The Marriage Lie

The Marriage Lie
The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle

Close to Home

Close to Home
Close to Home by Lily Everett

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

"Perfectly paced, highly suspenseful, and heart-rending...enthralling right up to the shocking final twist." -A. J. Banner, Amazon #1 bestselling author of The Good Neighbor 

Everyone has secrets... 
Iris and Will have been married for seven years, and life is as close to perfect as it can be. But on the morning Will flies out for a business trip to Florida, Iris's happy world comes to an abrupt halt: another plane headed for Seattle has crashed into a field, killing everyone on board and, according to the airline, Will was one of the passengers. 

Grief stricken and confused, Iris is convinced it all must be a huge misunderstanding. Why did Will lie about where he was going? And what else has he lied about? As Iris sets off on a desperate quest to uncover what her husband was keeping from her, the answers she finds shock her to her very core.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT: 





MY REVIEW: 





The Marriage LieThe Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle is a 2017 MIRA publication.

Wow! The Marriage Lie is an outstanding domestic thriller that captured my attention from page one and never let go.

Iris and Will are happily married, blissful, even, until Will leaves town on a business trip. As word trickles back to her that Will may have been on an ill-fated flight, Iris discovers her husband may not be the man she thought he was. As she peels away the layers of the foundation her marriage was built upon, one shocking revelation after another is unearthed, until Iris finds herself in deep trouble, unsure what or whom to believe or trust.

Was Will on the plane that crashed? Could he still be alive? If so, why did he lie to her? Did Will place Iris in danger?

The stories centered around double lives or big secrets revealed after the sudden death of a spouse has always drawn me into their web. This story, however, did not employ that slow, steady, atmospheric pacing some domestic or psychological thrillers use in these instances. This book charges from the gate and maintains a breakneck speed, but still captures that atmospheric tone that makes your spine tingle with the anticipation, knowing something truly sinister is afoot.

The characters really stand out in this one. Iris’s emotional turmoil is palpable and felt truly genuine. The secondary characters are also well drawn and made a terrific supporting cast.

I had heard good things about this book, but, I never imagined it would be this good.

I highly recommend this one to fans of psychological thrillers/ domestic thrillers, or to anyone who enjoys a taut novel of suspense.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Marriage-Lie-Bestselling-Domestic-Suspense-ebook/dp/B01EF02ZUS/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-marriage-lie-kimberly-belle/1123431375

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

Kimberly Belle is the international bestselling author of three novels: The Last Breath, The Ones We Trust, and The Marriage Lie. A graduate of Agnes Scott College, Kimberly worked in marketing and nonprofit fundraising before turning to writing fiction. She lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and currently divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. 

Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), Instagram (@KimberlySBelle) or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Mayhem by Sarah Pinborough- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

A new killer is stalking the streets of London’s East End. Though newspapers have dubbed him ‘the Torso Killer’, this murderer’s work is overshadowed by the hysteria surrounding Jack the Ripper’s Whitechapel crimes.

The victims are women too, but their dismembered bodies, wrapped in rags and tied up with string, are pulled out of the Thames – and the heads are missing. The murderer likes to keep them.

Mayhem is a masterwork of narrative suspense: a supernatural thriller set in a shadowy, gaslit London, where monsters stalk the cobbled streets and hide in plain sight.



READ AN EXCERPT:






MY REVIEW:






MayhemMayhem by Sarah Pinborough
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mayhem by Sarah Pinborough is a 2014 Jo Fletcher Books publication.

The Torso murders seemed to coincide with the infamous Jack the Ripper case in 1887-1889. But, due to the media sensation the Ripper murders caused, the Thames River case seemed to go mostly unnoticed.

This book is loosely based on those real- life crimes, but offers a paranormal tint to the story that heightens the already heavy sense of evil, which was an element I wasn’t expecting.

So, while this is a historical mystery, it could also be considered a horror novel. The author did a wonderful job of capturing the time period, creating the atmosphere of a city on edge, terrified of the horrific, and graphic murders plaguing London.

The main character is Doctor Bond, a man battling an opium addiction and the visions the drug brings about. When he is called to the scene of these horrific crimes, he recognizes a man he has seen in some of the opium dens he frequents. Coincidence? Apparently not. Bond discovers the man is a priest who is not only hunting the torso killer, but something far more evil. As the two join forces, Bond will discover that evil lurks much closer to him than ever could have imagined.

When I checked this book out of the library I didn’t realize the book had a supernatural tone, thinking it was a straightforward historical mystery and crime novel. Horror novels are not really a favorite of mine these days, but this one was very, very absorbing.

It’s creepy and suspenseful, with well drawn characters, who are each haunted in one way or another, but determined to contain the evil in their midst. In the end, I had to admit, this was a chillingly spooky novel that I appreciated more than I would have thought.



GET YOUR COPY HERE:


https://www.amazon.com/Mayhem-Sarah-Pinborough/dp/1623650860/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mayhem-sarah-pinborough/1114844942

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Sarah Pinborough is a critically acclaimed adult and YA author based in London.

Sarah was the 2009 winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Short Story and also the 2010 and 2014 winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Novella, and she has four times been short-listed for Best Novel. She is also a screenwriter who has written for the BBC and has several original television projects in development.

Her next novel, Behind Her Eyes, coming for HarperFiction in the UK and Flatiron in the US (January 2017) has sold in nearly 20 territories worldwide and is a dark thriller about relationships with a kicker of a twist.

You can follow her on Twitter @sarahpinborough

Monday, February 20, 2017

Black Wings has my Angel by Elliot Chaze- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Chaze's long-lost noir classic, a legend among noir buffs, is back in print for the first time in nearly half a century. The one book Black Lizard never published, it's the dream-like tale of a man after a jailbreak, who meets up with the woman of his dreams... and his nightmares. Phenomenal work of the period, ranking with the best efforts of Thompson, Woolrich, Goodis et al.


READ AN EXCERPT:



MY REVIEW:



Black Wings Has My AngelBlack Wings Has My Angel by Elliott Chaze
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Black Wings has my Angel by Elliot Chaze is a NYRB Classics publication.


I ran across a post on PEN America about this book a few weeks back. It was originally published back in 1953 and is considered to be a ‘lost classic’, a book that is not necessarily well known to mainstream noir audiences, but is now considered to be one of the best crime novels written in the prime of pulp fiction. Its reputation has become almost mythic, apparently, but I had never heard of it, so as a collector and lover of noir crime novels I began to search for a copy.

So, did the book live up to its reputation?

I have to say the book is definitely a winner, even though there are some problems with the plot.

‘Tim’, after his stint in prison, plans to pull off a caper that will leave him set for life financially.
But, of course, things do not exactly work out quite the way he planned, due in part, to his having made the acquaintance of Virginia, a woman with a troubled past, who gets under his skin and quickly turns into an obsession.

After a bumpy start to their relationship, the two end up as partners in crime. The couple’s relationship is volatile, but the two flawed characters play well against each other in class noir fashion.

For fans of pulp fiction or noir this book is almost a textbook example of those genres, and may put you in mind of Jim Thompson, in some ways. It's gritty and dark, juxtaposed against a vivid scenic backdrop and occasional sprinkles of humor. It’s harsh, but has style, and despite its brevity, really packs a punch.

I was amazed by the storytelling and am so glad I stumbled across it!

GET YOUR COPY  HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Black-Wings-Has-My-Angel-ebook/dp/B009AHRZRU/


http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/black-wings-has-my-angel-elliot-chaze/1101061528

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Elliott Chaze ( 1915-1990) was an old-school newspaperman who began his journalism career with the New Orleans Bureau of the Associated Press shortly before Pearl Harbor,  worked for a time for AP's Devnver office after paratrooper service in world war two, and then migrated south to Mississippi, where he spent twenty years as reporter and award-winning columnist and ten years as city editor with the Harriesburg American.


\

Friday, February 17, 2017

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:


What does “feminism” mean today? That is the question at the heart of We Should All Be Feminists, a personal, eloquently-argued essay—adapted from her much-viewed TEDx talk of the same name—by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the award-winning author of Americanah and Half of a Yellow Sun

With humor and levity, here Adichie offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century—one rooted in inclusion and awareness. She shines a light not only on blatant discrimination, but also the more insidious, institutional behaviors that marginalize women around the world, in order to help readers of all walks of life better understand the often masked realities of sexual politics. Throughout, she draws extensively on her own experiences—in the U.S., in her native Nigeria, and abroad—offering an artfully nuanced explanation of why the gender divide is harmful for women and men, alike. 

Argued in the same observant, witty and clever prose that has made Adichie a bestselling novelist, here is one remarkable author’s exploration of what it means to be a woman today—and an of-the-moment rallying cry for why we should all be feminists.



LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:






MY REVIEW:


We Should All Be FeministsWe Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

We Should All be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a 2014 Random House publication. I was provided a copy of this book by Quarterly Literary fiction box. (https://quarterly.co/products/literar...)


A thousand times I have intended to get a copy of this essay, but always got distracted before following through.

Recently, I discovered this book was both influential and inspirational to Britt Bennett, author of ‘The Mothers.’ So, with her stamp of approval added to the overwhelmingly favorable reviews posted, I finally sat down and read through this award winning essay.


THIS!!

This published essay is adapted from the author’s TED talk by the same name, which I haven’t seen. But the work is obviously written from the heart and although the author and I are from entirely different worlds, our thought process is exactly the same.

So, often I have lamented the lack of instruction our young men have in regards to proper behavior and treatment of women. Boys will be boys, is still so common and accepted, and yes, we must do better!!

I loved the message here, which is inspirational, but also eloquently pleads the case for feminism, dispelling that common stereotype the word conjures up for many people.

I assure you, I am not loud, shrill, or preachy, and definitely do not hate men. But, I have had to fight the same battles for equality and fair treatment over the years and can relate to the author’s arguments and personal experiences.

“If we do something over and over again, it becomes normal. If only boys are made class monitor, then at some point we will all think, at least unconsciously, that the class monitor has to be a boy.”

This is true, and can be applied to many situations in life, requiring diligence on our part to avoid becoming complacent or accepting of certain behaviors.

I could go on and on about the wisdom and insight of this essay, but I want you to read it for yourself and pass it along, not only to your daughters, but to your sons as well.


GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/We-Should-All-Be-Feminists/dp/110191176X/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/We%20Should%20All%20Be%20Feminists


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:





Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a Nigerian author. Her best known novels are Purple Hibiscus (2003)Half of a Yellow Sun (2006), and Americanah (2013).

She was born in Enugu, Nigeria, the fifth of six children to Igbo parents. She studied medicine and pharmacy at the University of Nigeria for a year and a half. At nineteen, Chimamanda left for the U.S. to study communication at Drexel University in Philadelphia for two years, then went on to pursue a degree in communication and political science at Eastern Connecticut State University. Chimamanda graduated summa cum laude from Eastern in 2001, and then completed a master's degree in creative writing at Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore.

It was during her senior year at Eastern that she started working on her first novel, Purple Hibiscus , which was published in October 2003. 

Chimamanda was a Hodder fellow at Princeton University during the 2005-2006 academic year, and earned an MA in African Studies from Yale University in 2008.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

The Mothers - A Novel by Brit Bennett- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

A dazzling debut novel from an exciting new voice, The Mothers is a surprising story about young love, a big secret in a small community—and the things that ultimately haunt us most. Set within a contemporary black community in Southern California, Brit Bennett’s mesmerizing first novel is an emotionally perceptive story about community, love, and ambition. It begins with a secret.

“All good secrets have a taste before you tell them, and if we’d taken a moment to swish this one around our mouths, we might have noticed the sourness of an unripe secret, plucked too soon, stolen and passed around before its season.”

It is the last season of high school life for Nadia Turner, a rebellious, grief-stricken, seventeen-year-old beauty. Mourning her own mother’s recent suicide, she takes up with the local pastor’s son. Luke Sheppard is twenty-one, a former football star whose injury has reduced him to waiting tables at a diner. They are young; it’s not serious. But the pregnancy that results from this teen romance—and the subsequent cover-up—will have an impact that goes far beyond their youth. As Nadia hides her secret from everyone, including Aubrey, her God-fearing best friend, the years move quickly. Soon, Nadia, Luke, and Aubrey are full-fledged adults and still living in debt to the choices they made that one seaside summer, caught in a love triangle they must carefully maneuver, and dogged by the constant, nagging question: What if they had chosen differently? The possibilities of the road not taken are a relentless haunt.

In entrancing, lyrical prose, The Mothers asks whether a “what if” can be more powerful than an experience itself. If, as time passes, we must always live in servitude to the decisions of our younger selves, to the communities that have parented us, and to the decisions we make that shape our lives forever.
 




LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:







MY REVIEW:



The MothersThe Mothers by Brit Bennett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Mothers by Brit Bennett is a 2016 Riverhead publication.

This is another one of those ‘buzz’ books I wouldn’t ordinarily read, but my curiosity got the better of me, but I just had to see for myself why the book garnered such high praise.

The ‘Mothers’ are the women of Upper Room Chapel who basically gossip about the members of the church and keep track of the families who attend.

They narrate the story of Nadia, Luke, and Audrey, three young black people living in Southern California. Their lives interconnect during pivotal points in their young lives, forging strong emotional bonds, in the process, but the decisions made in their youth, the secrets they keep, will haunt them all through their adult lives.

The story is very emotional, the characters filled with a deep longing, regret, and desire. The reader is like a spectator as the characters live through life’s ups and downs, make life altering choices, experience love, friendship, betrayal, and cope with the consequences. Life is not a fairy tale and this story demonstrates how, despite our best efforts, life throws us curve balls that upend all our good intentions, sending us off in directions we never envisioned.

This is not a resolvable, wrapped up in a nice neat little bow, happily ever after type novel. It's a sad story, but one that describes life and the repercussions of our decisions. The writing is sharp, but, deep character analysis is minimal. I felt like, instead of reading, I was watching all this on television or something, or like I was on the outside looking in. The inner thoughts of the characters are not prevalent, which is something I wished for.

Still, I do appreciate that this is a debut novel, and the author certainly has some writing chops, and I do see why the story, with its contemporary setting, its boldness, the contrasts of religion with difficult topics, like abortion, resonates with readers.

Overall, this is an impressive debut, and I am glad I gave the book a try. Brit Bennett is definitely an author to keep an eye on.

* I received a copy of this book from https://quarterly.co/products/literar....

What makes our box extra special is that the author will write 15-20 annotations on post-its throughout their novel, so the reader will get an exclusive behind-the-scenes look, if you will, at their creative writing process.


Here's the link more information as well: https://quarterly.co/products/literar...



GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Mothers-Novel-Brit-Bennett-ebook/dp/B01BD1SSO4/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-mothers-brit-bennett/1123351731

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Born and raised in Southern California, Brit Bennett graduated from Stanford University and earned her MFA in fiction at the University of Michigan, where she won a Hopwood Award in Graduate Short Fiction as well as the 2014 Hurston/Wright Award for College Writers. She is a National Book Foundation "5 under 35" honoree, and her essays are featured in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Paris Review, and Jezebel.

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

The Dry by Jane Harper- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Luke Hadler turns a gun on his wife and child, then himself. The farming community of Kiewarra is facing life and death choices daily. If one of their own broke under the strain, well...

When Federal Police investigator Aaron Falk returns to Kiewarra for the funerals, he is loath to confront the people who rejected him twenty years earlier. But when his investigative skills are called on, the facts of the Hadler case start to make him doubt this murder-suicide charge.

And as Falk probes deeper into the killings, old wounds start bleeding into fresh ones. For Falk and his childhood friend Luke shared a secret... A secret Falk thought long-buried... A secret which Luke's death starts to bring to the surface...


READ AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:


The DryThe Dry by Jane Harper
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Dry by Jane Harper is a 2017 Flatiron Books publication.

This is my kind of mystery/thriller!

When Aaron returns to his hometown to attend the funeral of his childhood friend, Luke, he intends to make a retreat back to his life as a federal agent, as quickly as possible.

But, Luke’s grieving parents ask him to use his talents to look into Luke’s financial affairs, in hopes of finding answers as to why their son killed his wife and son and then shot himself. The chances are slim to none that Aaron will find anything to ease their pain, but he feels he owes them a favor, so he agrees to stick around a few more days.

Before long, Aaron finds himself partnered up with a local investigator in an all-out search for clues that would shed light on the events leading up to the murder/ suicide. In the process, they uncover startling evidence that will change everything they thought they knew.


The Australian location, in a town suffering through a severe drought, where the heat is nearly unbearable, has the entire town unusually edgy, which paints a combustible atmosphere riddled with irritable tension from start to finish.

The shocking murder/ suicide is a compelling mystery full of unexpected revelations and surprising twists, but the secondary thread that takes up equal space in the novel, is a haunting cold case story centered around the death of a friend of Luke’s and Aaron’s back in their youth. Aaron and his father were both suspects in the girl’s death, and left town under a cloud of suspicion. Can Aaron find out what really happened after all this time?

Dual storylines can be tricky, but both stories weave between the past and present with amazing fluidity. The story is bleak, almost gloomy at times, with little or no relief along the way, but the characterizations are so vivid and the story so taut, the heaviness became an asset and is part of what made the story so absorbing and moody, along with all the hidden small town motives, suspicions and secrets that came roiling to surface.

While the subject matter may not be for the faint of heart, with such dark and emotional themes at play, the story has practically everything fans of this genre could ask for. It’s a police procedural in some ways, a twisty psychological thriller in others, with strong suspense and thriller elements added into the mix for good measure.


The exceptional writing provides a wealth of depth, which sets this one apart from the typical mystery thriller. I am tingling with anticipation for the next book in this series! I think Aaron Falk is going to be big hit.


GET YOUR COPY HERE:


https://www.amazon.com/Dry-Novel-Jane-Harper-ebook/dp/B01BSN15F6/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-dry-jane-harper/1123133028

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Jane Harper's debut novel The Dry is an atmospheric thriller set in regional Australia.
The novel won the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript in 2015 and rights have since been sold in more than 20 territories.
The Dry was a No.1 bestseller in Australia and has been optioned for a film by Reese Witherspoon and Bruna Papandrea's production company, Pacific Standard.
Jane worked as a print journalist for 13 years both in Australia and the UK and lives in Melbourne with her family.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

The Tsar of Love and Techno by Anthony Marra- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena—dazzling, poignant, and lyrical interwoven stories about family, sacrifice, the legacy of war, and the redemptive power of art.
This stunning, exquisitely written collection introduces a cast of remarkable characters whose lives intersect in ways both life-affirming and heartbreaking. A 1930s Soviet censor painstakingly corrects offending photographs, deep underneath Leningrad, bewitched by the image of a disgraced prima ballerina. A chorus of women recount their stories and those of their grandmothers, former gulag prisoners who settled their Siberian mining town. Two pairs of brothers share a fierce, protective love. Young men across the former USSR face violence at home and in the military. And great sacrifices are made in the name of an oil landscape unremarkable except for the almost incomprehensibly peaceful past it depicts. In stunning prose, with rich character portraits and a sense of history reverberating into the present, The Tsar of Love and Techno is a captivating work from one of our greatest new talents.
 

LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:


The Tsar of Love and TechnoThe Tsar of Love and Techno by Anthony Marra
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Tsar of Love and Techno: Stories by Anthony Marra is a 2015 Hogarth publication.

I confess I had no idea what to expect from this book. It was recommended to me by a friend on social media and due to the topic of conversation we were having at the time, I got the wrong impression about the book’s premise.

So, suffice it to say, I was taken aback by this collection of short stories that were interconnected by paintings, photography and various other art forms as it spans an enormous period of time beginning in the 1930’s.

The writing is splendid, if somewhat unorthodox, bouncing between first and third narratives on occasion. There are nine stories, all bold and haunting, filled with stunning characterizations, and thankfully a little humor was sprinkled in to offset the somberness.

While the Soviet totalitarian regime is an underlying theme, the story's message, in part, was about how artistic skills and talents can and were used to resist, to offer comfort, or find peace.

Everyone who knows me well, will tell you that tearjerkers are not my cup of tea. I loathe them. Emotion is fine, but sadness that brings me to the brink of tears, is not the type of entertainment I usually seek out. But, this is an instance where I am glad I stuck it out and endured some emotional bruising, just so I could enjoy this amazingly fantastic prose, and such rich characterizations.

I also understand now why my friend recommended this book and believed it relevant to current events and concerns.

Overall, this is a very unique novel that is certainly off the beaten path from my usual reading fare, but one was very pleased to have made the acquaintance of.

GET  YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Tsar-Love-Techno-Stories-ebook/dp/B00RKO3UOM/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-tsar-of-love-and-techno-anthony-marra/1120956098

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


ANTHONY MARRA is the winner of a Whiting Award, Pushcart Prize, and the Narrative Prize. A Constellation of Vital Phenomena won the 2014 National Book Critics Circle’s inaugural John Leonard Prize and the 2014 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award in fiction, as well as the inaugural 2014 Carla Furstenberg Cohen Fiction Award. Marra’s novel was a National Book Award long list selection as well as a shortlist selection for the Flaherty-Dunnan first novel prize. In addition, his work has been anthologized in The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2012. He received an MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and was a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, where he teaches as the Jones Lecturer in Fiction. He has lived and studied in Eastern Europe, and now resides in Oakland, CA. A Constellation of Vital Phenomena is his first novel.