The Highlander Who Protected Me

The Highlander Who Protected Me
The Highlander Who Protected Me by Vanessa Kelly

One Magical Christmas

One Magical Christmas
One Magical Christmas by Berni Stevens

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The Highlander Who Protected Me by Vanessa Kelly- Feature and Review + Giveaway






The Highlander Who Protected Me by Vanessa Kelly

Publication Date: October 30, 2018 Kensington Books Paperback & eBook; 352 Pages Series: Clan Kendrick, #1 Genre: Historical Romance/Scottish




   





READ AN EXCERPT.




 Bestselling author Vanessa Kelly returns with an enthralling new series about the men of the Kendrick clan—and the women who claim their hearts... Lady Ainsley Matthews, heiress and darling of the ton, was expected to make a magnificent match. Instead she’s hiding on a remote Scottish estate, terrified that her vicious former fiancé will use her pregnancy to force her into marriage. One man can help her—Royal Kendrick, son of a distinguished Highland clan. Though a mistake drove them apart long ago, Royal is the only person Ainsley trusts to protect her baby—even if that means agreeing to never see either of them again . . . Scarred in body and soul by war, Royal suddenly has a purpose—caring for an innocent babe and thereby helping the woman he can’t stop loving. But when Ainsley ultimately returns to Scotland, determined to be a real mother to her child in spite of the risk, there’s only one solution: marriage. And only one likely outcome: surrendering to the desire that’s simmered between them for so long, no matter how dangerous it may be...

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | iBooks | Google Play | IndieBound | Kobo




MY REVIEW:



The Highlander Who Protected Me (Clan Kendrick #1)The Highlander Who Protected Me by Vanessa Kelly
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Highlander Who Protected by Vanessa Kelly is a 2018 Zebra publication.

Serious subjects, but genuinely enchanting, delightfully humorous, and deeply romantic!

When Royal and Ainsley first meet, an obvious chemistry develops quickly. But, Ainsley is engaged to the Marquess of Cringlewood. However, when Royal realizes Ainsley despises her fiancé and is being forced into the marriage, he makes an impulsive decision that backfires horribly. The scandal causes Ainsley to run away to a remote Scottish estate to hide out for a while- or at least that’s the story she and her aunt are selling.

The truth is, Ainsley isn’t hiding from the scandal- she’s hiding her pregnancy. Needing to place her child with someone she can trust, she summons Royal, begging him to take the child and raise her as his own.

Recovering from physical and psychological war wounds, Royal finds a new purpose by raising this wonderful child. But, out of the blue, Ainsley tracks him down, explaining she has changed her mind. She wants to be a mother to her daughter and now wishes to marry Royal. Unable to resist the woman he is so hopelessly in love with, Royal agrees, even if the marriage is in name only. The marriage has a real chance, given Royal’s incredible patience, but, Ainsley’s parents and her former fiancé refuse to back down and let her live her life in peace.

I hate that I failed to get in on the “Improper Princess’ series, since apparently these characters were a part of that saga. But, this story works great as a stand- alone.

I fell for Royal right off the bat. Everyone knows I’m a sucker for the wounded and scarred hero. So, of course, he had that going for him automatically. However, his undying devotion to Ainsley, who would try anyone’s patience at times, was simply divine!

I enjoyed the banter between Ainsley and Royal, which is sharp, a little snarky, and sarcastic, slightly unconventional, but an awesome change of pace. They traded barbs in such a fun way, with the chemistry always sizzling just beneath the surface.
Ainsley’s story is a familiar one, and in today’s climate readers will immediately relate to her dilemma, the fallout of which, hasn’t improved a great deal, I’m sorry to say. But, she is a determined lady, holds her own against Royal’s curmudgeonly Grandfather, and her struggles with being a mother are all poignant and easy to relate to. Ainsley blooms and gains even more strength, as she faced adversity, maybe even surprising her own self, while Royal remains an oak, passing every test presented to him with flying colors- which is just the type of hero Ainsley needs. Ainsley has some character flaws, keeping things too close to the vest, for one, which wasn’t fair to Royal, but I thought she redeemed herself nicely.

This story captured my attention right away. I got caught up in the drama and suspense and had a hard time putting the book down. Thankfully, the story has a Scottish backdrop, which is a personal favorite of mine, and made this story even more appealing for me.

But, I must take the time to mention the difficult subject matter addressed in the book. Certain topics can be a slippery slope, needing just the right balance to avoid triggers, and maintain the gravity it requires, while keeping the tone light so the romance is enjoyable. Not an easy task. Kelly handled it beautifully, I thought.

I’m glad I got in on the ground floor of this new series. I think, if this book is any indication, it’s going to be a good one!!
 




ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Vanessa Kelly is the award-winning and USA Today bestselling author of The Improper Princesses series, The Renegade Royals Series and The Stanton Family series, in addition to other historical romances. Named by Booklist as one of the "New Stars of Historical Romance," she is a Maggie Medallion winner and is well known for developing vibrant Regency settings, appealing characters, and witty storylines that captivate readers. When she's not dreaming up plots for her next Regency historical novel, Vanessa is writing USA Today Bestselling contemporary romance with her husband under the pen name of V.K. Sykes. You can find Vanessa at vanessakellyauthor.com or at vksykes.com. For all of Vanessa's latest news and contests--and to receive a free story--please sign up for her newsletter on her website.

Clan Kendrick Facebook Group | Facebook Author Page | Pinterest | Twitter | Goodreads

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, October 30 Feature at Passages to the Past Wednesday, October 31 Review at Bibliophile Reviews Thursday, November 1 Excerpt at What Is That Book About Friday, November 2 Feature at Donna's Book Blog Excerpt at Clarissa Reads it All Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit Monday, November 5 Review at Let Them Read Books Tuesday, November 6 Feature at The Lit Bitch Feature at CelticLady's Reviews Wednesday, November 7 Feature at Maiden of the Pages Thursday, November 8 Review at A Bookish Affair Friday, November 9 Excerpt at Bookfever Interview at Passages to the Past Monday, November 12 Feature at Myths, Legends, Books & Coffee Pots Tuesday, November 13 Review at Pass Me That Book Wednesday, November 14 Feature at The Book Review Review at The Reading Woman

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour we will be giving away a print copy of either Three Weeks with a Princess or The Highlander's Princess Bride, plus a magnet, signed cover flats and a free digital download of the anthology, The Dukes of Vauxhall! To enter, please enter via the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on November 14th. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion. – Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

The Highlander Who Protected Me

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

One Magical Christmas by Berni Stevens- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:



Christmas magic doesn’t really exist – does it? When Annie Berry collides with Nik Knoll in a car park on the day of her sister’s wedding, it feels like all of Nik’s Christmases have come at once. Annie seems like just the sort of woman he’d like to get to know, and the chance nature of their encounter is almost like, well … Christmas magic. But Nik has a secret, and he has to be sure that he can trust Annie before he tells her. The problem is that this secret has a Christmas deadline, and time is running out …




READ AN EXCERPT:









MY REVIEW:


One Magical Christmas (Choc Lit): Start to love Christmas again with this magical read!One Magical Christmas (Choc Lit): Start to love Christmas again with this magical read! by Berni Stevens
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One Magical Christmas by Berni Stevens is a 2018 Choc lit publication.

Marvelously charming!!

Annie physically collides with Nik on her sister’s wedding day. Now, Annie wants to find out who that good-looking guy is!! With a little help from her sister, she finds a way to reconnect with him.

Annie works with animals and Nik runs a nursery, but also keeps an interesting assortment of animals, including a reindeer!

As Annie and Nik begin spending more time together, their relationship deepens, but Nik is hiding an explosive secret, one he must tell Annie before Christmas. However, he’s worried about Annie’s reaction once she learns the truth.

This is a short, sweet and super cute holiday romance. There’s a bit of intrigue tossed in, some cool animals, some mild drama, a little suspense, but mostly it’s about watching two people fall in love. Once Nik finally gets around to the big reveal, I was gobsmacked. How did I miss that? I don’t know, but I’m glad I didn’t see the surprise coming, because it was… you guessed it… magical!!

I really did enjoy this novella length story. The characters are quirky and fun, the atmosphere is whimsical, and the dialogue is adorably humorous. This cozy holiday romance will have you believing in the magic of the holiday season all over again! Recommended to everyone!!

GET YOUR COPY HERE:
https://www.amazon.com/One-Magical-Christmas-Choc-Lit-ebook/dp/B07H7LXNLC/

https://www.amazon.co.uk/One-Magical-Christmas-Choc-Lit-ebook/dp/B07H7LXNLC/


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:






Berni Stevens lives in a 400-year-old cottage in Hertfordshire UK, with her husband, black cat, three goldfish who think they're piranha, and occasionally her son when he needs feeding up! She trained in graphic design, and has worked as a book cover designer for over twenty-five years.

Her love of paranormal fiction began at school when she first read Bram Stoker's Dracula, and she's been a dedicated fan of the fanged ever since.
Berni is on the committee of The Dracula Society - a UK-based literary society for fans of gothic literature, film and theatre. She also designs their quarterly newsletter.
Berni works as a freelance cover designer both for publishers and self-published authors. Any 'spare' time is taken up with jazz dance and Zumba, going to rock concerts and hiking canyons every year in Utah.

Dance Until Dawn, a paranormal romance, was Berni's UK debut with award-winning publisher Choc Lit, was described by the Bookseller magazine as 'Good fun'. It's available in paperback, eBook and audio. The sequel, Revenge is Sweet, is available in all digital formats. The third novel in the series is almost complete, featuring many of the same characters from the first two books whilst concentrating on the trials and tribulations of a lovelorn werewolf.

Berni's first romantic comedy, One Magical Christmas, is available in all digital formats and audio, from 30 October 2018 and will restore your belief in magic - especially at the wonderful time of Christmas.

Berni also has several short stories published in anthologies - romantic ones, Gothic ones and sometimes simply fantasy!






Monday, November 12, 2018

The Wilding Sisters by Eve Chase- Feature and Review




ABOUT THE BOOK:

Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets.

When fifteen-year-old Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote Manor in June 1959, they expect a quiet English country summer. Instead, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. As the sisters become divided by new tensions when two handsome neighbors drop by, Margot finds herself drawn into the life Audrey left behind. When the summer takes a deadly turn, the girls must unite behind an unthinkable choice or find themselves torn apart forever.

Fifty years later, Jesse is desperate to move her family out of their London home, where signs of her widower husband’s previous wife are around every corner. Gorgeous Applecote Manor, nestled in the English countryside, seems the perfect solution. But Jesse finds herself increasingly isolated in their new sprawling home, at odds with her fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, and haunted by the strange rumors that surround the manor.

LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:

The Wildling SistersThe Wildling Sisters by Eve Chase
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Wildling Sisters by Eve Chase is a 2017 G.P. Putnam’s Sons publication.

The Wilde Sisters arrive at the Applecote manor in 1959 to spend the summer with their aunt. The girls, Dot, Flora, Pam, and Margot are close and protective of each other. But, their visit to the lovely country estate is dampened by their aunt’s struggle to overcome her daughter, Audrey’s disappearance, five years earlier. The mystery consumes the girls, but the closer they get to the truth, the closer they come to possible danger, and tensions begin to arise between them over two handsome boys.

Fifty years later, with the memory of her widower husband’s wife constantly surrounding her, Jesse is ready to escape the city. Not only that, her stepdaughter was involved in an ugly incident, which figured into her desire to move. Applecote Manor felt like the perfect place in the perfect setting at the perfect time.
However, trouble starts almost immediately. Her stepdaughter becomes increasingly difficult to handle, her husband is always away at work, and disturbing rumors about the house finally reach her ears. As her stepdaughter becomes nearly obsessed with the strange disappearance of a former resident, Jesse feels her life is slowly unraveling.

This is one of those books I was dying to read, but it just kept slipping down the TBR pile until I gradually lost track of it. Thankfully, while searching for another book in my voluminous Kindle folder, I happened across it and made a point to get started on it. I do recall hearing a lot of buzz about his book when it was first released. I have read other books by Eve Chase and was very impressed with her work. But, what drew me to this one was the constant effusive gushing about the novel’s strong Gothic tones. As a huge fan of Gothic novels, I’m going to have to cry foul on that one, just a little. Yes, there are a few Gothic elements, but I didn’t feel they were as strong or pure as many others have. I was slightly let down on that front, however, the story was very compelling, with dual timelines, and a very atmospheric and absorbing mystery to uncover.

As is usually the case for me, I was drawn more towards the historical elements of the story, but the present -day scenario, while not really adding a lot to the mystery, suggests a possible air of pending doom, which was quite effective, and may have been a slightly underrated element in the story.

The author wound the story around until the two timelines merged in a poignant way, slowly releasing the pent -up tensions, and bringing closure to all in a satisfying way.
I am glad this one didn’t drop completely off my radar. The story has a lot of familial touches, bringing the characters to life in a vivid and emotional way, drawing the reader into their world with lush writing, dialogue, and descriptions. Eve Chase once again impresses.


GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Wildling-Sisters-Eve-Chase/dp/0399174133/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-wildling-sisters-eve-chase/1125059689


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Eve Chase is the pseudonym of a journalist who has worked extensively across the British press. 

Eve Chase always wanted to write about families - ones that go wrong but somehow survive - and big old houses, where family secrets and untold stories seed in the crumbling stone walls. 

Black Rabbit Hall is such a story. 

She lives in Oxford, England with her husband and three children.

Monday Spotlight on -Murder Served Cold by Paula Williams





ABOUT THE BOOK:



A quiet English village where nothing ever happens.   Until…..
After her boyfriend runs out on her with the contents of their joint bank account, Kat Latcham has no choice but to return to the tiny Somerset village of Much Winchmoor where she grew up.  A place, she reckons, that is not so much sleepy as comatose and she longs for something to happen to lessen the boredom of living with her parents.
But when she and her childhood friend, Will Manning, discover a body and Will’s father, John, is arrested for the murder, Kat suddenly realises that she should have heeded the saying “Be careful what you wish for”.
Much Winchmoor is a hotbed of gossip and everyone is convinced John Manning is guilty.  Only Kat and Will believe he’s innocent.  When there’s a second murder Kat is sure she knows the identity of the murderer – and set out to prove it.  But in doing so she almost becomes the murderer’s third victim.
Readers of Sue Grafton might enjoy the Much Winchmoor series of cosy murder mysteries spiked with humour and sprinkled with romance.


FOLLOW THE TOUR:



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Paula Williams is living her dream.  She has written all her life – her earliest efforts involved blackmailing her unfortunate younger brothers into appearing in her plays and pageants. But it is only in recent years, when she turned her attention to writing short stories and serials for women's magazines that she discovered, to her surprise, that people with better judgement than her brothers actually liked what she wrote and were prepared to pay her for it.
Now, she writes every day in a lovely, book-lined study in her home in Somerset, where she lives with her husband and a handsome but not always obedient rescue Dalmatian called Duke.  She still writes for magazines but also now writes novels.  A member of both the Romantic Novelists' Association and the Crime Writers' Association, her novels often feature  a murder or two, and are always sprinkled with humour and spiced with a touch of romance.
She also writes a monthly column, Ideas Store, for the writers' magazine, Writers' Forum and has a blog at paulawilliamswriter.wordpress.com.  Her facebook author page is https://www.facebook.com/paula.williams.author . And she tweets at @paulawilliams44.
Not only that, but when she's not writing, she's either tutoring, leading writing workshops or giving talks on writing at writing festivals and conferences and to organised groups.  She's appeared several times on local radio - in fact, she'll talk about writing to anyone who'll stand still long enough to listen.
But, as with the best of dreams, she worries that one day she's going to wake up and find she still has to bully her brothers into reading 'the play what she wrote'.

Social Media Links –




Saturday, November 10, 2018

The Best Boomerville Hotel by Caroline James - Feature and Review


                                                           ABOUT THE BOOK:




Let the shenanigans begin at the Best Boomerville Hotel …
Jo Docherty and Hattie Contaldo have a vision – a holiday retreat in the heart of the Lake District exclusively for guests of ‘a certain age’ wishing to stimulate both mind and body with new creative experiences. One hotel refurbishment later and the Best Boomerville Hotel is open for business! 

Perhaps not surprisingly Boomerville attracts more than its fair share of eccentric clientele: there’s fun-loving Sir Henry Mulberry and his brother Hugo; Lucinda Brown, an impoverished artist with more ego than talent; Andy Mack, a charming Porsche-driving James Bond lookalike, as well as Kate Simmons, a woman who made her fortune from an internet dating agency but still hasn’t found ‘the One’ herself. 

With such an array of colourful individuals there’s bound to be laughs aplenty, but could there be tears and heartbreak too and will the residents get more than they bargained for at Boomerville?

MY REVIEW:



The Best Boomerville HotelThe Best Boomerville Hotel by Caroline James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Best Boomerville Hotel by Caroline James is a 2018 Ruby Fiction publication.

BFF’s Jo and Hattie decide to try something a little different, using their experience in the hospitality industry. Why not open a holiday retreat for guest of ‘a certain age’ offering them the chance to expand and exercise their minds and bodies?

Their first guests include Kate, a woman who ran a dating service, but never found her own ‘Mr. Right’, Andy Mack, a handsome James Bond lookalike, Lucinda, a poor, eccentric artist, and brothers, Henry and Hugo.

The staff and guests experience more adventures and drama than they signed up for, but their stay at the Boomerville Hotel just might give them a new lease on life.

“Somewhere in the Universe, there is someone, who will love us, understand us and kiss us and make it better.”

The cover of this book is adorable, and so is this story! As a woman of ‘a certain age’, I love seeing more stories centered around ‘mature’ characters. The guests and staff get involved in a few crazy antics, which are laugh out loud funny. But, there is also a dollop of suspense, and a whole lot of romantic intrigue.

Sometimes I get lucky and choose a book at just the right moment in time. With so much going on right now, the news is scary and so heartbreaking, turning to books is always a comfort. But, I’m wondering the Shaman in this story was working a little magic for me, as this story struck just the right chord, at just the right time. It was exactly the soothing balm my broken heart needed.

This is just a wonderfully warm and funny feel good story, laced with everything you want in a story. The characters are eclectic, a bit eccentric and quirky, each with a special backstory that brings them to life in a big way.

The pacing is brisk without compromising the development of the characters or the plot, but more importantly, it will leave you feeling like no matter what your age, it’s never too late to start over, to find love, or live life to its fullest. By the time I turned that last page, my spirits were lifted, and my mood was much lighter. What more could you ask for?




Purchase Links







Ibooks/Google:  https://goo.gl/2aq7sz




GIVEAWAY DETAILS:



a Rafflecopter giveaway


FOLLOW THE TOUR:






ABOUT THE AUTHOR:





Caroline James has owned and run businesses encompassing all aspects of the hospitality industry, a subject that features in her novels. She is based in the UK but has a great fondness for travel and escapes whenever she can. A public speaker, consultant and food writer, Caroline is a member of the Romantic Novelist’s Association and writes articles and short stories and contributes to many publications.



Her debut novel, Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy & Me is set in North West England, at the time of a famous gypsy horse fair.  The book went straight to number three on Amazon and was E-book of the Week in The Sun.



So, You Think You're A Celebrity...Chef? was runner up the Winchester Writers festival for best TV Drama and takes a light-hearted look at the world of celebrity chefs as they battle it out for fame and fortune. Coffee, Tea, The Caribbean & Me was runner up at The Write Stuff, LBF, 2015 and is an Amazon best-seller and top recommended read by Thomson Holidays. Jungle Rock, a romcom novella set in Australia, revolves around a TV game show.



In her spare time, Caroline can be found trekking up a mountain or relaxing with her head in a book and hand in a box of chocolates.



Caroline James Links:







Friday, November 9, 2018

The Big Inch by Kimberly Fish- Narrated by Sydney Young- Feature and Audio Review + Giveaway

THE BIG INCH
Misfits and Millionaires #1
by
KIMBERLY FISH Narrated by Sydney Young
   Genre: Historical Fiction / Romance / WWII Spies  Publisher: Fish Tales Publishing
Date of Publication: August 1, 2018
Length: 10 hours, 22 minutes


Scroll down for the giveaway!




Fans of Pam Jenoff, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Kate Quinn will want to read the first book in a sparkling WWII historical fiction series, The Big Inch. Lane Mercer is a spy recovering from a disastrous mission in France when she’s assigned to protect the interests of the new federal project sending American oil to the Allies. Thrown into the high-stakes world of Texas oilmen, she’s inventing maneuvers on the fly to outwit would be counter-intelligence and Fascist sympathizers. Complicating her mission is a handsome con-artist who manages to be under her feet at the most inopportune times. Trapped between trusting her gut or trusting her informers, Lane has to learn to navigate a town that is laced with more intrigue than she’d ever have guessed, and she soon discovers that the life she might have to save. . .is her own.
Kimberly Fish’s well-researched writing drops readers into the colorful world of the American home front known so well to those who lived alongside the Greatest Generation. Buy The Big Inch today to begin this exciting first novel in a WWII series set in Texas.








PRAISE FOR THE BIG INCH:



“Narrator Makes Book Exciting!” 
-- 5 Stars Review on Audible
“Kimberly Fish’s writing style snatched me out of my easy chair.” 
-- Vickie Phelps, author of Moved, Left No Address
“Kimberly Fish has a gift for combining conflict, emotion, and characterization to create a compelling story.” 
-- Louis Gouge, author of Love Inspired Historical Four Star Ranch series








MY REVIEW:

The Big Inch (Misfits and Millionaires #1)The Big Inch by Kimberly Fish
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Big Inch by Kimberly Fish is a 2017 publication.

Fascinating world war two intrigue- Texas style!

Lane Mercer’s new assignment sends her to Longview, Texas. Her mission is the keep an eye on the man in charge of the crucial pipeline that will send fuel to the troops, a necessity due to the probable German interception.

As Lane arrives in Texas, she is a still a bit rattled by the failure of her previous mission and is suffering from what we would now recognize as PTSD. As Lane settles into the East Texas community, she finds herself involved in all manner of small -town dramas, while standing up and speaking out against racism, and even lands herself in the middle of a love triangle. She also finds her current assignment to be more of a challenge than she expected.

Although, Lane may have been feeling tender and fragile when we first meet her, she’s pretty quick on her feet, and has an uncanny power of observation. As the story progresses, she rises to the occasion, shows her true mettle, and is one of the most determined women you will ever meet!

I loved this story! I’m a huge fan of historical fiction, and while I do try very hard to support Texas authors and love books set in Texas, I haven’t stumbled across any quite like this one. For those who are unaware, the pipeline the book is named after was finally given the green light after the United States entered the second world war. It was crucial because without it the Germans could intercept our oil shipments which the troops needed to do their jobs. So, Lane’s job was to see that the pipeline was not sabotaged. Her target, however, proves difficult to keep in her sights, and it turns out there is a great deal of intrigue going on in Longview, Texas, which was humorous as it was suspenseful, at times.

One minor complaint is the pacing with is just a little slow in some places, but the story is quite absorbing despite a few ebbs and flows.

Of course, for me, the big old softie, with a penchant for love stories, I was thrilled by the romantic elements in the story. Lane is a very sought- after young lady, but she’s also very independent and her career is her number one priority. While one may secretly root for one or more of Lane’s romantic prospects, I was very pleased with her choice.

Since I am reviewing the audio version of the book, I should mention the narration and the quality of the audio.

If you get the chance to add the audio, I do highly recommend it. The narrator has a very pleasing voice, and her southern inflections were nicely done. I felt as though I got a clearer picture of Lane in my mind with the audio version and could truly envision her character in the many unique scenarios in which she found herself in.

The story held my attention, which is something I occasionally struggle with while listening to an audiobook, as my mind does occasionally wander. However, I found myself listening to this one, very intently.  I looked forward to my daily sessions with Lane and couldn’t wait to see what would happen next in the story.

Overall, this is a terrific story centered around real events, and as a Texas resident, I enjoyed the setting and learned a bit more about Texas history, which is always fun. If you are a fan of historical fiction, I highly recommend this one! It has a bit of something for everyone, and Lane is a terrific character that will stay with you long after you finish the book!


CLICK TO PURCHASE
◆ Amazon ◆ Audible 
  




Kimberly Fish has been a professional writer in marketing and media for almost 30 years. In the course of research for the Longview Chamber of Commerce 100-year compilation, she stumbled across a 1940s federal works project that was too good, too war-winning, not to be retold to modern audience. In 2017, she released The Big Inch, her first WWII spy thriller detailing the crazy, big pipeline project that fueled the Allies to a win in Europe. The Big Inch has also been released as an audio download on Audible. That eye-opening novel was so consumed by readers, she quickly followed it with a second WWII spy thriller set in Longview, Harmon General. Both of these novels will be helpful to her work with the City of Longview’s 150th birthday celebrations which begin in January of 2020. Comfort Plans, a contemporary novel also set in Texas, continues her love of history by weaving old letters into the renovation of an iconic Hill Country farmhouse.  Kimberly enjoys speaking on the value of weaving history and nostalgia into our plans as we grow our communities for the future. 


 ║ Website ║ Facebook  Twitter InstagramGoodreads  ║ Pinterest Amazon Author Page   




Sydney Young is a lawyer, award-winning writer and audio book narrator from the Lone Star State. Her next theatrical project will be directing “SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE,” for the Paris Community Theatre stage (Feb. 2019), while her novel “I AM HOUSTON,” is being submitted for publication by the Loiacono Literary Agency. Sydney has long been a reading advocate, including with her readings to an adopted second grade class each year. She loved voicing THE BIG INCH for all of its authentic Texas voices and true characters, all while she learned the history of the East Texas oil effort for World War II.  Visit Sydney’s website for more information on her writings, theatre, and audio books.
║ Website ║ Facebook ║ Instagram ║ Twitter 








-------------------------------------
GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!
ONE WINNER!  Choice of Audio or Signed Print Copy of The Big Inch  + $25 Amazon Gift Card + a WWII Themed Surprise Gift! NOVEMBER 5-12, 2018
VISIT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR:
11/5/18
Joint Guest Post
11/6/18
Audio Book Review
11/7/18
Audio Book Review
11/8/18
Narrator Interview
11/9/18
Audio Book Review
11/10/18
Audio Book Review
11/11/18
Guest Post
11/12/18
Audio Book Review
11/12/18
Audio Book Review
   blog tour services provided by