Clawback

Clawback
Clawback by J.A, Jance

Tommaso

Tommaso
Tommaso by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Clawback- An Ali Reynolds Mystery- by J.A. Jance- Feature and Review

 
ABOUT THE BOOK:
 
In New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance’s latest thriller, Ali Reynolds faces her most controversial mystery yet, solving the murder of a man whose Ponzi scheme bankrupted hundreds of people, and left them seeking justice…or revenge.

When Ali’s parents lose their life savings to a Ponzi scheme, her father goes to confront his long-time friend and financial advisor, only to stumble into the scene of a bloody double homicide. With her father suddenly a prime suspect, Ali and her husband work to clear her father’s name, while at the same time seeking justice for her parents as well as the scheme’s other suddenly impoverished victims, one of whom is a stone cold killer.



READ A SAMPLE:




MY REVIEW:

Clawback (Ali Reynolds, #11)Clawback by J.A. Jance
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Clawback by J. A Jance is a 2016 Touchstone publication.

This eleventh installment in the Ali Reynolds series charged from the gate with a harrowing situation involving Ali’s father, Bob, who discovers a double homicide and is arrested for the crime. But, what is really bothering Bob isn’t his trouble with law enforcement, it’s the Ponzi scheme that has cost him and his wife their life savings that has him feeling heartsick.

Can Ali track down the real killers and recover some of her parent’s money in the process?

Because I’ve come to know these characters I really felt sorry for Ali’s parents, Bob in particular, who really came down on himself pretty hard. I could feel his age creeping up on him as he carried a tremendous weight on his shoulders. Ponzi schemes are such a personal affront, and is one of the worst kind of selfish crimes, which hurts everyone, but really hits the elderly hardest, since they are often forced back into the work force at a time when they should be enjoying retirement without financial worries.

But, Edie is still a hoot, though, and supports Bob from start to finish only complaining when he drove her car.

The mystery is not all that much of a mystery, since it is obvious who the killer is, but it is the suspense comes from Ali’s search for the truth and her hope of recovering her parent’s hard earned money, thus putting herself and perhaps others in danger. I enjoyed the complexities and details in this story, especially the technical parts, which gave my brain a little something to chew on, but there is no shortage of action.

This story gave all the characters a chance to shine, although B. seemed a little left out of the loop in this one and he and Ali didn’t have their usual chemistry.

Still, this a fast paced addition to this beloved series, and drew me in a little closer to the characters, and gave me a new insight into Bob and Edie’s life, and a chance to get better acquainted with some of the other characters, especially Cami, who steals the show a little bit. Overall, I highly recommend this one to fans of the series. I don’t think you will be disappointed.


GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Clawback-Ali-Reynolds-Novel-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B010MH9V7I

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/claw-back-ja-jance/1122222319



A WORD FROM JA JANCE ABOUT CLAWBACK


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

 
 
Judith Ann Jance is the top 10 New York Times bestselling author of the Joanna Brady series; the J. P. Beaumont series; three interrelated thrillers featuring the Walker family; and Edge of Evil, the first in a series featuring Ali Reynolds. Born in South Dakota and brought up in Bisbee, Arizona, Jance lives with her husband in Seattle, Washington, and Tucson, Arizona.

Series:
* J.P. Beaumont
* Joanna Brady
* Ali Reynolds
* Walker Family

Tommaso by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff- Release Blast + Giveaway


Huge Giveaway!!  Eight Chances to Win!


TOMMASO
Immortal Matchmakers, Inc #2
Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
Released May 24th, 2016


From New York Times Bestseller Mimi Jean Pamfiloff…

TOMMASO, Book #2, Immortal Matchmakers, Inc. Series (Standalone)

SOMETIMES, HOT MEN CAN BE REAL MONSTERS…

Tommaso Fierro is used to the finer things in life—nice suits, nice car, nice house. Okay, his past isn’t so nice, but that’s in the past. Or at least it was until he blacked out after meeting the woman of his dreams.

Annnd possibly capturing her.
Annnd possibly terrorizing her before she got away.
Annnd discovering that he’s turning into a horrible creature he loathes with all his heart.

Luckily, there’s a cure. Unluckily, it will require him to track this woman down and convince her to give him a second chance. But if he finds her, will she ever believe that he’s really not a monster?






CHAPTER ONE


9:42 a.m., Los Angeles

Covered in bright red blood, Tommaso Fierro stumbled from his sleek black Mercedes and staggered across the litter-filled 7-Eleven parking lot, clutching the front of his sticky gray dress shirt.

Sonofabitch,” he groaned. This can’t be happening. He’d gone through far too much, survived far too much, only to end up like this.

No. No. No. You are not turning evil again.

But then why had his turquoise eyes—the telltale sign of his godsgiven immortality—turned black? Why did his heart feel like it was being prodded with a red-hot poker?

And where the fuck did all this blood come from? It sure as hell wasn’t his.

He looked at his sticky red hands, suddenly seeing images of the dark-haired woman in his head. She was bound and gagged in his closet, screaming at him through a rope knotted between her lips.

Shit. Please don’t tell me I killed her. Because she was the one. Yes, the one. And no, he couldn’t explain why he had no clear memory of what happened, but he did remember the wave of intense desire he’d felt the moment he spotted her leaving the singles mixer last night—Wait. Was it last night? Everything was a blur after that, like watching a violent movie on a dark screen that sporadically flickered.

Godsdammit! Wouldn’t this just be his godsdamned luck? He finally meets the woman of his dreams—his true mate—only to turn evil for no other reason than the Universe had decided to be a huge bitch and mess with everyone.

More blurry images swarmed his mind: the woman screaming and then…images of him letting her go, only to start chasing her, like a cat playing with a mouse it wanted to torment before the kill.

That is very fucked up.

Tommaso suddenly felt like his skull was splitting open. Aaagh… He shoved his fingers into his sticky short hair, pressing the sides of his head. Then his lungs began closing up. I can’t…breathe. He fell to his knees on the hard asphalt. And godsdammit, he had just gotten his awesome pin-striped slacks back from the tailor. Three hundred bucks just for the hem.

A candy apple red Mustang tore into the parking lot, nearly colliding with a parked car before coming to a tire-screeching halt a few feet in front of him. The driver door popped open and out stepped a familiar face: Zac, God of Temptation.

The sound of Zac’s heavy biker boots thumped toward Tommaso as he tried to keep his vision from blacking out.

Wow,” said Zac in his usual cocky tone while brushing back his mane of shaggy black hair with his usual affected gesture. “You weren’t joking. You really are turning into a Maaskab—not such a great look for you, by the way.”

Maaskab were an ancient sect of powerful, bloodthirsty Mayan priests who excelled in the dark arts. With their blood-caked dreads, soulless pits for eyes, and grime-covered bodies (they believed bathing robbed them of their powers), they looked like death warmed over, reheated in a microwave, and then deep fried in evil waffle batter. And though they were talented at many malevolent things, manipulating dark energy and enslaving others to do their bidding were their claims to fame, something Tommaso knew firsthand. For two loooong fucking years, he’d been pumped full of Maaskab poisons and used to spy on the gods’ army. It was a miracle he’d escaped, but an even bigger miracle the gods had chosen to help him versus ending his life after he’d been discovered.

Only now, he wasn’t so sure that he’d been cured (or what had happened over the last twenty-four hours or why he was in a 7-Eleven parking lot covered in blood with only a vague recollection of taking his newly found mate captive). In any case, Zac had been the first name that came to mind when he’d called for help.

Perhaps not such a wise choice. Zac wasn’t known for being the most compassionate of the gods. Okay. None of the gods were compassionate. Bat-shit crazy, the whole lot of them.

Tommaso looked up at Zac, seven feet of pure conceited asshole in leather pants. And topless?

Why aren’t you wearing a shirt?” Tommaso grumbled. Proper attire was essential, even when one was in the process of transforming into a monster, as in his case. Didn’t see him ripping off his clothes and acting uncivilized.

Casual Friday.” Zac shrugged and then bent to help Tommaso to his feet.

Tommaso’s gaze gravitated toward the hazy figure of a petite blonde standing beside the god, wearing only a pair of enormous flowery granny panties and matching brassiere. He recognized her to be Tula, the new assistant at Immortal Matchmakers, Inc., which was run by Zac and Zac’s insane redheaded mess of a sister, Cimil—the Goddess of the Underworld.

What’s with Tula’s outfit?” Tommaso mumbled, wondering if he wasn’t dreaming.

Casual Friday,” Zac answered for Tula. “Did I not just explain that?”

Okay, you two,” said Tula, in a sugary tone, “let’s get out of here before the police show and suck up another day with all their questions. I’m still trying to get them not to press charges for the singles mixer.”

Tommaso hadn’t stayed for more than a minute at that party, but he could only imagine the long list of reasons the police had been called. Things tended to end up decimated or lit on fire when a group of immortals got in a room and started drinking. Belch, aka the God of Wine and Intoxication, for example, held the all-time record for destroying the most hotels. Five hundred and twenty. All burnt to the ground. All by accident.

Tommaso winced, the pain of whatever searing through his veins becoming almost unbearable. “Take me home.”

Who said anything about home, compadre?” Zac said. “You’re not safe to roam freely with the masses.”

Zac looked at Miss Flower-Power Panties and instructed her to retrieve Tommaso’s keys from his pocket.

But Zac,” Tula protested, “a man’s pocket is his private space. Next to his privates.”

She was standing in the middle of a public parking lot in broad daylight, wearing only her undergarments—albeit, very unsexy undergarments, but undergarments nonetheless—and she was concerned about improper behavior?

My keys are in the ignition,” Tommaso groaned, the splitting pain in his head and heart only worsening. “And I’m sorry about all the blood in the car.” Sorrier than anyone could ever know. Please don’t let it be my mate’s. Please.

Zac bent his head and gave Tommaso a whiff. “Hate to break it to you, evil buddy, but if what’s in your car is the same stuff that’s on your shirt, that’s not blood. Cherry Slurpee is my guess.”

Really? Tommaso looked down at his sticky gray shirt. “I killed a woman and went to get a Slurpee? I am a monster.”

Do you specifically remember killing someone?” Zac asked.

No, but—”

Sirens began wailing off in the distance.

Time to go, big man. Let’s get you to a secure location. We’ll sort it all out later.” Zac turned toward Tula, who was already getting into Tommaso’s Mercedes. “I’ll meet you back at the office.”

Yes, sir,” she replied.

And, woman?” Zac said, his deep voice filled with agitation.

Yes?” she answered.

The next time I see you, you’d better be wearing proper office apparel. We hold to certain standards at Immortal Matchmakers, Inc. Even on casual Friday.”

For the last time, I am not going to work naked, Zac!” She slammed the driver-side door shut and zoomed out of the parking lot.

Humans,” Zac grumbled. “So damned uppity! You know what I mean?” Zac looked at Tommaso, fishing for validation.

Tommaso frowned up at the deity, whose face was becoming a mishmash of swirls. I’m losing my mind. “Sure. Yeah. Wearing clothes is so last year.”

I know, right?” Zac grabbed Tommaso’s arm to steady him as he began falling sideways. “All right, let’s get you off to jail.”

You’re taking me to jail?” Tommaso stumbled along toward the Mustang, without a hope or a prayer of getting free. Not in my condition.

Well, I’m really taking you to Cimil’s basement until we can get you moved to our real prison. But where else would I take an evil, bloodthirsty Maaskab to rot for eternity?”

Rot? Eternity? Oh hell. Maybe Zac was right; that was where he needed to go. Because if Tommaso had harmed a hair on his mate’s head, he deserved to putrefy in a dark dungeon for all time.

But what if she’s not dead? He had seen an image of him untying her and of her running away. Gods be damned. I have to find out what I did… He needed to know she was all right. Okay, and his heart demanded to see her again and beg her forgiveness.

But who was she? He’d only seen her for a moment in passing as she left the mixer—that part was clear. As for how would he go looking for her when he could barely see straight? Not to mention you’re going off to immortal jail.

There was only one person he could turn to.

Gods help me…




 


BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo



MIMI JEAN PAMFILOFF is a USA Today and New York Times bestselling romance author. Although she obtained her MBA and worked for more than fifteen years in the corporate world, she believes that it’s never too late to come out of the romance closet and follow your dream. Mimi lives with her Latin Lover hubby, two pirates-in-training (their boys), and the rat terrier duo, Snowflake and Mini Me, in Arizona. She hopes to make you laugh when you need it most and continues to pray daily that leather pants will make a big comeback for men.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, May 23, 2016

Poisonous- A Max Revere Novel- by Allison Brennan- Feature and Review

 
 
ABOUT THE BOOK:
 
Teen-aged Internet bully Ivy Lake fell off a cliff and few people cared ... except her mentally-challenged eighteen-year-old step-brother, Tommy. He loved her in spite of her cruelty. He's distraught and doesn't understand why his blended family is falling apart. After a year, the police still have no answers: Ivy could have jumped, could have been pushed, or it could have been an accident. With too many suspects and not enough evidence, the investigation has grown cold.

Tommy thinks that if someone can figure out what happened to his step-sister, everything will go back to normal, so he writes to investigative reporter Maxine Revere. This isn’t the type of case Max normally takes on, but the heartbreak and simple honesty in Tommy's letter pulls her in. She travels to Corte Madera, California, with her assistant David Kane and is at first pleased that the police are cooperative. But the more Max learns about Tommy and his dysfunctional family, the more she thinks she’s taken on an impossible task: this may be the one case she can’t solve.

If Ivy was murdered, it was exceptionally well-planned and that kind of killer could be hiding in plain sight ... planning the next act of violence. Max believes the truth is always better than lies, that the truth is the only thing that matters to gain justice for victims and their families. But for the first time, she wonders if this time, the truth will kill.




MY REVIEW:




Poisonous (Maxine Revere, #3)Poisonous by Allison Brennan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Poisonous by Allison Brennan is a 2016 Minotaur publication.

This is a complex crime novel, very compelling, emotional, sad, and quite disturbing on many levels. The characters are complicated, but interesting, with heavy concerns weighing on their minds, which certainly gave me plenty to think about. The pacing is just a little slow at times, and the family drama occasionally took precedence over the investigation, but the threads all come together in the end, with a dramatic showdown that will hopefully be a wake-up call for those involved.
This is a solid crime novel worth checking out, even if you have not been following the series. This story will appeal to anyone who enjoys mysteries or suspense thrillers.

This review is the copyrighted property of Night Owl Reviews. To read the review in full, click this link: https://www.nightowlreviews.com/v5/Re...


GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Poisonous-Novel-Max-Revere-Novels-ebook/dp/B015MQS120

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/poisonous-allison-brennan/1121780465

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Allison Brennan believes that life is too short to be bored, so she had five children and writes three books a year.

Allison has penned more than two dozen thrillers and many short stories. RT Book Reviews calls Allison “a master of suspense” and her books “haunting,” “mesmerizing,” “pulse-pounding” and “emotionally complex.” RT also said that "The Lucy Kincaid/Sean Rogan books are getting better and better!"

The third book of the Maxine Revere cold case mystery series, POISONOUS, will be out in April, 12, 2016. POISONOUS follows NOTORIOUS and COMPULSION.

The 10th book in the Lucy Kincaid series, NO GOOD DEED, is out now. THE LOST GIRLS will be out in November, 2016.

COLD SNAP, was a finalist for Best Thriller in the Thriller Awards (ITW) and FEAR NO EVIL won the Daphne du Maurier award. Allison has been nominated multiple times for RWA's Best Romantic Suspense award, and the Kiss of Death's Daphne award.

Allison lives in Northern California with her husband, five children, and assorted pets.

Hostage by Jamie Begley- Release Blast + Giveaway


Enter to Win a "Mystery" Print Book Bundle


HOSTAGE
Predators #3
Jamie Begley
Releasing May 23rd, 2016
Young Ink Press


The Enforcer’s Oath: Protect the club at all costs.

Jackal made an enemy out of Penni when he kidnapped her years ago. He let her go, never imagining she would take a piece of his soul with her. Now protecting Penni against a former brother will force him to place the club against her once again.

She may be the Hostage, but he’s the one held captive by the lust she refuses to admit binds them together.

She thinks The Last Riders and another man will be all the protection she needs to end the tug of war between them. However, he’s never lost a battle, especially against a tiny blonde with an attitude, begging him to teach her that her place is under him.

To end the battle, he’s going to have to reclaim the piece of soul she stole from him or claim a part of her soul as prisoner.

When a predator takes you hostage, you’re his forever.




Excerpt

Then you better start. The Road Kingz aren’t like the Predators; they don’t give a damn that King ordered Henry and the Predators to watch out for you.”

I don’t—”

Shut up!”

The sound of Jackal’s boots striding across the floor had her backing up to the wall.

Jackal braced his hand on the wall near her head. “The only reason those men haven’t already gang raped you is because of Hennessy.”

Shocked speechless, Penni reached for her own throat.

Instead of using your head and bargaining with them, what did you do? You fucking told them you could identify who took off with their money and drugs!”

How was I supposed to know?” Penni interrupted another long-winded rant then quickly changed her mind at the contemptuous sneer that reminded her of Shade when he was angry.

That know-it-all brother of yours should have warned you!”

She trembled as Jackal ran his hand down the curve of her cheek, coming to a rest on the curve of her breast.

He lowered his head, placing it next hers. “I swore I would let you get out of this mess yourself.”

Why didn’t you?” she whispered.

 

BUY NOW


Jamie Begley grew up in a very small, and a very rural town in Kentucky. Growing up poor was hard but she would go back if she could just to get that feeling of going to the corner and popping open a soda.

For now her days are spent writing, writing, and writing.

She would like all her fans to know one thing, “All my books are written for one purpose- the enjoyment others find in them, and the expectations of my fans that inspire me to give it my best.” 





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Shadow- Assassins Club- by Alexa Dawn- Release Blast + Giveaway


Enter to Win a $15.00 Amazon eGift Card


SHADOW 
Assassins Club #1
Alexa Dawn
Releasing May 23rd, 2016
Young Ink Press



MADDOX KING

CODE NAME: SHADOW
AGE: 27
WEAPON OF CHOICE: PISTOL
JOB: KILL SCARLET DANIELS



The first rule in the assassins club is simple: every job comes with a price.



Shadow has been given countless jobs since joining the club, and all of them have been carried out, no matter the price.



Killing Scarlet Daniels, the heiress to the world’s biggest electronics company, should be no different …



Or so he thought.


 


Excerpt

He looks peaceful, Scarlet thought, her stomach tightening into knots. Out loud, she asked, “Do you get paid well? To kill people, I mean.”

Shadow snapped his eyes back to her and looked at her suspiciously.

I’m just curious,” she added, her voice small. She was afraid she had upset him.

His posture had stiffened, and he regarded her carefully before answering. “Sometimes.” The softness in his voice was gone.

I’m sorry I asked.” Scarlet grabbed her now-empty plate and took it to the sink, eager to be out of his piercing eyesight. He joined her a minute later.

I’m sorry,” he apologized quietly. “I’m not used to discussing my profession in such a casual tone with someone… normal.”

It’s okay.” Scarlet shrugged, not looking at him. “I shouldn’t have pried. I’m sorry.”

Shadow nodded awkwardly. “I need to take a shower.”

Scarlet kept her back to him as she nodded, and Shadow walked away. She didn’t dare move until she heard the water running, and then she tiptoed quietly toward the front door. This was her chance. She needed to leave, and now was the time to do it.

Unlocking the door, she slipped outside. She took a long breath to steady her nerves and stop her shaking as she slipped on the jacket she had grabbed on her way out. Then she ran down the stairs and driveway, not daring to look back.

Following the dirt road, she kept her pace, her heart pounding in her chest and the wind roaring in her ears. She had gone about half a mile before she heard it: the sound of a car barreling down the road behind her. She ran into the trees, tears fighting their way into her eyes.

The vehicle screeched to a stop, and she heard the unmistakable sound of a car door being slammed shut, but she didn’t stop to look. She just kept running.

Then she saw him standing about one hundred yards in front of her. His arms were folded across his chest, and she could see a glare on his face, even from that distance.

She skidded to a stop and began racing in the other direction, though she knew it would be useless. Shadow had at least a foot on her, and his long strides would easily catch up to her, but she kept going.

She sensed him behind her a split second before he encircled her waist with one arm, pulling her against him. She struggled, trying to kick, elbow, or claw at any part of him she could reach.

Let me go! Let me go!” she screamed as she fought.

He snaked his other arm up and grabbed around her shoulders, pulling her off the ground. It was no use. He was too strong.

She went limp in his arms, exhausted, as sobs began to rack through her body.



You are cordially invited to join the Assassins Club, but once you enter, there is no turning back. 




I have been reading and writing since I was a child, and after falling in love with romance, I realized I have a story to tell; and by God, am I going to tell it! Welcome to the world of Alexa Dawn. Good luck... You're going to need it.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, May 20, 2016

At The Edge and Edge of Surrender by Laura Griffin- Feature and Review

 
ABOUT THE BOOK:
 
Dive into Part One of this heart-pounding romantic suspense story, which continues in Edge of Surrender: Alpha Crew Part Two!

When Emma Wright’s government plane goes down over the Philippine jungle, she’s forced to survive alone until an ultra-elite SEAL team goes in after her. As the leader of Alpha Crew, Ryan Owen is no stranger to challenges, but he’s never tackled anything quite like this sexy, smart, and resourceful woman. The mission is to get Emma home safely, but danger is everywhere, and Ryan’s unexpected desire for Emma could be a deadly distraction.

Back home in California, Ryan’s mission is over—but Emma’s has just begun. She knows her plane crash was no accident, and she’s determined to uncover the truth about what happened—even if her quest for answers puts her at risk. Torn between duty and desire, Ryan searches for a way win Emma’s heart while protecting her from an invisible enemy who wants her dead.

The thrilling conclusion to this Alpha Crew romance is just weeks away!
 
 
 
READ A SAMPLE:



MY REVIEW:

At the Edge (Alpha Crew, #1)At the Edge by Laura Griffin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

At the Edge by Laura Griffin is a 2016 Pocket Star publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher, as an XOXpert, the official street team of XOXO After Dark.


A new series by Laura Griffin! Who can resist that temptation? This novella length story is the first book in the Alpha Crew series and is centered around Navy SEAL Ryan Owen and Emma Wright.

When a plane crashes in the Philippine jungle, Ryan and his team are commissioned to find the plane and rescue any survivors, which is how he meets Emma. Emma is the sole survivor of the crash, and while making their way back to the states the two forge a bond. But, the rescue mission is only the beginning. It seems Emma’s search for answers about the crash has garnered her some unwanted attention, which means Ryan must protect her, even if it means he must put his growing attraction to her aside.

As always, Laura Griffin has written a scorching hot, action packed, romantic suspense story. Awesome storyline, non-stop suspense, political intrigue, and hot Navy SEALS. What more can you ask for? This story is one of two parts, so be warned, there is a ‘to be continued’ ending, but “Edge of Surrender” is also available now, so there is no wait time.

If this is any indication of how this series will play out, I can hardly wait for more!

GET YOUR COPY HERE:
https://www.amazon.com/At-Edge-Alpha-Crew-Part-ebook/dp/B010MH19K0

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/at-the-edge-laura-griffin/1123475615

EDGE OF SURRENDER:

 
 
ABOUT THE BOOK:
 
Ryan had one job: keep Emma safe at all costs. But after a night of passion, Emma takes off and Ryan soon realizes he’s not the only one looking for her. Can he figure out who’s after the beautiful government aide, and why, before she falls into the wrong hands… if she hasn’t already?

Emma’s fighting to get justice for her fallen comrades, but she can’t do it alone. She needs Ryan’s help, but that means trusting him--and dealing with the out-of-control desire blazing between them. Can there be any future for a marked woman and a man trained to kill? She hopes they live long enough to find out…

Don’t get spoiled! Be sure to read At the Edge: Alpha Crew Part One before devouring this sizzling romance!
 
 
READ A SAMPLE:
 
 
 




MY REVIEW:


Edge of Surrender (Alpha Crew, #2)Edge of Surrender by Laura Griffin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Edge of Surrender by Laura Griffin is a 2016 Pocket Star publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher, as an XOXpert, the official street team for XOXO After Dark.

This book picks up right where “At the Edge’ left off. Emma gets herself in a tight spot and Ryan comes to the rescue. But, from that point on, the plot really tightens up as Emma and Ryan begin to piece together the reasons for the plane crash and who was responsible.
The action doesn't stop, with Ryan and Emma bonding emotionally and working together as a team to expose a shocking scheme while fighting for their lives. This couple is special and I liked how the author kept things real, testing Emma’s commitment to Ryan and seeing her rise to the occasion.
This series is off to an outstanding start with a perfect balance between the romance and the suspense, great characters and an engaging, super tense plot, leaving me begging for more this one.

PS: Be sure to read “At the Edge” first.
4 stars


GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Edge-Surrender-Alpha-Crew-Part-ebook/dp/B014PUR378

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/edge-of-surrender-laura-griffin/1123475614



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


 
 
 
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Laura Griffin started her career in journalism before venturing into the world of writing romantic suspense. Her books have won numerous awards, including two RITA Awards (for Scorched and Whisper of Warning) and a Daphne du Maurier Award (Untraceable). Laura currently lives in Austin where she is working on her next book.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Take Me to the Willow by Shelly Brimley- Book Blast + Giveaway




BLURB:



In defending his life-long friendship with Charlie, Will may have inadvertently had a hand in the growing chaos that leads to the horrifying night when his familiar world is shattered.

When Will Wright, the eighteen year old son of a small-town Arkansas sheep herder in 1905, begins reading his mother’s journal, he is inspired by its startling content to start putting his own experiences to paper for posterity. An unsophisticated but principled young man, Will is becoming increasingly aware of the hatred that exists in the world. When he begins his own journal, Will can’t know what events are to take place in the next five years – from his mother’s battle with a life threatening illness, to his embarrassments of learning how to be in love for the first time, to witnessing Charlie’s fate at the hands of the bigoted townspeople. While part of him wishes the pain in those pages didn’t exist, he knows that the original purpose for keeping the journal has been realized - to show his kin how he became the man he is. He will probably never go back through and read again the pages he’s written, but someday, someone will, and they will see that along with the hurt, Will’s life had been one that knew true joy, absolute love, and undying friendship.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Excerpt:



I’ve only been in this cell for three days, but it feels like a might lot longer than that. I know what I did wasn’t considered proper by most folks down here in the South, but I don’t regret doin’ it. And I’d do it again, if I had the chance. Charlie never did anything wrong. He’s just colored. Not much he can do about that, and even if he could, I suppose he wouldn’t want to anyhow. I didn’t feel it right that Charlie be ignored when all he came to do was buy feed and tools like the rest of us. So when Eli Carver said he don’t take no “colored” money, I thought it best to point out that he must be blind as a bat since Charlie’s dollar and my dollar are both the same shade of green. And when I held the two right in front of Mr. Carver’s face and politely asked him to show me the difference, he later told Sheriff Coleman I was threatenin’ and causin’ a disturbance. When I heard that, it just made my blood boil, and I decided Eli Carver needed to be taught a lesson. I went back to that store, although Charlie tried to get me to leave it be, but the next thing I knew, I was holdin’ Eli a foot off the ground against the door to his very own supply store. If Sheriff Coleman hadn’t been right there, I might have been able to argue my side, but there’s no point arguin’ against proof and common sense. Besides that, Sherriff Coleman is known for his feelin’s about colored people, so I knew I was beat before I started. I suppose I just didn’t care.


a Rafflecopter giveaway



 

AUTHOR Bio and Links:





Shelly Brimley was born in Flagstaff, AZ, where she lived most of her life until moving to Mexico to study abroad. After graduation, Shelly did some volunteer work in Africa and completed her graduate degree while working in an adolescent drug treatment center. After acquiring her Master’s degree, she worked as a counselor at a residential shelter for children who had been smuggled and trafficked into the USA from different countries around the world. She also taught English to adult refugees before resigning to raise her children. Shelly wanted to use her experience working with others as a source of inspiration in her writing, offering a voice for those who are not typically heard or considered.



Website link –




Author Facebook-




Goodreads-

 



Amazon – On sale for only $0.99 until May 22