The Outsider

The Outsider
The Outsider by Stephen King

Poetic Justice

Poetic Justice
Poetic Justice by H.B. Moore

Friday, June 15, 2018

FLASHBACK FRIDAY: Nora Roberts Land by Ava Miles- Feature and Review

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Journalist Meredith Hale’s ex-husband claimed her Nora Roberts addiction gave her unrealistic expectations about marriage, and she believed him. All dreams of happily ever after—or Nora Roberts Land as her mother calls it—went up in smoke. But when her family asks her to temporarily help their Dare Valley, Colorado newspaper, she decides it’s time to change her life and prove her ex wrong. She’s determined to find her own small-town Nora Roberts hero, prove that true love exists, and publish a story about her quest.

War correspondent Tanner McBride has just returned stateside to work for a major newspaper, and the last thing he expects is blackmail. Yet, before he can even unpack, he’s headed to Colorado. His assignment? Make his boss’s ex-wife fall for him and then break her heart. Her article about discovering love à la Nora might air dirty laundry about her marriage to the media mogul, threatening his senate run. The mogul wants Meredith stopped, and he makes sure Tanner has no choice in the matter.

When the two meet, the sparks between them are undeniable. Meredith, who vowed never to date another journalist, begins to succumb. Could Tanner be her Nora Roberts hero? As they work together to uncover the truth behind a suspicious death, the depth of their feelings unfolds and both realize they’ve kept their secrets for far too long. But before the truth can be revealed, their investigation takes a deadly turn, one that might make Meredith’s personal Nora Roberts Land go up in flames.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:


 



MY REVIEW:


Nora Roberts Land (Dare Valley, #1)Nora Roberts Land by Ava Miles
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Nora Roberts Land by Ava Miles is a 2013 publication.

Meredith's husband, " Rick the Dick", told her reading that Nora Roberts novels gave her unrealistic expectations about love and marriage. When she finds herself divorced, she thinks maybe her ex- husband was right. There was no happy ever after in real life.

When her family needs some help running the Dare Valley newspaper in Colorado, Meredith gets an idea. Maybe she can prove Rick was wrong about Nora Roberts, and 'happily ever afters'. To that end, Meredith decides to do an article on the subject which makes Rick mighty nervous. Why? Well, Rick is running for a seat in the Senate and if Meredith's article comes out it could make him look bad and even expose some dark secrets that would ruin his political career. The solution? Tanner McBride.

Tanner has returned to the states after being a war correspondent.. His first assignment upon returning home? To seduce his boss's ex-wife, make her fall in love with him and then dump her, proving once and for all that true love only happens in fairy tales... or in Nora Roberts Land.

Why would a seasoned journalist like Tanner take on such an assignment? Blackmail of course. It seems Rick has some sordid information on Tanner's brother that he will make public if Tanner doesn't follow through. So, Tanner finds himself in Dare Valley, Colorado. When he meets his target, he knows his heart is in big trouble.  So, will Tanner be able to find a way out of this situation or will he have to break Meredith's heart to protect his family?

While Tanner is laying the ground work on getting to know Meredith, a suspicious death occurs which has some people thinking a coverup is underway. When Meredith and Tanner begin asking questions they wind up putting themselves in danger.

Now, if the name of the book doesn't grab you, I don't know what will. Ava Miles takes a page from the modern queen of romance authors and creates her very own masterpiece while paying homage to true love and happy ever after.

Meredith really took her divorce hard. She vowed never to become involved with a journalist again. When Tanner arrives in Dare Valley, Meredith is dating every man she can looking for a real life 'book boyfriend'.  While her sister, Jill, and her grandfather all insist Tanner is perfect for her, she still holds out... well, as long as she can anyway.

While Tanner is trying to protect his family by going along with this farce, I think deep down in his soul he knows he can't really crush Meredith like her ex husband wants him to. He just doesn't know now to extricate himself from the situation without someone getting hurt.

The secondary characters help to round out the novel and set up the scenario for the next book in the series which will feature Meredith's sister, Jill, and her best friend, Brian.

I really, really, really, enjoyed this book! Meredith went from panic attacks to taking on 'Rick the Dick' with dignity, intelligence and grace, all while proving that even if Prince Charming is just a fairytale, true love is real and not just in Nora Roberts Land.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Nora-Roberts-Land-Valley-Novel/dp/1940565464/

THIS BOOK IS ALSO AVAILABLE WITH YOUR KINDLE UNLIMITED SUBSCRIPTION! 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



International Bestselling Author Ava Miles joined the ranks of beloved storytellers with her powerful messages of healing, mystery, and magic. Millions of readers have discovered her fiction and nonfiction books, praised by USA TODAY and Publisher’s Weekly. Women’s World Magazine has selected a few of her novels for their book clubs while Southwest Airlines featured the #1 National Bestseller NORA ROBERTS LAND (the name used with Ms. Roberts’ blessing) in its in-flight entertainment. Ava’s books have been chosen as Best Books of the Year and Top Editor’s Picks and are translated into multiple languages.

Sign up for Ava's newsletter at www.avamiles.com/newsletter/

Join Ava on Faceboook at www.facebook.com/authoravamiles

Follow Ava on twitter at www.twitter.com/authoravamiles

Visit Ava's website at www.avamiles.com

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/7133520.Ava_Miles

Thursday, June 14, 2018

InD'tale Magazine Spotlight at The Book Review- Poetic Justice by H.B. Moore- Feature Spotlight



ABOUT THE BOOK:
READ THE OFFICIAL BOOK BLURB:

Justice comes in all types, but justice always comes.

Claire Vetra is looking for two men. The first man she’ll kill. The second man she’ll also kill—after she makes him watch as she destroys everything he’s ever built.

This is only the start of her revenge against the World Alliance Order, which held her hostage for a year and subjected her to live human testing in the name of medical science.

But when Claire begins to unravel her past, she discovers that unlocking the memories of what happened to her might destroy the remaining shreds of her sanity.


REVIEW TEASER:

Poetic Justice is a smart, exciting, fast paced thriller.  Secret societies, medical experiments, double crosses, and mountains of intrigue will keep the reader on the edge of their seats.

For the FULL REVIEW and BUY LINKS click here:

http://magazine.indtale.com/magazine/2018/april/viewer/desktop/#page/90

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Heather B. Moore is a USA Today bestselling author of more than a dozen historical novels and thrillers, written under pen name H.B. Moore. She writes women's fiction, romance and inspirational non-fiction under Heather B. Moore. This can all be confusing, so her kids just call her Mom. Heather attended Cairo American College in Egypt, the Anglican School of Jerusalem in Israel, and earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Brigham Young University in Utah.

Alternate Goodreads Page: Heather B. Moore
Please join Heather's email list at: http://hbmoore.com/contact/
Blog: http://mywriterslair.blogspot.com
Website: www.hbmoore.com
Twitter: @heatherbmoore
Facebook: Fans of H.B. Moore

Literary awards: 3-time Best of State Recipient for Best in Literary Arts, 3-time Whitney Award Winner, and 2-time Golden Quill Award Winner
 

FOR MORE GREAT FEATURES, INTERVIEWS, SPOTLIGHTS AND REVIEWS BE SURE TO SUBSCRIBE TO InD'Tale Magazine-

http://www.indtale.com/


Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Why Kill the Innocent by C. S. Harris- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

In the newest mystery from the national bestselling author of Where the Dead Lie, a brutal murder draws Sebastian St. Cyr into the web of the royal court, where intrigue abounds and betrayal awaits.

London, 1814. As a cruel winter holds the city in its icy grip, the bloody body of a beautiful young musician is found half-buried in a snowdrift. Jane Ambrose's ties to Princess Charlotte, the only child of the Prince Regent and heir presumptive to the throne, panic the palace, which moves quickly to shut down any investigation into the death of the talented pianist. But Sebastian St. Cyr, Viscount Devlin, and his wife Hero refuse to allow Jane's murderer to escape justice. 

Untangling the secrets of Jane's world leads Sebastian into a maze of dangerous treachery where each player has his or her own unsavory agenda and no one can be trusted. As the Thames freezes over and the people of London pour onto the ice for a Frost Fair, Sebastian and Hero find their investigation circling back to the palace and building to a chilling crescendo of deceit and death . . .


READ AN EXCERPT:





MY REVIEW:


Why Kill the Innocent (Sebastian St. Cyr, #13)Why Kill the Innocent by C.S. Harris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Why Kill the Innocent by C.S. Harris is a 2018 Berkley publication.

A sad death, shocking revelations, and a wealth of palace intrigue!

A nasty spate of frigid cold, snow, and ice hold London in its grip. As Hero makes her way through the icy sludge, she literally stumbles across the corpse of Jane Ambrose. It becomes apparent immediately that Jane is not a victim of the nasty weather, but has been killed, then dumped out in the snow. As Sebastian and Hero attempt to uncover the truth about Jane’s death, once again Hero’s father, Jarvis, appears to be at the center of all that is nasty, mean, and cruel….

This is one of my favorite series, of any genre, that I read, because I am never let down or disappointed by it.

This story highlights the vulnerabilities of women in this historical time period, in shocking detail. Poor Jane Ambrose was literally at the mercy of every man she encountered or was involved with.

Not only that, the novel explores the practice of recruiting men to fight in wars they have no emotional or patriotic stake in, which left their wives and children all alone with no way to provide for themselves, which often led to very tragic and heartrending results. These passages are nearly unbearable to read about, but is a terrible historical truth, nonetheless.

Then there is Princess Charlotte and all the palace machinations at play, pitting her between two warring, competing, manipulative parents and all those who would hope to use her, and her proposed engagement, to their own advantage.

Once more, Harris has done a fantastic job of exploring the dark, seedy sides of London, from the perspectives of the very poor to the very powerful, examining the cause and effect of all those caught in their vicious nets. I’m loving the way Sebastian and Hero work together in tandem, the way their relationship continues to solidify, and the excellent points the author always drives home to the reader, while weaving such absorbing and riveting murder mysteries.




GET THE BOOK HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Why-Kill-Innocent-Sebastian-Mystery-ebook/dp/B07466RDB5/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/why-kill-the-innocent-c-s-harris/1126840201


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



An Air Force brat who grew up exploring castles in Spain and fishing in the mountains of Oregon and Idaho, Candy later worked as an archaeologist and earned a PhD in European history. She now writes the Sebastian St. Cyr historical mystery series as C.S. Harris and historicals under her own name, Candice Proctor. Married to retired Army Colonel Steve Harris, she lives in New Orleans. Visit her website at www.csharris.net.

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

The Recipe Box by Viola Shipman- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

Bestselling, beloved author of The Charm Bracelet spins a tale about a lost young woman and the family recipe box that changes her life.

Growing up in northern Michigan, Samantha "Sam" Mullins felt trapped on her family's orchard and in their pie shop, so she left with dreams of making her own mark in the world. But life as an overworked, undervalued sous chef at a reality star's New York bakery is not what Sam dreamed.

When the chef embarrasses Sam, she quits and returns home. Unemployed, single, and defeated, she spends a summer working on her family's orchard cooking and baking alongside the women in her life--including her mother, Deana, and grandmother, Willo. One beloved, flour-flecked, ink-smeared recipe at a time, Sam begins to learn about and understand the women in her life, her family's history, and her passion for food through their treasured recipe box.

As Sam discovers what matters most she opens her heart to a man she left behind, but who now might be the key to her happiness.
 



LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:




MY REVIEW:

 The Recipe BoxThe Recipe Box by Viola Shipman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Recipe Box by Viola Shipman is a 2018 Thomas Dunne Books publication.

Sweet, tender and heartwarming-

This book just has that summertime feel to it. Sam Mullins always had an urge to break free from her family’s traditions. She wanted to fly far away from Michigan and the orchard and pie shop her parents and grandparents owned and operate. She finally escapes to New York, determined to be a premier baking chef. But, just as she lands a premium job opportunity, she quits and heads home to regroup. Her family is bewildered by her sudden appearance and she tries to keep the truth from them. Each day Sam struggles and fights with all her might against the urge to stay and continue her family’s legacy. Will she discover her real passion has been right under her nose all along or will she return to the rat race, never truly settling down long enough to achieve her goals?

"Someone once told me on my thirteenth birthday that a recipe box is the story of a family's life, of who we are, where we came from, how we got here, and where we are now"






I will warn those who are dedicated and monogamous to all things dark and twisty, or to those who can only take heartwarming stories in small doses, that this book is beyond sugary sweet. In fact, I may need a dentist to check for cavities after reading this book and drooling over all those recipes for cookies, pastries, and pies!!




Sam is a familiar type of character, one that sees things in either black or white, and carries around a hefty amount of snobbery, thinking she is just too good of a chef to lower herself to baking homemade recipes from an old recipe box passed down through the generations. She’s even a pretty big snob when it comes to romance, as well. But, her potential love interest may not have been college educated, but he is pretty darned savvy and is quite the visionary- and very, very romantic! Naturally, Sam gets put in her place a time or two, and learns many valuable lessons about life along the way- including the secret to having success and happiness all at once.

"Expectations are just preconceived resentments. You set yourself up to fail even when you don't do anything wrong"

This is just the type of book I am drawn to during the long days of summer, when the sun shines bright and relaxing days at the beach or at poolside replace strict schedules, pressure and stress. These feel good stories are so regenerative at times. I don’t want to over indulge with too many sweets, but adding a rich dessert into your diet once in a while balances things out, and often lifts and refreshes my spirit. This is a wonderful story, very light and gentle, warm and fuzzy, and sweetly sentimental.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Recipe-Box-Novel-Viola-Shipman-ebook/dp/B0756FN133/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-recipe-box-viola-shipman/1126245408


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




VIOLA SHIPMAN is a pen name for WADE ROUSE, a popular, award-winning memoirist. Rouse chose his grandmother's name to honor the women and elders in his life, who inspire his fiction. To date, THE CHARM BRACELET and THE HOPE CHEST have been translated into over a dozen languages and become international bestsellers. THE CHARM BRACELET was named a 2017 Michigan Notable Book. 

Wade's work has been selected multiple times as a Must-Read by NBC’s Today Show, featured on E! and been chosen three times by the nation's independent booksellers as an Indie Next Pick. His writing and essays have appeared in People, Good Housekeeping, Time, Forbes, Salon, Publisher’s Weekly and Writer’s Digest, among others. 

Wade earned his bachelor of arts in communications, with honors, from Drury University and his master of science in journalism from Northwestern University. He divides his time between Saugatuck, Michigan, and Palm Springs, California, and is also an acclaimed writing teacher who has mentored numerous students to become published authors.

Monday, June 11, 2018

Gateway to the Moon- by Mary Morris- Feature and Review





ABOUT THE BOOK:


From award-winning novelist and memoirist Mary Morris comes the story of a sleepy New Mexican community that must come to grips with a religious and political inheritance they never expected. 

Entrada de la Luna is the sort of town that ambitious children try to leave behind them. Poor health, broken marriages, and poverty are the norm, and luck is unusual. So when Miguel Torres notices an advertisement for a position looking after two small boys a few towns over, he jumps at the opportunity.

Rachel Rothstein is not the sort of parent Miguel expected to be working for, though. A frustrated artist, Rachel moved her family away from New York looking for a fresh start, but so far New Mexico has not solved any of the problems they brought with them. But Miguel genuinely loves the work and he finds many of the Rothstein family's customs similar to ones he sees in his own community.

Studded throughout this present-day narrative are historical vignettes following the ancestors of Entrada's residents, beginning in fifteenth-century Spain and moving forward to the discovery of America, highlighting the torture, pursuit, and resistance of the Jewish people throughout history, leading to the founding of the enclave that Miguel now calls home. A beautiful novel of shared history, Gateway to the Moon is a moving and memorable portrait of home and community.


LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:






MY REVIEW:

Gateway to the MoonGateway to the Moon by Mary Morris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Gateway to the Moon is a 2018 Doubleday publication.

A dark, but rich and fascinating family history-

This novel spans continents and centuries in time to tell the story of Entrada de la Luna, a four-hundred -year old town located in New Mexico. The residents often perform rituals handed down through the generations, but do not understand their origins. The author adeptly connects the past with the present in an incredible family saga, as wrenching as it is fascinating and poignant- almost bittersweet.

In 1492, Luis de Torres, who was forced to convert from Judaism to Catholicism during the Spanish Inquisition, leaves his family to set sail with Christopher Columbus. His travels are the beginning of a journey, we will follow along with, as he and his future offspring settles into this new land.

The time line alternates between ancient history, and 1992, where we meet fourteen-year-old Miguel, a young man who has keen interest in astronomy, and could have a bright future, but feels trapped by a lack of opportunity and poverty. His aunt Elena is a former ballerina who got out of Entrada de la Luna, and has a very good reason to stay out, but she also has a deep-seated need to return to her family and this small community.

I’m ashamed to admit, I don’t know much about the Spanish Inquisition. I hear it referenced from time to time without really stopping to reflect on it, and I studied it some in school, of course, but that was a long, long, long time ago. So, reading this book was quite a learning experience for me. I was unaware of the ‘Conversos’ or ‘Crypto’ Jews, or that they continued to practice the rituals, traditions, and customs of the Jewish faith, without understanding the significance of them. It was just something they had always done, passed down through the generations. The author explains how and why this happened, in striking and vivid details, some of which are very uncomfortable to read, but necessary all the same.

The family connections linked to the historical parts of this story is so fascinating, as Miguel’s lineage is eventually traced to him and his small hometown, in present day, 1992. The various character studies will take the reader into a deeper dimension and contrasts well with chapters detailing the ancient history leading us through various good and bad times for the Jewish people.

This is very eye-opening, enlightening novel, with a few stunning revelations that leave the door open for Miguel to view his life from an entirely different perspective. The writing is beautiful and exceptional. This is a novel that will certainly have a lasting and haunting effect on me.


GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Gateway-Moon-Novel-Mary-Morris-ebook/dp/B073YT1PRP/

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gateway-to-the-moon-mary-morris/1126791574


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



I was born in Chicago and, though I have lived in New York for many years, my roots are still in the Midwest and many of my stories are set there. As a writer my closest influences are Willa Cather and F. Scott Fitzgerald. I travel as much as I can and travel fuels everything I do. When I travel, I keep extensive journals which are handwritten and include watercolors, collage as well as text. All my writing begins in these journals. I tend to move between fiction and nonfiction. I spent seventeen years working on my last novel, The Jazz Palace. I think I learned a lot writing that book because the next one only took three years., Gateway to the Moon. Gateway which will be out in March 2018 is historical fiction about the secret Jews of New Mexico. I am also working on my fifth travel memoir about my travels alone. This one is about looking for tigers.

Friday, June 8, 2018

FLASHBACK FRIDAY: This Heart of Mine by Brenda Novak- Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:


First love. Second chance? As the daughter of a hoarder, Phoenix Fuller had a tough childhood. So when the handsome, popular Riley Stinson became her boyfriend in high school, she finally felt as though she had something to be proud of. Phoenix was desperate not to lose him-especially once she found out she was pregnant. Yes, she might have acted a bit obsessive when he broke up with her. But she did not run down the girl he started dating next. Unfortunately, there was no way to prove her innocence. Now, after serving her time in prison, Phoenix has been released. All she wants to do is return to Whiskey Creek and get to know her son. But Jacob's father isn't exactly welcoming. Riley doesn't trust Phoenix, doesn't want her in Jacob's life. He is, however, ready to find someone to love. And he wants a good mother for his son. He has no idea that he's about to find both!


READ AN EXCERPT:










MY REVIEW:


This Heart of Mine (Whiskey Creek, #8)This Heart of Mine by Brenda Novak
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This Heart of Mine by Brenda Novak is a 2015 MIRA publication.



This is a powerful story of love, forgiveness, second chances, and redemption. After reading the first chapter, my heart was already breaking for Phoenix, a woman who has endured so much in her life and must now start all over again with little or nothing in a very hostile environment. But, Phoenix is more than willing to face the hostility if it means she might be able to forge a relationship with her son, Jake.

When Phoenix was eighteen, she was accused of murdering a popular student by running her down with her car. She was tried, convicted, and sent to prison. Now after sixteen years in prison, Phoenix has returned to her hometown, a place that never embraced her due to her mother's issues, which included morbid obesity and hoarding.

Sixteen years ago, Riley Stinson abruptly broke things off with Phoenix and she did not take the breakup well. When she is convicted of murder it is revealed she was pregnant. So, Riley became the sole provider for his son and Phoenix was never given any sort of access to him in all these years.

But now that she is free, she and Jake are going to meet for the first time and of course his father will be there with him. This scene sets the tone for the book and I have to say, I had a huge lump in my throat as I witnessed the long overdue reunion of a mother and son robbed of sixteen vital years with one another. While Jake seems ready to give Phoenix a chance, Riley is uncertain. Did she really intentionally murder a girl out of jealously over him? Or was it like Phoenix always claimed- that the passenger in the car that day was the responsible party?

The characters in this book are so well drawn I felt like I was living the story along side them. This is a very emotional story, but also a truly uplifting one as well. Phoenix has nothing but her self respect and pride. I mean nothing. The trailer she lives in is over run with her mother's junk, she has hardly any money, she lives with a mentally and physically disabled parent who is one of the most negative people in the world, but Phoenix is one resilient woman and the one thing that drives her is the love a mother has for her child.


This story has many layers and makes some thought provoking points, some of which were familial interference, judging people by their circumstances, forgiveness, positive thinking over negative thinking, and leading by example. Some may roll their eyes here, but I also thought the story confirmed my absolute belief in transcending power of love- whether it was parent-child, friendship or romantic love- that was the force that overpowered the haters, the doubters, and led to the the truth, to forgiveness, peace, hope, and healing.



GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/This-Heart-Whiskey-Creek-Novel-ebook/dp/B00OYCW4RW/


https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/this-heart-of-mine-brenda-novak/1120348728


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Brenda and her husband, Ted, live in Sacramento and are proud parents of five children--three girls and two boys. When she's not spending time with her family or writing, Brenda is usually raising funds for diabetes research (her youngest son has this disease). So far, Brenda has raised $2.6 million. Please visit http://www.brendanovakforthecure.org to see how you can help.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Of Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

Italy, 1943—Germany occupies much of the country, placing the Jewish population in grave danger during World War II.
As children, Eva Rosselli and Angelo Bianco were raised like family but divided by circumstance and religion. As the years go by, the two find themselves falling in love. But the church calls to Angelo and, despite his deep feelings for Eva, he chooses the priesthood.
Now, more than a decade later, Angelo is a Catholic priest and Eva is a woman with nowhere to turn. With the Gestapo closing in, Angelo hides Eva within the walls of a convent, where Eva discovers she is just one of many Jews being sheltered by the Catholic Church.
But Eva can’t quietly hide, waiting for deliverance, while Angelo risks everything to keep her safe. With the world at war and so many in need, Angelo and Eva face trial after trial, choice after agonizing choice, until fate and fortune finally collide, leaving them with the most difficult decision of all.
LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:







MY REVIEW:

From Sand and AshFrom Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

From Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon is a 2016 Lake Union publication.

Gritty, heart wrenching, tragic, but so very beautiful and passionate-

I’ve been meaning to read this book for several years- yes- years. It’s been languishing on my Kindle as first one obstacle, then another got in the way of my reading it. I knew it was a book I’d want to digest slowly and take my time with, so despite the delay, I think this was the best time to absorb such a rich, engrossing tale.

“My father told me once that we are on earth to learn. God wants us to receive everything that life was meant to teach Then we take what we’ve learned, and it becomes our offering to God, and to mankind. But, we have to live in order to learn. And sometimes we have to fight in order to live."

Angelo is sent from the United States to Italy, where he is taken in by the Rosselli family. He and Eva grew up together like siblings, but Eva has known in her heart, right from the start that her love for Angelo goes much deeper, is much stronger. However, Angelo has been prepped and pressured from a young age to enter the priesthood, which means a romantic relationship with Eva is off the table, even though his feelings match hers.

But, with the outbreak of World War Two, when fascism take hold and then reigns, as Jews, Eva and her family become targets and are placed in extreme danger. Angelo makes it is life’s mission to keep Eva alive, despite the danger and obvious risks.

“They can take our homes, our possessions. Our families. Our lives.… They can humiliate us and dehumanize us. But they cannot take our thoughts. They cannot take our talents. They cannot take our knowledge, or our memories, or our minds.”

But, Eva refuses to allow herself to be hidden away, allowing Angelo to bear the brunt of everything, while her family and so many others are being persecuted. Together, they face obstacles and endure heartbreak, amid the joy of ecstasy, with the power of their faith and love as the driving force that gives them the strength, the will, and the hope to make it out alive.

“Life is a long note; it persists without variance, without wavering. There is no cessation in sound or pause in tempo. It continues on, and we must master it, or it will master us.”

This story took my breath away. So much death, heartbreak, and grief, danger, intrigue and suspense, so many moral dilemmas and personal crisis of faith, so much sacrifice, so much yearning. This story was painful to read in many ways, very intense and at times emotionally draining.

But, there is nothing, but nothing, better than an epic love story- nothing makes my heart swell quite like 'love conquering all', and in the end, it certainly did do that, propelled, no doubt, by hope. (No naysayers- please! Never underestimate the power of love, faith, hope, forgiveness and redemption!!)

This author did an incredible amount of research, from the dialogue, the historical details, all while creating a taut atmosphere, right along with all the gut punching emotions, making the reader feel as though they are living events right along side Eva and Angelo.

In my mind this is one of those books that everyone should read. I learned a lot of historical detail I was unaware of, and are topics I rarely hear discussed about the second world war. But, it is also a book that examines the human spirit in the face of unfathomable adversity. It’s about keeping your own value system while acknowledging and accepting someone else’s beliefs, loving them for who and what they are, unconditionally.

I can’t say enough about this story. It is everything I had been told it was and much more besides!! This story reminds me and should be a reminder to all – while believing in hope may seem false and futile- never give up, never stop fighting, because there really is and always will be- hope!!

Fantastic story!!

I’m on a roll this summer! I can’t remember a time when I’ve handed out so many five -star reviews in a row!! But, I hope the streak continues for a long time!! 5 +++ stars!!



GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Sand-Ash-Amy-Harmon/dp/1503939324/


ALSO AVAILABLE WITH YOUR KINDLE UNLIMITED SUBSCRIPTION! 



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:






Amy Harmon is a Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and New York Times Bestselling author. Her books have been published in eighteen languages, truly a dream come true for a little country girl from Utah.
Amy Harmon has written thirteen novels, including the USA Today Bestsellers, The Smallest Part, Making Faces, and Running Barefoot, and the #1 Amazon bestselling historical, From Sand and Ash. Her novel, A Different Blue, is a New York Times Bestseller. Her USA Today bestselling fantasy, The Bird and the Sword, was a Goodreads Best Book of 2016 finalist. For updates on upcoming book releases, author posts and more, join Amy at www.authoramyharmon.com.