sacrifices are ?
If you love romantic suspense with non stop action and adventure, not to mention hot steamy romance, this is one you should try out. The Lost and Found unit will make an awesome long running series.
The Columbian jungle makes a challenging backdrop to an already volatile and dangerous situation dealing with drug lords. Ana's obsession with exacting revenge will try out Ty's patience and keep him all tied up in knots. But, she is one determined lady and not even the Lost and Found unit can stop her. I wasn't sure who gave Ty a bigger challenge, Ortega or Ana. Ty is a mix of alpha and beta in personality and it works out perfectly for a person like Ana who will need someone to be strong, but also be able to do a little compromising as well.
Dealing with dangerous drug lords is a never ending battle and so Ana and Ty will have much work ahead of them if they can manage to work out a plan so they can live together without one of them having to give up their mission and goal in life.
Overall this was a tense and steamy thriller sure to satisfy any reader that loves suspense and romance... and who doesn't?
This one is an A.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

THE PRICE OF SANCTUARY BY GAYLON GREER SPOTLIGHT + GIVEAWAY



BLURB:


Accustomed to a life of privilege, Shelby Cervosier new finds herself running for her life. Accused of killing an American Immigration agent, Shelby has undertaken a mission on behalf of a secretive American espionage agency in exchange for a promise of legal amnesty and political asylum in America. Now, however, the agent who coerced her into accepting the assignment wants her dead to cover up the bungled mission. Two hit men compete for the bounty that has been placed on her head.


Shelby and her younger sister flee into America’s heartland in search of a safe haven. They find only fear and danger, however, when they are captured by one of the assassins, Hank.


Prepared to do whatever it takes to keep her sister safe, Shelby cooperates with her capturer. Deciding that his feelings for them are more important than bounty money, Hank takes the sisters under his wing and secrets then away to his hideout: a farm in a remote corner of Colorado. They become a part of his extended family; they have finally found sanctuary.


Their safe new world is shattered when the second hit man, a relentless psychopath, captures Shelby’s little sister and uses her to lure Shelby and her lover into a middle-of-the-night showdown on an isolated Rocky Mountain battleground.


 

 
 


Excerpt:





Sucking short gasps of air, her face screwed into a wild-animal snarl, Shelby tried to claw his face. Failing that, she dug at his windpipe.


Hank released her hair and captured both her wrists in one hand.


She raised her head to bite his chest.

"Christ!" He tossed the pistol aside and banged her forehead with the heel of his newly freed hand. Her head hit the mattress. He fisted her hair again and held her there, boiling anger threatening to erupt into rage.

She wrenched an arm from his grasp. Bucking and twisting, pounding his shoulders and chest, she tried to dislodge him. "Get . . . off . . . me."

With his bulk pressing her into the mattress, he absorbed the blows she rained on his chest and shoulders and waited for exhaustion to calm her. Disgust with himself for carelessness mixed with his anger at her for lashing out. But she was doing what he would have done under the same circumstances: making a last-ditch stand, putting everything she had into a final shot at survival. He'd given her the opening by growing lax, by letting his doubts about the job get in the way of professionalism.

His anger cooled further as her thrashing slowed. Her blows lost force, and he knew it was over. Stupid to feel a sense of betrayal over the attack, since she couldn't know he'd been thinking about setting her free. He would have had less respect for her if she had given up easily.

Another feeling edged in, a tide of warmth spreading from where their bodies pressed together. Shamed by his lust for a helpless foe, he loosened his hold and shifted to take his weight off of her.


 
 
 


AUTHOR Bio and Links:




Working with traveling carnivals and itinerant farm labor gangs during his teen and early adult years took Gaylon Greer up, down, and across the United States and introduced him to a plethora of colorful individuals who serve as models for his fictional characters. A return to school in pursuit of a high school diploma while serving in the Air Force led to three university degrees, including a Ph.D. in economics, and a stint as a university professor. After publishing several books on real estate and personal financial planning, as well as lecturing on these subjects to nationwide audiences, he shifted his energy to writing fiction. Gaylon lives near Austin, Texas.

Gaylon’s Web Site: HYPERLINK "http://gaylongreer.com/" http://gaylongreer.com/

Amazon Author Page:

HYPERLINK "http://www.amazon.com/Gaylon-E.-Greer/e/B000APV4BE/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0" http://www.amazon.com/Gaylon-E.-Greer/e/B000APV4BE/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

YouTube: HYPERLINK "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kxEUXWou4A" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kxEUXWou4A

Buy Link:

HYPERLINK "http://www.amazon.com/The-Price-Sanctuary-Gaylon-Greer-ebook/dp/B00GAGFPQ2" http://www.amazon.com/The-Price-Sanctuary-Gaylon-Greer-ebook/dp/B00GAGFPQ2



a Rafflecopter giveaway


FOLLOW THE TOUR FOR MORE CHANCES TO WIN!!
 

Thursday, March 20, 2014

TRIGGER BY L.J. SELLERS


The TriggerThe Trigger by L.J. Sellers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Trigger by L.J. Sellers is a 2014 Spellbinder publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Special agent Jamie Dallas is beyond ready for some field work. Finally she gets the call to infiltrate a group of environmental fanatics because one the leaders of the group, Randall Clayton, is a suspect in his wife, Emma's disappearance. Even more troubling is their young son is also missing and their car is found wrecked and abandoned. Emma's father is beside himself with worry. The other leader of the group, Randall's brother, Spencer, is tending to his terminally ill wife. Spencer knows she has only days left to live and he still wants to have a family, so when SA Dallas applies to join their group and he sees she has a little money, something the group is in dire need of, and she bears a striking resemblence to his wife, Spencer begins to rush her application through in record time. Once inside the compound, Dallas begins to believe that Emma and her son may not be dead, but are being held hostage on the premises. But, time is of the essense because the brothers have a plan in motion to bring down the nation's economy.
This is a spin off , if you will, from another of Sellers' series in which SA Dallas made an appearance. Dallas is a complicated character that has a sad past that shaped who she became as an adult and ironically helps her do her job quite well. Dallas is very adept at pulling off deceptions . If not for the extreme incompetance of other law enforcement personnel and the over the top paranoia of Randall Clayton, Dallas wound have had zero problems with Spencer Clayton. But, the situation gets out of hand in a hurry. Dallas will have to think fast on her feet in order to find Randall's wife and child and prevent the economic disaster the Clayton's are planning to trigger.
In the background, Dallas's partner is working on a related case that involves the discovery of a woman found dead in a body of water that may have also had connections with the extremist group.
The characters in the book are quite believable since in real life we have seen these groups crop up and get media attention and the FBI is usually involved in trying to determine how serious they are and if they are threat. Randall has some mental issues that were alluded to making him take things more seriously and go beyond the norm to achieve thier goals. Spencer is trying to pull of their plans without actually causing a major showdown with the authorities. Both brothers are certain that something terrible is on the horizon due to global warming and other environmental issues. They have smart, computer literate people helping them to hack into computers to force an economic disaster. All of this is quite plausible.
As to Special Agent Dallas, she is an interesting character who would rather keep her relationships on the short term and even diliberately sabotages them so she can continue to live life on the edge. She has a therapist who tries to understand her need to walk on the wild side of life. So far, he doesn't seem to have a clue as to what kind of treatment this woman needs. The conversations she has with the shrink are sort of funny. She seems to be comforting him and not the other way around.
Overall this is a really great start to a new series and I am very interested in seeing how Jamie Dallas's personality will develop and how she will use her unique talent to save the world. This one gets an A.
I’m an award-winning journalist and the author of the Detective Jackson mystery/suspense series: THE SEX CLUB, SECRETS TO DIE FOR, THRILLED TO DEATH, PASSIONS OF THE DEAD, DYING FOR JUSTICE, LIARS, CHEATERS & THIEVES, RULES OF CRIME, and CRIMES OF MEMORY.

I also have there standalone thrillers: THE BABY THIEF, THE GAUNTLET ASSASSIN, and THE LETHAL EFFECT. When not plotting murders, I enjoy cycling, social networking, performing standup comedy, and attending mystery conferences. I’ve also been known to jump out of airplanes.